Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 18, 2014 Check-out: Apr 20, 2014

Sheraton Kauai Resort

4 stars
2440 Hoonani Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
494 reviews
Mahalo

Great vacation at Poi Pu! Thanks to the staff, especially to Chris for making us feel so welcome!... See full review

  • azteach
  • Mar 24, 2014
Best Value on Kauai for a family or couple

Arrived to find our room with the garden view had two double beds and my wife and I had chose to... See full review

  • JefferyB
  • Mar 23, 2014
Low-rise resort for beach lovers on Kauai's sunny south coast

Sheraton Kauai Resort is the ultimate gathering place boasting magnificent oceanfront views of Poipu Beach, a convenient distance from the famous First Break Surf Spot and trendy on-site restaurants like Rumfire Poipu Beach Kauai and Lava's at Poipu Beach offering surf and turf cuisines that satisy the cost-conscious food lover. Sheraton Kauai Resort offers a perfect setting to relax, unwind and enjoy a casual or an intimate dining experience. Guests may also enjoy a light "pupu" appetizer coupled with a refreshing cocktail as they are serenaded by live local Hawaiian music amdist mango - colored skies. The Sheraton Kauai Resort offers adventure, fun-filled memories, romance and relaxation all in one place; satisfying every travel personality and providing the ultimate vacation experience.  

Highlights
  • Poipu Beach location, with gorgeous sunsets
  • Broad choice of activities included in daily resort fee
  • Fitness center open 24 hours
Location
The sunny south shore has what may be Kauai's most perfect vacation weather, plus shopping and an array of dining options. It also has one of the famous Kauai landmarks, Spouting Horn, Kauai's answer to Old Faithful. Families can walk to Poipu Beach Park where a protected ocean lagoon is safe enough for young children.
Rooms

The Sheraton Kauai Resort is the South Shore's iconic gem. Spanning over 20 acres and offering 394 rooms, that span across pristine Poipu Beach, a playground for those who embrace sun and waves, ocean front pools, and tropical gardens flowing with winding waterways and romantic bridges that create a sense of serenity. All rooms have a fresh and airy feel and offer air-conditioning, television, telephone, bath, shower, coffee making facilities, fridge and balcony or terrace. Garden view and Partial ocean view rooms are set back from the beach – with views as their respective names suggest. Deluxe oceanfront rooms are beachfront with full views of the Pacific.

Features
The Hawaiian Cultural Center at the Sheraton Kauai Resort is part gallery displaying the work of local artists, part classroom where guests learn Hawaiian arts and crafts (artist demonstrations, lei-making and hula classes included in daily resort fee). The resort supports local entertainers with its Flavors of Island Music initiative. Guests can sync with Kauai's natural side and rhythms in yoga classes on the beach several mornings each week (included in daily resort fee) and spa treatments utilizing Hawaiian techniques (fees apply). The on-site Lava's on Poipu Beach serves a selection of cocktails, local and imported wines and appetizers.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Taxis and limousines at airport
Attractions
  • Koloa Heritage Trail (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Tropical Botanical Garden Visitor Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn (2.5 mi/4 km)
Business
  • Sheraton Kauai Resort offers 9,900 square feet of flexible function space
  • Four thousand square feet of outdoor function space
  • Wi-Fi throughout resort (included in daily resort fee)

Sheraton Kauai Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View
Our spacious 510-square feet deluxe garden view rooms overlook lushly landscaped tropical gardens. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Garden View
The 410-square-feet garden rooms offer views of lushly landscaped tropical gardens. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Deluxe Ocean Front
Our spacious 510-square feet oceanfront rooms offer magnificent views of the ocean. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Partial Ocean View
Located in the Garden Wing, our partial ocean view rooms (410 square feet) are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Kauai Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.8767 -159.461
Area served
Kauai, Poipu Beach, Lihue
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Airport, Kauai
Area description
Sightseeing on Kauai is a must, not only to experience the spectacular scenic beauty, but also for the adventure and fun in traveling to each wonder - on horseback, by catamaran or raft, by kayak or helicopter, bicycle or on foot to name just a few. Poipu Shopping Village - 1.0 mi/1.6 km Kiahuna Golf Course - 1.0 mi/1.6 km Spouting Horn - 2.0 mi/3.2 km Historic Old Koloa Town - 2.0 mi/3.2 km Poipu Bay Resort Golf Course - 3.0 Waimea Canyon-25.0 mi/40.2 km

