Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

Kauai Marriott Resort

4 stars
Kalapaki Beach, 3610 Rice Street, Lihue - Kauai, HI 96766
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
235 reviews
Tropical Resort Fun

Good location (although there are probably quieter beaches - this one is close to the airport, so... See full review

  • Satura
  • Dec 1, 2014
Thank You Hurricane Iselle and Julio...

Greatest experience ever. We arrived in between both hurricanes and the weather was never a factor.... See full review

  • JayRB
  • Nov 30, 2014
Luxury resort entices with gentle waves and challenging fairways
Spread across 800 acres edging Kalapaki Beach, swanky Kauai Marriott Resort has what it takes for a fabulous tropical vacation, not the least of which is a 26,000-square-foot mega pool and Jack Nicklaus championship golf course. The resort's 10-story building holds 356 stylish rooms with views across flowering gardens and the blue waters of Nawiliwili Bay. On the sand, the famed Kalapaki Beach Boys have water sport rentals and surfing pros waiting to teach. Not that action is everything, because this is a fine place to kick back and do nothing.
Highlights
  • Largest single-level pool in Hawaii
  • Daily surfing lessons with the Kalapaki Beach Boys (fee applies)
  • Sublime Alexandra Spa
  • Kauai Lagoons Golf Club
  • Kalapaki Kids Club for ages 5-12 (fee applies)
Location
Set on the eastern shore of Kauai, the Kauai Marriott Resort is just five minutes from Lihue airport. It is centrally located for exploring, from Waimea Canyon 31 miles west to the Na Pali cliffs 38 miles north. The shops and restaurants of Poipu Beach are just 15 miles southwest.
Features
After a $50-million renovation in 2010, this luxury gem shines anew. Rooms feature bold colors and sleek, contemporary furnishings with an island vibe. All rooms have new luxury bedding, Internet access (fee applies) and a refrigerator among the upscale touches. There are six restaurants, including a morning coffee bar, with Italian, Japanese, seafood and international in the culinary mix. The Kauai Marriott Resort has long catered to romance -- an average of 100 couples a year tie the knot here -- and one option is a private waterfront dinner in a gazebo or cabana (reserve three months out).
Recreation
Kalapaki Beach entices swimmers and snorkelers and is one of the best spots for beginning surfers. Kauai Lagoons Golf Club is also one of the best courses on Kauai, a 7,055-yard beauty designed by Jack Nicklaus. Resort guests pay discounted greens fees.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle on request
Attractions
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Kipu Ranch Adventures (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Wailua Falls (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (31.5 mi/50.6 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center
  • Thirteen rooms, including Kauai's largest ballroom, totaling 20,230 square feet of meeting space
  • Nearly 60,000 square feet of outdoor function space
  • On-site AV support
  • Wired and wireless Internet access (fee applies)

Kauai Marriott Resort Rooms

Partial Ocean View
The best of both worlds, combination of Garden and Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Ocean View
Looking out on the white sand beach of Kalapaki, Ocean view with Balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, I King or 2 Double Beds.
Garden View
Lush tropical Garden view with balcony, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Pool View
Overlooking the inviting 26,000 square feet pool, complimentary Kauai Coffee, mini fridge, 1 King or 2 Double Beds.
Standard Non-View
Windows do not open, no balcony, full access to all resort amenities, 1 King or 2 Double, Mini-fridge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauai Marriott Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.9648 -159.354
Area served
Island of Kauai, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport
Area description
Located beachfront on historic Kalapaki Beach along Kaua'is eastern shore, just minutes from Lihue airport and a wide variety of island activities and attractions.

Dining

Kukui's on Kalapaki Beach
Relax in a contemporary, open air poolside setting as you enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet or a selection from our Local Hawaiian and Pacific rim inspired menu. Be sure to save room for our famous Pacific Crab and Prime Rib Buffet on Fridays and Saturdays and the sumptuous Sunday Champagne Brunch, or join us for one of our fabulous Holiday buffets.
Aupaka Terrace
The perfect place to start your day with a cup of fresh Kauai Coffee and delicious pastry or wind down at day's end with your favorite martini or specialty cocktail. Aupaka's gorgeous views of our signature pool, Kalapaki Beach and the Haupu Mountain range beyond provide the perfect complement to any occasion.
Toro-Tei Sushi Bar
Sample mouth watering hand rolled sushi, sashimi and specialty rolls featuring the freshest seafood and local ingredients done with creative flair in airy beachfront locale. Try a sake sampler or sip your favorite cocktail while you enjoy the view. Whether you are a purist or neophyte, Toro-Tei promises something for everyone
Kalapaki Grill
Poolside dining, enjoy light fare, pizza, beachboy burgers and grilled snacks by the pool.
Duke's
Fresh seafood and Ocean views. Casual restaurant specializing in local island fare, fresh fish and steaks in an exotic environment.
Caf Portofino
Al fresco Italian fine dining featuring breathtaking ocean views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (235)

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Marriott Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
235 out of 235
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GaryD
Business
New York, NY
Mar 16, 2013

Great sprawling resort

Lots to do. Quiet bay- able to do water sports without waves beating you up. Close to airport which has its benefits and shortcomings. A place you can get lost in or use as a catapult to either the north or south side of the isle. Very comfortable rooms. Most importantly... I am strongly considering staying there again in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The night sky walking around the resort. So much focus on the beach- the sky is a pleasant beautiful surprise.

