Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
685 reviews
Great get away

Quick check in Nice rooms in the lagoon tower Located on the bay on the edge of down town. Bar menu... See full review

  • GeoJo
  • Mar 13, 2014
Honeymoon/Vacation

Every person and every thing about the Royal Kona Hotel was perfect. From the room, to the... See full review

  • BobPullen
  • Jan 21, 2014
Oceanfront Kailua resort features Don the Beachcomber mai tai heaven
Perched on a lava-rock promontory on the edge of downtown Kailua-Kona, the Royal Kona Resort is a landmark hotel with renovated rooms and stellar ocean views. On site, guests find the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don's Mai Tai Bar. A tri-star shaped hotel built around an open-air lobby and surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, the atmosphere captures the Big Island spirit without forgoing all the niceties of resort living. A sandy beach ledge, sheltered swimming lagoon and split-level swimming pool add to the romance.

 

Highlights
  • Split-level swimming pool
  • Fitness center
  • Legendary Don the Beachcomber restaurant and mai tai bar
  • Saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach
  • Evening luau and Polynesian revue
Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Policies and fees
The pool will be closed from 23 September to 30 September. During this period, the private saltwater lagoon will remain available. Guests can also use the pool facilities at neighboring Kona Reef.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.6323 -155.9891
Area served
Kailua-Kona-Big Island of Hawaii, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-LOA
Area description
Unique and dramatic setting located overlooking beautiful Kailua Bay. Walking distance to historic Kailua-Kona town's shopping and attractions. Approximately 15 minutes south of Kona International Airport.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (685)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
685 out of 685
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California travel
Temecula, California
Oct 1, 2013

Wedding anniversary

We love it here and have enjoyed 4 vacations at this wonderful resort. The staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome. The atmosphere is very relaxing .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at Bongo Bens was a real good value with free Internet available. Shopping and happy hours are available at a short distance walk.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DW in LA
LA
Sep 29, 2013

In the heart of Kona

We went on a friend's recommendation and were very glad we did. Staff was very friendly. We didn't like our room and they happily switched us to a room with a great ocean view. (you can see our room in the photo above) Nice balconies, of course, but there are also a lot of great places to sit oceanside near the lobby and the outdoor bar, which makes a great mai tai. I saw the bad reviews about plaster, etc., so maybe it's not five stars, but it's a great hotel in a great location--it's Hawaii. No sandy beaches here, that's the other islands, but the salt water lagoon was very nice. If I can get back to Kona, I will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We bought exotic fruit at the farmer's market, stored it in the room frig and had it for breakfast two days.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CruiseCrew
Hawaii
Sep 25, 2013

Big Island wedding

Experience was fine. Enjoyed the bar restaurant...great seats...viewed spinner dolphins for hours. The food was good as was the bar restaurant service. Worst part of the stay was the check-in service, not so friendly, and had to pay $10 a day parking fee that wasn't mentioned when booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveler from Phoenix
Phoenix , Arizona
Sep 21, 2013

vacation ath the end of August 2013

The room was clean and the hotel staff has always been helpful and courteous. However the acoustic isolation is poor and the balcony is designed in a way that you almost share it with the other rooms on the floor. The only :kitchen appliances or tools" in the room were a small refrigerator and a coffee machine. The rooms have no curtains and there are a lot of rooms around. The hotel has no parking lot, there is a parking across the street but you have to pay $10/day. 2 Stars because the past 2 years I have been on other Hawaiian island, and in both case the hotel/resort was offering much more for a significant lower price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
svtoorn
Grand Rapids, MI
Sep 1, 2013

Visiting the University of the Nations

I'm 22 years old and this was one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in! I came to Kona to visit the University of the Nations so take a little bit of a vacation. This hotel was just what I needed. The room was very clean, the staff was friendly, and I was able to experience quite a bit of Hawaiian culture while here. I would definitely recommend this to a friend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to check out the University of the Nations campus! Go to their Thursday night gathering for a great time!

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phil Fitter
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 21, 2013

very good for the money

The room was very spacious and comfortable, though the bathroom needed some renovation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't miss the chopper ride to see the volcano and water falls.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xmigirl
San Diego , Ca
Jul 24, 2013

Fantastic getaway

Great hotel, great location , great staff! So many wonderful things. The staff really puts the finishing touches on a great experience. Just can't say enough good things. We will DEFINITELY be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OneHappyCustomer
Austin, TX
Jul 8, 2013

Awesome hotel, awesome views

The hotel is beautiful, we had a huuge room, with a huge Lanai. Yes, the hotel needs a little bit of TLC, but its location and price made it perfect for our vacation. Stayed at a much worse hotel on Waikiki Beacj for twice the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aapriltax
Lake Villa, IL
Jun 24, 2013

Loud wedding parties & hidden costs

We stayed in the bay tower. Can tell it was rehabbed over 10 yrs ago. Needs it again. View was great but our room was right by the location for wedding parties. My husband ran the marathon on Sunday so after traveling all day Saturday we just wanted to go to bed. There was a party with the music so loud we felt like we were apart of the party. We heard every word of the groom"s speech. I called the desk twice to asked if it could be turned down some it only seemed to get louder. Luckily the party stopped at 10. On Sunday there was another wedding. Again we had a front row seat. We had to close up our balcony door to keep some of the sound out. We finally decided to go to dinner and stayed away until 8 when the party would be over Also they show wifi as an amenity but fail to say there is a fee for it. The parking fee of $10 a day is not mentioned either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
natcom
honolulu
Jun 21, 2013

kinda old, but the most central game in town

very run down. warning parking 10$ a day, internet 11$ per device a day. I would stay outside kona and drive in next time. but if you just plan to be in room to sleep, taxi from the airport and walk, its ok. they have a monopoly so I don't see it getting better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top