Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Kauai Marriott Resort

4 stars
Kalapaki Beach, 3610 Rice Street, Lihue - Kauai, HI 96766
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
225 reviews
Marriott was magnificent!

We have now enjoyed both the Kauai Marriott in Lihue and the Coconut Beach Marriott in Kapaa. Both... See full review

  • Maui Magnetism
  • Aug 22, 2014
Refreshed honeymooner

Great location, everything was perfect. Plenty of restaurant choices on resort. Free shuttle... See full review

  • Refreshed Honeymooner
  • Aug 19, 2014
Luxury resort entices with gentle waves and challenging fairways
Spread across 800 acres edging Kalapaki Beach, swanky Kauai Marriott Resort has what it takes for a fabulous tropical vacation, not the least of which is a 26,000-square-foot mega pool and Jack Nicklaus championship golf course. The resort's 10-story building holds 356 stylish rooms with views across flowering gardens and the blue waters of Nawiliwili Bay. On the sand, the famed Kalapaki Beach Boys have water sport rentals and surfing pros waiting to teach. Not that action is everything, because this is a fine place to kick back and do nothing.
Highlights
  • Largest single-level pool in Hawaii
  • Daily surfing lessons with the Kalapaki Beach Boys (fee applies)
  • Sublime Alexandra Spa
  • Kauai Lagoons Golf Club
  • Kalapaki Kids Club for ages 5-12 (fee applies)
Location
Set on the eastern shore of Kauai, the Kauai Marriott Resort is just five minutes from Lihue airport. It is centrally located for exploring, from Waimea Canyon 31 miles west to the Na Pali cliffs 38 miles north. The shops and restaurants of Poipu Beach are just 15 miles southwest.
Features
After a $50-million renovation in 2010, this luxury gem shines anew. Rooms feature bold colors and sleek, contemporary furnishings with an island vibe. All rooms have new luxury bedding, Internet access (fee applies) and a refrigerator among the upscale touches. There are six restaurants, including a morning coffee bar, with Italian, Japanese, seafood and international in the culinary mix. The Kauai Marriott Resort has long catered to romance -- an average of 100 couples a year tie the knot here -- and one option is a private waterfront dinner in a gazebo or cabana (reserve three months out).
Recreation
Kalapaki Beach entices swimmers and snorkelers and is one of the best spots for beginning surfers. Kauai Lagoons Golf Club is also one of the best courses on Kauai, a 7,055-yard beauty designed by Jack Nicklaus. Resort guests pay discounted greens fees.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle on request
Attractions
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Kipu Ranch Adventures (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Wailua Falls (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (31.5 mi/50.6 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center
  • Thirteen rooms, including Kauai's largest ballroom, totaling 20,230 square feet of meeting space
  • Nearly 60,000 square feet of outdoor function space
  • On-site AV support
  • Wired and wireless Internet access (fee applies)

Kauai Marriott Resort Rooms

Partial Ocean View
The best of both worlds, combination of Garden and Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Ocean View
Looking out on the white sand beach of Kalapaki, Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, I King or 2 Double Beds.
Garden View
Lush tropical Garden view with balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Pool View
Overlooking the inviting 26,000 square feet pool, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Standard Non-View
Windows do not open, no balcony, full access to all resort amenities, 1 King or 2 Double, Mini-fridge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauai Marriott Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.9648 -159.354
Area served
Island of Kauai, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport
Area description
Located beachfront on historic Kalapaki Beach along Kaua'is eastern shore, just minutes from Lihue airport and a wide variety of island activities and attractions.

Dining

Kukui's on Kalapaki Beach
Relax in a contemporary, open air poolside setting as you enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet or a selection from our Local Hawaiian and Pacific rim inspired menu. Be sure to save room for our famous Pacific Crab and Prime Rib Buffet on Fridays and Saturdays and the sumptuous Sunday Champagne Brunch, or join us for one of our fabulous Holiday buffets.
Aupaka Terrace
The perfect place to start your day with a cup of fresh Kauai Coffee and delicious pastry or wind down at day's end with your favorite martini or specialty cocktail. Aupaka's gorgeous views of our signature pool, Kalapaki Beach and the Haupu Mountain range beyond provide the perfect complement to any occasion.
Toro-Tei Sushi Bar
Sample mouth watering hand rolled sushi, sashimi and specialty rolls featuring the freshest seafood and local ingredients done with creative flair in airy beachfront locale. Try a sake sampler or sip your favorite cocktail while you enjoy the view. Whether you are a purist or neophyte, Toro-Tei promises something for everyone
Kalapaki Grill
Poolside dining, enjoy light fare, pizza, beachboy burgers and grilled snacks by the pool.
Duke's
Fresh seafood and Ocean views. Casual restaurant specializing in local island fare, fresh fish and steaks in an exotic environment.
Caf Portofino
Al fresco Italian fine dining featuring breathtaking ocean views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (225)

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Marriott Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
225 out of 225
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R.young
honolulu
Nov 26, 2012

One of the best resorts in Hawaii

I live in Hawaii and this resort made me feel in paradise. Resort is Huge with a private beach. As soon as you enter the property you're overwhemled by the vibrant colors of the plants, ponds, art, and resort. The beach is awesome, its basically a private bay and they have volleyball nets and bar service available. I am used to beaches, so I spent a lot of time at the pool with some mixed drinks from the kalapaki bar. This bar is full service and you can order any drink you can think of... they also serve food too. The resort also has daily events that were pretty fun to learn about hawaii culture, but i think its more geared to kids. They have a fitness center thats pretty good for a resort. For food I liked Dukes. My wife said it was okay, but she doesnt really like local food. I seriuosly recommend to try it if you havent tried local food. The rooms were very spaciuos and service is very fast. I asked for glasses and extra towels and I got them in less than five minutes. Staff is very friendly showing you the true spirit of ALOHA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

My favorite resturant was egg berts... I think it was in a coconut center. They had live hula dancers and the egg benedict was the best I have ever tasted.

