Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 12, 2014 Check-out: Nov 14, 2014

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
434 reviews
Great get away

Quick check in Nice rooms in the lagoon tower Located on the bay on the edge of down town. Bar menu... See full review

  • GeoJo
  • Mar 13, 2014
Honeymoon/Vacation

Every person and every thing about the Royal Kona Hotel was perfect. From the room, to the... See full review

  • BobPullen
  • Jan 21, 2014

KONA'S BEST LOCATION - With a dramatic oceanfront setting overlooking picturesque Kailua Bay, the Royal Kona Resort offers great value and is conveniently located within walking distance to the village of Kailua-Kona with its many fine restaurants, shops, historical sites, and activities.

Ideally situated on 12 acres of tropical gardens on a lava promontory, the Royal Kona Resort is surrounded on three sides by the crystal clear waters of the blue Pacific. The resort is comprised of three guestroom towers, and all guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. The resort's Bay Tower offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. Each of the resort's spacious guestrooms feature large outdoor lanai's on which guests can enjoy the tranquility, and take pleasure in beautiful mountain vistas or gaze out across the magnificent Pacific Ocean.

A relaxing open-air lobby and surrounding tropical salt-water fishpond lead out to an expansive oceanfront sundeck and split-level freshwater swimming pool which is impressively perched on a lava flow directly above the ocean. The resort also features a private sandy beach cove and sheltered salt-water swimming lagoon which is perfect for snorkeling.

Other resort amenities include four Tennis Courts available for day or evening play, rejuvenating massage and spa treatments at the resort's Lotus Center, complete hair, nail and skin care salon services, and great on-property shopping. Island specialists are available at the resort's Activity Desk to assist guests in booking tours and to recommend other island attractions, and specialists are also available on-property to assist couples with destination weddings and vow renewal ceremonies.

Kona's very best dining experience is showcased in a truly world-class ocean-side setting at the Royal Kona Resort's award-winning Don The Beachcomber restaurant. And guests will find live entertainment, light meals and a variety of tropical beverages, including the Original Mai Tai, at Don's Mai Tai Bar. With its open-air setting, right on the water's edge, Don's is the perfect spot to enjoy the sights and sounds of all of the activity taking place on Kailua Bay, and a great place to catch a breathtaking Kona sunset. Several nights a week, the resort also presents Kona's only oceanfront Luau, the "Lava Legends and Legacies Polynesian Luau", amidst a lovely oceanfront Coconut Grove.

For a great location in the heart of Kailua-Kona, gracious Hawaiian hospitality and service, and the Big Islands best value, the Royal Kona Resort is an excellent choice.

Royal Kona Resort is a 100% non-smoking hotel

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.6323 -155.9891
Area served
Kailua-Kona-Big Island of Hawaii, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-LOA
Area description
Unique and dramatic setting located overlooking beautiful Kailua Bay. Walking distance to historic Kailua-Kona town's shopping and attractions. Approximately 15 minutes south of Kona International Airport.

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (434)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
434 out of 434
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kahului, HI
Feb 10, 2008

Needs Renovation

The Royal Kona Hotel is very old and needs to be renovated. The room we stayed in was dirty and noisy. The cloth on the furniture was stained and the rug was worn through. The only good thing about the hotel is the location. It is with-in walking distance to all of Kona's shopping and restaurants. If you like cleanliness and comfort this is not the place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All the shopping and restaurants are on the waters edge! The view is beautiful.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WCW
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Nov 1, 2009

Lackluster Service

Great location; however, staff does not have good service attitude. I felt they were inconvenienced by my stay....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not travel to the airport over two hours in advance of your flight. You will have to wait until the ticket counter opens and there is NOTHING to do there (no food, shops, etc) until you check in and pass thru security...

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Indigosummer
Business
Sacramento, CA
Apr 17, 2012

Unsatisfied exprience at Royal Kona Resort Hotel

I've booked this hotel 4 months in advance. I was placed in the room in the tower that faces the stage and the luau concerts are held every other day from 5pm till 8pm on this stage. The sounds of drums and music from the loud speakers was unbearable, it's impossible to have any rest even with all windows and balcony doors closed. I requested to change the room and had passive agressive attitude from the staff at the front desk. Finally, after insisting on changing the room, I was relocated to the room above the commercial air conditioner of their downstairs restaurant. Isn't it 'good care about their clients'? There were cockroaches in the room, the floor of the kitchenette and bathroom was dirty with the brown stains. There is no beach at this hotel, only tiny lagoon with the ice cold water as the hotel building actually blocks sun in the mornings. Please save your money and nerves, do not spoil your vacation, book some other hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car, drive to the Hapuna beach or better book the nearby hotel at this beach. It's only 25 minutes drive to the north from Kona airport but the beach and the ocean are gorgeous.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mother of a 3 and6 yr old
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
May 21, 2013

