Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
506 out of 506
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xmigirl
Business
San Diego , Ca
Jul 24, 2013

Fantastic getaway

Great hotel, great location , great staff! So many wonderful things. The staff really puts the finishing touches on a great experience. Just can't say enough good things. We will DEFINITELY be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OneHappyCustomer
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 8, 2013

Awesome hotel, awesome views

The hotel is beautiful, we had a huuge room, with a huge Lanai. Yes, the hotel needs a little bit of TLC, but its location and price made it perfect for our vacation. Stayed at a much worse hotel on Waikiki Beacj for twice the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aapriltax
Business
Lake Villa, IL
Jun 24, 2013

Loud wedding parties & hidden costs

We stayed in the bay tower. Can tell it was rehabbed over 10 yrs ago. Needs it again. View was great but our room was right by the location for wedding parties. My husband ran the marathon on Sunday so after traveling all day Saturday we just wanted to go to bed. There was a party with the music so loud we felt like we were apart of the party. We heard every word of the groom"s speech. I called the desk twice to asked if it could be turned down some it only seemed to get louder. Luckily the party stopped at 10. On Sunday there was another wedding. Again we had a front row seat. We had to close up our balcony door to keep some of the sound out. We finally decided to go to dinner and stayed away until 8 when the party would be over Also they show wifi as an amenity but fail to say there is a fee for it. The parking fee of $10 a day is not mentioned either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
natcom
Business
honolulu
Jun 21, 2013

kinda old, but the most central game in town

very run down. warning parking 10$ a day, internet 11$ per device a day. I would stay outside kona and drive in next time. but if you just plan to be in room to sleep, taxi from the airport and walk, its ok. they have a monopoly so I don't see it getting better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mother of a 3 and6 yr old
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
May 21, 2013

Horrible Choice for small children

The staff was friendly and did all they could to make things comfortable for our stay. Shortly after check-in the power went partially out to no fault of the hotel. No air conditioning, elevators were also out, kitchen in the restaurant went out. They did bring 2 portable fan's up to our room to compensate and granted us a very late check out to make up for the inconvenience. The balcony outside our room and railing outside of the room were clearly not up to code... really low and the spacing between was about 9" plenty of room for a small child to fall between falling several flights of stairs while trying to look at the fish in a small pond down below. Outdated accommodations, pictures on website must have been of the very best room they had. The view of an oven view room was the best thing about the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
canadiancalgarian
Business
calgary
May 14, 2013

Not good for the money

Old hotel, needs renovation urgently. Cost is too high for what it delivers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dragon Mama
Business
Gainesville, Florida
May 10, 2013

Best view for the dollar

Hotel rooms dated and mod worn. the hotel grounds and lobby very nice and view from hotel great overlooking ocean. I would stay there again because price is good for Hawaii and view of ocean was wonderful. The luau was okay food and good entertainment, However alcoholic drinks were poor and not much selection as I have had at other Luaus, Only tropical drink offered was Mai tai and I saw bartender putting his hands in Ice of bowl and eating ice before he added liquid Mai tais to punch bowl. I also saw bartender use hands to shovel ice in glasses instead of a scoop, but what the heck, I drank it anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nams
Business
Los Angeles
May 9, 2013

I could live here :)

We had such a great time! The hotel is beautiful and perfectly located in the heart of Kona. My only 2 complaints are that there is no hot tub and the pool closes so early at 8PM!!! Way too early. Other than that, everything was nearly perfect ;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Pool closes early at 8 pm. Get your pool time in early!!

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mainlander
Business
Washington
Apr 28, 2013

Enjoyable hotel

We spent a few nights at the Royal Kona and enjoyed our time there. The room was nice but pretty average. The main lobby/bar area is very cool as it is right on an outcropping of rock next to the ocean. Plenty of room to read, work on the computer, or have a drink right next to the water with a great view. Breakfast buffet was ok but not the best we had on the island. No free internet in the rooms. Overall, for the value, this hotel was a good deal and provided an enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BunnyAlex
Business
Israel/Seattle
Apr 28, 2013

Great location, wonderful staff, beautiful layout

As wonderful as the hotel was, the staff were even greater! They did everything to make our stay wonderful and they succeeded. Thank tou for a most memorable and marvelous stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top