Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

5 stars
One North Kaniku Drive, Kohala Coast, HI 96743
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
198 reviews
Excellent

This is a wonderful property. I would recommend that folks explore restaurants outside of the hotel... See full review

  • Kattglobal
  • Jun 2, 2014
Stay in Paradise!

We stayed at the Fairmont Orchid for 3 nights during our visit to the Big Island of Hawaii and we... See full review

  • KO in NYC
  • Jun 2, 2014
Deluxe Waikoloa hotel with championship golf and beachfront dreamscape

Melt into tropical bliss at the 32-acre beachfront Fairmont Orchid Hawaii, in the upscale South Kohala community of Waikoloa. Situated on an aquamarine lagoon traced in sugar-white sand and coconut trees, guests need not ever leave the property to find paradise. Ten tennis courts, a 36-hole championship golf course and outdoor massages by a waterfall or the ocean offer plenty of ways to unwind.

  • Book a massage in a private cabana by a waterfall or the ocean, or book a private yoga or Pilates training session
  • Play at the 36-hole championship course, named one of the 75 Best Golf Resorts in North America by Golf Digest
  • Enjoy the white-sand beach, coconut-tree grove and glistening aquamarine lagoon, plus basking turtles

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii is less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona in the upscale community of Waikoloa. The hotel rests on a dreamy landscape of sugar-white sand, aquamarine water and rugged black lava rock, surrounded by championship golf courses.

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii features 540 guest rooms and suites, each with a private balcony, tailored furnishings and a view of gardens or ocean. Executive suites include a separate bedroom with French doors. All accommodations sport air conditioning, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), Fairmont bath amenities, bathrobes and 42-inch LCD flat-screen TV with media panel.

Guests at The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii have several dining choices. The award-winning Brown's Beach House offers romantic dining. At Norio's Japanese Restaurant and Sushi Bar, enjoy some of the Big Island's best sushi by a serene koi pond. Hale Kai offers casual fare in an outdoor setting.

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii tempts with a 10,000-square-foot swimming pool, 10 tennis courts and a 36-hole golf course. A 24-hour fitness center and full-service Spa Without Walls round out the amenities. The Keiki Aloha Children's Program entertains kids while parents are enjoying their own leisure time.

  • Kona International Airport (22.7 mi/36.6 km)
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (5.9 mi/9.6 km)
  • Hapuna Beach (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (20.8 mi/33.4 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (28.9 mi/46.5 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (48.6 mi/78.2 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (102 mi/164 km)

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii Rooms

Fairmont Room
Fairmont Rooms are spacious accommodations which offer a private lanai with a view of the gardens. Bed Type: one King, two Queen or two Double beds Size: 522 sq. ft.
Ocean View Room
Ocean View Rooms are spacious accommodations offering a private lanai. There is a partial angled ocean view from the room and the lanai. Bed Type: One King, two Queen or two Double beds Size: 522 sq. ft.
Partial Ocean View Room
Partial Ocean View rooms are spacious accommodations offering a private lanai. There is a partial angled ocean view from the lanai. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds. 522 sq. ft.
Signature Ocean Front Room
Signature Ocean Front rooms are spacious rooms with a spectacular view of the ocean and a spacious private lanai. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds. 522 sq. ft.
Executive Suite Garden View
The Executive Suite Garden View offer luxurious accommodation and a view of the gardens. The bedroom closes off from the living room with French doors and includes a full bathroom with separate shower and water closet. There are also two large closets, a television and private lanai with patio furniture. Located off the bedroom is an alcove with a writing desk. The living room offers a Queen sofabed, easy chairs, another writing desk and a full stereo system with a CD player (CDs not provided). There is a half bathroom off the living room, as well as a second private lanai with patio furniture. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds. 1050 sq.ft.
Executive Suite Ocean View
The Executive Suite Ocean View offer luxurious accommodation and a view of the Pacific Ocean. The bedroom closes off from the living room with French doors. Also included is a full bathroom with separate shower and water closet, in addition to a bathtub with second shower. There are two large closets, a television and private lanai with patio furniture. Also, off the bedroom is an alcove with a writing desk. The living room offers a Queen sofabed, easy chairs, another writing desk and a full stereo system with CD player (CDs not provided). There is a half bathroom off the living room, as well as a second private lanai with patio furniture. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds; Queen sofabed in living room. 1050 sq.ft.
Oceanfront Suite
One-bedroom Oceanfront Suites offer spectacular panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean from the bedroom, living room and both private lanais. This spacious, elegant suite includes a parlor that is separated from the bedroom by classic French doors. The sofa bed in the living room pulls out for extra sleeping space. Also in the living room is a separate powder room, and the bedroom includes a full master bathroom. Oceanfront Suites can connect to a spacious Oceanview Rooms to become a Two-Bedroom Oceanfront Suite. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds; Queen sofabed in living room. 1,477 square feet or 2,144 square feet with the connecting Oceanview room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.9511 -155.8595
Area served
Kohala Coast Big Island, HI
Nearby airports
Kona/Keahole Airport
Area description
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is situated beachfront on the northwestern coast in Mauna Lani resort area of the "Big Island" of Hawaii. Located a 30-minute drive from the Kona/Keahole International Airport. Only 40 minutes to the quaint town of Kona where guests can find shopping and nightlife.

