Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 18, 2014 Check-out: Oct 21, 2014

Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

3 stars
75-5660 Palani Road, 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
138 reviews
Fantastic place to stay with family.

It was awesome. I have nothing negative to say about our stay. Would recommend it to anyone. See full review

  • Eva J. Stamps
  • Jun 24, 2014
super!

Excellent room and the absolute best location in kailua kona. Great value and appreciated the free... See full review

  • lindy loves hawaii
  • Jun 6, 2014
Landmark heart-of-Kailua hotel fully remodeled and still a good deal
Enjoy Big Island aloha spirit in the heart of Kailua town at the landmark King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. Rising just off the waterfront on famed Alii Drive, totally remodeled guest rooms offer bay views and updated amenities including free Wi-Fi Internet access. A large swimming pool, restaurant and bar complete the deal. This hotel was once a royal residence and displays exquisite artifacts that tell the story and celebrate Hawaiian culture. Kona's best shopping and dining is steps away.
Highlights
  • Explore the royal history of the Kona Beach Hotel's location through on-site artifacts and information
  • Relax in totally remodeled, award-winning guest rooms, with upscale amenities and ocean views
  • Join in one of Hawaii's best luau events, held on the shoreline across from the hotel, complete with Polynesian pageantry
  • The hotel's Hawaiian Cultural Activity Center (Kulana Huli Honua) offers lei-making and hula lessons and Hawaiian history classes
Location
Located on historic grounds in the heart of Kailua-Kona's shopping and dining waterfront, King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is a landmark. Check out the Kona region for its coffee and macadamia nut farms, water sports and Island charm.
Rooms
All guest rooms at King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel have been completely redesigned and remodeled with award-winning results. Décor reflects natural and cultural Hawaii elements from lava and native flora to traditional tattoo patterns. East-facing rooms offer partial or full bay views. Amenities include Bath & Body Works toiletries, flat-screen TVs, free Kona coffee and free high-speed Internet access.
Features
King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel features the Kona Beach Restaurant, with al fresco oceanview dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Visitors and locals love the hotel's Billfish Bar (near the pool), and the waterfront luau is an event to remember. The on-site Hawaiian Cultural Activity Center (Kulana Huli Honua) offers lei-making and hula lessons and Hawaiian history classes.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (8.4 mi/13.6 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (3 blocks)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (5 mi/8 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (20.1 mi/32.4 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.6408 -155.9976
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport at Keahole, (KOA), 8.60, MI, SE; Hilo International Airport, (ITO), 102.00, MI, W;
Area description
Oceanfront

Dining

Honu's on the Beach Restaurant
Stop in for meals throughout the day that emphasize the taste of fresh island cuisine at this award-winning beach restaurant. From delicious seafood and local produce to signature cocktails, we have meals and beverages that will make your mouth water.
Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille
Never leave the relaxing pool area at Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille, our refreshing Kailua-Kona beachfront dining option. Sip on a cocktail and snack on an appetizer from the comfort of your lounge chair or move inside to take a break from the sun.
Menehune Coffee Company
Guests have the option of convenient beachfront dining in Kailua-Kona with our on-site coffee house. Menehune Coffee Company serves 100-percent authentic Kona coffees, pastries, sandwiches, wraps and other light fare to keep you full and satisfied.
Island Breeze Luau
Spend the evening at Island Breeze Luau where you can dine on authentic Polynesian cuisine while being entertained with traditional performances. This Kailua-Kona restaurant’s atmosphere will immerse you in the local culture and leave you inspired.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (138)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dick nonprofit guy
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jan 30, 2013

Kona Business trip

Traveled to Kona for a 2 day business trip so I chose the Courtyard due to its location. The hotel is located in the Kona village area, very convienent to restaurants, bars, shops. The hotel is approx 30 mins from all the major resorts so you don't have all the excitment of being in the major tourist area but if you enjoy a quiet stay with few distractions it is a great place. The hotel is well maintained & staff friendly. The room is what you would expect from a Courtyard by Marriott, clean & comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish Hopper Restaurant, great menu

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WallyMD1
Iowa
Mar 25, 2013

Great Place

this was our second stay at King K. Location is great, right along the strip for shopping, food, what ever you may be looking for. The rooms are clean and well appointed. Don't expect a whopping beach view, they just don't exist here. Overall it was a great trip and we would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Farmer's Market is great for local jewelry, gifts, and fresh food!

