Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

Sheraton Kauai Resort

4 stars
2440 Hoonani Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
495 reviews
Mahalo

Great vacation at Poi Pu! Thanks to the staff, especially to Chris for making us feel so welcome!... See full review

  • azteach
  • Mar 24, 2014
Best Value on Kauai for a family or couple

Arrived to find our room with the garden view had two double beds and my wife and I had chose to... See full review

  • JefferyB
  • Mar 23, 2014
Low-rise resort for beach lovers on Kauai's sunny south coast

Sheraton Kauai Resort is the ultimate gathering place boasting magnificent oceanfront views of Poipu Beach, a convenient distance from the famous First Break Surf Spot and trendy on-site restaurants like Rumfire Poipu Beach Kauai and Lava's at Poipu Beach offering surf and turf cuisines that satisy the cost-conscious food lover. Sheraton Kauai Resort offers a perfect setting to relax, unwind and enjoy a casual or an intimate dining experience. Guests may also enjoy a light "pupu" appetizer coupled with a refreshing cocktail as they are serenaded by live local Hawaiian music amdist mango - colored skies. The Sheraton Kauai Resort offers adventure, fun-filled memories, romance and relaxation all in one place; satisfying every travel personality and providing the ultimate vacation experience.  

Highlights
  • Poipu Beach location, with gorgeous sunsets
  • Broad choice of activities included in daily resort fee
  • Fitness center open 24 hours
Location
The sunny south shore has what may be Kauai's most perfect vacation weather, plus shopping and an array of dining options. It also has one of the famous Kauai landmarks, Spouting Horn, Kauai's answer to Old Faithful. Families can walk to Poipu Beach Park where a protected ocean lagoon is safe enough for young children.
Rooms

The Sheraton Kauai Resort is the South Shore's iconic gem. Spanning over 20 acres and offering 394 rooms, that span across pristine Poipu Beach, a playground for those who embrace sun and waves, ocean front pools, and tropical gardens flowing with winding waterways and romantic bridges that create a sense of serenity. All rooms have a fresh and airy feel and offer air-conditioning, television, telephone, bath, shower, coffee making facilities, fridge and balcony or terrace. Garden view and Partial ocean view rooms are set back from the beach – with views as their respective names suggest. Deluxe oceanfront rooms are beachfront with full views of the Pacific.

Features
The Hawaiian Cultural Center at the Sheraton Kauai Resort is part gallery displaying the work of local artists, part classroom where guests learn Hawaiian arts and crafts (artist demonstrations, lei-making and hula classes included in daily resort fee). The resort supports local entertainers with its Flavors of Island Music initiative. Guests can sync with Kauai's natural side and rhythms in yoga classes on the beach several mornings each week (included in daily resort fee) and spa treatments utilizing Hawaiian techniques (fees apply). The on-site Lava's on Poipu Beach serves a selection of cocktails, local and imported wines and appetizers.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Taxis and limousines at airport
Attractions
  • Koloa Heritage Trail (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Tropical Botanical Garden Visitor Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn (2.5 mi/4 km)
Business
  • Sheraton Kauai Resort offers 9,900 square feet of flexible function space
  • Four thousand square feet of outdoor function space
  • Wi-Fi throughout resort (included in daily resort fee)

Sheraton Kauai Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View
Our spacious 510-square feet deluxe garden view rooms overlook lushly landscaped tropical gardens. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Garden View
The 410-square-feet garden rooms offer views of lushly landscaped tropical gardens. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Deluxe Ocean Front
Our spacious 510-square feet oceanfront rooms offer magnificent views of the ocean. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Partial Ocean View
Located in the Garden Wing, our partial ocean view rooms (410 square feet) are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Kauai Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.8767 -159.461
Area served
Kauai, Poipu Beach, Lihue
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Airport, Kauai
Area description
Sightseeing on Kauai is a must, not only to experience the spectacular scenic beauty, but also for the adventure and fun in traveling to each wonder - on horseback, by catamaran or raft, by kayak or helicopter, bicycle or on foot to name just a few. Poipu Shopping Village - 1.0 mi/1.6 km Kiahuna Golf Course - 1.0 mi/1.6 km Spouting Horn - 2.0 mi/3.2 km Historic Old Koloa Town - 2.0 mi/3.2 km Poipu Bay Resort Golf Course - 3.0 Waimea Canyon-25.0 mi/40.2 km

Dining

Lava's
Boasting magnificent oceanfront views, of Poipu Beach and the famous First Break Surf Spot. A perfect setting to relax, unwind, and enjoy grilled selections and refreshing specialty drinks. Catch stunning sunsets and tropical breezes as you celebrate a relaxing afternoon or early evening with refreshing cocktails and delectable cuisine. Open daily for lunch, dinner and happy hour alongside evening entertainment. Hours 10:30 am - 5:00 pm.
Room Service
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
The Link Cafe
6:30 am - 11:00 am
Rumfire
Rumfire at Poipu Beach will take you on a Hawaiian rooted journey with global influences and 180 degrees of unmatched views of the Pacific Ocean. Our chef's prepare distinctive cuisine with local island flair. With its sensible menu selections, Rumfire's cuisine resonates with the eclectic yet contemporary food lovers. Whether your palate desires seafood, flatbreads, or beef or you are looking for a celebratory destination, Rumfire will certainly satisfy with worldly flavor coupled with a Hawaiian twist. Breakfast Buffet: 6:30 - 11:00 am Dinner Service: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm Bar Service: 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Indoor facilities include the 5,900-square feet Poipu Ballroom, the adjacent open-air foyer, and the newly opened 2,200-square feet Koloa Junior Ballroom and adjoining terrace. Both ballrooms are divisible into three separate rooms. Additionally, we offer the Lawai Room, which opened in 2000, and the Executive Board Room, both of which are divisible into two separate rooms. A total of 15,000 square feet of outdoor function space, ranging from a Luau Lawn to two beachfront lawns and popular wedding sites, are also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (495)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kauai Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
495 out of 495
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
TravelingFun1
Wisconsin
Mar 31, 2013

