Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Sheraton Kauai Resort

4 stars
2440 Hoonani Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
524 reviews
Travel Getaway

For the past five years, we've been travelling to Kauai. Only once did we not stay at the Sheraton... See full review

  • Justin 628
  • Oct 10, 2014
Wonderful hotel

The hotel was amazing. Great pool & beach. Staff was professional & friendly. 3 choices of... See full review

  • Lamw18
  • Sep 2, 2014
Low-rise resort for beach lovers on Kauai's sunny south coast

Sheraton Kauai Resort is the ultimate gathering place boasting magnificent oceanfront views of Poipu Beach, a convenient distance from the famous First Break Surf Spot and trendy on-site restaurants like Rumfire Poipu Beach Kauai and Lava's at Poipu Beach offering surf and turf cuisines that satisy the cost-conscious food lover. Sheraton Kauai Resort offers a perfect setting to relax, unwind and enjoy a casual or an intimate dining experience. Guests may also enjoy a light "pupu" appetizer coupled with a refreshing cocktail as they are serenaded by live local Hawaiian music amdist mango - colored skies. The Sheraton Kauai Resort offers adventure, fun-filled memories, romance and relaxation all in one place; satisfying every travel personality and providing the ultimate vacation experience.  

Highlights
  • Poipu Beach location, with gorgeous sunsets
  • Broad choice of activities included in daily resort fee
  • Fitness center open 24 hours
Location
The sunny south shore has what may be Kauai's most perfect vacation weather, plus shopping and an array of dining options. It also has one of the famous Kauai landmarks, Spouting Horn, Kauai's answer to Old Faithful. Families can walk to Poipu Beach Park where a protected ocean lagoon is safe enough for young children.
Rooms

The Sheraton Kauai Resort is the South Shore's iconic gem. Spanning over 20 acres and offering 394 rooms, that span across pristine Poipu Beach, a playground for those who embrace sun and waves, ocean front pools, and tropical gardens flowing with winding waterways and romantic bridges that create a sense of serenity. All rooms have a fresh and airy feel and offer air-conditioning, television, telephone, bath, shower, coffee making facilities, fridge and balcony or terrace. Garden view and Partial ocean view rooms are set back from the beach – with views as their respective names suggest. Deluxe oceanfront rooms are beachfront with full views of the Pacific.

Features
The Hawaiian Cultural Center at the Sheraton Kauai Resort is part gallery displaying the work of local artists, part classroom where guests learn Hawaiian arts and crafts (artist demonstrations, lei-making and hula classes included in daily resort fee). The resort supports local entertainers with its Flavors of Island Music initiative. Guests can sync with Kauai's natural side and rhythms in yoga classes on the beach several mornings each week (included in daily resort fee) and spa treatments utilizing Hawaiian techniques (fees apply). The on-site Lava's on Poipu Beach serves a selection of cocktails, local and imported wines and appetizers.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Taxis and limousines at airport
Attractions
  • Koloa Heritage Trail (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Tropical Botanical Garden Visitor Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn (2.5 mi/4 km)
Business
  • Sheraton Kauai Resort offers 9,900 square feet of flexible function space
  • Four thousand square feet of outdoor function space
  • Wi-Fi throughout resort (included in daily resort fee)

Sheraton Kauai Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View
Our spacious 510-square feet deluxe garden view rooms overlook lushly landscaped tropical gardens. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Garden View
The 410-square-feet garden rooms offer views of lushly landscaped tropical gardens. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Deluxe Ocean Front
Our spacious 510-square feet oceanfront rooms offer magnificent views of the ocean. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Partial Ocean View
Located in the Garden Wing, our partial ocean view rooms (410 square feet) are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Kauai Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.8767 -159.461
Area served
Kauai, Poipu Beach, Lihue
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Airport, Kauai
Area description
Sightseeing on Kauai is a must, not only to experience the spectacular scenic beauty, but also for the adventure and fun in traveling to each wonder - on horseback, by catamaran or raft, by kayak or helicopter, bicycle or on foot to name just a few. Poipu Shopping Village - 1.0 mi/1.6 km Kiahuna Golf Course - 1.0 mi/1.6 km Spouting Horn - 2.0 mi/3.2 km Historic Old Koloa Town - 2.0 mi/3.2 km Poipu Bay Resort Golf Course - 3.0 Waimea Canyon-25.0 mi/40.2 km

