Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
458 out of 458
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ltdan1985
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Aug 13, 2014

Still waiting to for Hotel Managment to contact me

I stayed at this resort on August 5, 2014 and checked out on August 6, 2014. My trip was ruined because of the resort and treatment by staff after I was badly injured at resort. Around 4pm on August 5, 2014 I cut my toe severely while swimming in their lagoon. There was no warning sign at the deep part of the extremely dangerous lagoon. After getting injured as I bled all over the resort to guest services for first aide. When asking for help I was told to wait and was ignored. I then went to the bathroom since my accident was not important and got towels to try and stop the bleeding. Till a other guest got help for me. Then after 10-15 minutes security did a report and got me first aide. No one asked if I needed any help. Later that evening the wound would not stop bleeding and I had to go to ER in Kona where I had to get a shot, medication, and ended up sleeping in the hospital the majority of the night and not enjoying my hotel room bed. I am still waiting to hear back from the hotel management and what they plan to make up for my trip being bad. It's now approaching a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rickstar
Business
michigan
Aug 6, 2014

great place

Hotel was older. But very clean. Grounds was well maintained. Lots of things to do with pool and lagoon. Food was great. Beautiful view of the ocean and ocean sound from our ocean view room . Staff was great and had a very relaxing quit stay. Thank you Royal Mona staff. Went here on our honeymoon ill be back with the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lost of showing close by along with night life.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leiser crew
Business
Boston/Switzerland
Aug 3, 2014

Great stay!

Great location, awesome bar, awesome entrance! This is a really fun place to stay as a couple! Don'so tiki bar is downstairs, and Hugo's restaurant is next door. Great value and great size room. Not brand new, but, very clean and friendly and walking distance to downtown Kailua (5-10 minute walk).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OC Pro Traveller
Business
Orange County
Jul 27, 2014

Good location, nice staff, dated rooms

The location of this hotel is right where all the restaurants are in Kona.There are plenty of places to walk to and have dinner or lunch. Parking is not included and it is $10/night. Staff is pleasant and helpful. The rooms are dated. Nothing Royal here. Old carpet, old furniture and new TV. The room we had was rather spacious and also had a big balcony. Bathroom is tiny. There was microwave and small fridge. This is a good hotel if luxury is not on your mind and want to save a couple bucks. I hope this will help someone decide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mo Vacationer
Business
Springfield, MO
Jun 27, 2014

Kona visitor

Room was very nice with a fantastic view of ocean surf. As to be expected though with a location constantly bombarded with salt air, most everything metal was rusting. Snorkeled lagoon pool with lots of fish to see. Within walking distance of all the shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cuban traveller
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 7, 2014

Average Experience

The hotel has good potential in terms of location, amenities, activities etc. May need some remodeling around the building. Had to actually switch rooms because the A/C was leaking water due to clogged and dirty A/C system. Most staff members are pleasant but the lady who checked us in and switched rooms the next day was unfriendly and unapproachable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ryan went to a wedding
Business
st louis
Jun 7, 2014

amazing value

We had an ocean view room and it doesnt get any better and better yet, it didnt break the bank. The rooms themselves are nothing special, but the view more than makes up for it. It's situated perfectly within walking distance of a lot of restaurants and bars. The staff was also incredibly helpful and attentitive. I will definitely be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About a quarter block from the hotel is a cluster of great dining options. Just make sure to load up on booze at the ABC store because all everything starts shutting down around 10. And because theres not much night life, its tough on singles haha.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sunnyme
Business
Settle, Washington
May 30, 2014

Sunnyme

Hotel is old and needs updating. Breakfast is not included. Rooms are away from the parking lot so moving your luggage in and out of the hotel is a pain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KauaiKen
Business
Utah
May 20, 2014

Good value for an ocean view room in Hawaii

Pros, great location for eating and drinking, right across from bars and restaurants, great views of the lovely Pacific Ocean. Cons, hotel is old, needs some insertion of cash from the owners to update the rooms, everything from the towels to the paint to the furniture is old and dated. If the rooms were updated this hotel would be great, we had an ocean view room and that made the difference from a good vacation to not so happy vacation, get an ocean view room! Bar staff was very unfriendly, slow and could careless about service, bar also played rock and roll music, while we like rock and roll, I certainly enjoy Hawaiian music while in Hawaii! I'm guessing most other visitors do to, that's why we are there, it's Hawaii, play Hawaiian music! All and all, for the price we paid for a full ocean view room, it was a pretty good deal and hotel, May or May not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
davedp
Business
canada
Mar 24, 2014

good hotel

Room was good and location is perfect however, bathroom has old shower and has rust. Restaurant is good. They made out of their menu items just for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top