Dining

The Orchid Court
Hours of Operation: Open Daily 6:30 a.m.-10:30 a.m. Dress Code: Resort attire. Cover ups and footwear required. The Orchid Court serves the best breakfast on the island, offering a sumptuous buffet daily and a tempting selection of la carte items from the menu, perfect for the dawn patrol or late risers alike. The Orchid Court offers both indoor and outdoor terrace seating.
Brown's Beach House
Hours of Operation: Dinner nightly 5:30 p.m.-8:30 p.m., on Tuesdays and Wednesdays until 9:00 pm Dress Code: Resort attire. Footwear required. Award-winning Brown's Beach House is the place for the quintessential island dining experience, located just steps from shore, featuring island-inspired cuisine with the best ingredients available locally. Clean, exciting flavors with an emphasis on super-fresh seafood prevail on the dinner menu. Reservations recommended.
Hale Kai Restaurant
Hours of Operation: Open daily from 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Dress Code: Casual resort attire. In Hawai`i, eating is a time of pleasure and enjoying our `ohana rather than simply taking nourishment. Hale Kai is the perfect venue for a most refreshing afternoon, sunset or evening family dinner. The Hale Kai Restaurant is located near the entrance to Brown's Beach House.
Luana Lounge
Hours of Operation: Open Nightly from 5:00 p.m. - Midnight Dress Code: Resort attire. Footwear required. In Hawaiian, "Luana" may be explained as "to be at leisure, enjoy pleasant surroundings and associates, live in comfort and ease, enjoy oneself, relax . . . be content." Enjoy a leisurely afternoon or evening here with your favorite tropical libation, nibble from a delectable pupu (appetizer) menu and relax in comfortable furnishings surrounding by local Big Island art and the glorious Kohala Sunset near the main lobby.
Norio's Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Hours of Operation: Thursday - Monday 5:30 - 9:00 p.m. Dress Code: Resort attire. Footwear required. A favorite among guests, visitors and locals alike, Norio's Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar is located alongside a serene koi pond on the garden level. The 60-seat restaurant features a 14-seat sushi bar and an 18-seat private dining room. The new menu reflects contemporary Japanese cuisine with items such as Hamachi and Avocado Sashimi, Beef Tenderloin Carpaccio and A5 Wagyu Ribe Eye Steak plus tantalizing traditional items like Miso Marinated Black Cod and Pan Seared Hawaiian Abalone topped with Uni Emulsion on Truffle Mash.
Kahakai Bar
Hours of Operation: Seasonally Open Daily until dusk. Dress Code: Casual resort attire. Kahakai means 'beach' in Hawaiian and this new beachside bar features a Polynesian-style thatched roof, refreshing trade winds and billion dollar views of Mauna Kea and the blue Pacific. A variety of tropical libations and mouth-watering pupus (appetizers) are served.
Brown's Deli
Hours of Operation: Daily 6:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Find this get-it-to-go restaurant options at the center of everything -- behind Brown's Beach House Restaurant, steps from the pool and Hale Kai Restaurant. Brown's Deli offers breakfast and lunch items delicatessen style with an island flair plus your favorite beverages to enjoy at outdoor tables or wander down to the beach. They'll even pack meals to take on the plane for a healthy alternative. A great place to pick up food gifts to take home with every item made either on the Big Island or in the state of Hawaii, i.e., Volcano Honey, Chocolate, Taro Chips and more.
In-Room Dining
Hours of Operation: Available daily from 6:00 a.m. to Midnight. In-Room Dining at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is not just another meal - it is the ultimate experience in convenience and comfort. Perfect for early-risers, a romantic dinner for two, night-time munchies or small gatherings, you can chose from signature gourmet dishes or hearty 'just like home' selections without having to leave the comfort of your room. Available daily from 6:00 a.m. until Midnight. Hoku Lani, "Dining Under the Stars," is served oceanfront at our Pacific Terrace, complete with tiki torches and your own private servers. This lavish four-course dinner offers a truly beautiful and romantic dining experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (198)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nor Cal
May 22, 2011

