Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

4 stars
200 Nohea Kai Drive, 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
263 reviews
Best place on earth!

I loved everything about this hotel! Perfect place for a family! See full review

  • Fioreee
  • May 29, 2014
great place

had a great experience very nice hotel and location See full review

  • D A M
  • May 12, 2014
One of over 500 Hyatt hotels around the world, the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa looks out on the Pacific from between Hawaiian palms and tropical flora on its 40-acre beachfront estate. Families are well cared for here, with features like a fun-packed pool where little ones can ride a 150-foot lava tube waterslide. When it's the adults' turn to relax, a star-caliber facial at the Marilyn Monroe Spa will do the trick, along with a local blend at the Halona Kai coffee bar or sushi at Japengo. As the sun sets, it's time to sit back for an evening's feasting, dancing and fun, as the sound of a conch shell heralds the start of the Polynesian luau.
Key facts
  • 806 guestrooms
  • On-site reservations desk for activities
  • Honeymoon amenities
  • 4 restaurants: Swan Court Breakfast, Japengo, Umalu, Son'z Steakhouse
  • Coffee shop: Halona Kai
  • Private ocean-side dining
  • On-site shopping
  • Pool and waterslides
  • Laundry and dry cleaning services
  • Currency exchange
  • Safe deposit boxes
Neighborhood
Situated north of fishing settlement Lahaina on Maui's west coast, the Kapalua West Maui Airport (JHM) is about four miles away from the Hyatt Regency Hotel, and guests can walk to the town's Whalers Village shops in about 15 minutes. Black Rock is a good snorkeling site located nearby, especially for newbies excited to take the plunge. Maui's Ka'anapali Golf Courses are as inspiring as they are challenging, situated right on the rolling dune hills by the sea - and visitors get special rates for staying at the Hyatt Regency.
Hints and tips
If there are vegetarians in your party wishing for a menu with more-than-average veggie variety, check out Joy's Place.

Located in Kihei, Joy's is roughly a half-hour drive south from the hotel, but well worth it for the specialty food options, including vegan smoothies and the well-loved (vegetarian) burrito supreme.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa Rooms

Guest Room
Features include TV with remote control, cable movie channels, in room pay movies, refrigerator (upon request,) telephone 2 phone lines (one is cordless)with message light, individual climate control, electronic doorlocks, balcony/lanai, full bath amenities, alarm clock, in-room safe, hairdryer and bathrobes, video checkout, irons, ironing board, coffee maker. In room minibar.* 490 king-size beds* 316 queen-double beds* 704 no smoking rooms.
Regency Club
There are 56 Regency Club rooms located on two exclusive levels. Services include a secured, keyed-off floor, continental breakfast, afternoon snacks and evening cocktails and hors d'oeuvres served daily. A concierge is also provided to provide personalized attention and service.
Obstructed View
Room overlooking the adjacent land under construction that offers a great value and the same luxury amenities. These rooms may also feature a view of the West Maui Mountains or the renowned Ka'anapali Golf course.
General Room Description
806 luxury guest rooms and suites, including exclusive Regency Club levels, all offer breathtaking views of green West Maui mountains, the Pacific Ocean and volcanically formed islands off shore.
Suites
There are 31 suites throughout this resort. These include: * 21 Ocean Suites,* 7 Deluxe Suites, .* 1 Regency Suite,* 1 Presidential Suite,* 1 Palace Suite.
Obstructed View
Located in the Napili tower of the resort, the spacious Obstructed View accommodations at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa overlook and are within close proximity to an active construction site. Construction work, which includes noise, is limited to the hours of 7:00 AM " 6:00 PM. Guestrooms are 451 square feet and feature a sleek, contemporary Hawaiian design that is both comfortable and sophisticated. The fresh, tailored and uncluttered style, vibrant color scheme, custom artwork, and stylish furnishings result in an elegant and welcoming guestroom that feels uniquely local. Bedding includes one king bed with a full size sofa pull-out. Each hotel room also features a private lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.915 -156.6932
Area served
Maui, Kaanapali
Nearby airports
10 minutes/5 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Airport, 45 minutes/35 miles from Kahului Airport
Area description
* 40-acres of lush beachfront property* 4 miles from the old whaling town of Lahaina* 5 miles or 10 minutes from Kapalua-West Maui Airport* 35 miles or 45 minutes from Kahului Airport

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
20,800 sq.ft. Exhibit Space and 60,000 sq. ft. Function Space (Indoor/Outdoor)