Dining

Lava's
Boasting magnificent oceanfront views, of Poipu Beach and the famous First Break Surf Spot. A perfect setting to relax, unwind, and enjoy grilled selections and refreshing specialty drinks. Catch stunning sunsets and tropical breezes as you celebrate a relaxing afternoon or early evening with refreshing cocktails and delectable cuisine. Open daily for lunch, dinner and happy hour alongside evening entertainment. Hours 10:30 am - 5:00 pm.
Room Service
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
The Link Cafe
6:30 am - 11:00 am
Rumfire
Rumfire at Poipu Beach will take you on a Hawaiian rooted journey with global influences and 180 degrees of unmatched views of the Pacific Ocean. Our chef's prepare distinctive cuisine with local island flair. With its sensible menu selections, Rumfire's cuisine resonates with the eclectic yet contemporary food lovers. Whether your palate desires seafood, flatbreads, or beef or you are looking for a celebratory destination, Rumfire will certainly satisfy with worldly flavor coupled with a Hawaiian twist. Breakfast Buffet: 6:30 - 11:00 am Dinner Service: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm Bar Service: 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Indoor facilities include the 5,900-square feet Poipu Ballroom, the adjacent open-air foyer, and the newly opened 2,200-square feet Koloa Junior Ballroom and adjoining terrace. Both ballrooms are divisible into three separate rooms. Additionally, we offer the Lawai Room, which opened in 2000, and the Executive Board Room, both of which are divisible into two separate rooms. A total of 15,000 square feet of outdoor function space, ranging from a Luau Lawn to two beachfront lawns and popular wedding sites, are also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (524)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kauai Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
524 out of 524
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mj proffitt
Business
Havelock, NC
Oct 5, 2013

honeymooners' paradise

Oceanfront view room, lots of relaxation and fun.. my husband and I will definitely come back. Great overall experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Smith Family Garden Luau.. best one I've seen ever! I've been to a few luaus and this is one of a kind, we really enjoyed it.

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New Englanders1
Business
Maine
Oct 3, 2013

Paradise on Earth

My boyfriend and I traveled to Kaua'i for a week of vacation and stayed at Sheraton Kaua'i Resort and we had an incredible time. Kaua'i itself is such a special place, and the Sheraton only served to amplify what a phenomenal stay we had. For one, the location is unbeatable. The Ocean Pool is steps from gorgeous Poipu Beach so you have the best of both worlds. We did not have an oceanfront room but still absolutely loved our view over the Garden Pool, a quieter and more tranquil spot than the activity of the front pool. Housekeeping was impeccable. Our room was so comfortable. All staff was exceptionally friendly and attentive to our needs. We only had one problem of no hot water in our sink and it was fixed IMMEDIATELY. Poolside service from Lava's makes you feel like royalty. Self-parking is a huge plus (most hotels ask you to pay extra for it, or only have valet#. Concierge is top-notch and always there to give recommendations or answer questions. The Resort itself is gorgeous with so many different areas to discover -- including Ocean Cove, beautiful lush lawns, fire pits in front of the main resort restaurant, & comfortable lounge areas everywhere. If I can make one general recommendation about the island, find Kalaheo Coffee Company #about 10-15 min drive from the resort# and eat there for breakfast! #we went for lunch too). It is the most delicious, decadent food you'll ever eat for breakfast at an incredible price. We ate there at least 5 days in a row. Rumfire and Lava's on the resort premises are great and convenient, just a bit pricey. The Sheraton oceanfront luau was a special experience but you are able to view it from adjacent areas without paying for a ticket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Didi2000
Business
New Mexico
Sep 23, 2013

