Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 12, 2016 Check-out: Feb 14, 2016

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
66 reviews
Vacation

I loved the location of the hotel. The price is very good. It is a older hotel. I wish they would... See full review

  • Florabelle M.
  • Sep 13, 2015
A quick getaway

It was a beautiful hotel.. Great views staff was amazing See full review

  • Akeyla
  • Aug 30, 2015

The Royal Kona Resort in Kona, located on the Big Island of Hawaii, sits on the tip of Kailua Bay, and its spacious rooms are located in three towers: the center Alii Tower, the south Lagoon Tower and the north Bay Tower. Guests enjoy magnificent views of the Pacific Ocean, a private lagoon, Kailua Bay, tropical gardens and a seaside town.

 

Kailua-Kona is located on the Big Island’s leeward side and offers protection from prevailing winds. This means little rain and an average year-round temperature of 70-80 degrees Fahrenheit, which is perfect for enjoying the beach, pool or lanai.

Highlights

The Royal Kona Resort is full service with an oceanfront swimming pool, lighted tennis courts, The Lotus Center spa, full-service hair salon and private swimming lagoon on Kailua Bay. The resort takes advantage of ocean views. The Don the Beachcomber Restaurant, described as Polynesian retro-tiki chic, was designed by tiki architect George Wimberly and sits on the water’s edge.

 

The oceanfront, open air Don’s Mai Tai Bar has a 360-degree ocean view, and Don’s Breezeway Lounge delivers a better full-ocean view. The Royal Kona Luau is an oceanfront production with Hawaiian-style buffet, Samoan fire dance and other exciting activities. The historic Kona Town, filled with shops and restaurants, is within walking distance.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.6323 -155.9891
Area served
Kailua-Kona-Big Island of Hawaii, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-LOA
Area description
Unique and dramatic setting located overlooking beautiful Kailua Bay. Walking distance to historic Kailua-Kona town's shopping and attractions. Approximately 15 minutes south of Kona International Airport.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Indigosummer
Family
Sacramento, CA
Apr 17, 2012

Unsatisfied exprience at Royal Kona Resort Hotel

I've booked this hotel 4 months in advance. I was placed in the room in the tower that faces the stage and the luau concerts are held every other day from 5pm till 8pm on this stage. The sounds of drums and music from the loud speakers was unbearable, it's impossible to have any rest even with all windows and balcony doors closed. I requested to change the room and had passive agressive attitude from the staff at the front desk. Finally, after insisting on changing the room, I was relocated to the room above the commercial air conditioner of their downstairs restaurant. Isn't it 'good care about their clients'? There were cockroaches in the room, the floor of the kitchenette and bathroom was dirty with the brown stains. There is no beach at this hotel, only tiny lagoon with the ice cold water as the hotel building actually blocks sun in the mornings. Please save your money and nerves, do not spoil your vacation, book some other hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car, drive to the Hapuna beach or better book the nearby hotel at this beach. It's only 25 minutes drive to the north from Kona airport but the beach and the ocean are gorgeous.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Kahului, HI
Feb 10, 2008

Needs Renovation

The Royal Kona Hotel is very old and needs to be renovated. The room we stayed in was dirty and noisy. The cloth on the furniture was stained and the rug was worn through. The only good thing about the hotel is the location. It is with-in walking distance to all of Kona's shopping and restaurants. If you like cleanliness and comfort this is not the place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All the shopping and restaurants are on the waters edge! The view is beautiful.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WCW
Couples
San Antonio, Texas
Nov 1, 2009

Lackluster Service

Great location; however, staff does not have good service attitude. I felt they were inconvenienced by my stay....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not travel to the airport over two hours in advance of your flight. You will have to wait until the ticket counter opens and there is NOTHING to do there (no food, shops, etc) until you check in and pass thru security...

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HANSOME HAYES
Couples
kona
Oct 7, 2012

beautiful room but housekeeping was poor

Housekeeping not too good Restaurant way too expensive Parking is extra

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

prices much better than hotel

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Alaska
Nov 1, 2010

Nice View

Our room was upgraded to a nice ocean view room upon apprival. The view was awesome. The bed was hard as a rock and the room was dated and a little dirty. Many times when we came back to the room at 4:00 or so, the room had not yet been cleaned. Once, the maid showed up at 4:50 and wanted to get in the room right away as they were getting off at 5:00. We were in the process of getting dressed and ready to go out and we had the clean room sign on the door for most of the day. Love the location, so close to Kailus-Kona, but the hotel is only so-so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good dining spots within a short walk

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rickstar
Couples
michigan
Aug 6, 2014

great place

Hotel was older. But very clean. Grounds was well maintained. Lots of things to do with pool and lagoon. Food was great. Beautiful view of the ocean and ocean sound from our ocean view room . Staff was great and had a very relaxing quit stay. Thank you Royal Mona staff. Went here on our honeymoon ill be back with the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lost of showing close by along with night life.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shane C.
Couples
N/A
Apr 27, 2015

10 year wedding anniversary.

Location was awesome, View was good, room was out of date and bathroom built for small people. All and all it was an amazing experience for me and my wife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 18, 2007

Great for a family on a budget.

The Royal Kona Resort was an O.K. place to stay. They were still renovating the building so there was work going on like painting and minor construction. The Parking was very confusing when we tried to check in because they also have a luau going on and other people trying to find parking for that. Some people had to park on the roadside first then walk a far distance to the lobby. The Restaurant, Dons Beach Comber was great. The servers were very friendly and there was beautiful Sunsets. The resort was also walking distance to other restaurants and bars. It was easy to head in any direction to go our daily island sight seeing. There are many points of interest in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of big name restaurants just walking distance from this Resort.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JadeyLady
Couples
Kailua, Oahu, HI
Jun 1, 2009

Good value, great location!

We were visiting Kona from Oahu, so we were only there for the weekend. We were looking for a hotel with reasonable prices and a good location. We got both at the Royal Kona! We really enjoyed being able to walk into Kona for dinner at night and the view from the Hotel Bar was beautiful! The rooms were clean and the staff very friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the "Hawaii The Big Island Revealed" 5th Edition Ultimate Guidebook by Andrew Doughty. And read it BEFOREHAND to plan your trip! We found this book invaluable, its very accurate and a great way to plan ahead so you get to do everything you want to!

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VFOX
Single
Maui Hawaii
Jul 6, 2010

great location for the price

Aloha, I enjoyed my stay my room was ocean front as requested, the staff was friendly much Aloha spirit. I was given an awesome seat so I could enjoy the fireworks show while dinning with a special price dinner of Crab & Prime Rib. Beautiful evening I was there for a seminar on Monday. The hotel is older use to be a Hilton back in the 80's. Has old Hawaiian charm. I would go back again. This was easy for me thank you for booking this on such short notice being able to hear the ocean at night was awesome and relaxing! Mahalo, Virginia Fox Medeiros

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

Special 20% coupon given at registration time for Dining in Hotel.

Back to menu Return to top