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One and only my kids mom
Sunnyvale, CA
Nov 14, 2012

Wonderful family vacation time!!

Kauai Marriott is a beautiful hotel, conveniently located with great beach, nice restaurants, wonderful and friendly staff. It was very comfortable and enjoyable stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Honeymoon Bob
Ft Myers, Florida
Nov 1, 2012

Beautiful Resort!

We were very impressed with the hotel..... especially beautiful pool design.... It has a lovely location with gorgeous views of ocean and mountains. It also is easy to get around to visit other parts of Kauai. We enjoyed the restaurants on the Resort - especially the Italian restaurant.... NO ONE served fruit!!!!!!! How can this be in Hawaii??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Our helicopter ride was spectacular!

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SandMan2012
Columbus, Ohio
Oct 13, 2012

Great vacation

This hotel has a great location for exploring the island. The beach felt very safe to swim and walk. The pool was always clean and security was very active in making sure only resort guests were using the pool. Room was clean and met my expectations. I would recomend this hotel the friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tylers
Redmond Washington
Oct 2, 2012

Great Anniversary Getaway

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the centrally located resort. Rent a car and you are able to enjoy the entire island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kalapaki Joes across the street has a great happy hour 3 to 6 each day.

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MarketingMaven
Arizona
Oct 1, 2012

Stay somewhere else

This resort is the Super Walmart of resorts.  I don't know where to begin with how disapointed I am with this hotel and our experience - - so I will just drive right in.  We stayed at this resort for the last five days of our honeymoon (the first week of our honeymoon was spent in Maui). Our arrival Upon our arival, no bell service assisted us with our luggage.  My husband dropped me off curbside and unloaded our bags and proceeded to park the car.  I had to flag down a bellman to assist me.  Our "geeting" at the front desk was less than warm.  In the few minutes it took us to check in, we were "encouraged" numerous times to upgrade our room (which made me begin to think that maybe the quality of the room we reserved was not good).  It was really annoying.  The woman handed us a map of the resort and circled our room.  I didn't expect her to review the entire resort map with me, but it would have been nice to point out the dining options or where we go to get our towels or rent activitiy equiptment. Rooms Our room was a pool and ocean view.  It was very large (and included a large sitting area with a couch).  The patio was also a nice size.  The bed was comfortable. Our first night, several of the rooms in our hallway flooded.  Although our room was not flooded, the smell in the hallway was horrific. It smelled like a backed up sewer for the next two days. Luckily the smell was only in the hall and did not make it into our room (or I would have insisted that we be moved.)   Someone (I am assuming children) dropped a ton of crackers in the hallway and stomped all of over them.  This wasn't cleaned for two days. Staff The staff is hit or miss.  Some are very helpful and friendly and others would prefer not to assist you at all. Guests This is what really confused me and made me feel like I was staying in a Walmart more than anything. The guests here are extremely rude. (It is shocking actually coming from Maui where the guests at the hotel were courteous to other guests, very laid back, and everyone was just trying to have a good time and enjoy their vacation.)  The older crowd (i.e., senior citizens) acted like everyone around them was an annoyance and that other guests were interfering with their vacation.  The large families and mass groups of kids acted like a zoo. There were constantly guests yelling off of their balcony to their family members at the pool trying to get their attention and then have a whole yelling conversation about their plans for the day. There were groups of high school and college students being obnixous (i.e., kicking volleyballs around the sand and grass area, hitting other guests and guests' beach chairs with the ball; trying to parkour off of the resort trees and various structures; and at the main pool it was constant screaming and horseplay with kids who were left unattended by their parents.)  It was a real scene. I have not stayed on another property on Kauai before but I would certainly reccomend ANYWHERE but here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KESN
Bay Area, CA
Sep 25, 2012

Great Place to stay.

This has everything you need including a private pool and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want shaved ice early in the day, go to Halo Halo Corner off of Rice st.

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gjschoele
Hawaii
Sep 23, 2012

Great hotel

Great place! Beautiful hotel and great location. Pool is exceptionally nice as is the beach. Plenty of great places nearby to eat at, especially Duke's. only complaint is that the staff was not very friendly, seem to regard guests as just pain in the but tourists. Other than that, fairly nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old Frugal Traveler
Danville, California
Sep 14, 2012

I think the staff is friendlier here

Maybe it's Kauai, more rural, more small town, but the staff seemed friendlier than those at some other large resorts. Great location close to shops that sell lots of clothes and other items that are made in Hawaii. Walking distance to restaurants that are owned by locals with great food and local beers. Complaints: They could steam clean those marble bathroom floors every once in a while.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The bar and grill across the street in the Harbor Mall had a hamburger made from beef and pork from Kauai...fantastic and the fries were the best on the island.

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wawilso1
MD
Sep 7, 2012

Good Stay

What you expect from a mega resort. It had it's own beach with hotel and offsite beach rental items so it keeps the hotel prices honest. Also they have a Dukes canoe (on hotel property) and several other eateries near by that offer offsite lower cost options.. However the onsite prices were not as bad as other similar hotels. The pool was very nice and if you don't want to dont want to rent a car the airport is very close and shuttles run all the time. If you do rent a car they have an onsite facility. However if you are looking to cut costs you can easily take the shuttle to the airport and choose from several other rental car facilities. We used the onsite facility and it worked great for us. The restaraunts were good I do think this is an area that could be improved. The food was so so except for the main dinning area. All in all agood central location and we were happy with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top