Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Kauai Beach Resort

4 stars
4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, HI 96766
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
407 reviews
Awesome hotel!

For the price I paid, I was not expecting the type of hotel we received. On Oahu, where we live,... See full review

  • Maheamarleen
  • Jul 20, 2014
Kauai ...our last night

Spent our last night here...excellent service. We checked in early..Rom was cool and ready. Enjoyed... See full review

  • Family from Cali
  • Jun 22, 2014
Plantation-style goes upscale on Kauai's Royal Coconut Coast
Set on 25 acres along a three-mile beach -- Kauai's longest -- this resort evokes the graciousness of the plantation era but with a host of contemporary amenities. The beach, which is perfect for sauntering or sunning, is not for swimming. No problem. Kauai Beach Resort has four pools, a beachfront sand-bottomed pool and a fantasy pool with a 75-foot lava-tube water slide among them. Two restaurants, a lounge, a fitness center and a spa round out the facilities. And when guests want to explore further afield, Kauai's east coast is an ideal spot from which to do it.
Highlights
  • Fantasy pool with 75-foot lava-tube water slide
  • Series of concerts and programs promoting Hawaiian arts and artists
  • Hawaiian Rainforest Spa
  • Complimentary bocce
  • Complimentary airport shuttle
Location
Kauai's Royal Coconut Coast is rife with sacred sites and groves of slender coconut palms, with its character shaped in part by long, curving Wailua River, the only navigable river in all of Hawaii. A stay here should include visits to a trio of sites, Fern Grotto, Secret Falls, and 80-foot Wailua Falls, made famous in the opening scene of TV classic "Fantasy Island."
Rooms
Accents such as louvered doors and wood floors recall plantation style, but the old plantation homes didn't have what these rooms at Kauai Beach Resort have: travertine marble in the bathrooms and iPod docks in the living rooms.
Features

There's a distinctly Hawaiian feel to Kauai Beach Resort with its island architecture, but also a culture of sharing and promoting authentic Hawaiiana that sets it apart. The resort hosts events all year, including local musicians who share their art and stories, benefit concerts supporting the perpetuation of Hawaiian language and music, and a festival featuring the state's top slack-key artists. Check the annual calendar and plan your trip accordingly.

 

Although the beach out front isn't safe for swimming, Lydgate Beach Park, a couple of miles away, offers excellent swimming and snorkeling.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Complimentary airport shuttle
Attractions
  • Wailua Golf Course (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Lydgate Beach Park (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Fern Grotto (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Wailua River (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
Business
  • Four rooms, 13,000-plus square feet of flexible indoor space
  • Find 15,000 square feet of event-ready courtyards, lawns and poolside venues
  • A small business center
  • High-speed Internet (fee applies)

Kauai Beach Resort Rooms

Lagoon View
Room offers; One King or Two Double Beds. Standard guestrooms include in-room safe, refrigerator, premium television channels including pay-per-view movies, private lanais and daily maid service. Rate is for 1 - 2 people. (320 sq ft)
Pool View
Room offers; One King or Two Double Beds. Standard guestrooms include in-room safe, refrigerator, premium television channels including pay-per-view movies, private lanais and daily maid service. Rate is for 1 - 2 people. (320sq ft)
Ocean View
Room offers; One King or Two Double Beds. Standard guestrooms include in-room safe, refrigerator, premium television channels including pay-per-view movies, private lanais and daily maid service. Rate is for 1 - 2 people. (320 sq ft)
Mountain Garden View
Room offers; One King or Two Double Beds. Standard guestrooms include in-room safe, refrigerator, premium television channels including pay-per-view movies, private lanais and daily maid service. Rate is for 1 - 2 people. (320 sq ft)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauai Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

22.01 -159.3378
Area served
Lihue and Kapaa Island of Kauai Hawaii
Nearby airports
LIH - Lihue International Airport
Area description
The Aqua Kauai Beach Resort is located on the eastern side of the island of Kauai on 25 lushly landscaped oceanfront acres adjacent to Kuhio Highway 56, five minutes north of the Lihue airport and 10 minutes north of the town of Lihue. The Kauai Beach Resort is located on the eastern side of the island of Kauai on 25 lushly landscaped oceanfront acres adjacent to Kuhio Highway 56, five minutes north of the Lihue airport and 10 minutes north of the town of Lihue.