I expected more

The staff is friendly and courteous. The setting is lovely. The room smelled of mold and it was most evident when the air conditioner was on. There was black mold around the moldings in the bathroom. Unlike the luxury hotels on Oahu, they charged for everything. Few umbrellas by the pools- none at the beach- to encourage $45 shaded lounge rentals I guess. The hot dishes were lukewarm to cold at the breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The Japanese restaurant, Monstera, in the shopping center charges half what the Fairmont venue does. Silver Oak Alexander cabernet was $68 vrs $136. The food was quite well prepared.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nor Cal
May 22, 2011

I expected more

The staff is friendly and courteous. The setting is lovely. The room smelled of mold and it was most evident when the air conditioner was on. There was black mold around the moldings in the bathroom. Unlike the luxury hotels on Oahu, they charged for everything. Few umbrellas by the pools- none at the beach- to encourage $45 shaded lounge rentals I guess. The hot dishes were lukewarm to cold at the breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The Japanese restaurant, Monstera, in the shopping center charges half what the Fairmont venue does. Silver Oak Alexander cabernet was $68 vrs $136. The food was quite well prepared.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xnoreasterner
San Francisco
Apr 27, 2011

Beautiful property

Though a large property, the setting was breathtaking and what Hawaii was probably like before the honky tonk set into Maui and Oahu. Have 3 children, and all were thrilled with the stay. Also, unlike many resorts, there are plenty of dining options off property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Merriman has great burgers. Not cheap, but fantastic. Down the road about one mile.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xnoreasterner
San Francisco
Apr 27, 2011

Beautiful property

Though a large property, the setting was breathtaking and what Hawaii was probably like before the honky tonk set into Maui and Oahu. Have 3 children, and all were thrilled with the stay. Also, unlike many resorts, there are plenty of dining options off property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Merriman has great burgers. Not cheap, but fantastic. Down the road about one mile.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Apr 10, 2011

The Orchid

Second time to stay at the Orchid. In particular I love the little lagoon for safe snorkeling and renting a cabana to watch the waves. Very peaceful. Wonderful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

We really enjoyed watching the sunset while having a light dinner at the hale beach bar and restaurant.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Apr 10, 2011

The Orchid

Second time to stay at the Orchid. In particular I love the little lagoon for safe snorkeling and renting a cabana to watch the waves. Very peaceful. Wonderful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

We really enjoyed watching the sunset while having a light dinner at the hale beach bar and restaurant.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris and Kathy
Seattle
Apr 9, 2011

Not Quite a Five Star Experience

When we booked, it was a special trip so we looked for a 5 Star Hotel. The Fairmont and Four Seasons were the two that jumped out at us and we went with the Fairmont, had stayed at several nice Fairmonts and the price was considerably lower. The property is very nice, nice first impression. We had paid a significant upgrade to an Ocean view room and when we got there, it was not as expected. The room faced the pool and the ocean was not really visible from the room, but could be seen from the lanai. There is a man made waterfall which was right outside our room, drowning out any sound of the ocean. Artificial waterfalls are nice, but they are not what I want to hear in Hawaii. Most of the interior of the room was nice enough, definitely not 5 star, but nice enough, with the exception of a broken lamp with a burnt lampshade that took hours to be replaced. Our first major disappointment. The bath area was adequate, full tub/shower combo, shower stall, 2 sinks, not luxuriously roomy, but nice enough. Fixtures were fine. Once again, why did I see a 5 star rating on this property? Our in room coffee pot was broken so we called to have it replaced, a guy shows up without a coffee pot acting like we were idiots who didn't know how to use a coffee pot. After we had to "prove" it was truly broken, he went to get us another. We didn't need coffee that much anyway, right? I decided to look at the tea selection which came with one of the islands non-native fauna, the german cockroach. After slaying the beast, I called the manager and explained that between a broen burned lamp, broken coffeepot with dismissive treatment, a few small ants(no worries there, we're in the islands) and a roach, that my vacation was not off to a good start. She promised more attentive housekeeping and an exterminator, who came two and a half days later. The rest of the trip was nice enough, our replacement lamp was also slightly marked up on the shade, but worked OK and we turned the marks to the wall. Pool area seems small, nice small beach with good snorkeling and good activities service. Food and Bev service on the beach was so-so at best, slow, expensive, weak $14 drinks. The spa is wonderful, resort prices for sure, but very qualified masseuses, great personal service, may have saved the hotel from a worse review. Golf courses are beautiful and reasonably priced for guests, location is fantastic. We had a very nice time despite our start and would give our last half of the trip four stars, but the start of this trip drops the overall rating to 3 at best. I've stayed at 5 star places and this is definitely not one of them.note: staff only received 3 stars but [...] were excellent concierges and the bell/valet staff were very good, so I'll kick 'em 4 stars on that. Did not feel satisfied by the response to my early issues, which is why 3 is as good as the overall staff gets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Blue Hawaiian Helicopters, Big Island Eco Adventure, Hapuna Golf Resort Twilight($75 after 1, very nice course)

