Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 3, 2016 Check-out: Mar 5, 2016

The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

4 stars
View map of 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, HI 96722

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
16 reviews
honey moon trip

This is a beautiful hotel, the room we stayed in had a full kitchen and a washer and dryer which... See full review

  • Scottie & Mai
  • Mar 30, 2011
30 Wedding Anniversary

WE spent a glorious four days celebrating our 30th Anniversary amidst the most beautiful scenery... See full review

  • Comby
  • Mar 24, 2011
Located 200ft above the vast Pacific Ocean, the natural setting of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas welcomes you to unwind while reconnecting with heavenly surroundings of lush gardens and ocean cliffsides on Kauai's north shore.

Rest and renew your body and spirit amid Hawaiian-style decor and fine furnishings inspired by the stunning natural beauty of Kaua'i. We offer both Studio and One Bedroom Premium Island View Villas.

At the heart of service are the Westin staff who perpetuate the aloha spirit and the rich traditions of Hawaii with gracious hospitality and personalized service. Discover authentic Kauai through wellness in travel, and discover something new about yourself.

Both valet and self parking are available at an additional cost.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

22.2216 -159.4686
Area served
Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue Airport (LIH)
Area description
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas rests on a cliff on Kauai's breathtakingly beautiful North Shore. Suspended high above the crystal clear waters of the Pacific, the resort is set against the majestic mountains of Namolokama and Makana, and is just a few miles from Hanalei Bay and the world-famous Napali Coast. Escape to this tranquil Hawaiian hideaway to renew your mind, body and spirit amid the stunning natural beauty of Kauai.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlexZ
Friends
Hong Kong
Apr 11, 2012

Nice hotel in a beautiful spot

Pros: Lovely hotel, comfortable, good swimming pools, an OK gym and BBQ pits so that you can cook yourself. There is a food shop in the hotel which is cool and something different. No need to eat at the restaurant. Cons: Only one restaurant available although it's pretty decent. Staff are pretty slow. Check-in took nearly 30mins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to St. Regis hotel for a buffet breakfast and a lovely view.

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Josh R
Couples
Goleta, California
Oct 12, 2012

Decent

We had no issues with our stay at the Westin. They were very friendly and helpful. The only issue we ran into was that Princeville is pretty far away from most activities on the island. However, the North Short is the most beautiful part of the island you can stay in imo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jobu
Couples
Evergreen, CO
May 3, 2012

The Staff is the strong point

We really enjoyed the Westin at Princeville, especially considering the rate with our last minute booking through Cheap Tickets. We even had mutpile Ocean views and not looking over a parking lot - really a great room. We were very impressed with the Staff from check in to check out and everything in-between. Great hotel, location, amenities, etc. We thought the food and drinks would be very expensive, but very reasonable considering it is on Kauai. Overall - would go again without a second thought.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Dad to Be
Couples
San Francisco, CA
May 3, 2012

Babymoon

Great hotel. A lot of do it yourself, but totally worth it for a large family and if you like to do everything yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are bbqs within walking distance that you can grill your own food on. Also, some rooms provide you everything to cook with but an oven

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kuaui Five O
Couples
Oakland, CA, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Room with a view

The grounds were very nicely laid out. Loved the room, clean, airy, only thing that would have made it better would have been a view of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

No easy breakfast within walking distance. Restaurant and bar open for lunch. The market is open in the am but totally packed and very limited options.

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wishwecouldastayedlonger
Couples
St Paul, MN, USA
Aug 24, 2011

terrible internet access, great hotel

The only real problem that we had was the internet connection in our room. They sent us three different people to try and fix it, but nothing worked. It was a pretty frustrating situation because the only way we could get internet access was by going into the main lobby - who wants to do that?! have everyone seeing what you're doing online. We thought maybe they'd at least move us to another room, considering the fact that none of their techs/engineers could solve the problem for us, but it never happened the entire WEEK we were there. Basically, everyone just gave us the run around and the problem was never resolved. On the other hand, the hotel is beautifully located and they have tons of grills for you to use. There are three pools, but the main gets crowded and there aren't enough beach chairs around it for everyone. We had to spend most of our time at one of the smaller pools because of this. Make sure you go to their sister resort, the St. Regis. It has a beautiful beach and a fantastic outlook to the ocean on the way. Take advantage of the hotel's shuttle! They can take you anywhere in the Princeville area with your request.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

There's only one main shopping center in Princeville. Get your food at Foodland!!! Don't waste money at the hotel because food there is ridiculously priced. Also, the hotel is quite far from any real culture/taste of life on the island. You'll have to drive at least 15 minutes to get to another part of the island that has more dining, shopping, and entertainment options.

