Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 13, 2014 Check-out: Oct 15, 2014

Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

4 stars
200 Nohea Kai Drive, 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
263 reviews
Best place on earth!

I loved everything about this hotel! Perfect place for a family! See full review

  • Fioreee
  • May 29, 2014
great place

had a great experience very nice hotel and location See full review

  • D A M
  • May 12, 2014
One of over 500 Hyatt hotels around the world, the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa looks out on the Pacific from between Hawaiian palms and tropical flora on its 40-acre beachfront estate. Families are well cared for here, with features like a fun-packed pool where little ones can ride a 150-foot lava tube waterslide. When it's the adults' turn to relax, a star-caliber facial at the Marilyn Monroe Spa will do the trick, along with a local blend at the Halona Kai coffee bar or sushi at Japengo. As the sun sets, it's time to sit back for an evening's feasting, dancing and fun, as the sound of a conch shell heralds the start of the Polynesian luau.
Key facts
  • 806 guestrooms
  • On-site reservations desk for activities
  • Honeymoon amenities
  • 4 restaurants: Swan Court Breakfast, Japengo, Umalu, Son'z Steakhouse
  • Coffee shop: Halona Kai
  • Private ocean-side dining
  • On-site shopping
  • Pool and waterslides
  • Laundry and dry cleaning services
  • Currency exchange
  • Safe deposit boxes
Neighborhood
Situated north of fishing settlement Lahaina on Maui's west coast, the Kapalua West Maui Airport (JHM) is about four miles away from the Hyatt Regency Hotel, and guests can walk to the town's Whalers Village shops in about 15 minutes. Black Rock is a good snorkeling site located nearby, especially for newbies excited to take the plunge. Maui's Ka'anapali Golf Courses are as inspiring as they are challenging, situated right on the rolling dune hills by the sea - and visitors get special rates for staying at the Hyatt Regency.
Hints and tips
If there are vegetarians in your party wishing for a menu with more-than-average veggie variety, check out Joy's Place.

Located in Kihei, Joy's is roughly a half-hour drive south from the hotel, but well worth it for the specialty food options, including vegan smoothies and the well-loved (vegetarian) burrito supreme.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa Rooms

Guest Room
Features include TV with remote control, cable movie channels, in room pay movies, refrigerator (upon request,) telephone 2 phone lines (one is cordless)with message light, individual climate control, electronic doorlocks, balcony/lanai, full bath amenities, alarm clock, in-room safe, hairdryer and bathrobes, video checkout, irons, ironing board, coffee maker. In room minibar.* 490 king-size beds* 316 queen-double beds* 704 no smoking rooms.
Regency Club
There are 56 Regency Club rooms located on two exclusive levels. Services include a secured, keyed-off floor, continental breakfast, afternoon snacks and evening cocktails and hors d'oeuvres served daily. A concierge is also provided to provide personalized attention and service.
Obstructed View
Room overlooking the adjacent land under construction that offers a great value and the same luxury amenities. These rooms may also feature a view of the West Maui Mountains or the renowned Ka'anapali Golf course.
General Room Description
806 luxury guest rooms and suites, including exclusive Regency Club levels, all offer breathtaking views of green West Maui mountains, the Pacific Ocean and volcanically formed islands off shore.
Suites
There are 31 suites throughout this resort. These include: * 21 Ocean Suites,* 7 Deluxe Suites, .* 1 Regency Suite,* 1 Presidential Suite,* 1 Palace Suite.
Obstructed View
Located in the Napili tower of the resort, the spacious Obstructed View accommodations at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa overlook and are within close proximity to an active construction site. Construction work, which includes noise, is limited to the hours of 7:00 AM " 6:00 PM. Guestrooms are 451 square feet and feature a sleek, contemporary Hawaiian design that is both comfortable and sophisticated. The fresh, tailored and uncluttered style, vibrant color scheme, custom artwork, and stylish furnishings result in an elegant and welcoming guestroom that feels uniquely local. Bedding includes one king bed with a full size sofa pull-out. Each hotel room also features a private lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.915 -156.6932
Area served
Maui, Kaanapali
Nearby airports
10 minutes/5 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Airport, 45 minutes/35 miles from Kahului Airport
Area description
* 40-acres of lush beachfront property* 4 miles from the old whaling town of Lahaina* 5 miles or 10 minutes from Kapalua-West Maui Airport* 35 miles or 45 minutes from Kahului Airport

