Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

4 stars
View map of 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea Makena, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maui like
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Better than the Four Seasons as well as my expectations!

I went back and forth for months between the Fairmont and the Four Seasons and I am so happy I went with the Fairmont. Wailea, first of all, is an amazing location so either hotels have great views of West Maui and the other islands. The Fairmont property seems much more airy and spread out compared to the Four Seasons which was very concentrated. Every thing at the Fairmont is open air. The rooms are huge! The open lounge is perfect for Wailea sunsets every night. Everyone was so friendly. Don't really know what else to say except that we would certainly go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car. Wailea restaurants are good, but Mama's Fish house is the BEST on the island and you have to drive from Wailea.

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
none
Business
Enid, OK, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Wonderful Couple Getaway

Prefect. All Staff very helpful and very nice. Staff was able to answer all questions and setup things for us to do and took us to the events they scheduled for us. Gave us maps with directions as to how to get to different malls and shopping centers to go shopping and sight seeing. Perfect room service and maid service. We plan another trip to Hawaii... Loved it..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots to do at hotel. Shopping really nice sight seeing wonderful. Enjoyed many things

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sista Act
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 11, 2011

Getaway

Loved every minute of the vacation. loved the fruit drink we received upon arrival. enjoyed being able to swim and then eat without having to go back to the room. Tropical garden tour was great, enjoyed the sugar mill tour. I will be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlisonK
Business
Larkspur, CA
Aug 9, 2011

Lovely Kea Lani

We really enjoyed our ocean front suite. The view from the lanai was perfect! I wouldn't book anything other than ocean front here; your room becomes the best place to dine, read, relax, and you hear the ocean at night - divine! My husband and I enjoyed our own room with a king bed. The two tween/teens shared the other room; one on the queen sofa bed and the other on a rollaway which costs extra, but the hotel waived the daily fee. The furnishings were lovely. The bathroom was huge and well appointed. The beach in front of the resort, Polo Beach, had perfect boogie-boarding waves. We rented an umbrella for the week and relaxed and read and swam. We all liked the gradual descent into the water; on some beaches in Hawaii, you drop off into the deep almost immediately and that freaks my boy out (me too). We snorkeled right from the beach, but would recommend you take the lovely beach walk north toward Wailea Beach where the Four Seasons and Grand Wailea are and snorkel from the south end there; the reef was simply better and had more fish. I even saw a seal in the reef! And if you are a good swimmer, you can swim around the reef from Polo Beach to Wailea Beach or vice versa which I did our last morning there. The Kea Lani is at the south end of the 1.5 mile beach walk. My daughter ran the beach walk every morning. My boy enjoyed the huge water slide that connected the upper and lower swimming pools. We ate elsewhere, unimpressed with the restaurants at the resort. We enjoyed Monkeypod and Pita in Paradise 5 minutes away. We also enjoyed Eskimo Candy take out for lunch which we ate on our lanai. We so enjoyed Koiso sushi in Kihei our last night. We stocked up on breakfast food and snacks which we kept in a kitchen in our suite. We had a fridge, toaster, microwave, and coffeemaker. We hate eating out 3 meals/day while on holiday. We appreciated the kitchen in our suite very much. My kids sneaked into the Grand Wailea pool one day and we all agreed that if you want the best kid pool, that's the one, but the Kea Lani is closer to the beach and so much less of a scene. The kids described how everyone was packed around the pool at the Grand Wailea like sardines! We like a more mellow vibe and have not done resorts previously because of that. The Kea Lani was very mellow. The lobby of the Kea Lani is exquisite. The service at the front desk, concierge, housekeeping, and at the beach were all top notch. I did not feel tipped out here at all. We did not try the spa though my daughter went to one sunset yoga class. We went for rest and relaxation; we had the best weather and the water temperature in the ocean was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining in Wailea that doesn't break the bank and is 5 minutes away by car: Monkeypod and Pita in Paradise.

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Clarita, Ca
Jul 25, 2011

Excellent hotel and service.

