Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75-5660 Palani Road, 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spiritmare
Business
Coldwater, MI 49036, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Had a great time

Loved my hotel room, and they have a promising new executive chef on staff. The wait staff at the pool side bar was great, and they are very personable, it was nice that every night had a different drink special for you to try. I loved the fact that my waiter in the restuaurant had actually sampled the Marlin special of the evening and was able to give a good description of the dish. When my flight was delayed the hotel night staff checked me in by phone so that I didn't have to do anything when I got there except pick up my keys. Nice and close to all kinds of shopping and restuarants within walking distance. The Luah was great! My first so I can't say if it is the best like all the brochures and blogs say, but I had a great time. I think that the $10/day parking fee is a bit steep after you spend the money for the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kassey
Business
topeka,ks
Jul 2, 2012

Quiet room with a view!

Room was great with a view of the ocean, housekeeping did a great job. Surprisingly quiet, a must for me! All staff were very pleasant and helpful. Very clean facility in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super coco
Business
Berkeley, California
Jul 14, 2012

days in love in Hawaii

It was great, the hotel was comfortable and perfect location in Kona. I will recomended to my friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ipooprainbow
Business
Seattle
Jun 19, 2012

Good Stay & Location

Price is affordable and it is within good location of Kailua-Kon. If you like to walk, most of the good places to eat are within 15-20 minutes of walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S2hero
Business
Utah
Oct 14, 2012

Good Location

This is a pretty cool hotel with some cool displays in the lobby and near the restaurant. It is close to the ocean with a nice little beach for kids to play around in. It can be a busy area but that's because it is close to all the shops down on Alii Dr. If your goal is to stay in the Kona area this is a solid choice. Nothing to complain about really, other than a microwave would have been nice. Also, on luau nights the parking lot can get crowded. Kinda of annoying seeing as they charge you an additional $10 per day to park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Killer Tacos- Cheap mexican food in large quantities. Also a good public beach just north of here near the skate park. Rocky, but nice little tidal pools to explore

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BobR Traveler
Business
Woodbridge, Virginia
Nov 3, 2012

Not a resort but good hotel

I wasn't looking for resort amenities (spa, on-site events# as I'm a do-it-yourself traveler, so the package deal with this hotel was great. About 8 miles from the airport at the north end of Kailua at the pier, so easy access with lots of restaurants & shops within easy walking distance. Hotel has a white-sand beach, board rental, a general gift/amenities/liquor store, pool, exercise room, an on-site restaurant, and great luau at night. Free wi-fi worked great on multiple devices, in-room coffee, and mini-fridge. Some of the bad: Pay-for-parking #$10+tax/day) is a bit of nickel-and dime since parking is free everywhere else on the island, but was the only additional fee. My room was not ready when I arrived at 4:00pm but was available in less than an hour. And while the room temperature was usually good, there were times when cranking the A/C would have been good, playing with the thermostat did not seem to have any affect. Overall a great place to serve as a base for exploring the Big Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Harbor House Restaurant is between the hotel & the airport, and serves up good food and beer servd in cold schooners. Harbor location, casual, friendly place for locals with great prices.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The WAG
Business
Portland, Or.
Nov 5, 2012

Vacation in paradise

With the up and down reputation of the King Kamehameha, I was a little uncertain about the outcome. The hotel was clean and fresh. The A/C worked great, which I think is mandatory for a tropical vacation. The pool and deck were clean and well mantained. The beach front, though public, seems only to be frequented by Hotel guests with easy acces to snokeling. Located in the center of old Kailua, it was a short walk to restaraunts, etc. You could actually get by without a car. The on site restaraunts were not exactly top notch. The partial ocean view from the 6th floor was fine, kind of reminded me of Italy. All in all, a great value. The only problem is finding time to get back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stop at Costco for suppies on the way in.

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oiram
Business
Berlin, CT
Nov 22, 2012

Big Island adventure

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. The location is in the middle of fine restaurants and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

They serve mai tais

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dick nonprofit guy
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jan 30, 2013

Kona Business trip

Traveled to Kona for a 2 day business trip so I chose the Courtyard due to its location. The hotel is located in the Kona village area, very convienent to restaurants, bars, shops. The hotel is approx 30 mins from all the major resorts so you don't have all the excitment of being in the major tourist area but if you enjoy a quiet stay with few distractions it is a great place. The hotel is well maintained & staff friendly. The room is what you would expect from a Courtyard by Marriott, clean & comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish Hopper Restaurant, great menu

Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WallyMD1
Business
Iowa
Mar 25, 2013

Great Place

this was our second stay at King K. Location is great, right along the strip for shopping, food, what ever you may be looking for. The rooms are clean and well appointed. Don't expect a whopping beach view, they just don't exist here. Overall it was a great trip and we would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Farmer's Market is great for local jewelry, gifts, and fresh food!

Back to menu Return to top