Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 17, 2014 Check-out: Apr 20, 2014

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
421 reviews
Great get away

Quick check in Nice rooms in the lagoon tower Located on the bay on the edge of down town. Bar menu... See full review

  • GeoJo
  • Mar 13, 2014
Honeymoon/Vacation

Every person and every thing about the Royal Kona Hotel was perfect. From the room, to the... See full review

  • BobPullen
  • Jan 21, 2014
Oceanfront Kailua resort features Don the Beachcomber mai tai heaven
Perched on a lava-rock promontory on the edge of downtown Kailua-Kona, the Royal Kona Resort is a landmark hotel with renovated rooms and stellar ocean views. On site, guests find the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don's Mai Tai Bar. A tri-star shaped hotel built around an open-air lobby and surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, the atmosphere captures the Big Island spirit without forgoing all the niceties of resort living. A sandy beach ledge, sheltered swimming lagoon and split-level swimming pool add to the romance.

 

Highlights
  • Split-level swimming pool
  • Fitness center
  • Legendary Don the Beachcomber restaurant and mai tai bar
  • Saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach
  • Evening luau and Polynesian revue
Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Policies and fees
The pool will be closed from 23 September to 30 September. During this period, the private saltwater lagoon will remain available. Guests can also use the pool facilities at neighboring Kona Reef.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.6323 -155.9891
Area served
Kailua-Kona-Big Island of Hawaii, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-LOA
Area description
Unique and dramatic setting located overlooking beautiful Kailua Bay. Walking distance to historic Kailua-Kona town's shopping and attractions. Approximately 15 minutes south of Kona International Airport.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (421)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
421 out of 421
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
Michael in Motion
Santa Clarita, CA
Nov 1, 2012

Kona classic!

I thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Royal Kona Resort. It is wonderfully situated, being right on the ocean and right next to town. The staff are fantastically friendly and so helpful. Nothing can beat the value you get for the moderate price paid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
AngieeR
Fairfield, CA
Oct 31, 2012

Beautiful Hotel!!

Absolutely enjoyed my stay at this hotel! While it is older it is nicely kept up and very comfortable and clean! Everyone was very nice and helpful whenever we needed something. I would definitely book this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
Barb from Reno
Reno, NV
Oct 30, 2012

Fantastic location & compassionate staff

I love this hotel! My husband and I stayed here 20 years ago when this was a Hilton property, and it is much the same now as it was then - vintage Hawaii decor and a breathtaking oceanfront location within walking distance to the many shops & restaurants in the Kona/Kailua area. We had an oceanfront room in the Lagoon Tower, with the waves crashing below on the black rocks. It was incredible & mesmermizing to hear and see the waves, along with the stunning sunrises and sunsets. While we were there, my Dad quite unexpectedly went into hospice care in Chicago and I had to rush home. The staff approved a refund for my shortened stay and could not have been kinder or more compassionate. I will definitely return to this comfortable and welcoming resort many more times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We were able to find free street parking on the street in front of the hotel every night of our stay. Probably not possible all times of the year, but it worked out fine in the weeks after the Iron Man triathalon when the crowds were gone.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
Iren2012
Business
Michigan, USA
Oct 23, 2012

Exotic place to stay

Exotic, beautiful, inspiring and mystical place! There was the only thing what upset me much: my room wasn't ready when i arrived at the hotel at 3p.m. My flight was too long -16 hours; and i was too tired to wait for an additional hour at the lobby when my room will be cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Delicious food, reasonable prices, inviting environment...

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
Island Girl Kelly
Birmingham, AL
Oct 12, 2012

Royal Kona Resort

Ocean View Room had good view of ocean even though not one of the ocean front rooms. It is an older hotel, but rooms had been updated. Rooms were clean, but very little light in bathroom, so it felt a little closed in. The grounds were beautiful. Nice pool area overlooking ocean, but not really a beach. There is a nice sandy lagoon area where you can get in the water and lay out. Short walking distance of lots of restaurants and (mostly touristy) shops. Convenient to the main highway to get around island. Also had a decent Luau onsite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
Chicken Katsu
Honolulu,Hi
Oct 11, 2012

Happy Birthday!!!!!

We went sight seeing,Volcano,Waimea,Waipio Valley,Pollolu Lookout it was a breath taking exsperience one that I will never forget. Thankyou Aunty Veda-Rose for the Kona Coffee,you will always be remembered with my first cup every morning. I will be back to conquer Maunkea.Had a good night sleep.I expected a little more Hospitality and at least a great cup of coffee(Kona Coffee)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has a Breakfast Bouffet, but across the street has a great menu and affordable prices.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
HANSOME HAYES
kona
Oct 7, 2012

beautiful room but housekeeping was poor

Housekeeping not too good Restaurant way too expensive Parking is extra

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

prices much better than hotel

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
llesneski
Larkspur, California
Oct 6, 2012

Location is perfect

Positive experience except for the noise coming from the luau. Was very loud. Otherwise we enjoyed are stay very much and would recommend your hotel to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
C.G.A
CA
Sep 23, 2012

Very welcoming place

It is very nice hotel. We enjoyed the great view and convinient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
TwoWomen
Plains, MT
Sep 12, 2012

A nice surprise

We were greeted by friendly smiles, good food, a luau show to watch from our balcony, a clean room daily, towels for the lagoon or pool, a koi pond in our lobby, and a great location for walking. The optional orientation presentation breakfast and information was worthwhile. Above expectations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Attend the orientation breakfast for places to go, history, and coupons that save $$.

Back to menu Return to top