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beau
San Diego, CA
May 30, 2011

Great deal and location, but a warning!

Great location, but no direct beach excess. Princeville is close to some extraordinary beaches that are just short drive away. The food and service at the restaurant and market were top notch. Housekeeping services were inadequate. We were offered a gift to attend a 90 minutes time share presentation. A warning, this presentation turned into a 3 1/2 hour aggressive high-pressure sales pitch, even after declining multiple times that left us drained and with a bad taste in our mouth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not agree to the time share presentation, it's not worth a free dinner!

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scottie & Mai
Couples
Bay area CA
Mar 30, 2011

honey moon trip

This is a beautiful hotel, the room we stayed in had a full kitchen and a washer and dryer which made us feel like we were at home. They had a gorgeous pool and a super friendly staff that were very helpful. The sunday brunch at the hotel restaurant was awesome too. Only draw back is that it's a little far away from everything on the island, you can't drive completely around the island, the northwest side is blocked by high cliffs and mountains so to get to the west side of kauai you have to drive clockwise all the way around instead of just going counter clockwise. The closest town we went to was kapaa which is still a 45min drive and to get to the southside where poipu was takes about an hr and a half since you simply cant drive faster than 40mph because of the speed limit. Oh and bring a rain jacket it pours rain daily out of nowhere there!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring a rain jacket everywhere you go it rains daily there on kauai and it comes out of nowhere, in fact the wettest spot in the world is on kauai. If you plan on hiking bring shoes you don't care about all the trails we went on were very very muddy, and read the hiking trail map!!!! the hiking trails are not big on signs so it's easy to get lost since some trails lead into other ones!

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Comby
Couples
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 24, 2011

30 Wedding Anniversary

WE spent a glorious four days celebrating our 30th Anniversary amidst the most beautiful scenery imaginable. Had a friend who lives on the island take us around and show us the private beaches and special restaurants for locals and we felt like we belonged. The amenities at the Westin were superb and immaculate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a walk along the beach starting at Hanalei and go up through Lumihai and continue up toward the Napali Coast. Just breathtakingly beautiful. Lots of gorgeous sea shells to collect along the way too. :)

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Matt - 42
Couples
San Diego
Mar 8, 2011

Some Challenges, but an OK Stay

We arrived late one evening to check-in and apparently the front desk had NO records of our reservation. We had to get on the phone with [...]& the Westin to sort out the mess. Apparently someone goofed between the two. The Westin put us up for the night even though by midnight there was no record of us in the system. I had my print out of the complete trip itinerary, however that wasn't enough. We stayed in the 1-bedroom for the first night, however still had to put down $500+ even though our trip was pre-paid.By the second day, they figured out the mess and moved us to our Deluxe Studio room. We asked to stay in the 1 bedroom, however they claimed to be 100% full in the 1 bedrooms. Packing up again and moving was a bit of a pain in the butt.Overall, the property is nice with many amenities. I believe if we didn't have the reservation [*], I would have rated it 4 stars. The rooms are nice and are perfect for travelers looking to save some dough by cooking in the kitchen. The green option is a nice touch. They will give you a $10 voucher if you choose to pass on having the room serviced. The $10 voucher does have some limitations however, and my wife experienced a very rude cashier at the Market on site. Parking can be tough. We would often have to park far from our room if coming in anytime after 8pm.At the end of the day, we would probably explore other options to stay on the Island. Unless you plan on staying on the property 75%+ of the time, it is not worth the money. However, if you have children and enjoy the flexibility of being able to cook or store food in a full kitchen, it is definitely the right choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you're going over as a couple or just single, I highly recommend saving your money and sticking with the Deluxe Studio rooms. We stayed in both the 1 bedroom and the Studio. The studio is by far a best options for your money. It is large and come with all for the same amenities as the 1 bedroom. After all, you're on Kauai and should be spending most of your time outside.

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maia Favorite Place
Couples
Berkeley, CA
Feb 22, 2011

Beautiful North Shore Stay

It was great staying on the North Shore, so close to so many amazing beaches. Great place to stay if you want to hop around to different beaches for snorkeling, sun bathing and close to Napali Coast for hiking. Wonderful and helpful staff. Only disappointment were hidden charges (ex. $9 per day for parking).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive down to the town of Hanalei 15 minutes from hotel and get some great fresh fish from the market around the back of the Hanalei Dolphin restaurant. Take it back to the hotel and grill it outside on the gas grills they provide.

Back to menu Return to top