Dining

Halona Kai
The coffee bar with Maui's best ocean view serving Starbucks and Kona blend coffees including lattes, espressos and cappuccinos. Also available are freshly baked giant cinnamon rolls, oversized muffins, fresh fruits, breakfast sandwiches and assorted juices.
Swan Court Breakfast
Breakfast in a romantic dining room featuring an extensive buffet and a la carte menu. The view is breathtaking as the water cascades down the lava rocks into a pool filled with graceful swimming swans.
Son'z at Swan Court
Son'z Maui at Swan Court presents a classic cuisine for the next generation. The best in fresh local fish, lobster, steaks and chops. An extensive selection of appetizers will be offered from "Original" Tiger Eye Sushi to Escargot to Surfing Goat Cheese Ravioli, all prepared in a timeless fashion with a contemporary flair.
Japengo
Welcome to Hyatt Regency Maui's latest, Japengo. A sophisticated dining destination, Japengo draws on Hawaii's freshest, locally-grown products coupled with exotic ingredients from Pacific Rim countries. Take a culinary adventure showcasing modern Asian-inspired flavors with Hawaiian flair. Located lobby level, guests can enjoy Japengo's indoor and outdoor patio seating overlooking the resort's waterfalls and famed Ka'anapali Beach or watch as creative sushi is rolled to order in the chic Sushi Lounge.
Umalu
This chic poolside venue showcases modern Hawaiian cuisine, available for full lunch and dinner service, or through a more casual grab-and-go option. As you dine on indigenous island flavors or sip a creative specialty cocktail, you'll enjoy stunning views of the ocean, as well as Lana'i and Molokai islands. Meaning "the shade cast by a cliff" in Hawaiian, 'malu offers guests a reprieve from the sun so they may enjoy a restful and soothing dining experience. For an added touch of local color, this new Maui bar will also feature live entertainment every evening.
Drums of the Pacific Luau
Maui's most exciting luau show! Enjoy all-you-can-eat buffet featuring Hawaiian and western specialties and an open bar. Reservations required. Casual attire.
Grotto Bar
Cool off in this swim-up bar located between the waterfalls of the pool area in a unique cave-like setting. Tropical drinks are the speciality of the house.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (263)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
K. R.
Bumpass, VA 23024, USA
Oct 30, 2011

Stay Away During Construction !!!

The worst part about this hotel is the ONGOING CONSTRUCTION. This could have been better if they actually notified customers prior to booking. When we asked the staff they said "this was unscheduled construction and we are very sorry". Let me tell you that remodeling on this scale of the atrium, lobby and pool access areas had to of been scheduled far in advance. Constant jack hammering, cutting, and pounding from 9 A.M. to 4 P.M. daily was simply unacceptable. We actually left the resort 6 out of 7 days because of the noise. No refunds, discounts or adjustments were offered. I honestly expect more from Hyatt but they obviously do not care about their customers. We will simply do our talking with our dollars next time we book a hotel elsewhere. Room maid service was poor at best with the minimum care being the norm. Breakfast was included with our package and even though it was good it lacked change and imagination on a daily basis. Get them in and get them out was clearly their mission in the Swan Court restaurant. The rest of the restaurants on the property were overpriced for their offerings. Although the property is waterfront there is no beach to swim or lay out to speak of. Parking is limited with extremely small spaces; had to get in on the passenger side once to get our car out. The positive aspects of this property were the beautiful waterfront room and the walking distance proximity of Whaler's Village with several restaurants and shops. My advice is to STAY AWAY DURING CONSTRUCTION. At last check it's scheduled through December 2011.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Whaler's Village. Several restaurants to pick from.

Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
May 24, 2007

Hyatt could care less for the non- corporate quest.

we booked 8 nights and 9 days. we were not told that Alstate Ins was having a coorporate funtion at this hotel. we were denied use of the pool and its facilities for 3 days. we had come to Maui and this hotel to celebrate our 37th year of marige and had planed to celebrate with a large dinner at their supposedly 5 star resturaunt. when we arived for dinner we were told that all the hotel dining facilities were closed so that the staff could work the function. i will never stay at a hYATT AGAIN. i have also canceled my Alstate policies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JT 25th year anniversary
St. Louis, Missouri
Apr 21, 2010

THE REALLY UGLY

Very dissapaointed in the room. Felt as though we could not complain to the hotel due to booking through [...]. We paid extra for an an ocean front room and received a corner room with a view of the ocean. The room was not prepared as it was extremely warm upon our arrival. The bathroom was so small we had to sit sideways on the toilet. We were unable to dry off in the bathroom after taking showers due to it being so small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice board walk along the ocean and other hotels and a nice stroll to the Whalers Village for dinners and shopping.

Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
just a traveller
California, USA
Jan 1, 2014

Worst Check in and House Keeping

Check in took 50 minutes. Other customers also complained and asked to see the manager, but the manager was busy taking care of customer with diamond status and didn't do anything. Very poor housekeeping. Three out of seven nights, no replacement of amenities. The housekeeper was rude and impolite, never greet the quest in the morning, and when asked for coffee cups (none in the room), she replied rudely that she had replaced the coffee cups. Counter was not wiped, bread crumps and a dead bug on the counter for two days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lifes an Island
Alpine Valley, WI
Aug 11, 2009

