Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
506 out of 506
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JReagan
Business
Grass Valley, CA
Dec 5, 2014

Hard to beat the location, price and amenities!

Can't think of a single complaint. Right at the southern end of Kona with everything in walking distance. On site dining, bar, Luau, pool, lagoon, spa, exercise room, discount tours and attractions. What else is there?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy your junk and food at Walmart first.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bibble
Business
Philadelphia
Dec 1, 2014

Old faithful

RKH is a grand dame hotel. Maybe a little long in the tooth but fundamentally classy bones and comfortingly reliable. Really fabulous front desk staff, the food and service in the bar nothing woefully average, but with a spectacular sunset ocean setting like this, you won't really care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make a left out of the hotel and enjoy a fabulous breakfast at Java on the Rock, my most favorite coffee shop in the world. It's Outdoor, literally oceanfront and nothing comes closer to my idea of morning in heaven than listening to the waves, drinking one if their delicious lattes with the sand between my toes,

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tablet6
Business
California, USA
Nov 28, 2014

Its all about the location

Situated right in the heart of Kona. Hopping distance to all restaurants and shopping places. Hotel is old, have nice view of the ocean. We stayed for 5 nights. 6 miles to kalaulu beach (snorkeling) and Magic Sands beach. 10 miles to Coffee tours. But about 25 miles to Hapuna beach. Bathroom, beds, ventilation, everything is ooooold. But, man the location is just awesome. Parking is $10 per night. Luckily we found street parking for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Poloka
Business
Kailua-Kona
Nov 25, 2014

Yearly Hawaiian Vacation

Older hotel with a great location. Most of the staff is very friendly. This is about my 25th stay at this hotel and it was the worst room I have had due to noise and location within the building ... 2nd floor and the wrong end of the building. It is a fairly easy walk to most of what you might want to do in Kailua-Kona. Additional charges:$/day for parking, $/day wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

It is difficult to really see the island of Hawaii without a rental car.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
picky cleannik
Business
NYC
Nov 20, 2014

Pleasantly surprised

I arrived at the resort on Halloween night, which set the stage for the rest my stay. The hotel's location could not be better in terms of connecting to the heart of Kailua. It also has the best proximity to the ocean, with excellent views of both the Pacific and the bay. The bar pool and breakfast area are directly on the water, and beautiful. The morning glow of the Pacific is magical.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Manago Hotel in Captain Cook serves simple and delicious home style Hawaiian food in a simple lodge-like dining room. It's famous for its pork chops, and the butter fish literally melts in your mouth. It was constructed in 1917 by the Manago brothers, and is now owned by Dwight Manago--third generation. The Teshima restaurant in Honalo (just north of Captain Cook) serves delicious Japanese food--again in a simple setting--particularly the ahi--best I've ever had!! Both are a 15-20 minute drive from the Kailua-Kona strip.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crisscross usa
Business
Santa Clara County, California
Nov 14, 2014

Great resort

Loved my time here..had only 2 negatives tof my stay. Our luau was canceled due to kitchen issues. They tried to reschedule us, but we had other events. We ended up doing the much more expensive luau a few blocks over from Royal Kona. The other is I wish they had a hot tub. Otherwise, their lagoon was awesome, the pool & bar had great views & everyone was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NanaJo1
Business
Mt Home, Idaho
Sep 28, 2014

Birthday Getaway

We love this hotel and go almost every year for my birthday. The only complaints are the internet is not worth what you pay for. Several times we ended up at a restaurant that had internet service so we could send emails and videos to friends and family. Our last day there we had to call to have our room cleaned and get fresh towels so we could get ready to go to dinner. Overall we love this place and the lagoon where we can relax and snorkel. You can walk into town for gifts and dining choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several places to eat, Huggins, Lava Java and Bubba Bumps.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yanuska
Business
Northridge, california
Sep 9, 2014

Great location for my husband business

The Royal Kona resort, was very nice, the only improvement would be better A/C. Otherwise the view was Amazing!! I almost forgot, we only got clean towels, the first day we were there, the maid never gave new towels, the 2 nights, late checkout (6:00pm) and she didn't clean the room at all the last day. Our towels were kind of yucky by then!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawaiian Island traveler
Business
Southwest
Sep 5, 2014

Kona return trip

We stayed at this hotel on our first trip to Kona about 14 years ago. The hotel is in a great location for walking to shops and places to eat. The rooms and the furniture looks like they have not changed anything since our last visit. The rooms need to be remodeled and the furniture needs to be updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KAP1
Business
Silver Spring, Maryland
Aug 21, 2014

Royal Kona-August-2014

Great location on the big island of HI. The builidng is rather outdated (late 1960s). Amenities are OK. Does have a seaside enclave for a salty swim. The interriors of the detached building needs serious refurbishing. The carpets are old and the tiled floors are worn out. The off-season rate was competitive. Good Luau!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sheraton and Marriott are higher cost but much better options (not close to Kona City area).

Back to menu Return to top