Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 23, 2016 Check-out: Feb 24, 2016

Sheraton Kauai Resort

4 stars
View map of 2440 Hoonani Road, Koloa, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kauai Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Honolulu,HI
Jun 12, 2011

Nice Hotel

The hotel service was wonderful. The room was ordinary, because the hotel itself was renovating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tide pools was awesome!

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mike n Linda
Couples
Chicago, Illinois
Jan 11, 2011

Property In Very Poor Condition

This Hotel property is in VERY POOR condition. The room has strong odor of damp mold. Bath has black mold stains on tile in tub area. The pool is literally falling apart with dangerous cracks in tile around perimeter. The pool was so filthy dirty we wouldn't even go in the water. The Hot Tub is so filthy you cannot even see to the shallow bottom! Very dissappointed in the condition of this resort. If this is any indication of the quality at Sheraton Resorts we will avoid them at all costs in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the "doors off" Helicopter tour from Port Allen airport! Island Helicopters. The BEST activity we did during our weeklong stay on Kauai!

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marge
Family
Livermore, CA
Dec 12, 2010

Well worth the money!

We were at first apprehensive about staying there as there were some negative reviews about this hotel. Dispite that, the travel package we selected with the Deluxe Ocean Front room, turned out great. The room was spacious, the balcony view of the ocean beautiful, and we did't hear any loud noises or run into any crowds anywhere on the premises. The GO GREEN program involving reduced maid service was a real incentive to conserve. Only one incident occurred at the concierge desk that surprised me. Apparently, all incoming guests receive a welcome gift of a shoppig bag with the Sheraton logo on it. Unfortunately, my bag handle ripped so I went back to ask for a replacement. According to the hostess (Victoria),the policy is I have to bring back the damaged bag for an exchange. Additionally, it may or may not be replaced depending on if there are any extras - they are accountable items, one bag per guestroom. (I already threw the bag away at the shopping mall.) This type of policy is so out of line with an upscale hotel, unclassy, demeaning to the guest because it implies that the guest is either being untruthful about the damaged bag or trying to con the hotel into giving them a new bag...whatever...it was only a paper/cloth bag maybe costing the hotel $1. Sheraton should have been gracious and given me a replacement. I gave the hotel 5 stars anyway because my family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amazing
Couples
Vancouver, BC
Dec 6, 2010

Amazing

Very modern, beautiful suites with full kitchen, washer/dryer, felt like we were at home. Very clean, friendly staff. Grounds/pools were beautiful. We will absolutely go back. We went on our honeymoon, so the only down side was there were a lot of families with young kids there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Times supermarket very close. We bought groceries and made many meals to save money. There is also a small gourmet supermarket in the hotel, but a bit expensive.

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Portland Oregon
Oct 28, 2010

Honua Kai

We had a wonderful time in Hawaii and this hotel helped make the trip amazing. Great place to stay and we are already planning to go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr Rog
Couples
Las Vegas
Jul 18, 2010

Sheraton Kauai Resort

The resort is in an excellent location. My only disappointment is the pool at the resort. It is small and for children only. The beach location is wonderful. My recommendation is to walk about 1/2 mile east to Poipu Beach State Park. The snorkling at this location is excellent! It can get very busy, so best to get there early. The staff was friendly and the rooms are in very good condition (seems to be recently renovated). I will come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Keoki's Paradise is an excellent bar/restaurant. It has a live band playing good music (on the Monday night we were there). Prices are reasonable. Great atmosphere.

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Las Vegas
May 11, 2010

hotel review

The $20 per day per room charge was kinda high since we didn't use the fitness center or other things that came with the price. The food and drinks were rather expensive, but the food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weso
Couples
Golden, CO
Mar 19, 2010

I liked everything except the food

I discovered the island. I enjoyed the weather. I had fun. I missed privacy, heated swimming pool, and hookah bars. I compare it to my trip to Langkawi where I rented a private villa in the Westin Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

try the holicopter trip around the island. check the weather forecast before. the best timing will be right after heavy rain where you can see the beutiful waterfalls

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryann Hot Mama
Couples
Lombard, IL
Feb 14, 2010

Great location for sunrise and sunset

From the time we pulled up, the service was excellent. Check-in was fast and easy, with the option to upgrade rooms. Room was clean and nice, but the bathroom needs updating. There was plenty of parking. The food and drinks at the restaurants were good, but rather pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a circle turn-around about a half mile from the hotel. The Sheraton should find out about putting a sign there, to better help guests know which of the five streets to turn down.

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
stillwater, ok
Jan 21, 2010

sheraton is for old people

the island is beautifull, but the hotel is not so great, very dead, lots of old people, bad beach gets deep the second you step in it, the hotel staff is not very friendly they do the average job nothing to make you feel special, no upgrades for free, breakfast is 22.00 a person and it sucks, not much fruit, not much selection. The gym is old, the treadmills are loud so you can not hear the TV. The cleaning lady stole 50.00 bill from my mom, it was in her purse, we went swimming, came back no money, but the hotel is not responsible for it according to them. so stay in Condos, stay in the North like Princeville, or Kapaa, Poipu is nice but the other places are better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

the hotel has places to eat but it is very expensive and not so good, we liked driving to Dukes in Lihue, or restaurants in Kapaa, in Poipu not so many great places to eat.

Back to menu Return to top