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Forpar
Business
Mesa, AZ
Mar 14, 2013

What a great resort

The staff was very kind and helpful. The location is little away from some of the better beaches but overall our stay was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
theelfismike
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 7, 2013

Great beachside property

We had an ocean view room that was fantastic. We looked out over the beach and the pool and could hear the waves on the beach from our room at night. The restaurants on the property were great and used the shuttle to/from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants on the property were good. The drinks and ribs at Dukes were great!

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
UriL
Business
Oxnard, CA
Mar 6, 2013

This is one of the best place we've ever been!

The perfect location, clean and specious room, friendly stuff, - all set up for the perfect vacation time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk along the beach.

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brubro
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 5, 2013

Top Ten Reasons to Stay Here!

1. Location: Only 10 minutes from the airport in Lihue, and you never hear an airplane at the resort 2. Incredibly beautiful, large pool and beach areas 3. Well-equipped gym open 24/7 4. The Maholo Mug: for $35 you get unlimited coffee, tea, and soft-drinks for your entire stay 5. Happy-hour drinks on the terrace with live music 6. Great 42-inch HD TV in the rooms, and very comfortable beds/pillows 7. Customer-oriented staff very helpful and pleasant 8. Many restaurant choices within walking distance (but if you have a car, check out Kauai Pasta...so very good Italian!) 9. Never had trouble finding a lounge chair at the beach or pool 10. The 9:00 am feeding at the Koi Pond (Kids love it!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kauai Pasta in Lihue: Good Italian fare, and the dinner specials really were special.

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LAURAandTROY
Business
Wasilla Alaska
Feb 26, 2013

Kauai Marriot February 2013

All in all I would say that the kauai Marriot met our expectations, the only negative was that we had requested a king size bed but ended up with 2 double beds, other than that a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You cant go wrong with any of the on-site dining options

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
High Expectation Traveler
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 24, 2013

Great Location

The location of the hotel was terrific. The staff seemed somewhat indifferent i.e. front desk, waitress, and concierge.They were not friendly compared to Westin and Hilton staff we encountered on this trip.Your bellman and parking attendants were friendly. I requested but we were not allowed to stay a short period after checkout, something we have not previously been denied when we requested it at other first class hotels. Note that we paid full price for our rooms, not a discounted tour rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Perfect Planner
Business
Kapolei, HI
Feb 23, 2013

Your Best Bet

We really enjoyed the location of this hotel. Lihue made for a great home base getting out and back to the North Shore as well as the West Side with plenty of time for dinner and pool. The rooms are also very comfortable and up to date. The exterior of the hotel looks a little outdated but don't be fooled! The pool is also very impressive and right on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk out of the hotel and there are more restaurants. Past Duke's is a nice joint called JJ's Broiler with a large selection of food, outdoor seating, and better prices. Across the street from JJ's is a Restaurant Row offering several other places to eat. Be sure to check these out!

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Saumya
Business
San Jose, California
Feb 13, 2013

excellent honeymoon spot !

Its a great location with the beach righr in front of you. Thw food is good as well as the amenities. We had a locely time. Will surely go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kauai Marriott Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KJ loves the beach
Business
St Paul, MN
Jan 23, 2013

Wonderful beach/pool/location

This was our first time to Kauai and I am so glad we stayed at the Marriott. The location is key- after getting off a long flight the last thing we wanted to do was drive another hour to a different hotel on the north shore or something. This place is literally a 6 min drive from the airport but you hear NO PLANE noise! The grounds are beautiful, the beach is one of a kind and we checked out most beaches on all shores. The north shore and west shore were rough most of the time and unswimable but Kalapaki Bay where the hotel is located is protected and has great opportunities to be in the water. Lots of people trying paddle boards for the first time. We took day trips all over the island but some of our best days were on the beach in front of the Marriott. Our room was a bit small but comfortable. Even tho it was a 'garden view' we had an ocean view (the 11th floor of the tower we were in). So much history at this hotel too. We enjoyed exploring the grounds, hiking out to the lighthouse and around the beautiful golf course which never looked busy but well maintained. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone. It was fun to walk down the boardwalk to the various restaurants and small shops in the Nawililiwili harbor area. Cruise ships dock not too far away so there are lots of little local shops/restaurants to check out. We will go back to Kauai and after checking out a lot of the island and other resort beaches, we would definitely choose the Marriott in Lihu'e again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Our flight back to the mainland didn't leave until 11pm and checkout was at noon. We didn't do the extended stay which has a fee but instead used the 'owners lounge' which has lockers and a shower and left our bags with the front desk. It was free! So we were able to use the beach/hotel all day and then shower/change before we left for no additional cost. Inquire about this 'owners lounge' at the front desk if you have a late flight home. So convenient and a nice perk! :) Good job Marriott!

Back to menu Return to top