Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
684 reviews
Great get away

Quick check in Nice rooms in the lagoon tower Located on the bay on the edge of down town. Bar menu... See full review

  • GeoJo
  • Mar 13, 2014
Honeymoon/Vacation

Every person and every thing about the Royal Kona Hotel was perfect. From the room, to the... See full review

  • BobPullen
  • Jan 21, 2014
Oceanfront Kailua resort features Don the Beachcomber mai tai heaven
Perched on a lava-rock promontory on the edge of downtown Kailua-Kona, the Royal Kona Resort is a landmark hotel with renovated rooms and stellar ocean views. On site, guests find the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don's Mai Tai Bar. A tri-star shaped hotel built around an open-air lobby and surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, the atmosphere captures the Big Island spirit without forgoing all the niceties of resort living. A sandy beach ledge, sheltered swimming lagoon and split-level swimming pool add to the romance.

 

Highlights
  • Split-level swimming pool
  • Fitness center
  • Legendary Don the Beachcomber restaurant and mai tai bar
  • Saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach
  • Evening luau and Polynesian revue
Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Policies and fees
The pool will be closed from 23 September to 30 September. During this period, the private saltwater lagoon will remain available. Guests can also use the pool facilities at neighboring Kona Reef.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.6323 -155.9891
Area served
Kailua-Kona-Big Island of Hawaii, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-LOA
Area description
Unique and dramatic setting located overlooking beautiful Kailua Bay. Walking distance to historic Kailua-Kona town's shopping and attractions. Approximately 15 minutes south of Kona International Airport.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (684)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
684 out of 684
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Indiana Joe
Bloomington,Indiana
Jul 4, 2009

A bust

Well our flight had mechanical trouble, and we couldn't even get to the island till the following day. I called the Royal Kona Resort, upon arriving in Honolulu and told them we couldn't get over to Kona until the next day, and asked if they would refund all or part of the money we paid. But they said, sorry we can't do that and you have to speak with Orbitz. So I am now finnally able to contact you, and tell you I will never prepay for a hotel again, as I am out $165. I even asked if I could just get a day room maybe for the last day here on the island instead. they didn't even look to see if there were openings, just said No. I have discovered that the real Aloha Spirit out here is very negetive. Amazing how rude people are here, and especcially since it is like paradise. If you are willing or can refund my money, I would be grateful, as things have been alot tougher since the ecomony has had such a down turn. Either way, thanks for you help, and lesson learned. Randall Joe McGlaun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bellevue, WA
Feb 27, 2011

not-so-good hotel

mold in bathroom, dirty air vents, blood stains in the bathroom, smelly room, check in @ 3:30 instead of 3:00 only positive points were: the location and the nice ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"java on the rock" near-by has delicious breakfast options and strong coffee - on the down side it's kind of expensive

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Biggius
Juneau, Ak
Oct 17, 2009

so so

I paid $150 per night, for a mildew room, they charged me another $20 a night to change rooms, then to find out that others in the newer rooms had paid $109 and when we checked out I learned that another guest paid only $75 per night for the same five nights![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kappa
Ann Arbor, MI
Dec 31, 2010

The room assigned was questionable

We booked a cheapest standard room via [...]and were assigned to the room right next to elevators. The noise of the two elevators was incredibly loud that we had to ask for a room change. We made a strong request for a room that is far away from the elevators so that we do not have to bear the noise they makes every time they are in use. As a result we got the room that is one room away from those elevators. The noise from the elevators was not as loud as in the one right night to them, but it was still annoying. After settling down with tons of diving gears, we were too tired to have it changed again, so we tried to stay out of the room as much as possible. I suppose the the cheapest Garden View rooms must be near the elevators since the elevators are located at the opposite side of ocean in the building we stayed (south of the main building near tennis courts). So here is our suggestion: make sure you get a room at least three rooms apart from the elevators. One nice thing about the hotel is that they offered a hospitality room that we could take a shower in before leaving for the evening flight. Guess what? The room used for the hospitality room was the one we were assigned for the first time!! They probably know the room is too noisy except for temporally usage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Manta night diving was great!