Very nice hotel

This hotel is located on the beautiful south shore. It has the feel of an all inclusive resort. It was the perfect hotel for our stay. The only downside was the limited dining options at the hotel. There were 2 restaurants located on the premise, but both were fairly expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the The Ultimate Kauai Guidebook: Kauai Revealed book

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
little family woman
Honolulu, Hawaii
Mar 31, 2013

family gataway

Pretty friendly. Need more shops such as clothing stores, general stores, and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

1
Not again 2013
Seattle
Mar 29, 2013

View rooms with no view

I booked what was called a partial ocean view room at a "beachfront" resort. For this I paid a premium over a non view room. I was shocked to find at check in that my room was actually ACROSS THE STREET from the main hotel, on the ground floor and the only view was if you stood at the sliding door and looked over the parked cars there was a peak-a-boo view of the ocean (if you were tall enough). When I complained I was told there were no other rooms available. They did lower the price to a non view room price however this was higher than the price that I could have gotten for this room at the time of actual booking. In addition I couldnt get a "refund" but only a resort credit as I had booked through this site--not the hotel directly .In addition the quality of the room was similar to what one would expect at a low end chain hotel. Tiny bathroom and shower, single sink, no door between sink and bed. The refrigerator was so loud we had to unplug it at night to sleep. Overall they did not come close to meeting my expectations of a this resort brand. The beach was nice, pool area and common areas were OK but nothing special. I would not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tortilla Factory--excellent menu and food.

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
9 time visitor
San Diego, California
Mar 20, 2013

Wonderful Spring Vacation

Hotel was lovely and staff was wonderful. Great location, on a nice beach. Stayed in a Garden View room and was very pleased that I didn't pay extra for beach front. We walked over to the beach to enjoy the sunsets but enjoyed the shade and plants of the Garden View room for our quiet time. Didn't spend a great deal of time in our room as the point of the vacation was to jump from beach to beach enjoying the island. Room was perfect for unwinding at the end of our day - No complaints what-so-ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent your snorkel gear from Nukumoi Surf Shop right across from Brennecke's Beach.

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
Kentucky Boy
Frankfort, Kentucky
Mar 19, 2013

great place in Poipu

The staff was very pleasant, we loved it here for our 5 year anniversarry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
San Fran Native
Bay Area
Mar 18, 2013

First Class Service and Location but Rooms were Sub Par

Incredible location and the service we received from the staff was exceptional. Everyone we dealt with was extremely helpful and nice. Unfortunately the rooms were not that great. I would stay here again just because of the awesome location right on the beach. Other hotels claim they are beach front but the Sheraton is truly the only beach front hotel. An Ocean View Deluxe room is a must if you stay here or you will be disappointed with your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

3
allkindsoffood
New York, NY
Mar 15, 2013

a mixed bag

First the bad. Rooms were clean but could use some updating, and they could use more light. We stayed in building 7 and the wifi signal was weak so the internet connection was very slow. We ate at the bar at RumFire one night - while the food was decent, the service was terribly slow and our server got our order wrong and made no apologies for it. We didn't find the concierge to be particularly helpful; we generally received curt replies to our questions. Also the cafe on site was unnecessarily expensive - one piece of fruit (a banana, an orange, or an apple) was $2.25. Stock up on fruits and snacks at nearby grocery stores so you don't have to pay such a ridiculous price. Now the good. The hotel beach was nice especially since you can actually swim at this beach (as opposed to the Hyatt's beach), and the grounds are very nicely landscaped and well kept. The beach is a short walk away even if you are staying in a building not directly on the beach. I also like that they had self-parking available for free. Valets were all very friendly and eager to help with answering questions about local sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Sueoka Store in nearby Koloa for groceries, sundries, snacks for the road, and their food window where they serve hot plate lunches.

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
Ron Happy Fellow
Cumberland, RI 02864
Mar 12, 2013

Beautiful location

Only problem when we checked in they did not have a two bed room available the first night. My daughter had to sleep on a roll away bed. They changed our room the second night in Hawaii. The grounds were clean and very well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Attaced to another hotel in area

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
Tina SP
Irvine, CA
Feb 25, 2013

Great Getaway!

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Shertaton Kauai Resort and got some much needed R&R. The staff was great and really catered to our needs. Candy and Dolores at concierge were so helpful and informative in planning our activities and excursions. Can't wait to plan our next visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

3
Winemaker Paul
San Francisco
Feb 21, 2013

something's missing

It seemed as though everything about this place was really close to being great, but fell short. Staff needs focus. Rooms need upgrading and furniture (no dresser!) But the location is fantastic. Right on the beach. They treated our reservation as though we were second class ... like the rooms that were nicer were only for those who booked through their organization. They even told us that "these are the rooms you get when you book through a third party vendor" And it was our first time using you, so ... ???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk about 10 - 15 minutes west and there is a new mall ... with great restaurants there. Much better than the hotel food. Koloa fish market, Shrimp shack, Living Foods. A little further walk is the Beach House Restaurant .... best dinner we had on all of Kauai.

Back to menu Return to top