Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

4 stars
View map of 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea Makena, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super CPA
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 29, 2010

A little too quiet

We knew that the pools were being renovated but it was still disappointing as the whole central area was cordoned off. The restaurant choices other than Nick's Fish Market were almost non-existent. The other dinner reataurant was deserted and not too inviting. The beach was great and the free snorkel gear and boogie boards because of the pool renovations was a nice gesture.The rooms/suites were really nice and clean and well furnished. They need to upgrade to flat screen TVs. I guess it was the off season in late September. Weather was great with no rain for the four days we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The fish dishes at Nick's Fish Market..

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JV Maui
Business
Orange County, CA
Sep 28, 2010

Exceptional and friendly service

First class service from the very beginning of checking in, we received a welcome lei, tropical drink, and a complimentary upgrade to an ocean view suite. We enjoyed our stay at the Kea Lani and the view from our room was spectacular. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're sick of the overpriced resort food, check out Kihei (15 minute drive) for other affordable restaurant options. Also, another money saver is to order to go and buy your own wine and enjoy a nice dinner at your lanai at sunset. If you have a GPS, bring it with you. It was helpful to us.

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel everywhere
Business
New York, NY
Sep 17, 2010

Spacious suite

Friendly staff, clean,very large suites. There were renovations going on while I was there but it was quiet and did not affect my stay. The bathrooms are enormous!! Nice beach with boogie boards and umbrellas to rent (free). Would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nordpol
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 13, 2010

great resort in fantastic location

We choose the Fairmont because they offered a significant discount due to ongoing construction on the premises. We expected construction noise and 2 of the 3 pools being closed, but figured that the room, service, and location would still be fantastic. We were not disappointed. Construction noise was very limited and barely audible, and although two pools were indeed closed, this did not matter due to the perfect beach and because the pool that had the swim-up bar was open. As we had hoped we had a fantastic, spacious, and clean suite, and enjoyed the amenities (excellent fitness center, free snorkels, body boards, umbrellas at the beach) and location (right on a riff where you can see turtles and fancy fish).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Get a free snorkel set and swim 25 meters to the right from the hotel beach to see corals, colorful fish, and sea turtles!

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lo684
Business
Portland, Oregon
Aug 15, 2010

Lovely and unpretentious

We enjoyed the most relaxing, most comfortable vacation on Maui while staying at the Fairmont Kea Lani. Our vacation consisted of sitting by the beach in the morning and sitting by the pool in the afternoon. We didn't come to explore or sightsee -- we came to relax, and that's exactly what we were able to do. The room was a spacious and beautifully appointed suite. The lanai was especially comfortable with a chaise lounge and table and chairs. We enjoyed our daily breakfast there while admiring the view. Although we started in an equally beautiful room, we were quickly and graciously upgraded when there was a small water spot caused by a leaking refrigerator. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. The Kea Lani is a resort, and so the prices in the restaurants and deli were a little high, although the small cafe/deli/sundry shop was so charming and provided small bites like pizza, fried chicken, yogurt and salads that we enjoyed for not much more than the local grocery stores were charging. I developed a love of the Maui Mojito, prepared in the beautiful lounge. My husband confirmed that the Gimlets were delicious. When we did leave the hotel, we made the short 10-15 minute drive to many restaurants in Kihei. We were also very pleased with the surroundings and service at the Wailea Golf Club across the street. From very friendly, helpful service to the beautiful surroundings to the free parking and easy access to a beautiful beach and aloha spirit, we wholeheartedly recommend the Kea Lani.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For a delicious, inexpensive dinner, go to the restaurant called Vietnamese Cuisine. Treat yourself to a Clay Pot rice dish and Vietnamese Burritos that you roll yourself in rice paper. We loved it so much that we returned for our final dinner on Maui!

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, California
Aug 15, 2010

Would't stay anywhere else!

I have stayed at this property every year for approximately l0 years. Love the walk along the ocean. It is so peaceful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to dining.shopping and attractions.

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
goodstar40
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 9, 2010

Awesome Hotel

Stayed at the Fairmont for my 40th birthday with two other single friends. Had a fantastic time staying here and would highly recommend this hotel for singles, couples, or families. The rooms were large and comfortable -- large bathroom with separate shower & tub and 2 sinks, great beds (no problems sleeping here), nice living room/kitchenette, and great patio. We never heard any of the people in the other suites beside or above us. Very quiet and peaceful. Fairmont has a great family pool with a waterslide (also fun for adults) and the quiet/adult pool is AWESOME. Very relaxing and peaceful. Hotel staff bring you chilled wash cloths and fresh pineapple. Cocktails are great here too. Take advantage of the extra activities that the hotel offers like yoga and water aerobics. The instructors were great and both were perfect for beginners. The paddle canoe experience at the Fairmont was one of the coolest things I did while I was in Maui. Got to swim/snorkle with turtles and see the beautiful reef right off the Fairmont beach. There is a great walking/jogging sidewalk path that runs between the Fairmont and other hotels in that area and the beach. Beautiful views from everywhere. Nick's Fish Market restaurant has great food (save room for dessert) and atmosphere. The deli has great breakfast and lunch items as well. The Wailea location is a great, central location to stay in Maui -- very easy to get to other areas (airport, Kihei, Lahaina, Haleakala National Park, road to Hana).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Go on the hotel's paddle canoe experience, eat at Nick's, and swim in the quiet pool.

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southern California
Aug 2, 2010

Great Hotel, Expensive

We have been to this hotel many times. We will go again. It is a perfect place for a great vacation. The cost of some of the amenities are over the top right now. $15 dollars for a Mai Tai at the pool? $30 for one buffet breakfast? $20 a day to park your rental and a tip for them to bring it to you. $15 a day for internet connections? A Best Western or Holiday Inn Express gives away free internet on a room that costs 75% less than the Kea Lani. Room Service prices are overtly expensive as well. This may be the prices at all upscale hotels BUT it is irritating and puts you off on the over all experience. The Kea Lani IS beautiful. Three great pools and a beautiful beach and the people are great. The service is very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Nicks Fish Market is simply awesome food.

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SoCal
Aug 2, 2010

Fairmont: Ideal Experiennce

The Fairmont came thru again and made a last-minute trip truly special. From the top-notch, perfect view room with ample balcony and two-room set-up, to the super staff that listened to what we wanted (and did not want) and made it happen (or not), to the expansive and relaxed grounds and beach, to the classy and cool architecture, the Kea Lani is the best of the high-end Wailea hotels. Don't hesitate to go there, as it is far more Maui than the others and it evokes the simpler, authentic and more relaxed Island feel in my opinion. There is not a lot "going on" at the Kea Lani, but isn't that one of the points of going to South Maui? And if you want a switch or something more "happening" or different, walk to the other hotels, and then get a ride back from the Fairmont car service. You will appreciate the Kea Lani even more! There is nothing like having your own private breakfast or dinner on your balcony and the refrigerator in the room makes it easy to do your own thing if you want. Get a higher room -- it is worth every penny -- and soak up the incredible views and relaxing sounds of the palms swaying beneath you. Incredibly romantic and intoxicating, go there prepared to enjoy life! And having gone with kids a different time, that is great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach is great for swimming, relaxing or even womping in the shorebreak, and it is generally more protected then some others to the north. Rent a body board and the beach boys are cool too.

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco,CA
Jul 21, 2010

It was great!!!

We had a great time during our honeymoon. I think it is the best location of Maui. Everything was just perfact. we really want to visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top