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris and Kathy
Seattle
Apr 9, 2011

Not Quite a Five Star Experience

When we booked, it was a special trip so we looked for a 5 Star Hotel. The Fairmont and Four Seasons were the two that jumped out at us and we went with the Fairmont, had stayed at several nice Fairmonts and the price was considerably lower. The property is very nice, nice first impression. We had paid a significant upgrade to an Ocean view room and when we got there, it was not as expected. The room faced the pool and the ocean was not really visible from the room, but could be seen from the lanai. There is a man made waterfall which was right outside our room, drowning out any sound of the ocean. Artificial waterfalls are nice, but they are not what I want to hear in Hawaii. Most of the interior of the room was nice enough, definitely not 5 star, but nice enough, with the exception of a broken lamp with a burnt lampshade that took hours to be replaced. Our first major disappointment. The bath area was adequate, full tub/shower combo, shower stall, 2 sinks, not luxuriously roomy, but nice enough. Fixtures were fine. Once again, why did I see a 5 star rating on this property? Our in room coffee pot was broken so we called to have it replaced, a guy shows up without a coffee pot acting like we were idiots who didn't know how to use a coffee pot. After we had to "prove" it was truly broken, he went to get us another. We didn't need coffee that much anyway, right? I decided to look at the tea selection which came with one of the islands non-native fauna, the german cockroach. After slaying the beast, I called the manager and explained that between a broen burned lamp, broken coffeepot with dismissive treatment, a few small ants(no worries there, we're in the islands) and a roach, that my vacation was not off to a good start. She promised more attentive housekeeping and an exterminator, who came two and a half days later. The rest of the trip was nice enough, our replacement lamp was also slightly marked up on the shade, but worked OK and we turned the marks to the wall. Pool area seems small, nice small beach with good snorkeling and good activities service. Food and Bev service on the beach was so-so at best, slow, expensive, weak $14 drinks. The spa is wonderful, resort prices for sure, but very qualified masseuses, great personal service, may have saved the hotel from a worse review. Golf courses are beautiful and reasonably priced for guests, location is fantastic. We had a very nice time despite our start and would give our last half of the trip four stars, but the start of this trip drops the overall rating to 3 at best. I've stayed at 5 star places and this is definitely not one of them.note: staff only received 3 stars but [...] were excellent concierges and the bell/valet staff were very good, so I'll kick 'em 4 stars on that. Did not feel satisfied by the response to my early issues, which is why 3 is as good as the overall staff gets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Blue Hawaiian Helicopters, Big Island Eco Adventure, Hapuna Golf Resort Twilight($75 after 1, very nice course)

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas,NV
Feb 18, 2011

Last Time on the Big Island

Nice hotel, clean and comfortable. Unless you plan to "Staycation" on the premises you need to rent a car. All the tourist attractions are many miles away. You will also need to plan your dinner in advance. We could not get reservations at the hotels main restaurant any evening of our stay. There are no other full service restaurants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

You can view most of the area attractions by car. The tourist guides steer you to the tour companies by saying this or that is "difficult" to get to. The car rental agencies do not want you to travel the Saddle Road to Hilo because it can be dangerous to drive in bad weather. The road is very windy but not difficult to drive if you take your time. There is construction on the Hilo side but it still saves you time if you want to go to Hilo or volcanoes.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas,NV
Feb 18, 2011

Last Time on the Big Island

Nice hotel, clean and comfortable. Unless you plan to "Staycation" on the premises you need to rent a car. All the tourist attractions are many miles away. You will also need to plan your dinner in advance. We could not get reservations at the hotels main restaurant any evening of our stay. There are no other full service restaurants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

You can view most of the area attractions by car. The tourist guides steer you to the tour companies by saying this or that is "difficult" to get to. The car rental agencies do not want you to travel the Saddle Road to Hilo because it can be dangerous to drive in bad weather. The road is very windy but not difficult to drive if you take your time. There is construction on the Hilo side but it still saves you time if you want to go to Hilo or volcanoes.

Back to menu Return to top