Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 5, 2016 Check-out: Mar 7, 2016

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tesi
Couples
San Leandro Ca
Oct 29, 2011

Fantastic vacation

We had the most beautifull vacation on resort the staff was great special Ann @ the recption desk she was a very kind person. We will go again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

to Roses Cantina or dining at the hotel

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scrappy
Couples
eastern washington state
Jul 20, 2011

Best location in Kailua!

The location of the hotel is absolutely perfect. The hotel rooms are just average but the grounds and Don's Mai-Tai Tiki Bar make up for the average rooms. Walking distance to Huggos, Lulus, and Bongo Bens. I have stayed at the Royal Kona at least 5 times and I have tried other hotels, but I keep coming back to the Royal Kona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Lulus pork nachos and Huggus ahi poke.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Couples
Little Rock, AR
Jul 5, 2011

Perfect at an economic price

We went on tour of Island, stand up boarding, shopping, and sitting at the beach. Royal Kona staff made our stay 5 stars! I asked for a knife to cut our fresh pineapple, and the room attendan brought a knife, cutting plate, two plates to eat the pineapple, napkins, forks. We were blown away. We only asked for a knife and we got the works. The hotel is in the perfect spot to catch the shuttle, walk to the pier, or go eat with plenty of options! We are going back to take the kids!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best location

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Jose CA
May 31, 2011

Royal Kona

there is a great beach in walking distance and the turtles were everywhere. The bar and restaurant was fantastic. You could sit and watch the spinner dolphins jumping in the water. Tons of other eating places just across the street. Lulu's was great! One bad thing, I slipped on wet pavement and the hotel acted as if it was no big deal. I asked for a discount on a massage the next day when i started having spasams in my back but all they could offer was 20% off. The first person at the front desk that I reported the fall to said "oh". that was it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little sushi place we found that sold cool sushi sets for only 10.00! I think it was called Wassabi.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melissa E
Couples
Sprintown, Texas
Apr 24, 2011

Gorgeous Oceanview

We actually went to Kona to visit family. This hotel was very comfortable and everyone was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet would be our only complaint...very pricey and not very good compared to restaurants on Ali'i Dr. It is not a real luxurious hotel, but very nice. We got the Ocean Front King Room, the balcony and the view were amazing. Overall a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants and main strip were very close to hotel...You can walk all along Ali'i Drive from hotel. Luau's every Monday Wednesday and Fri. We just watched from our balcony :)

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Victoria, BC, Canada
Mar 30, 2011

Rolay Kona Resort - almost

We flew in at 10 pm, pending the Tsunami (March 11, 11)and were not able to register at the hotel due to its proximity to the beach. We spent night at Walmart parking lot until all clear at 9 am. The hotel refunded our money through a diligent [...] agent (kudos to him for being persistent) We subsequently had our annual last night dinner at Don the Beachcomber restaurant - amazing food great value. Will come back and actually stay at the hotel as it looks beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The dinners for two are fantastic value and amazingly good food. Service was warm and attentive.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dog
Couples
iowa
Feb 1, 2011

best location

loved the location close to the strip. a short walk to all the activities.great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Alaska
Nov 1, 2010

Nice View

Our room was upgraded to a nice ocean view room upon apprival. The view was awesome. The bed was hard as a rock and the room was dated and a little dirty. Many times when we came back to the room at 4:00 or so, the room had not yet been cleaned. Once, the maid showed up at 4:50 and wanted to get in the room right away as they were getting off at 5:00. We were in the process of getting dressed and ready to go out and we had the clean room sign on the door for most of the day. Love the location, so close to Kailus-Kona, but the hotel is only so-so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good dining spots within a short walk

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
n.a.
Couples
Seoul, Korea
Sep 5, 2010

what a wonderful place!

The views we enjoyed at the hotel was really unforgettable. We could also enjoy the busy and pleasant atmosphere in the town. Except the hotel being a little old, we had impressive and refreshing time staying in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Enjoy the sunset dining at the bar. Fantastic!

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manu
Friends
Switzerland
Aug 19, 2010

Perfect

just a perfect place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top