Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

4 stars
4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea Makena, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
207 reviews
Best Hotel For Families!

This was our 2nd stay at the Fairmont and we had a great time. The two-room suite works perfectly... See full review

  • PDX Family
  • Jun 26, 2014
all about the service

Apart from the beautiful tropical setting, and top notch amenities, the thing that stood out about... See full review

  • Steve E1
  • Apr 10, 2013
Fairmont Hotels and Resorts on the islands of Hawaii and Bermuda have become part of the local communities here, providing world-class hospitality and cultural quirks. White domes and life-sized Hawaiian murals set the tone for your stay at The Kea Lani Maui Hotel, while a traditional lei greeting welcomes guests upon arrival. Immerse yourself in island culture on the hotel's Canoe Experience and Cultural Property tour, or drop your kids off at the children's club, where they can learn a few conversational Hawaiian phrases. A contemporary spa facility has special treatments like the Energy Journey -which allows guests to restore their inner balance with ingredients grown on Maui -plus Chamomile Body Polishes, Magnesium and Jade Wraps, and Relaxation Massages. After all that pampering, dine at one of the on-site restaurants and choose from seafood, internationally-influenced dishes, or bakery and deli treats.
Key facts
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Kids' club
  • Restaurants & lounges: Ko, Nick's Fishmarket Maui, Kea Lani Restaurant, Caffe Ciao Bakery & Deli, Polo Beach Grill & Bar, Luana Lounge
  • Willow Stream Spa: 9,000-square-feet
  • Several pools, including an adult-only pool
  • On-site business center
  • Eco-incentives
  • Child care services (additional charges may apply)
  • 24-hour room service
  • 36,000-square-foot conference and event space
Neighborhood
One of four luxury accommodations in Wailea, the Kea Lani Maui is 22 acres of well-manicured property on the southwest shore of Maui, right on the edge of Wailea Polo Beach. The hotel is minutes away from The Shops at Wailea, an open mall that includes varied high-end shops and eateries, while golf enthusiasts can tee off on four different nearby courses.
Hints and tips
You may prefer to book a first-floor room near the lobby's north side for easy access to the upper pool and swim bar - sunset views are also stunning from these rooms.

If you are heading out on day trips in the local area, order a picnic basket from Caffe Ciao Bakery & Deli for Italian lunch treats.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Rooms

Garden View Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Overlooking scenic tropical gardens or Mount Haleakala
Deluxe Ocean View Suite
Deluxe Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Full Ocean View
Partial Ocean View Suite
Partial Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Partial or angled Ocean View from outside the suite
Ocean View Suite
Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Partial or angled Ocean View from within the suite
Fairimont Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Limited view overlooking parking facility or side street
Mountainside Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Haleakala Mountainside
Poolside Suite
Poolside Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Poolside and lawn area

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.6851 -156.4395
Area served
Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului, Maui, Hawaii
Area description
Exit airport terminal or car rental area onto Keolani Place. Continue straight through the intersection onto Dairy Road (Hwy 380) passing CostCo and Kmart on your left. Continue on Dairy Road (Hwy 380) to the traffic light at Mokulele Hwy 311 & S. Puunene Avenue turn left onto Mokulele Hwy 311. Continue on Mokulele Hwy approximately 6 miles. You will automatically merge left onto Piilani Hwy 31. Continue south on the Piilani Hwy 31 until the end of highway. It will veer right onto Wailea Ike Drive. Drive down toward the ocean and at the end of Wailea Ike Drive, turn left at the traffic light onto Wailea Alanui. Follow Wailea Alanui south until you reach The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui on the right side.