Dining

Lava's
Boasting magnificent oceanfront views, of Poipu Beach and the famous First Break Surf Spot. A perfect setting to relax, unwind, and enjoy grilled selections and refreshing specialty drinks. Catch stunning sunsets and tropical breezes as you celebrate a relaxing afternoon or early evening with refreshing cocktails and delectable cuisine. Open daily for lunch, dinner and happy hour alongside evening entertainment. Hours 10:30 am - 5:00 pm.
Room Service
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
The Link Cafe
6:30 am - 11:00 am
Rumfire
Rumfire at Poipu Beach will take you on a Hawaiian rooted journey with global influences and 180 degrees of unmatched views of the Pacific Ocean. Our chef's prepare distinctive cuisine with local island flair. With its sensible menu selections, Rumfire's cuisine resonates with the eclectic yet contemporary food lovers. Whether your palate desires seafood, flatbreads, or beef or you are looking for a celebratory destination, Rumfire will certainly satisfy with worldly flavor coupled with a Hawaiian twist. Breakfast Buffet: 6:30 - 11:00 am Dinner Service: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm Bar Service: 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Indoor facilities include the 5,900-square feet Poipu Ballroom, the adjacent open-air foyer, and the newly opened 2,200-square feet Koloa Junior Ballroom and adjoining terrace. Both ballrooms are divisible into three separate rooms. Additionally, we offer the Lawai Room, which opened in 2000, and the Executive Board Room, both of which are divisible into two separate rooms. A total of 15,000 square feet of outdoor function space, ranging from a Luau Lawn to two beachfront lawns and popular wedding sites, are also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (494)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kauai Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
494 out of 494
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

3
Derick Macanas
Pepeekeo, HI
Nov 12, 2013

Getaway

We needed a place to run away to. We enjoyed our stay, except for a housekeeping miscommunication. They failed to clean our room and we found this to be inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
DanL88
Oahu
Nov 12, 2013

Quality, Not Overpriced

The Sheraton was very well run overall, clean and had very accommodating staff. They run a shuttle to local restaurants and shops throughout most of the day too which was incredibly helpful. It's not exactly cheap when the resort fee is included, but few places on the island of Kauai are. That being said, it was a pretty great value and I felt totally satisfied and comfortable during my time there. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
Mom and Amy time
Gresham, OR
Nov 7, 2013

Lovely place to stay

We enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton. It was very clean and incredibly comfortable. The housekeeping staff was very friendly and did a superb job each day of making our room clean and fresh. The location was perfect. This was the first time to Kauai and we were there for a friends wedding. We were able to get rooms near each other. My daughter was the photographer and took many photos of the wedding couple on the beautifully maintained grounds of the hotel. I also locked myself out and in no time, I was given another room key with no problems at all. The whole experience was more than we could have hoped for. I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a lovely little shopping center just a couple of miles down the road. It has shops, restaurants and coffee. Nice place for a quick shopping trip.

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
Rinz
Denver, Colorado
Nov 5, 2013

40th Anniversary

Very relaxing at the pool and beach but plenty of things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Lava's on the beach and pool side was great.

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
Gigi Radford
Santa Barbara ca
Oct 30, 2013

Perfect!!! Awsome!!!

Hotel amazing! Everything perfect! I wanna come back soon! Best trip ever!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Helicopter! Kayaking at the river and zip line! Do it!!

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
Sarah Liz
Huntington Beach, CA
Oct 27, 2013

Trip to Paradise

Overall, the resort was amazing. The wait staff at Lava's and the bartenders at Rumfire were great and the view from the ocean front room we had was breath taking! Even swimming in Poipu Beach was great. It felt like swimming in a giant salty pool with no waves crashing on you. The only negative thing was that the coffee maker in the room was dirty, so I was never able to enjoy a cup of coffee in my room. Other than that, the resort was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Eat off the resort. There are nice restaurants at a nearby shopping center at the traffic circle where Bubba Burgers and Savage Shrimp are at. There's a restaurant called Tortilla Republic that has live entertainment at night.

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
1st anniversary traveler
Nevada
Oct 23, 2013

Nice Hotel - Decent Price

We had a nice stay at this hotel. The price, based on a package deal, was pretty good. The south shore location is great for winter months (Oct - April) because this is where the beaches are more calm during these months. There was only one hot tub on location, which was often full. The bed wasn't the most comfortable. The lids for the coffee cups provided in room did not fit the cups. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly, and the amenities overall were nice. Food prices were pretty high for the restaurants, we didn't really eat at them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Keiko's Paradise (just down the street from the hotel) has a Chef's Sunset Menu from 4:45-5:45 with a three course meal for $24 a person. The food was amazing and the restaurant is lovely.

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
n0one
-
Oct 19, 2013

Quiet get away

This was a nice quiet get away. It was almost a polar opposite to Waikiki. If you want to have a quiet get away, this is the place. If you want to go where the party is, go to Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a shopping center a short walk north of the hotel... it has a Starbucks and a reasonably priced restaurant.

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
Mario L
Tucson, AZ
Oct 7, 2013

Great Hotel with a beautiful view

I stayed in a Deluxe Ocean view room. I had a beautiful view of the ocean and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
mj proffitt
Havelock, NC
Oct 5, 2013

honeymooners' paradise

Oceanfront view room, lots of relaxation and fun.. my husband and I will definitely come back. Great overall experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Smith Family Garden Luau.. best one I've seen ever! I've been to a few luaus and this is one of a kind, we really enjoyed it.

Back to menu Return to top