There's someone else in my room

I've stayed at the Hyatt 8 times in the last 9 years. At first I really loved this hotel. The pool is great as are the ground. It really has a nice paradise feel to it. But the beach by Black rock and the Sheraton is way better and much more convenant for swimming and snorkeling. But my real problem is that there service has really gone down. At first it was very welcoming. But we stayed back in December and we didn't really like the view from the room and asked to be moved. They didn't have any more rooms in that catagory (partial ocean view)(which is understandable) available and it was $150 per night to upgrade to deluxe ocean view. We decided it wasn't worth it (we don't spend that much time in the room anyway) but I had a few moments in the room and I check the Hyatt.com site on my computer and it was only $75.00 more per night on the package I booked(AAA) for the Ocean view. So apparently I can do a better job than the front desk at findin a room rate at the Hyatts own site. Now on this trip I booked a 10 night package through Orbitz during the begining of August. At the end of the trip we decided to take a unplaned road trip to Hana (the other side of Maui) and spend a few nights there and then return the morning our flight home to spend some time at the beach and then take a shower at the Hyatt and and get ready for our flight home. We did pay for all ten nights right? I did'nt check out, right. We'll apparently when they saw that our bags were gone they felt that they had the right to give our all ready paid in full room to someone else. Looks like they got paid double for the same room to me......Btw, I'm a diamond member I wonder if this is just the special treatment or if everyone can look forward to this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Sep 24, 2007

Not so great for a honeymoon

If you want a honeymoon that makes you feel special, then don't go here. Honeymooners are a dime a dozen. The hotel does nothing to help you celebrate (room upgrade, etc, like other hotels do). The restaurants are extremely over priced & you have to make reservations for most of them. The drinks at the bars are also overpriced ($10 a peice). Also, if you put down a debit card for your ammenities, they will put a $100 per day hold on your card for the length of your stay. They didn't tell me this upon check in, and we had $700 we could not touch until they released the hold at the end of our stay! On the other hand, the grounds are beautiful. The pool and gardens are amazing! My husband had a massage at the spa, and gave it an A++. Honestly, I would reccommend staying at a smaller, more personable hotel instead of a overpriced resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to artnight on Fridays in Lahaina (it's about 5 minutes away). All the galleries are open and serve wine & food. You'll get to speak with lots of local artists and see some incrediable peices. And it's FREE!

Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
leroy24
Portland
Jul 16, 2013

Bad Experience

Room was not clean, mol in the shower curtains, they never vacuum the floors. We have to asked for it Bad experience with this hotel. Never staying here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lindsay Taylor
Damascus, Oregon
Oct 11, 2013

Obstructed View/Construction

When I booked our room with an "obstructed view" I spoke with a women at the front desk and she said there would be an area that was "dug up" and some dirt piles. Needless to say that was not the case. It was a full on construction site. We walked into our room and all we could hear was jack hammers, back up beepers on semi's and hammering. I was so disappointed. I felt so duped. My boyfriend went to ask if we could move and it was a hassel for the next two hours. The only option besides going to club level with two beds and paying more was to move down the hall a little ways. This was a special trip I had planned for my boyfriend's first trip and I trusted that the Hyatt was the best choice for his first trip and I feel let down. We did not receive any offers for drink tickets, dinner specials or anything. We simply had to know the construction noises were going to start around 730/8:00am and that we were not able to sleep in. I feel let down because I researched and thought Hyatt was the best pick for our money and our first vacation and only left feeling let down. Beautiful grounds and views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Paradise grill is affordable walking distance and local restaurants in Lahaina are more affordable then resort.

Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cheri & Tim
Auburn, WA.
Jul 31, 2010

Disappointing

Room was dark, small and not at all worth the rate we paid; we were also slapped with an extra 15.00 per day of fees; air conditioner rattled like a jet engine every night from 4am on until the morning; we have been in 5 star hotels that really exemplified the contrast in value-the room was dark and dank; the place was too crowded down by the pools, and noisy. We moved to another hotel next door and paid less than half what we paid for the Hyatt and it was 10 times the quality. Live & learn-we will never go to the Hyatt again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Umalu restaurant was busy but the food was great-recommend the seared jerk ahi salad at 19.00-to die for.

Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OneUntamed
Carmel, California
Jul 21, 2012

Staff disappears after check in!

The Hyatt in Lahaina has a stunning lobby. The view of the resort and the ocean is incredible. I found hanging around the pool and beach area very peaceful even with the resort at 100% occupancy. The wait staff for the cabana area was stellar, the staff always seemed to show up at the exact moment we were in need . I felt that I had my own personal cabana girl . It was a fabulous time. However, some services lacked in other areas. For example, after check in we never heard from or we greeted by any lobby or front desk staff again, no one ever asked how we were enjoying our stay, how was our room etc,. If felt like once we checked in we became invisible. The room was just ok a little on the small side and our view was a partial ocean and partial parking lot (noisy in the morning). We requested a move to a quieter room and were told "sorry we are full." The valet are a happy bunch and following the protocol to call for our car 10 minutes prior to departure we never waited for our car. The resort is very spread out it was a long walk from our room to the gym. If we ever return here I will request to stay in the Lahaina Tower as it is more the center of the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top