Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Kauai Marriott Resort

4 stars
Kalapaki Beach, 3610 Rice Street, Lihue - Kauai, HI 96766
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
331 reviews
Fantastic family resort

The 4 foot deep pool was gigantic with multiple hot tubs. The poolside Kakapaki grill had delicious... See full review

  • N. L.
  • Jul 20, 2014
Hawaiin Holiday - Lihue

Excellent hotel overall. This location is in the center of everything to the north and south, and... See full review

  • Howdy44
  • Jul 19, 2014
Luxury resort entices with gentle waves and challenging fairways
Spread across 800 acres edging Kalapaki Beach, swanky Kauai Marriott Resort has what it takes for a fabulous tropical vacation, not the least of which is a 26,000-square-foot mega pool and Jack Nicklaus championship golf course. The resort's 10-story building holds 356 stylish rooms with views across flowering gardens and the blue waters of Nawiliwili Bay. On the sand, the famed Kalapaki Beach Boys have water sport rentals and surfing pros waiting to teach. Not that action is everything, because this is a fine place to kick back and do nothing.
Highlights
  • Largest single-level pool in Hawaii
  • Daily surfing lessons with the Kalapaki Beach Boys (fee applies)
  • Sublime Alexandra Spa
  • Kauai Lagoons Golf Club
  • Kalapaki Kids Club for ages 5-12 (fee applies)
Location
Set on the eastern shore of Kauai, the Kauai Marriott Resort is just five minutes from Lihue airport. It is centrally located for exploring, from Waimea Canyon 31 miles west to the Na Pali cliffs 38 miles north. The shops and restaurants of Poipu Beach are just 15 miles southwest.
Features
After a $50-million renovation in 2010, this luxury gem shines anew. Rooms feature bold colors and sleek, contemporary furnishings with an island vibe. All rooms have new luxury bedding, Internet access (fee applies) and a refrigerator among the upscale touches. There are six restaurants, including a morning coffee bar, with Italian, Japanese, seafood and international in the culinary mix. The Kauai Marriott Resort has long catered to romance -- an average of 100 couples a year tie the knot here -- and one option is a private waterfront dinner in a gazebo or cabana (reserve three months out).
Recreation
Kalapaki Beach entices swimmers and snorkelers and is one of the best spots for beginning surfers. Kauai Lagoons Golf Club is also one of the best courses on Kauai, a 7,055-yard beauty designed by Jack Nicklaus. Resort guests pay discounted greens fees.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle on request
Attractions
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Kipu Ranch Adventures (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Wailua Falls (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (31.5 mi/50.6 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center
  • Thirteen rooms, including Kauai's largest ballroom, totaling 20,230 square feet of meeting space
  • Nearly 60,000 square feet of outdoor function space
  • On-site AV support
  • Wired and wireless Internet access (fee applies)

Kauai Marriott Resort Rooms

Partial Ocean View
The best of both worlds, combination of Garden and Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Ocean View
Looking out on the white sand beach of Kalapaki, Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, I King or 2 Double Beds.
Garden View
Lush tropical Garden view with balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Pool View
Overlooking the inviting 26,000 square feet pool, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Standard Non-View
Windows do not open, no balcony, full access to all resort amenities, 1 King or 2 Double, Mini-fridge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauai Marriott Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.9648 -159.354
Area served
Island of Kauai, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport
Area description
Located beachfront on historic Kalapaki Beach along Kaua'is eastern shore, just minutes from Lihue airport and a wide variety of island activities and attractions.

Dining

Kukui's on Kalapaki Beach
Relax in a contemporary, open air poolside setting as you enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet or a selection from our Local Hawaiian and Pacific rim inspired menu. Be sure to save room for our famous Pacific Crab and Prime Rib Buffet on Fridays and Saturdays and the sumptuous Sunday Champagne Brunch, or join us for one of our fabulous Holiday buffets.
Aupaka Terrace
The perfect place to start your day with a cup of fresh Kauai Coffee and delicious pastry or wind down at day's end with your favorite martini or specialty cocktail. Aupaka's gorgeous views of our signature pool, Kalapaki Beach and the Haupu Mountain range beyond provide the perfect complement to any occasion.
Toro-Tei Sushi Bar
Sample mouth watering hand rolled sushi, sashimi and specialty rolls featuring the freshest seafood and local ingredients done with creative flair in airy beachfront locale. Try a sake sampler or sip your favorite cocktail while you enjoy the view. Whether you are a purist or neophyte, Toro-Tei promises something for everyone
Kalapaki Grill
Poolside dining, enjoy light fare, pizza, beachboy burgers and grilled snacks by the pool.
Duke's
Fresh seafood and Ocean views. Casual restaurant specializing in local island fare, fresh fish and steaks in an exotic environment.
Caf Portofino
Al fresco Italian fine dining featuring breathtaking ocean views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (331)

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Marriott Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
331 out of 331
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wawilso1
MD
Sep 7, 2012

Good Stay

What you expect from a mega resort. It had it's own beach with hotel and offsite beach rental items so it keeps the hotel prices honest. Also they have a Dukes canoe (on hotel property) and several other eateries near by that offer offsite lower cost options.. However the onsite prices were not as bad as other similar hotels. The pool was very nice and if you don't want to dont want to rent a car the airport is very close and shuttles run all the time. If you do rent a car they have an onsite facility. However if you are looking to cut costs you can easily take the shuttle to the airport and choose from several other rental car facilities. We used the onsite facility and it worked great for us. The restaraunts were good I do think this is an area that could be improved. The food was so so except for the main dinning area. All in all agood central location and we were happy with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kauai Dreamin
Los Angeles, California
Aug 31, 2012

When can we go back?!