Staff and services were excellent. Everyone from the bell attendants to room services were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

See hotel staff

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Jul 17, 2011

Great service, wonderful view

Service was great, as expected. Our daughter really enjoyed the pools and the water slide. Cabana service was not smothering, but quite attentive. The view from our suite was outstanding. If I could change one thing, I would ask the hotel to not nickel and dime their guests. $20 for a boogie board?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at Ko is surprisingly good. Great take on Asian flavors.

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ubik
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 15, 2011

A Good Resort for Families

The resort is situated in a Wailea, a beautifully groomed part of the island. Service is friendly and the free yoga classes, especially sunset yoga overlooking the beach were a real plus. The restaurant, Nick's Fishmarket is pricey but worth it. Lots of families come here, so couples looking for a quiet place might look elsewhere but people with kids could really enjoy themselves here.Gracious front desk staff upgraded us[...] we appreciated their generosity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Catch Willie K's Wednesday night at Mulligans, a nearby pub. He's a Maui legend, amazing guitarist, singer and wonderful storyteller as well.

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
Jul 11, 2011

serene and quiet, away from stress

The hotel staff was very accomodating, sweet and helpful. Everyone had a great demeanor about himself. The pools were gorgeous and the beach is beautiful. We travelled to the crater and to hana and even did a helicopter ride. Food in Maui is yummy and the hotel's restaurants were fabulous as well. Beautiful room :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
famtraveller
Business
Fremont, CA
Jul 10, 2011

Excellent service and good value

The suite was very good -- spacious and nicely appointed. Bed and sofa bed were comfortable, the bathroom was big and well designed with dual sinks. The patio/balcony was had spare space even with a big patio table and 4 chairs plus chaise. The resort amenities were decent -- kids loved the 2-level pool with connecting water slide as well as easy access to the beach. Service was excellent. We arrived much earlier than the check-in time -- they offered us a temporary "hospitality" suite to change or relax while our suite was still getting cleaned. When we called in to report an issue with the refregirator, the engineer arrived within a minute. The valet coordinator ([...]) doubled up as a concierge and they had water and towels handy at the valet desk for your outing! Will stay here again on our next trip to Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Outdoor movie at the nearby Grand Wailea and free Wednesday evening concert / performance at the "Shops at Wailea".

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palo Alto
Jul 6, 2011

Another great trip to the Kea Lani

This was our 5th time staying at the Kea Lani and we were once again very pleased! While it is not as "exciting" for our kids (ages 9, 11 and 14) as the Grand Wailea, to us parents it represents the perfect family resort. Pools, a great beach, activities, etc. but not too big or hectic so that you feel like you're always looking for your kids. The rooms are what really set the Kea Lani apart as far as value for your money; every room is an 800 sq ft suite. We book two since our kids are older and we like to have our space, but you could definitely have a family of 4 or 5 in one suite if you ask for two queen beds in the bedroom and then use the pull-out couch in the living room. The staff everywhere is extremely friendly, with the exception of perhaps the servers at the breakfast buffet. They seem to be "over it" a bit, which is strange since all they do is bring you coffee and take away plates. The concierge staff, pool attendants, etc are all great and very accommodating. We also found that booking a pool cabana worked well for us since we don't like to get out to the pool at the crack of dawn to save seats. The cost of the cabana is $150/day, but if you are a Fairmont President's Club member (free to join), they take off 15%. The price of the cabana includes a cooler with drinks (sodas, juice and water) and a large fruit plate which would often serve as our lunch since we ate so much at breakfast. The one area that we were disappointed in was the restaurants-- Ko and Nick's Fishmarket, which seem to have gone downhill in the last few years. We are definitely "foodies", so our tastes may run a little high, but it really seems like Nick's especially has lost it's edge. In years past we had been very impressed, but now found the food to be very contrived and heavy and the service unpredictable. Overall, we will definitely go back to the Kea Lani again, but probably choose to eat elsewhere more often (like at Spago at the Four Seasons where we had two AMAZING meals).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top