Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 12, 2014 Check-out: Dec 14, 2014

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
437 reviews
Great get away

Quick check in Nice rooms in the lagoon tower Located on the bay on the edge of down town. Bar menu... See full review

  • GeoJo
  • Mar 13, 2014
Honeymoon/Vacation

Every person and every thing about the Royal Kona Hotel was perfect. From the room, to the... See full review

  • BobPullen
  • Jan 21, 2014
Oceanfront Kailua resort features Don the Beachcomber mai tai heaven
Perched on a lava-rock promontory on the edge of downtown Kailua-Kona, the Royal Kona Resort is a landmark hotel with renovated rooms and stellar ocean views. On site, guests find the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don's Mai Tai Bar. A tri-star shaped hotel built around an open-air lobby and surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, the atmosphere captures the Big Island spirit without forgoing all the niceties of resort living. A sandy beach ledge, sheltered swimming lagoon and split-level swimming pool add to the romance.

 

Highlights
  • Split-level swimming pool
  • Fitness center
  • Legendary Don the Beachcomber restaurant and mai tai bar
  • Saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach
  • Evening luau and Polynesian revue
Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Policies and fees
The pool will be closed from 23 September to 30 September. During this period, the private saltwater lagoon will remain available. Guests can also use the pool facilities at neighboring Kona Reef.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.6323 -155.9891
Area served
Kailua-Kona-Big Island of Hawaii, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-LOA
Area description
Unique and dramatic setting located overlooking beautiful Kailua Bay. Walking distance to historic Kailua-Kona town's shopping and attractions. Approximately 15 minutes south of Kona International Airport.

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (437)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
437 out of 437
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BobPullen
Business
Lakewood, CA
Jan 21, 2014

Honeymoon/Vacation

Every person and every thing about the Royal Kona Hotel was perfect. From the room, to the location, the Wedding Planner, Photographer, hotel staff, etc etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Snorkel at 2-Step. A family of dolphins reside there, and the experience is amazing.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Grandma Racer
Business
Calhan, CO
Jan 8, 2014

Not real pleased

The primary problem was the cockroaches. When you wake in the middle of the night to use the bathroom and see them scurrying away you lose a lot of sleep. No idea when it was last vacuumed found pieces of cereal in sight of the bed. Moldy walls, loose fixtures toilets that wouldn't stop running. Dope smoking neighbors, apparently legal cigarettes is the only smoking prohibited. Glad I didn't look for bed bugs. We moved from The Royal Kona Resort to the King Kamehameha no comparison. Quiet, Clean much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MICHAEL VACATION LOVER
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Jan 3, 2014

Great Location in Kona

The view from our lanai on the third floor was amazing. In fact, it was the best part of our stay. Our room was noisy and needs to be updated. The entire lagoon tower needs to be refurbished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
teleotic
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 9, 2013

Just What I Needed

Beautifully designed, comfortable, clean rooms that are superbly Hawaiian themed without ever being kitschy. I was a particular fan of the sliding wall shutters that replace the generic blackout curtains you would expect at most hotels. After visiting, I want to redecorate my place. Relaxing on the lanai was perfect. We loved the view and sound of the ocean waves, and the music of the luau that would drift up at sunset. Right on the Kailua-Kona strip, so you can walk to bars, restaurants, and shopping, but close enough to the edge that you don't have to fight traffic to get out on your adventures. Very friendly staff, nice pool right next to the ocean. No jacuzzi, which would have been nice on one night, but that's not too big of a deal when you can get right into the warm Hawaiian water the next day. Internet is $10/day per device -- I just tethered my phone when I needed net on the laptop. Would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kmbross
Business
St. Louis, MO
Nov 19, 2013

Relaxing and comfortable

We only stayed 2 nights but were pleasantly surprised with the size of the room which included a mini fridge and sink. The view from our room was wonderful and our floor was quiet - no noisy neighbors. We used the fitness center in the next tower which was very convenient. Very little equipment - 1 treadmill, 1 elliptical, and 1 stationary bike. We walked a short distance to a small pizza place the first night since it served food until midnight. There were multiple options for food/drink within 5-10 minute walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Kona Couple
Business
Vancouver, Washington
Nov 18, 2013

Royal Kona is Great

This was our 3rd stay at the Royal Kona, the location is perfect, the rooms are comfortable and the bar is spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Snorkel in the lagoon on the South (I think) side of the Hotel, the first time we went we didn't do it, we thought it wouldn't be any good. Now, it is not the greatest snorkeling by any means, but, with how close it's a good one to do if you are limited on time or if the water is too rough to do so anywhere else.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike and Sherri
Business
Surprise, AZ
Oct 28, 2013

Great one night stay

We had a beautiful view of the bay. We could see the colored fish in the water. Room and facility were clean and comfortable. Service was great. I had a medical emergency at 2AM. They helped so much. All the staff is helpful and friendly. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There was dining in the hotel and more within a short walk. That goes along with shopping and entertainment. Great location.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler Virgie
Business
Marshall, MI
Oct 28, 2013

Royal Kona Resort

Location is perfect. Rooms are clean and staff, mostly from the Philippines were very friendly and helpful. The Luau has limited performances, but good. The food at the Luau was excellent. I will recommend to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Travel light and don't over-pack! Don't overeat either. Now I have to loose these "pounds."

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just visiting from cal...
Business
Fairfield, Ca
Oct 23, 2013

Visiting from California

The hotel itself is rather run down. For the amount of people that stay here all the time, they could put a little into the exterior. The room was not that great. The shower had some minor mold and did not drain very well. There was dust behind the dresser and night stands. The positive was the view. For the purpose I was there for (visiting family and just needed a place to sleep), it did the job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California travel
Business
Temecula, California
Oct 1, 2013

Wedding anniversary

We love it here and have enjoyed 4 vacations at this wonderful resort. The staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome. The atmosphere is very relaxing .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at Bongo Bens was a real good value with free Internet available. Shopping and happy hours are available at a short distance walk.

Back to menu Return to top