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
luke and shannon Newlyweds
Corvallis, MT
Oct 25, 2009

Not what you Expect :(

They spent more money on the bar; Dons Beachcomber than all of their rooms. The pillows were like bags of sand. The bed was hard and uncomfortable. When we were laying in bed we had no choice but to listen to the elevator go up and down all night. Plus, the toliet in the room ran all night. Even with the bathroom door shut you could still hear it. The location and the bar are great but hardly make up for everything else. Don't be fooled by their beautiful lobby; you'll understand as soon as you see your room why you got such a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Coconutz is a great little bar that had amazing live music the night we were there. The bartenders are friendly.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kappa
Ann Arbor, MI
Dec 31, 2010

The room assigned was questionable

We booked a cheapest standard room via [...]and were assigned to the room right next to elevators. The noise of the two elevators was incredibly loud that we had to ask for a room change. We made a strong request for a room that is far away from the elevators so that we do not have to bear the noise they makes every time they are in use. As a result we got the room that is one room away from those elevators. The noise from the elevators was not as loud as in the one right night to them, but it was still annoying. After settling down with tons of diving gears, we were too tired to have it changed again, so we tried to stay out of the room as much as possible. I suppose the the cheapest Garden View rooms must be near the elevators since the elevators are located at the opposite side of ocean in the building we stayed (south of the main building near tennis courts). So here is our suggestion: make sure you get a room at least three rooms apart from the elevators. One nice thing about the hotel is that they offered a hospitality room that we could take a shower in before leaving for the evening flight. Guess what? The room used for the hospitality room was the one we were assigned for the first time!! They probably know the room is too noisy except for temporally usage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Manta night diving was great!

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Indiana Joe
Bloomington,Indiana
Jul 4, 2009

A bust

Well our flight had mechanical trouble, and we couldn't even get to the island till the following day. I called the Royal Kona Resort, upon arriving in Honolulu and told them we couldn't get over to Kona until the next day, and asked if they would refund all or part of the money we paid. But they said, sorry we can't do that and you have to speak with Orbitz. So I am now finnally able to contact you, and tell you I will never prepay for a hotel again, as I am out $165. I even asked if I could just get a day room maybe for the last day here on the island instead. they didn't even look to see if there were openings, just said No. I have discovered that the real Aloha Spirit out here is very negetive. Amazing how rude people are here, and especcially since it is like paradise. If you are willing or can refund my money, I would be grateful, as things have been alot tougher since the ecomony has had such a down turn. Either way, thanks for you help, and lesson learned. Randall Joe McGlaun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Apr 20, 2011

Awful hotel...but a great view

Well it started out ok at best. The check in staff was alright but offered to upgrade us to an oceanfront suite for 20 bucks. So it being our honeymoon, I decided to do it. At first the room was great, although older and it shows, the view was spectacular basically on top of the ocean. But as the night continued it got worse. The AC didn't work, bed was very uncomfortable and we found a bunch of bugs in our bathroom. Thank god we only had one night there cause it was the worst of our trip. If I had another I would have asked to cancel and gone somewhere else. It's only saving grace was Don the Beachcomber restaurant. Don't stay here till a major renovation occurs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to Dons its the only redeeming quality this place has

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SCR Mom
Business
North Carolina
Dec 3, 2009

My Review

I upgraded to an ocean view, but really had a view of the building across the parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WCW
San Antonio, Texas
Nov 1, 2009

Lackluster Service

Great location; however, staff does not have good service attitude. I felt they were inconvenienced by my stay....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not travel to the airport over two hours in advance of your flight. You will have to wait until the ticket counter opens and there is NOTHING to do there (no food, shops, etc) until you check in and pass thru security...

Back to menu Return to top