Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 5, 2016 Check-out: Mar 7, 2016

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
66 reviews
Vacation

I loved the location of the hotel. The price is very good. It is a older hotel. I wish they would... See full review

  • Florabelle M.
  • Sep 13, 2015
A quick getaway

It was a beautiful hotel.. Great views staff was amazing See full review

  • Akeyla
  • Aug 30, 2015

The Royal Kona Resort in Kona, located on the Big Island of Hawaii, sits on the tip of Kailua Bay, and its spacious rooms are located in three towers: the center Alii Tower, the south Lagoon Tower and the north Bay Tower. Guests enjoy magnificent views of the Pacific Ocean, a private lagoon, Kailua Bay, tropical gardens and a seaside town.

 

Kailua-Kona is located on the Big Island’s leeward side and offers protection from prevailing winds. This means little rain and an average year-round temperature of 70-80 degrees Fahrenheit, which is perfect for enjoying the beach, pool or lanai.

Highlights

The Royal Kona Resort is full service with an oceanfront swimming pool, lighted tennis courts, The Lotus Center spa, full-service hair salon and private swimming lagoon on Kailua Bay. The resort takes advantage of ocean views. The Don the Beachcomber Restaurant, described as Polynesian retro-tiki chic, was designed by tiki architect George Wimberly and sits on the water’s edge.

 

The oceanfront, open air Don’s Mai Tai Bar has a 360-degree ocean view, and Don’s Breezeway Lounge delivers a better full-ocean view. The Royal Kona Luau is an oceanfront production with Hawaiian-style buffet, Samoan fire dance and other exciting activities. The historic Kona Town, filled with shops and restaurants, is within walking distance.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.6323 -155.9891
Area served
Kailua-Kona-Big Island of Hawaii, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-LOA
Area description
Unique and dramatic setting located overlooking beautiful Kailua Bay. Walking distance to historic Kailua-Kona town's shopping and attractions. Approximately 15 minutes south of Kona International Airport.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 66
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gracie
Family
San Diego
Aug 28, 2015

Vacation time

Overall, this hotel met my expectations. It's a great location with ocean views. I loved that they have a private lagoon. They have a couple of events at the hotel that people come from other hotels to participate in. Their activities coordinator helped us sign up for an 11 hour tour after a presentation of 10+ other activities available. That's an option rather than overwhelming yourself searching online.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mtcao
Family
Moraga
Jul 16, 2015

Awesome family trip

Very nice and affordable hotel. Good location right on the beach. Love luau dance show

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melanie P.
Family
Weatherford
Jul 7, 2015

Couples Vacation

This trip was my boyfriend's first time to fly and visit Kona. I enjoy staying at this hotel, it is one of my favorites in town. I lived in Kona for 5 years and this hotel is in a great location to get to town and other beaches on the way south. The next time we come out we will be bringing more people, staying longer and I would rather stay in the Ali'i Tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AAAB
Family
Sydney
May 31, 2015

Relaxing family trip

Trip was simply to see another island while we are here. Kona was relaxing and the hotel was nice. I think that the Bay tower that we stayed at is reasonable for its price however may require a little renovation. Other than that the service was ok but the resort itself was lovely. It would have been great if we had a kettle in the room as we had kids, we needed to boil water regularly. We did request for one but it never came.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chaquina p.
Family
Maywood
Dec 21, 2014

Awesome family trip

This hotel was close to everything and has its own private beach the kids loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Indigosummer
Family
Sacramento, CA
Apr 17, 2012

Unsatisfied exprience at Royal Kona Resort Hotel

I've booked this hotel 4 months in advance. I was placed in the room in the tower that faces the stage and the luau concerts are held every other day from 5pm till 8pm on this stage. The sounds of drums and music from the loud speakers was unbearable, it's impossible to have any rest even with all windows and balcony doors closed. I requested to change the room and had passive agressive attitude from the staff at the front desk. Finally, after insisting on changing the room, I was relocated to the room above the commercial air conditioner of their downstairs restaurant. Isn't it 'good care about their clients'? There were cockroaches in the room, the floor of the kitchenette and bathroom was dirty with the brown stains. There is no beach at this hotel, only tiny lagoon with the ice cold water as the hotel building actually blocks sun in the mornings. Please save your money and nerves, do not spoil your vacation, book some other hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car, drive to the Hapuna beach or better book the nearby hotel at this beach. It's only 25 minutes drive to the north from Kona airport but the beach and the ocean are gorgeous.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mape
Family
Moses Lake, WA
Nov 29, 2011

Great Thanksgiving vacation for three generations of our family v

This is our second time staying at this hotel. The location puts many options, eating, shopping, entertainment within easy walking distance. The dolphins in front of the hotel were marvelous as were the sunsets. We booked garden view rooms and they all had great views of the ocean without being oceanfront rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Happy hour within the hotel and very close by offered good dining (and drinking) at very reasonable prices.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LANDO
Family
LOS ANGELES
Sep 21, 2009

KONA TRIP

WAS NICE BUT HAD A SMALL INCONVENIENCE WITH WATER BACKUP IN BATHROOM ZINC AND WASH HAND ZINC AND HAD FLOODING IN THE ENTRANCE OF OUR HOTEL....WE HAD TO TRANSFER TO ANOTHER ROOM BUT SOME OF OUR STUFF ON THE FLOOR GOT WET WITH DIRTY WATER FROM THE BACKUP.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Feb 29, 2008

Great Kona Hotel

The Royal Kona was a terrific in town hotel. We stayed in an ocean view room in the Alii tower. The room was updated and clean, nothing exceptional, but fine for the money. The hotel has been around for a few years and the layout and facilities reflect that, smaller pool, pool area etc. We felt it had a charming presence. The staff was responsive and friendly, not fawning, which I prefer. High speed internet is at an additional cost which is a pet peeve of mine. It worked fine, however. Beautiful evening restaurant setting. Within walking distance of many other restaurants. Visiting cruise ships anchor not far off the coastline in view of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Many shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New York, NY
Feb 10, 2008

I love the Royal Kona Hotel

I love the Royal Kona hotel. This was my second stay there, and I look forward to going back again. The staff was very accommodating and pleasant. My room had a beautiful view of the ocean which I loved. I liked the little kitchen area with a separate sink; I liked the two suitcase stands in the room; I liked the generous beach towels they put in your room. I love the private ocean cove area with private beach that is adjacent to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is in the heart of Kailua-Kona within walking distance to restaurants, nightlife, shopping, churches, boating attractions, etc.

Back to menu Return to top