25$ Coredit

booked the hotel via Orb.... At Orb...it said 25$ credit worth of food per day. The Hotel didnt provide that. My Mistake? Orbi..'? The Hotel?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ceaper activities to book

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gaz Green
Business
North Hollywood, California
Sep 16, 2013

Honeymoon Vacation

We loved it!!! It was like staying in paradise!! We had an amazing view of one of the pools from our balcony as well and the beautiful tropical gardens and ponds. The hotel staff was really nice and they gave us a free upgrade upon our arrival because it was our honeymoon. The grounds are so romantic and the pools fantastic right on the ocean... We had a great time and would stay again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cusec007
Business
Oxnard, CA
Sep 14, 2013

overall good

We had a very good and pleasant stay at the hotel, only complaint is the food at the breakfast buffet. It is not worth the money you pay. We were happy that we did not took the offer for daily breakfast. We had it the first day and it did not exceed our expectations and we went out all the other days at local breakfast places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Hyatt Resort

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JeanineLovesMickey
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Sep 14, 2013

Perfect for what we needed...

Located on Poipu Beach which was great. Near some very good restaurants (Merriman's Fish House was amazing...yum!). There's only so much to do on this side of the island and we found ourselves driving up to the North shore a few times during our trip...but we would not change our stay here. Paid for deluxe ocean front room...first one they put us in did not have a good view in our opinion, but they very happily moved us to a different room in that class that we loved. Very clean rooms. Breakfast outdoors at Lava's while watching the ocean every morning was a lovely. Great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Book dinner reservations at nearby Merriman's Fish House. I don't even like fish and I was practically licking my plate clean. Very fresh and flavorful. Order a bottle of wine and enjoy!

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cindy from the 808
Business
Oahu
Sep 9, 2013

1ST TIME GET AWAY

This was out first family vacay by ourselves and our check in was great... Betty was awesome and very accomodating. The room was nice and I would like to one day go back and stay couple days longer....Thanks for making our experiece one to remember.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

DUKE'S in Nawiliwili is good

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ofer Ton
Business
Irvine CA
Aug 30, 2013

Nice getaway

The hotel is nice but not much more. The bar is only open in one of the pools. The stuff was nice but no much more. The hotel is rated as 4 starts but should be 3.5 top. We had to move a room as they did not have the king size available the first night but the bad we got the next two nights looked like it had a old mattress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AK Foster
Business
Marquette, MI
Aug 27, 2013

Just a little above Average

The room and staff were good. However, like most Sheratons, they will nickel and dime you to death. Expect to pay a resort fee (~$30/day), breakfast at $25/person, and overpriced snorkel rentals. However, WIFI is included in the room price, just don't expect it to be fast or to have a strong signal. Also to be noted for ATT cell service users...the reception on the property isn't very good (avg one or two bars), so be prepared to unplug.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're looking to rental snorkel equipment, go to Snorkel Bob's in Koloa. It's good gear for a very reasonable rate.

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tami Seck
Business
Huntington Beach, California
Aug 24, 2013

It was an amazing trip for my spouse and I away from our four children. Can't wait to return!

The lady at the registration desk was tops...the absolute best!! Not only did she greet us with a friendly smile, but she asked if we were celebrating anything while away (it was my 40th B-day) and then asked, again, if we were celebrating anything else (our 12 year wedding anniversary). She handed us a card for a free bottle of champagne and then a box of chocolates!!! Loved her!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are a lot of yummy restaurants off-site from the hotel. We rented a car, so we were able to drive a short distance for breakfasts and dinner. Living Foods is excellent fresh food. A longer drive up the coast is Kauai Pasta in Kapa'a...sssoooo yummy! And who can pass up Bar Acuda in Princeville (make sure to make reservations, though, in the summer).

Back to menu Return to top