Dining

Halona Kai
The coffee bar with Maui's best ocean view serving Starbucks and Kona blend coffees including lattes, espressos and cappuccinos. Also available are freshly baked giant cinnamon rolls, oversized muffins, fresh fruits, breakfast sandwiches and assorted juices.
Swan Court Breakfast
Breakfast in a romantic dining room featuring an extensive buffet and a la carte menu. The view is breathtaking as the water cascades down the lava rocks into a pool filled with graceful swimming swans.
Son'z at Swan Court
Son'z Maui at Swan Court presents a classic cuisine for the next generation. The best in fresh local fish, lobster, steaks and chops. An extensive selection of appetizers will be offered from "Original" Tiger Eye Sushi to Escargot to Surfing Goat Cheese Ravioli, all prepared in a timeless fashion with a contemporary flair.
Japengo
Welcome to Hyatt Regency Maui's latest, Japengo. A sophisticated dining destination, Japengo draws on Hawaii's freshest, locally-grown products coupled with exotic ingredients from Pacific Rim countries. Take a culinary adventure showcasing modern Asian-inspired flavors with Hawaiian flair. Located lobby level, guests can enjoy Japengo's indoor and outdoor patio seating overlooking the resort's waterfalls and famed Ka'anapali Beach or watch as creative sushi is rolled to order in the chic Sushi Lounge.
Umalu
This chic poolside venue showcases modern Hawaiian cuisine, available for full lunch and dinner service, or through a more casual grab-and-go option. As you dine on indigenous island flavors or sip a creative specialty cocktail, you'll enjoy stunning views of the ocean, as well as Lana'i and Molokai islands. Meaning "the shade cast by a cliff" in Hawaiian, 'malu offers guests a reprieve from the sun so they may enjoy a restful and soothing dining experience. For an added touch of local color, this new Maui bar will also feature live entertainment every evening.
Drums of the Pacific Luau
Maui's most exciting luau show! Enjoy all-you-can-eat buffet featuring Hawaiian and western specialties and an open bar. Reservations required. Casual attire.
Grotto Bar
Cool off in this swim-up bar located between the waterfalls of the pool area in a unique cave-like setting. Tropical drinks are the speciality of the house.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
20,800 sq.ft. Exhibit Space and 60,000 sq. ft. Function Space (Indoor/Outdoor)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (263)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RetiredFOP06
Louisville, KY, USA
Dec 8, 2011

My Dec Hawaii trip

it is a great place to stay... a little pricey...but try to catch a sale.....and its worth it.....love the pool area....not much of a beach area though.....but the pool complex.... makes up for the beach short comings.....an has a kiddie area in the pool area...i would love to go back an stay again.....or longer.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

the restaurants are a bit pricey there...but you can drive yourself to other locations for meals...that are well worth the drive..........like in Lahania.....

Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bbwtamu
Frisco, TX, USA
Nov 28, 2011

This hotel is fantastic!

We loved everything about this hotel. The ocean front suite is the way to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy sandwich stuff and make your own lunches to save money.

Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lu from Boston
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 23, 2011

Good hotel but.....

We enjoyed our stay at the Hyatt for the most part, however, we weren’t happy with the bill at the end as we thought our breakfast was included. If someone from the Hyatt had informed us that breakfast wasn’t included we would have chosen to have breakfast elsewhere. The Hyatt was the only hotel offering a breakfast included deal in the vacation package which is why we chose the Hyatt, however, when the reservation order was confirmed the breakfast included apparently wasn’t listed on the receipt. On the first day of our visit when we were presented a bill at the breakfast, we informed the Hyatt employee that breakfast was already included. The Hyatt employee said it was routine that the breakfast would still be charged to our room and then the amount would be credited. Based on this information, we wrote under total charge: “Breakfast included” and only wrote the tip amount, however, no one at Hyatt informed us breakfast wasn’t included until a week later when we were checking out of the hotel on our last day. This was an unpleasant surprise to find this out on the last day when we had written “Breakfast Included” on the receipt each morning for the last week and this oversight left us with a bad feeling about our stay at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sunday's they have a Hula dance at Lahaina's mall that was really worth to see, they realy know how to show their tradition you can walk to Whalers village where you have 3 very good restaurants

Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
K. R.
Bumpass, VA 23024, USA
Oct 30, 2011

Stay Away During Construction !!!

