Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 2, 2015 Check-out: Feb 3, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
449 reviews
Nice place to stay

While the hotel does need some updating the overall experience was amazing. The room had a great... See full review

  • Kathy E.
  • Jan 12, 2015
Awesome family trip

This hotel was close to everything and has its own private beach the kids loved it. See full review

  • chaquina p.
  • Dec 21, 2014
Oceanfront Kailua resort features Don the Beachcomber mai tai heaven
Perched on a lava-rock promontory on the edge of downtown Kailua-Kona, the Royal Kona Resort is a landmark hotel with renovated rooms and stellar ocean views. On site, guests find the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don's Mai Tai Bar. A tri-star shaped hotel built around an open-air lobby and surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, the atmosphere captures the Big Island spirit without forgoing all the niceties of resort living. A sandy beach ledge, sheltered swimming lagoon and split-level swimming pool add to the romance.

 

Highlights
  • Split-level swimming pool
  • Fitness center
  • Legendary Don the Beachcomber restaurant and mai tai bar
  • Saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach
  • Evening luau and Polynesian revue
Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Policies and fees
  • The freshwater pool will be closed for repairs from 1 - 7 April 2015. During this period, the saltwater lagoon will be available for use. Arrangements have been made for guests to enjoy access to the freshwater pool area at neighboring Kona Reef.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.6323 -155.9891
Area served
Kailua-Kona-Big Island of Hawaii, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-LOA
Area description
Unique and dramatic setting located overlooking beautiful Kailua Bay. Walking distance to historic Kailua-Kona town's shopping and attractions. Approximately 15 minutes south of Kona International Airport.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (449)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
449 out of 449
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nateruns
Business
massachusetts
Feb 27, 2013

In need of an update but still nice

The Royal Kona really is in the perfect spot for the big island and the common areas are really amazing. As was the ocean view from our room. That said the carpet was very dirty and overall the room was a bit tired. As were the halls and elevators. The price was very reasonable. The location was tip top, the service was very good the lagoon was very neat and the patio and lounge were pretty top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Monstera, short drive by Big Island standards for a great Japanese/sushi meal.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snorkelking
Business
michigan
Feb 27, 2013

Location and View are unbeatable

With an oceanfront location on Ali'i drive and a panoramic view of the ocean, coastline, and Kailua bay, you can't beat the Royal Kona. Restaurants and shopping are literally steps away from the hotel. Yes, the outdoor carpeting in the walkways has seen better days - who cares? The rooms are nice with a flat screen TV, comfortable beds, a table & chairs, a wet bar & fridge, and most importantly a large balcony. Its a great set up to relax and watch the sunset after a long day snorkeling and sightseeing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There is phenominal snorkeling in front of the Bay Tower of the hotel. Ignore the signs - there are plenty of people swimming/snorkeling in the bay everyday. We saw turtles, eels, tons of fish and even a manta ray!

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pens5301
Business
columbia
Feb 27, 2013

Royal Kona

Great location within walking distance to great shops and resturants. Comfortable and friendly hotel. Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Impressed with Hawaii
Business
Trail B.C.
Feb 18, 2013

Fantastic location

Just got back from the Royal Kona Hotel in Hawaii. I'll start off with the good points, very friendly and helpfull staff. The location is perfect the atmosphere around the Hotel is great. When I first got there I was impressed by the scenery and the layout of the Hotel. There are definately better Hotels around but for a highter price. First impression is very good, that is until you walk up to the front desk and see the condition of the front desk, ceiling, and the mail boxes behind the counter, They are in definate need of upgrading. Walking up to my room I noticed that they had carpeting which is in dire need of replacement. When I got to my room I was impressed with our view ( south tower facing south) but that was about all I was impressed with, The rooms are a throw back to the 70's, all of the furniture is in need of replacement, When I sat on my bed I was not impressed, I lifed my mattress up and found that the Hotel had put a 3/8 sheet of plywood between my mattress and boxspring instead of replacing them. The only nice thing about the rooms is they were clean. If you plan on staying here don't expect to be impressed by the rooms. You will also pay for the internet $4.95 a day for one week and $ 10.00 a day for parking, Other than that it's in a great location and the price is right, I met a local waitress right across the street and she pretty much summed the Royal Kona Hotel up in one sentence. She said "They act like they are 5 star Hotel when in reality there only a 2 1/2 star Hotel" I would have to agree with her statement!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of great restaurants within walking distance and for better prices. The Royal Kona Hotels Restaurants are not worth the price and the service is terrible the food okay. The servers are friendly and helpful but they were way over worked.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel buz
Business
Westmont, IL
Feb 17, 2013

Beautiful setting

Loved the hotel setting - the bar/grill opens up to the ocean. What a lovely view! Conveniently located near shops, restaurants, and nightly/daily entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TesKen
Business
Illinois
Feb 14, 2013

Wonderful Vacation

This was our second time staying at the Royal Kona and we loved it again. They gave us an excellent room (Oceanfront). The lagoon is wonderful to snorkel in, lots of fish, eels and even a turtle once in awhile. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The only thing they changed that I wish they didn't was that they don't give guests a coupon for breakfast anymore. We used that every morning last time we stayed and this time we did go to other places for breakfast. Our next trip to the Big Island, we will be staying here again. Thank you so much for a great stay Royal Kona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to everthing, dining, shopping, activities, beach etc.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CaryD
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 11, 2013

Great proximity to downtown

Rooms overlooking the inlet are great and location to downtown is terrific. However, you need to enjoy the nightlife because the bands at 3 clubs go till closing time. Beds could use updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

3 locations all within stumbling distance

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mushy
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 9, 2013

Winter break

Hotel is very retro and needs updating. We had booked a garden view room and what we got was a 2nd floor room overlooking the roof with the air conditioners running 24 hrs a day. When I asked about the room I was told that this is what is offered for a garden view room. I suggest when making your booking you talk to the hotel to be sure of what you are getting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fionabear
Business
Somerville, MA
Feb 8, 2013

Great place to stay!

The hotel was wonderful with curtious, helpful staff. The music from the Luau at night brought an island feeling even if you weren't at it. Will definately stay there again the next time we're in Kona!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One of the staff recommender Fish Hoppers. It's on Ali'i Dr, just past the Palace. They serve Breakfast, lunch and dinner. The fried rice on the breakfast menu is a must have!

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dream vacationer
Business
Eastern Oregon
Feb 6, 2013

Beautiful pool area

The location of the hotel was amazing! The hotel looked to be remodeled and the pool area was fantastic. We saw huge fish jumping in the ocean from the pool area. Although the room was clean, the bathroom had an odd smell and the one of the pillows should have been replaced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top