Dining

Naupaka Terrace Restaurant
Open daily from 6:00am to 11:00am Greet the morning with "grab and go" options! Healthy breakfast items include assorted yogurts, fruit & yogurt parfaits, a delicious assortment of Muffins and Bagels, Breakfast Burrito, and other specialty items! Savor a steaming hot cup of Hawaiian Coffee, Latte, Espresso and more! Open for breakfast daily from 6:30 am to 10:30 am. Start your day your way! Enjoy an all-you-can-eat hearty buffet or an la carte menu of breakfast favorites, house specialties, omelets, and more! Open for dinner nightly from 6:00pm to 9:00pm. Our menu features culinary creations from the land and sea that include steak and seafood entres, island-inspired cuisine, and our bountiful garden salad bar featuring a "soup and salad du jour"! On Saturday nightswe've got a fabulous Seafood Buffet!
Shutters Lounge
Open Sun - Thur 5:00 pm to 11:00 pm Fri & Sat 5:00 pm to midnight. Happy Hour daily from 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm. Specialty drinks, draft beers, wines, and a light dinner menu featuring a variety of salads, pizza, burgers, and tasty appetizers! 4 flat screen TVs and live island music every evening! Nightly entertainment 7:00 - 10:00 pm.
Driftwood Bar & Grille
Lunch served daily 11:30am to 6:00pm. Happy Hour daily - 3 pm to 5 pm. Join us poolside for light fare, tropical drinks, and happy hour specials! Catch sports events on flat screen TVs and live music every Saturday during happy hour.
Room Service
Available daily 6:30 am to 10:00pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (407)

Ratings and reviews for Kauai Beach Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
407 out of 407
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hiker girl
Houghton, Michigan
Apr 13, 2012

Delayed Honeymoon

We were given a free upgrade with a garden view. Room was immaculate, fresh smelling and the king size bed was super comfortable. I would highly recommend getting the buffet breakfast included if possible. We paid an extra $10 and were treated to an all you can eat buffet every morning which included everything you could possibly want for breakfast. Staff were all very friendly and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The hotel had customer service representatives on hand from 8am to 7pm daily. They truly made our vacation memorable by recommending sites, restaurants and adventures to partake in. They also made all the reservations and arrangements for us and we received a discount on everything we did.

Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bauhaus
Seattle, WA
Feb 28, 2013

AMAZING value if you want to explore the island everyday!

The gist IMAO: GREAT GREAT hotel and value if you are the type to leave everyday and explore the island. Less great if you want to say put for a week. I feel like we got a really great package deal when we booked our trip to Kauai...and I kinda expected a less than great middle road hotel as a result. But the Kauai Beach Resort was just lovely. Incredible friendly and accommodating staff--we had several small requests (like doubling the amount of coffee they would leave in the morning) and they accommodated request happily. The ground are beautiful and well kept--not over the top lush landscaping--but well groomed and lovely. The pool area has a really tastefully done lava rock centerpiece with hot tubs and water falls in it--well placed to shield guests from the wind in the winter. Our room was not a ocean view room but we could still see the waves lapping in the distance-and super CLEAN. KBR is in the middle of the island-super convenient to explore all the way to each end of the road. TIP: If you are the type to leave each day and find some fun, go to FOODLAND in Kapaa and go to the deli and buy there super yummy ahi poke (or other fresh raw fish in a variety of sauces/glazes) for lunch to take to the beach. NOT the roll sushi, which is fine, but the poke inside the deli case all the way at the end. They will let you taste test anything you like. I think this hotel is less of a value if you are going to stay put for a week. Other than the pool there is nothing else really to do. Its beautiful and lovely, but the winds on this side of the island while we were here made the pool less attractive. Also the resort food was not stellar-and our room service was the only time we felt like we weren't getting good value. It was the opposite. The saturday night seafood buffet is almost 50$, if you like that sort of thing, and still not the greatest value. The locals told us to go the the BULLSHED instead in Kapaa...huge steaks and seafood portions for around $20. Check that out instead. ONE MORE TIP: they make you pay for parking...live with it. It sucks but, hey, they are building awesome solar paneled carports. It's not a far walk at all so don't pay for valet. You may have to park in the dirt area if you get home late.. but so what. You're on an island! Get a little sand and dirt on your shoes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to FOODLAND in Kapaa each day and load up on raw ahi poke from the deli case (NOT the rolls sushi, but the raw fish inside the deli case at the end). It's delicious and makes an awesome island lunch! Half a pound is $8. You can mix and match flavors and they will let you taste anything you like!

Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
30th anniv lovebirds
MN
Feb 28, 2013

30th anniversary

Great relaxing stay. Located in the middle of action so you can either drive south for a day or north for the day. Buffet breakfast included in price was great. Car is a necessity for getting full thrill of island. Conceige was excellent in hotel. Highly recommend driving to Waimia Canyon...drive to all lookouts because they are all different, see Napali coast by catamaran on HoloHolo Charters, snorkeled Po'ipu beach and watched many whales breach from shore, Smith Luau was great with food and entertainment. There was even a monk seal on the hotel's shoreline. Can't swim in the wintertime in front of the hotel but there is alot of beach to walk with sand. The only thing I would have done differently was to take the Blue Hawaiian Helicopter ride at the end of the trip rather than the beginning because then I could have revisited everywhere I went with audio. You can buy the DVD at the end of the ride with all your questions and narration of each place. So ask alot of questions because it will be taped. I would suggest to the hotel to have a few chairs on the beach. It would have been nice to have a cup of coffee and watch the sun rise. We did many other things but these were our highlights of our weeks' stay. We also were lucky to see wild pigs and snorkeled with sea turtles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
magpie
Rogue River, OR
Feb 27, 2013

Good Value at the Kauai Beach Resort

Very clean rooms and common areas, helpful, friendly staff and great beach views are what stand out for me. The grounds are attractive and well-kept. The parking is not far to walk and since all the hotels charge to park there's no sense complaining about it. The breakfast buffet is a good value for those with big appetites. The grounds are large and an excellent place to fly a kite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KristinLM
Berkeley
Feb 25, 2013

Very good stay

My 3 kids and I enjoyed our stay here. It is well located relative to the airport (especially) and to other island activities, both north and south. We found it helpful to be within about a half hour of most places on the island. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the pool and spa areas were nice. It is not a fancy feel but it is relaxed and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We would recommend the plantation Luau, just up the street.

Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
budget traveler 85
San Francisco
Feb 21, 2013

Relaxing, need car for Kauai

The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. The pool area is very well maintained, although the water is quite cold (we didn't end up swimming because of that - mainly kids in the pool who don't seem to care!). I thought the food/beverages were decently priced and tasted good. I actually thought the food at the hotel was better than most of the other restaurants we went to in the area. You definitely need a car to explore the island (unless you are content sitting by the pool). You can't swim in the ocean as the surf is too strong, but you can take a nice stroll on the beach. My only major complaint is the gym. The machines are rusted and it looks pretty disgusting. I was hoping to hit the gym during my stay, but decided it wasn't worth it on such old machines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grampaa
Shellbrook, Saskatchewan Canada
Feb 17, 2013

Beautiful winter escape

Maintenance was going on during our stay. It shows it's age a bit and needed some maintenance but was clean and staff were friendly and pleasant. Good pools and ocean access but beach is not recommended for swimming but ocean swimming is not too far away at LydGate Park. Overall it was very comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chickens
Billings,Mt.
Feb 15, 2013

parking sucks

everything about this place is great except for having to pay to have a place to park your rental car and if the resort has something going on that attracts a lot of visitors and you happen to be away at some other place on the island and you come back,you won't find a place to park your car and you had to pay for a space that other people didn't pay for and your stuck, that really bites

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

when you book the room upgrade and get your buffet breakfast included, it will save you a bunch!

Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wifenhubby
Santa Cruz, CA
Feb 14, 2013

33rd Aniv. Vacation

Wow, we were very happy with our stay at Kauai Beach Resort. From the moment we were picked up at the airport, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The KBR was well kept, very clean, beautiful surroundings. Great relaxing around the pool. Food was very nice and everyone treated us golden. We will for certain be back again. The only difference would be that I would book a Pool View or Ocean View room next time. We had a very nice Lagoon view room but it lacked a nice evening breeze that we like. But really, there are no complaints from us. It was a fine rooom and we enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car for the entire stay. Once you are at the resort the only transport is a free shuttle to the Mall. Other than that, everything was great.

Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandman315
ATL
Feb 11, 2013

First Time in Kauai....Great place to stay

This was the 1st time that my wife and I were in Kauai. The resort was a good place to stay for our vacation. Things that stick out to me as advantages: * Location close to the Lihue airport (how most people arrive on the island). It's also close (driving distance <15 min) to Lihue town, Kapaa town, and attractions such as the Smith Family Luau, waterfalls, Marina, and the sleeping giant mountain * Nice amenities that I would expect from a resort (pools, waterslides, spa, good restaurants, live music at night, and friendly staff * Great concierge staff...very helpful in planning for this trip Downsides * Not on a swimming beach. * Not much going on within walking distance from the hotel * Major attractions such as the Waimea Canyon or Princeville Overall, a great time and great experience. Would consider staying again if we go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
muzdoor
Business
oklahoma city , OK
Feb 10, 2013

good place to relax

Hotel was clean and beds were comfortable. Power went off one night as they were changing to solar power. The y were very accommodative and gave me 6 hours extra stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top