Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
466 out of 466
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
picky cleannik
Business
NYC
Nov 20, 2014

Pleasantly surprised

I arrived at the resort on Halloween night, which set the stage for the rest my stay. The hotel's location could not be better in terms of connecting to the heart of Kailua. It also has the best proximity to the ocean, with excellent views of both the Pacific and the bay. The bar pool and breakfast area are directly on the water, and beautiful. The morning glow of the Pacific is magical.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Manago Hotel in Captain Cook serves simple and delicious home style Hawaiian food in a simple lodge-like dining room. It's famous for its pork chops, and the butter fish literally melts in your mouth. It was constructed in 1917 by the Manago brothers, and is now owned by Dwight Manago--third generation. The Teshima restaurant in Honalo (just north of Captain Cook) serves delicious Japanese food--again in a simple setting--particularly the ahi--best I've ever had!! Both are a 15-20 minute drive from the Kailua-Kona strip.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crisscross usa
Business
Santa Clara County, California
Nov 14, 2014

Great resort

Loved my time here..had only 2 negatives tof my stay. Our luau was canceled due to kitchen issues. They tried to reschedule us, but we had other events. We ended up doing the much more expensive luau a few blocks over from Royal Kona. The other is I wish they had a hot tub. Otherwise, their lagoon was awesome, the pool & bar had great views & everyone was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NanaJo1
Business
Mt Home, Idaho
Sep 28, 2014

Birthday Getaway

We love this hotel and go almost every year for my birthday. The only complaints are the internet is not worth what you pay for. Several times we ended up at a restaurant that had internet service so we could send emails and videos to friends and family. Our last day there we had to call to have our room cleaned and get fresh towels so we could get ready to go to dinner. Overall we love this place and the lagoon where we can relax and snorkel. You can walk into town for gifts and dining choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several places to eat, Huggins, Lava Java and Bubba Bumps.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KAP1
Business
Silver Spring, Maryland
Aug 21, 2014

Royal Kona-August-2014

Great location on the big island of HI. The builidng is rather outdated (late 1960s). Amenities are OK. Does have a seaside enclave for a salty swim. The interriors of the detached building needs serious refurbishing. The carpets are old and the tiled floors are worn out. The off-season rate was competitive. Good Luau!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sheraton and Marriott are higher cost but much better options (not close to Kona City area).

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seattle Nicholas
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 14, 2014

A Taste of Old Hawaii

This hotel has the feel of an Elvis movie without feeling old. Let's call it 'vintage chic.' Great location. We overlooked the lagoon, ocean and mountain side. The restaurant is excellent as well as the bar. (Special shout out to Misty the bartender. She mixes a mean drink and serves up some great sass.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ltdan1985
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Aug 13, 2014

Still waiting to for Hotel Managment to contact me

I stayed at this resort on August 5, 2014 and checked out on August 6, 2014. My trip was ruined because of the resort and treatment by staff after I was badly injured at resort. Around 4pm on August 5, 2014 I cut my toe severely while swimming in their lagoon. There was no warning sign at the deep part of the extremely dangerous lagoon. After getting injured as I bled all over the resort to guest services for first aide. When asking for help I was told to wait and was ignored. I then went to the bathroom since my accident was not important and got towels to try and stop the bleeding. Till a other guest got help for me. Then after 10-15 minutes security did a report and got me first aide. No one asked if I needed any help. Later that evening the wound would not stop bleeding and I had to go to ER in Kona where I had to get a shot, medication, and ended up sleeping in the hospital the majority of the night and not enjoying my hotel room bed. I am still waiting to hear back from the hotel management and what they plan to make up for my trip being bad. It's now approaching a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rickstar
Business
michigan
Aug 6, 2014

great place

Hotel was older. But very clean. Grounds was well maintained. Lots of things to do with pool and lagoon. Food was great. Beautiful view of the ocean and ocean sound from our ocean view room . Staff was great and had a very relaxing quit stay. Thank you Royal Mona staff. Went here on our honeymoon ill be back with the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lost of showing close by along with night life.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leiser crew
Business
Boston/Switzerland
Aug 3, 2014

Great stay!

Great location, awesome bar, awesome entrance! This is a really fun place to stay as a couple! Don'so tiki bar is downstairs, and Hugo's restaurant is next door. Great value and great size room. Not brand new, but, very clean and friendly and walking distance to downtown Kailua (5-10 minute walk).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OC Pro Traveller
Business
Orange County
Jul 27, 2014

Good location, nice staff, dated rooms

The location of this hotel is right where all the restaurants are in Kona.There are plenty of places to walk to and have dinner or lunch. Parking is not included and it is $10/night. Staff is pleasant and helpful. The rooms are dated. Nothing Royal here. Old carpet, old furniture and new TV. The room we had was rather spacious and also had a big balcony. Bathroom is tiny. There was microwave and small fridge. This is a good hotel if luxury is not on your mind and want to save a couple bucks. I hope this will help someone decide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mo Vacationer
Business
Springfield, MO
Jun 27, 2014

Kona visitor

Room was very nice with a fantastic view of ocean surf. As to be expected though with a location constantly bombarded with salt air, most everything metal was rusting. Snorkeled lagoon pool with lots of fish to see. Within walking distance of all the shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top