Dining

Twilight Dinner
Enjoy the Twilight Dinner in your own private cabana under the soft glow of hanging lanterns. Located adjacent to K on the Adult Pool deck, the Twilight Dinner is available for up to six people. As a Twilight Dinner guest, you will be served a personalized four course meal along with a choice of selected wines, as you enjoy the brilliant colors of the sky at dusk. This is the perfect way to create a lasting memory of any celebration.
Hoku Lani Dinner
The Hoku Lani Dinner experience is designed especially for those who are seeking a more intimate and elegant evening, whether you are celebrating an anniversary, engagement, birthday or just want to share an enchanting evening with someone special, this dinner is the perfect way to create a romantic memory to last a lifetime. Hoku Lani, "Dining Under the Stars," is served oceanfront at our Pacific Terrace, complete with tiki torches and your own private servers. This lavish four-course dinner offers a truly beautiful and romantic dining experience.
In-Room Dining
Hours Of Operation: Available 24 hours a day Elegant, intimate dining on your own private lanai with picturesque garden and ocean views. Let us bring the dining room to you! Daily specialties with delicious breakfast, sandwiches, assorted salads and complete meals for gourmet lunches and romantic dinners. Refreshing tropical drink specialties, fine wines and champagnes are also available to you through In-Room Dining.
Ko Restaurant
Hours Of Operation: Open for lunch and dinner. Hours vary depending on season. Dress Code: Casual resort attire is requested. Ko offers cuisine reflective of the many cultures of Hawaii's sugarcane plantation era. The menu is inspired by the rich history and culinary traditions of Hawaiian, Chinese, Filipino, Portuguese, Korean, and Japanese cultures. K, meaning "sugarcane" in Hawaiian, features Ahi "On the Rock," shichimi spiced with orange ginger miso sauce, Lobster Tempura with spicy-sesame, pineapple sweet chili garlic and grapefruit soy sauce, Maui Cattle Company "Paniolo" Rib-Eye Steak, and Coconut-Curry Lamb Chops marinated and grilled with mango-mint salsa. Each dish celebrates the cultures of the plantation workers with an emphasis on sustainability.
Nick's Fishmarket-Maui
Hours Of Operation: Open nightly 5:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. Dress Code: Resort casual (collared shirt and dress shorts) This is one of Maui's premier seafood restaurants offering the Islands' freshest fish, Live Keahole Maine Lobster, and Maui Cattle Company Steaks in a tropical ambiance. Special features include a 2,000 bottle wine cellar, outdoor seating and a private dining room to accommodate as many as fifty guests. Nick's was voted Best Special Occasion Restaurant for 2004 and 2005. Nick's has also earned the Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world.
Polo Beach Grille & Bar
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 10:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. (Bar) Open daily from 11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Restaurant) Times may vary depending on season. Dress Code: Casual resort attire For lunch, this is THE place to go for expansive views of the neighboring Islands or when in season, to catch a glimpse of the majestic humpback whales. Polo Beach Grille and Bar is a casual poolside restaurant offering All American Beef burgers, garden salads, delicious sandwiches, and fresh local fish. Refreshing tropical drinks and fruit smoothies are served all day long at the restaurant's swim-up bar.
Kea Lani Restaurant
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Dress Code: Casual resort attire This open-air dining area offers a daily bountiful breakfast buffet and an exceptional a la carte menu service. The buffet contains fresh fruit including local seasonal favorites such as guava, mountain apples, rambutans and papayas as well as pastries and breads such as mango and banana nut bread that are freshly baked in the resort's pastry shop. The buffet also features an omelet station and rotating choices of hot and cold items including pancakes, waffles, link sausage, and smoked bacon as well as authentic Asian style breakfast foods including miso soup.
Luana Lounge
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 3:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m. Dress Code: Resort casual The open-air Luana Lounge offers spectacular views of the beautiful Maui sunset. You can enjoy a selection of pupus and a Kea Lani Cocktail or one of many specialty martinis served in a silver cocktail shaker and poured at your table. Enjoy live entertainment nightly from local musicians playing contemporary light jazz and music from the Islands.
Caffe Ciao Deli
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 6:30 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. Hours may vary depending on season. Dress Code: Casual resort attire. Caffe Ciao Deli is a trattoria with home made sandwiches, salads and produce. Enjoy fresh bread, scones, muffins and desserts from our bake shop with a selection of coffee drinks. Signature Kea Lani jams, jellies, condiments and a variety of other gifts are also available. Enjoy a Custom Picnic Basket for your day at the beach or around the island. Choose from a large selection of gourmet food items, cheeses and wines from around the world. Or Take a gourmet meal for your plane ride home through our "Food for Flight" program. Select your very own lunch, dinner, or snack, tailored just to your taste-it is the perfect end to a perfect vacation.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Kea Lani offers a broad range of function rooms-from elegant boardrooms and banquet halls, to magnificent ballrooms and state-of-the-art amphitheaters with professional multimedia services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (207)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
207 out of 207
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun-loving vacationer
San Diego, CA
May 19, 2011

Very helpful staff!

The staff was very friendly and hospitable. The pools and beach are fantastic. Very close to the shops and restaurants in Wailea.....hotel provides curtosey shuttle as well. We had a great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
May 15, 2011

Fantastic hotel

This is a beautiful hotel at a great location. Everything was perfect. Great snorkeling at the hotel beach location. The hotel staff was very helpful and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkeling

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
May 15, 2011

Fantastic hotel

This is a beautiful hotel at a great location. Everything was perfect. Great snorkeling at the hotel beach location. The hotel staff was very helpful and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkeling

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
May 12, 2011

Great Maui Experience

This was our second time staying at the Fairmont Kea Lani and our 8th or 9th visit to Maui. We typically stay up north in Kapalua but like the warmer weather down south. The Fairmont Kea Lani is a beautiful resort in a prime location. The grounds are well kept and expansive and the beach right out front is gorgeous. You also have immediate access to the boardwalk that lets you stroll or exercise around other Wailea beaches and resorts. We love this hotel because the rooms are a great size (suites), the pools are very kid friendly, there is easy beach access right out front, and there are various eating options right on site. This is in contrast to Kapalua where most of what you do / eat is more self service or offsite and beaches are more rugid. I would say the only bummer about this hotel, which was shared by many other people we met during our stay, is that their pricing on food and drink are very excessive - to the point where you have to think twice about making the purchase or have buyers remorse. A lot of the food is just average but you'll pay, for example, twice as much for a salad here as you will for one up north at Kapalua Ritz. I'd recommend this hotel and we'd stay here again. But I wish they would be more fair about their pricing so we can all feel as good about leaving as we did when we arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
May 12, 2011

