Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 11, 2015 Check-out: Apr 12, 2015

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

5 stars
View map of One North Kaniku Drive, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Camden, Me.
Apr 29, 2010

Wonderful

A great resort. Very friendly staff. Not inexpensive but worth it. Our 5th visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 27, 2010

Best snorkeling on resort!

The hotel was great. The location is still 20 minutes from Kona, otherwise nothing much else nearby. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Went for wedding and we asked for upgrades or changes to 3 of 5 rooms and were not questioned or troubled whatsoever. The food is very good on the resort, but very pricey - even to Hawaii standards. Excellent snorkeling on site, can see a safe area for green sea turtles, beautiful golf course. Rooms were clean and had most everything to make the vacation comfortable. Would recommend highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Interesting little town (Hawi)25 minutes north of resort with a good food, fun restaurant called Bamboo. Killer Tacos is another small,cheap must-see place in Kona just south of Target.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Apr 20, 2010

Fairmont Orchid - Kona

The hotel is directly on the water. The view is amazing, drinks on the beach and by the pool, very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are at the hotel for a short time go food shopping at the near by market.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wyoming
Apr 16, 2010

Great place to stay

Food was very expensive, even for Hawaii. Limited variety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Apr 5, 2010

Not for a couples getaway

We stayed over the long Easter weekend. Check in was a breeze the staff during our stay was very accomodating and hospitable. I thought it was odd that there was no rug in our room anywhere just the tile floors. It made the room feel a little sparse and that you had to wear your slippers all the time. The bathroom was great with the double sinks and two showers, and the seperate toilet area. The only drawback to our stay was that there were children everywhere. I guess we chose our vacation time during Spring Break. I didn't like the fact that your couldn't even get away from the kids even in the lounge area. The hotel should not allow children in the bar/lounge area. Other than that hotel is beautiful, staff outstanding!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland
Apr 4, 2010

Wow! Wish we could have stayed longer...

Unmatched service - truly - thoughout our stay. And the Japanese restaurant was fantastic. I had to ask for it, but the extended wine list was exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cape Cod/Maui
Mar 27, 2010

Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Very nice pool areas. Browns' Beach House Restaurant very good with pleasant outdoor dining (unless the tradewinds are strong, which was the case when we were there. Not as much going on or convenient access to shopping as at Hilton Waikola, but quieter atmostphere. Rooms were on the large size with very spacious bath. Long drive to major island attractions, but that's the nature of the Big Island. This is THE area for the top resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Kilauea Volcano a must, and the Kilauea Iki hike through rain forest and across crater floor was great. Drive the northern route from resorts to Volcanoes National Park for the best sights. Akaka Falls near Hilo and Rainbow Falls in Hilo are spectacular! Including hike - a 10 1/2 hour day of driving and hiking.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Empty-nester
Business
Bay area, CA
Mar 24, 2010

Beautiful grounds and friendly staff

Loved the grounds and facilities. Nice to have a beach on the property as some of the hotels in the area do not. It would have been nice to have a less expensive dining option in the area but there is a nice grocery store nearby and we had a refrigerator in our room. Nice size room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Not a lot of shopping and dining options in the area. High parking fees at all the hotels.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
Mar 24, 2010

Orchid

Wonderful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 22, 2010

Nice Property

First time ever in Hawaii for our 40th wedding anniversary. Disappointed in the fact that I was told something "special" would be done for the occasion and nothing at all was :( The property and room was beautiful, but the hotel was very empty. The prices at the restaurants were much higher than I expected (who pays six dollars for coffee?) Also the charges for parking your car in an empty hotel lot was also out of line. I can see if they were booked and space was at a premium, but I guess they have to make money somehow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top