Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
466 out of 466
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dragon Mama
Business
Gainesville, Florida
May 10, 2013

Best view for the dollar

Hotel rooms dated and mod worn. the hotel grounds and lobby very nice and view from hotel great overlooking ocean. I would stay there again because price is good for Hawaii and view of ocean was wonderful. The luau was okay food and good entertainment, However alcoholic drinks were poor and not much selection as I have had at other Luaus, Only tropical drink offered was Mai tai and I saw bartender putting his hands in Ice of bowl and eating ice before he added liquid Mai tais to punch bowl. I also saw bartender use hands to shovel ice in glasses instead of a scoop, but what the heck, I drank it anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nams
Business
Los Angeles
May 9, 2013

I could live here :)

We had such a great time! The hotel is beautiful and perfectly located in the heart of Kona. My only 2 complaints are that there is no hot tub and the pool closes so early at 8PM!!! Way too early. Other than that, everything was nearly perfect ;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Pool closes early at 8 pm. Get your pool time in early!!

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mainlander
Business
Washington
Apr 28, 2013

Enjoyable hotel

We spent a few nights at the Royal Kona and enjoyed our time there. The room was nice but pretty average. The main lobby/bar area is very cool as it is right on an outcropping of rock next to the ocean. Plenty of room to read, work on the computer, or have a drink right next to the water with a great view. Breakfast buffet was ok but not the best we had on the island. No free internet in the rooms. Overall, for the value, this hotel was a good deal and provided an enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BunnyAlex
Business
Israel/Seattle
Apr 28, 2013

Great location, wonderful staff, beautiful layout

As wonderful as the hotel was, the staff were even greater! They did everything to make our stay wonderful and they succeeded. Thank tou for a most memorable and marvelous stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoyalKona
Business
Arizona
Apr 24, 2013

Second time there - would go there again

Was there 14 years ago. It was good then and I think it has been updated this time around. Very nice and comfortable - within easy walking distance to the town, restaurants and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paovia
Business
North Hollywood, California
Apr 9, 2013

Beautiful destination wedding/vacation!

The room in the hotel was clean but a bit old. There were rust stains in the shower & cracks on the bathroom door but that didn't stop us from having a good time. The bar hours were inconvenient. They open late & close early. We tried going to the bar around 10:30am & they weren't open yet. We tried again at 11pm & they were already closed. The front desk/activities desk was very helpful & friendly. The pool & lagoon was very nice. All in all, the hotel location is prime...can't beat watching the sunset from where we were at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seems like all taken
Business
South dakota
Apr 2, 2013

Great area.

Love the location. Food at hotel restaurants was great, except for buffet breakfast. The outdoor bar/restaurant was very nice. First room did not have hot water. Couldn't fix it, so we were moved to another room. Had an odd smell, but got used to it. Rain water came in ceiling one night. They dried it out next day. Location and view from room was excellent. Staff was friendly and accommodating. It is very nice to be able to walk downtown to eat in the evenings. Didn't spend hardly any time in room during daytime, as we travelled the island. Parking was a bit spendy, and spots too close to each other. Would had to pay for wifi, but we brought our own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk downtown, and check out menus from street.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Arryla
Business
Pagosa, CO
Apr 2, 2013

Plenty of room

We were in need of a place to stay that was reasonably priced and was close to the ocean and Royal Kona fit the bill. Thank you for the great deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The Luau at the hotel was excellent!

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jaynna
Business
Hilo, HI
Apr 1, 2013

2 stars due to bad resturant services

The Bad: This is the second time that I stayed at the Royal Kona Resort. The first time I stayed there I did not utilize any of the amenities nor did I eat at the restaurants. However, this time around my husband and I did have breakfast and tried to get drinks at the bar. Our breakfast experience was not the greatest on Sat (3/30/13). $16 for the breakfast buffet was not worth it. The waffles were awful and the selection of food was very minimal. The servers ignored me and my husband when we sat down at our table but greeted and talked to the other guests around us. I had to stop one of the servers to ask for coffee. Later on that same day we decided to lounge around the hotel to enjoy the view of the ocean with some cocktails (3/30/13 around 2pm). Well, that didn't happen. My husband sat at the bar and waited to be served. Apparently, the bartender just looked at him and walked away. I understand if the bar was full of customers but there were probably only 5 people there with drinks already. Oh well, you're not getting our money! So we went back to our room and enjoyed a bottle of wine that we brought with us. Yes, Sat was not our day at the Royal Kona Resort. We had put up the privacy sign up on our door but I guess that doesn’t mean anything because the maid still walked in our room. Good thing we were only watching TV and not doing something else. Lol. The good: Rose, was the person that checked us in. She was very nice and accommodating. Thank you! The room was nice and clean. There was a leaking faucet but that was something that we were able to ignore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gs98230
Business
Vancouver
Mar 31, 2013

Not all rooma are good...

It is an ols hotel... We see it downgraded year after year... I am sure there are outstanding rooms... Anyway, what we book with the Internet does not fit with the expectation... roadside view, noisy neighbors, tiny refrigerator... expensive parking and exaggerated internet cost at a very low speed. At that price, next time, I will choose a better accomodation. Not what I would call a resort ! ! ! It should not be so expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top