The Kauai Marriott was amazing! The staff was fantastic, the location was incredible, the pool was humungous - seriously one of the best vacations we have ever been on. My wife and I had an amazing time and would go back in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MoMo18
San Antonio, Texas
Jul 31, 2012

Can't wait to return

Easily the best hotel on Kauai! The hotel itself is breath taking. The staff was very helpful and had such a great customer focused attitude. I have been to Oahu, Maui, and now Kauai, and this hotel is the best by far we have stayed at. They were full over the weekend when we were there, and it did not feel packed at all. The dinning expericences around the hotel were high class. We really enjoyed it (especially Cafe Portofino, it is a must). Book this hotel, you will not regret it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Hawaii Helicopter tour is right across the street. Also go to the breakfast and burger shack. The burgers are great, but the breakfast is even better. Price is right also. The hotel has resort type prices, where you can get a decent breakfast for good prices here.

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tokyo
Jul 20, 2012

Best pool!!!

Love the big pool!! Nice!! I and my boyfriend was at the pool all day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Frusion
Birmingham, AL
Jul 16, 2012

This Place Rocks

This place has a great location, great restaurants, great rooms, great staff. If you are going to see Kauai and need a place to stay, check this out. It has a beach you can actually swim and hang out at unlike some other hotels/resorts on Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Duke's - Hula Pie. That's all you need to know.

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kityhwk313
Danville, CA.
Jul 16, 2012

Great location

This hotel is just minutes from the airport. The property is nice, clean. The room wasn't guaranteed until 4pm which was disappointing since we arrived in the morning. But they did call when the room was ready. The bellmen staff were very helpful and friendly. The concierge was always busy and I could never get to talk with anyone. That was frustrating. The room had a safe but ours was broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Mark's for great hawaiian food

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PaulCC
New York, NY
Jul 16, 2012

Nice and worth it

the resort is vey nice. room is clean and modern. Will definitely stay if visit kauai next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birdnest
Dallas, TX
Jul 4, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at this lovely resort

The Kauai Marriot resort is located conveniently near the airport and attractions on south shore and east coast. It is a nice resort with many amenities, including a few good restaurants. The courtyard was particularly lovely. The room quality was average given the price paid- bathroom and shower a little snug and not much space to put stuff on, and the Sunday brunch was way overpriced- above $30 for so-so food. You can walk to other restaurants between the Duke and the Harbor Mall for pretty decent food at a fraction of the cost. We were too busy exploring theisland and did not enjoy their beach unfortunately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lovekauaialot
California
Jun 28, 2012

Horrible room.

We stayed at the Marriott Kauai Resort in Lihue in June 2012. While the resort is pleasant enough overall (despite the inexplicable $25-per-day "resort fee"), you must be very careful in booking your reservation. DO NOT trust your Hawaii vacation to Marriott without fully investigating any "good deal" you find on the Internet. I was not careful enough, and my Marriott "good deal" was the only ugly part of the vacation. Marriott does not disclose up front that it has a series of throw-away rooms few vacationers would knowingly select. Marriott does not even offer these rooms on a standalone basis, but they are the ONLY rooms offered on their room+car deals. When you book just the room, you can select an "ocean view," "pool view," or "garden view," representing descending desirability and price. But when you book a room+car (usually looks like a really great deal) you automatically receive a "NO VIEW" room. Marriott does not tell you what a "no view" room is, or that it is altogether unacceptable. Also, when you book just the room, your reservation can be canceled at any time. But once you book a room+car deal substantial penalties apply if you try to cancel. Thus you are locked into your really unpleasant room. I canceled a standalone "garden view" booking in favor of a room +car deal before realizing that somewhere in the process "garden view" had changed to "no view." I made the mistake of trusting my vacation to Marriott without asking enough questions. We come to Hawaii expecting a certain kind of experience. Few are more ubiquitous and pleasant than looking out to the green Hawaiian mountains or blue ocean while feeling the perpetual trade wind breeze wash over you. But the Marriott "no view" room not only has no view (except clouds if you look up), but the windows are permanently sealed shut! This means that the only breeze you'll feel is from the air conditioning unit that almost provides enough air movement in a very little room to stave off claustrophobia. In short, when you step into a Marriott Kauai "no view" room, you leave Hawaii for any dark, smoggy metropolis you might imagine. And Marriott's "no view" rooms aren't cheap. You can get ocean-front (better then "ocean view") rooms elsewhere on Kauai for much less. I talked to management at the hotel. They admitted the no view room is only suitable for guests to only come in to sleep, but some guests prefer that. (But Marriott never warns you until you've bought the room, so how would we know?). They claimed to be 100% full, but offered me an upgrade to a garden view room for $80 per night, which was much more than my original but canceled booking. I couldn't afford the upgrade, so they ignored me. I'll go back when money Summary: Kauai--Great! Marriott Resort--Good but very expensive. Room--Very, very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Shrimp Station in Kapaa has the best shrimp on the island. Had coconut and beer-battered varieties. Excellent!

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ihopenoonetookthisnameyet
NJ
Jun 5, 2012

Great Stay

Everything was great, the staff, the rooms, the food. The drinks were a little high but so is everything else in Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Kauai Tours Sunset boat trip

Back to menu Return to top