Great Maui Experience

This was our second time staying at the Fairmont Kea Lani and our 8th or 9th visit to Maui. We typically stay up north in Kapalua but like the warmer weather down south. The Fairmont Kea Lani is a beautiful resort in a prime location. The grounds are well kept and expansive and the beach right out front is gorgeous. You also have immediate access to the boardwalk that lets you stroll or exercise around other Wailea beaches and resorts. We love this hotel because the rooms are a great size (suites), the pools are very kid friendly, there is easy beach access right out front, and there are various eating options right on site. This is in contrast to Kapalua where most of what you do / eat is more self service or offsite and beaches are more rugid. I would say the only bummer about this hotel, which was shared by many other people we met during our stay, is that their pricing on food and drink are very excessive - to the point where you have to think twice about making the purchase or have buyers remorse. A lot of the food is just average but you'll pay, for example, twice as much for a salad here as you will for one up north at Kapalua Ritz. I'd recommend this hotel and we'd stay here again. But I wish they would be more fair about their pricing so we can all feel as good about leaving as we did when we arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laurel and Tom
St. Paul, MN
May 9, 2011

Wonderful and relaxing vacation

There are three pools and a great beach which we took full advantage of. The staff was always very friendly and attentive. The room was beautiful and roomy. The trip was romantic and relaxing and we enjoyed our stay at the Fairmont!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laurel and Tom
St. Paul, MN
May 9, 2011

Wonderful and relaxing vacation

There are three pools and a great beach which we took full advantage of. The staff was always very friendly and attentive. The room was beautiful and roomy. The trip was romantic and relaxing and we enjoyed our stay at the Fairmont!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sylvia Snowbird
Hanover, New Hampshire
Feb 20, 2011

A Perfect Place for a Maui Vacation

The Fairmont Kea Lani is a beautiful facility in a perfect location in Wailea. It is a just a few miles from Kiheh, for those who want to take a quick jaunt to the funkier area. The suites are spacious, beautifully decorated, and the views from the lanais are fantastic - no matter which way your room faces. The hotel offers three great restaurants - from burgers,to take-out items, to a upscale dining that specializes in seafood. We frequently bought lunch at the cafe and brought it to the beach or poolside. We had dinner out at Nick's seafood restaurant on our last night. Wow! What a terrific meal. The guest services at the Kea Lani were just fantastic! Great wait staff, wonderful concierge service, even terrific staff at the pool and at the beach. We spent a week at the Kea Lani and only left the facility three times. Everything you need is right there. Great food, great beach, great pool. There is even a free morning yoga class, a spa, shops and boat trips. It was just perfect for my family. For those wanting to be spoiled, this is the place. Just remember that you get what you pay for. This isn't the place for those who are trying to do Maui on a budget. But if you are ready to splurge on your vacation, I can't imagine a better place to do it. I highly recommend the Fairmont Kea Lani. It was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

We loved the beach. It was a beautiful spot.

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sylvia Snowbird
Hanover, New Hampshire
Feb 20, 2011

A Perfect Place for a Maui Vacation

The Fairmont Kea Lani is a beautiful facility in a perfect location in Wailea. It is a just a few miles from Kiheh, for those who want to take a quick jaunt to the funkier area. The suites are spacious, beautifully decorated, and the views from the lanais are fantastic - no matter which way your room faces. The hotel offers three great restaurants - from burgers,to take-out items, to a upscale dining that specializes in seafood. We frequently bought lunch at the cafe and brought it to the beach or poolside. We had dinner out at Nick's seafood restaurant on our last night. Wow! What a terrific meal. The guest services at the Kea Lani were just fantastic! Great wait staff, wonderful concierge service, even terrific staff at the pool and at the beach. We spent a week at the Kea Lani and only left the facility three times. Everything you need is right there. Great food, great beach, great pool. There is even a free morning yoga class, a spa, shops and boat trips. It was just perfect for my family. For those wanting to be spoiled, this is the place. Just remember that you get what you pay for. This isn't the place for those who are trying to do Maui on a budget. But if you are ready to splurge on your vacation, I can't imagine a better place to do it. I highly recommend the Fairmont Kea Lani. It was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

We loved the beach. It was a beautiful spot.

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Mexico
Feb 16, 2011

KEA LANI IS THE MOST AMAZING PLACE EVER!

There is nothing that this hotel does not offer..... they treat you like you are family from the second you pull up...... I would not stay anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

all the food at this hotel was amazing....even the pool side grill..... wow! that is all I can say.

Back to menu Return to top