The worst part about this hotel is the ONGOING CONSTRUCTION. This could have been better if they actually notified customers prior to booking. When we asked the staff they said "this was unscheduled construction and we are very sorry". Let me tell you that remodeling on this scale of the atrium, lobby and pool access areas had to of been scheduled far in advance. Constant jack hammering, cutting, and pounding from 9 A.M. to 4 P.M. daily was simply unacceptable. We actually left the resort 6 out of 7 days because of the noise. No refunds, discounts or adjustments were offered. I honestly expect more from Hyatt but they obviously do not care about their customers. We will simply do our talking with our dollars next time we book a hotel elsewhere. Room maid service was poor at best with the minimum care being the norm. Breakfast was included with our package and even though it was good it lacked change and imagination on a daily basis. Get them in and get them out was clearly their mission in the Swan Court restaurant. The rest of the restaurants on the property were overpriced for their offerings. Although the property is waterfront there is no beach to swim or lay out to speak of. Parking is limited with extremely small spaces; had to get in on the passenger side once to get our car out. The positive aspects of this property were the beautiful waterfront room and the walking distance proximity of Whaler's Village with several restaurants and shops. My advice is to STAY AWAY DURING CONSTRUCTION. At last check it's scheduled through December 2011.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Whaler's Village. Several restaurants to pick from.

Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BK2011
Playa Vista, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 27, 2011

Nice location

Location is great. Right next to other resorts and walking distance from Whailers Village. Great pool, great staff. Room is nice but the bed is low to the ground and not comfy to sleep in. Woke up stiff and achy every morning. Found a few bugs in the room, but that is hard to avoid since it's so tropical. We would leave our screen door open when we in our room so I'm sure that's how the criters made their way in. We really enjoyed our walks along the boardwalk right along the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couple from Ohio
Ohio, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Relaxation

Great location, beachfront on Ka'anapali beach. Word of warning regarding cost of food at the resort - my husband and I decided to eat breakfast at the hotel on the first day and spent $30 per person for the buffet - with tip it cost us $70 total for the two of us. Had I known the price beforehand I would have eaten more than an omelette and toast - its worth the walk to Whaler's Village to save $ on food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Whaler's Village to get food, the resort is very overpriced.

Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satya
Wylie, TX, USA
Sep 23, 2011

$25 per day resort fee!!!

They charged me $25 per day resort fee. This was for internet, gym, tennis club other silly things. They will welcome you with a cheap .99cents shell necklace and not with the traditional flowers. Everything else is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gorgano
Portland, OR, USA
Sep 12, 2011

hawaii vacation

The hotel was very nice, and extremely clean, with easy beach access. A short walk on the beach to the east is a nice boggy boarding location and I was told a little more west was a nice snorkeling area. I was a little disappointed in the food at the resort (and surrounded resorts for that matter), although I may have high expectations. I found it best to drive into Lahaina for food, which is about a 10 minute trip, so this isn't a big issue if you have a car. The room was excellent, other than the pillows, which packed down a little harder than I like. The resort grounds are amazing. They have several types of troppical birds just wondering around the property: Flamingos, parrots, swans, ducks and penguins (yes, penguins!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Aloha Mixed Plate is in Lahaina, right behind the Safeway. It's probably the only place to get local food and it's amazing. We went there three times; every time the staff was awesome and usually extremely fast to deliver food.

Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TimB
Signal Hill, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Great Hotel and perfect location

All I can say is that i am very satisfied with the property, all its amenities and the whole team of friendly people that run this place. Maui is very busy during high season (such as when school are off), so try to head there on the low season or towards the end of high season. Pls do not rent a big car such as SUV or van or truck, the self parking is rather small. if full, just valet your car, it should be free. Just please tip the driver. I recommend this hotel and for sure i will stay again in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast in Swan Court is great. Be there before 730 on high season. Son'z is good for romantic dinner. Walk to Whaller's village for some shopping and extra dining options. (Leilani's and Hula's Grill)

Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JNet the Brunette
California
Aug 17, 2011

Hyatt Maui continues to please....

We were greeted professionally and warmly by the staff. Service great by the big pool - Candace, Glen and Michelle were our favorite bartenders - excellent service and fabulous drinks. We tried to go down the waterslide one day but forgot to get our wristbands- we had been waiting in line and got to the top when this became a problem. Orlando, who was working with a colleague who told us to go back and get them despite all the time we spent in line, remembered us from the day before and offerred to get the wrist bands for us. That is what we call service! We would stay at Hyatt again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Lahaina Grill - staff, service and especially the food were outstanding! We had the Mahi Mahi that was to die for!

Back to menu Return to top