Horrible Choice for small children

The staff was friendly and did all they could to make things comfortable for our stay. Shortly after check-in the power went partially out to no fault of the hotel. No air conditioning, elevators were also out, kitchen in the restaurant went out. They did bring 2 portable fan's up to our room to compensate and granted us a very late check out to make up for the inconvenience. The balcony outside our room and railing outside of the room were clearly not up to code... really low and the spacing between was about 9" plenty of room for a small child to fall between falling several flights of stairs while trying to look at the fish in a small pond down below. Outdated accommodations, pictures on website must have been of the very best room they had. The view of an oven view room was the best thing about the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kappa
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Dec 31, 2010

The room assigned was questionable

We booked a cheapest standard room via [...]and were assigned to the room right next to elevators. The noise of the two elevators was incredibly loud that we had to ask for a room change. We made a strong request for a room that is far away from the elevators so that we do not have to bear the noise they makes every time they are in use. As a result we got the room that is one room away from those elevators. The noise from the elevators was not as loud as in the one right night to them, but it was still annoying. After settling down with tons of diving gears, we were too tired to have it changed again, so we tried to stay out of the room as much as possible. I suppose the the cheapest Garden View rooms must be near the elevators since the elevators are located at the opposite side of ocean in the building we stayed (south of the main building near tennis courts). So here is our suggestion: make sure you get a room at least three rooms apart from the elevators. One nice thing about the hotel is that they offered a hospitality room that we could take a shower in before leaving for the evening flight. Guess what? The room used for the hospitality room was the one we were assigned for the first time!! They probably know the room is too noisy except for temporally usage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Manta night diving was great!

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellevue, WA
Feb 27, 2011

not-so-good hotel

mold in bathroom, dirty air vents, blood stains in the bathroom, smelly room, check in @ 3:30 instead of 3:00 only positive points were: the location and the nice ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"java on the rock" near-by has delicious breakfast options and strong coffee - on the down side it's kind of expensive

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 20, 2011

Awful hotel...but a great view

Well it started out ok at best. The check in staff was alright but offered to upgrade us to an oceanfront suite for 20 bucks. So it being our honeymoon, I decided to do it. At first the room was great, although older and it shows, the view was spectacular basically on top of the ocean. But as the night continued it got worse. The AC didn't work, bed was very uncomfortable and we found a bunch of bugs in our bathroom. Thank god we only had one night there cause it was the worst of our trip. If I had another I would have asked to cancel and gone somewhere else. It's only saving grace was Don the Beachcomber restaurant. Don't stay here till a major renovation occurs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to Dons its the only redeeming quality this place has

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Indiana Joe
Business
Bloomington,Indiana
Jul 4, 2009

A bust

Well our flight had mechanical trouble, and we couldn't even get to the island till the following day. I called the Royal Kona Resort, upon arriving in Honolulu and told them we couldn't get over to Kona until the next day, and asked if they would refund all or part of the money we paid. But they said, sorry we can't do that and you have to speak with Orbitz. So I am now finnally able to contact you, and tell you I will never prepay for a hotel again, as I am out $165. I even asked if I could just get a day room maybe for the last day here on the island instead. they didn't even look to see if there were openings, just said No. I have discovered that the real Aloha Spirit out here is very negetive. Amazing how rude people are here, and especcially since it is like paradise. If you are willing or can refund my money, I would be grateful, as things have been alot tougher since the ecomony has had such a down turn. Either way, thanks for you help, and lesson learned. Randall Joe McGlaun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Biggius
Business
Juneau, Ak
Oct 17, 2009

so so

I paid $150 per night, for a mildew room, they charged me another $20 a night to change rooms, then to find out that others in the newer rooms had paid $109 and when we checked out I learned that another guest paid only $75 per night for the same five nights![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
luke and shannon Newlyweds
Business
Corvallis, MT
Oct 25, 2009

Not what you Expect :(

They spent more money on the bar; Dons Beachcomber than all of their rooms. The pillows were like bags of sand. The bed was hard and uncomfortable. When we were laying in bed we had no choice but to listen to the elevator go up and down all night. Plus, the toliet in the room ran all night. Even with the bathroom door shut you could still hear it. The location and the bar are great but hardly make up for everything else. Don't be fooled by their beautiful lobby; you'll understand as soon as you see your room why you got such a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Coconutz is a great little bar that had amazing live music the night we were there. The bartenders are friendly.

Back to menu Return to top