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
wash d.c. area
Nov 24, 2010

great location with friendly staff

Good location, friendly staff and adequate exercise room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first visitor
orange, CA
Dec 29, 2010

good hotel at good location

this is good hotel with new renovation. Its at a good location where you have all dining and shoppping in a walkable distance. They give free snorkel gear in their kona-boys hut on the beach. Only bad thing is, they charge for parking. They dont provide any microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

free snorkel gear from kona-boys

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
koamhtmike
seacoast Nh
Mar 4, 2012

nice location

have stayed there in past.I found the hotel very nice and improved over the last ten years since i had been there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huggos beach bar and great food and drinks short walk

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spiritmare
Coldwater, MI 49036, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Had a great time

Loved my hotel room, and they have a promising new executive chef on staff. The wait staff at the pool side bar was great, and they are very personable, it was nice that every night had a different drink special for you to try. I loved the fact that my waiter in the restuaurant had actually sampled the Marlin special of the evening and was able to give a good description of the dish. When my flight was delayed the hotel night staff checked me in by phone so that I didn't have to do anything when I got there except pick up my keys. Nice and close to all kinds of shopping and restuarants within walking distance. The Luah was great! My first so I can't say if it is the best like all the brochures and blogs say, but I had a great time. I think that the $10/day parking fee is a bit steep after you spend the money for the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JodiandMike
St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Apr 16, 2011

Remodeled beach front hotel

The hotel still had that 'new' feel to it since their remodel a couple years ago. Very modern, island inspired decor; many other hotels in the area were significantly more expensive for older, poorly-maintained rooms and hotel grounds. The staff were helpful and friendly. My only issue was with the excessive noise very early in the morning. Due to our room's location in the West tower, we overlooked the area where maintenance and construction took place, so every morning we we awoke to the sounds of machinery, vans backing up, or other noise. We never had a peaceful 'wake up to the birds' experience in our 10 days stay. I would absolutely stay at this hotel again, but I would ensure my room was in a different tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want amazing encounters with sea turtles and marine life, rent a snorkel and underwater camera from Boss Frogs. Don't get the cheap $1.50/day snorkels; go for the $8.00 rentals; you will appreciate their quality once out on the water. Also, use the 'anti-fog' rinse to keep your vision clear and crisp while you dive. The underwater camera is $40 for 2 full days, and is SO worth it! We took amazing photos that you just cannot duplicate with a regular camera. Also, be aware of the marine life and coral around you. The coral reef is not meant to be walked on or over, but many people were unknowingly trampling coral as they waded out to the water to snorkel. Be aware of where you are stepping, look in the water before you walk on the bottom, and do not walk or stand on the coral. Many grocery stores carry laminated cards with illustrations of all the different coral, urchins, etc. you will see when you are out in the water. If you know what to look for, you will be able to avoid stepping on, and damaging these precious animals. You can easily get your fins on in the sandy, shallow pools at the beach front then drift out to snorkel without standing on the coral first.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katiecan3
NY, NY
Sep 7, 2013

Kona King Kamehameha

The hotel was excellent. Location in the middle of everything, value is good, staff very helpful. Only criticism - the computers were too slow and the daily password was annoying; it was the same everyday...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an outdoor food and crafts market in a parking lot down the street which offers the same things in shops, but at a better price. There is a very nice coffee shop right across the street. Order the cold brew, one shot, whole milk, one shot of sugar free chocolate macademia nut flavored latte. Say hi to Leslee!

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Mar 12, 2011

Centrally Located hotel

This hotel is centrally located to everything in Kona (can walk to shops and restaurants). I liked that the hotel offered good views of the water and the mountains. It was nice that the luau show was at the hotel. My son enjoyed kayaking and swimming at the hotel beach and pool. The renovated hotel looks good. The $10 per day parking with in and out privileges was a good value. I liked staying at the hotel that hosts the ironman Triathalon. If you have children, you may consider a stay at the Sheraton Keahou Bay Resort (has a large swimming pool with spectacular view).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The $10 parking lot with in and out privileges is a great deal.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Truly blessed
Oregon
Nov 13, 2011

I would stay here again

Clean comfortable beds, great location, friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top