Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 12, 2014 Check-out: Nov 15, 2014

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

5 stars
One North Kaniku Drive, Kohala Coast, HI 96743
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
119 reviews
Stay in Paradise!

We stayed at the Fairmont Orchid for 3 nights during our visit to the Big Island of Hawaii and we... See full review

  • KO in NYC
  • Jun 2, 2014
Excellent

This is a wonderful property. I would recommend that folks explore restaurants outside of the hotel... See full review

  • Kattglobal
  • Jun 2, 2014
Deluxe Waikoloa hotel with championship golf and beachfront dreamscape

Melt into tropical bliss at the 32-acre beachfront Fairmont Orchid Hawaii, in the upscale South Kohala community of Waikoloa. Situated on an aquamarine lagoon traced in sugar-white sand and coconut trees, guests need not ever leave the property to find paradise. Ten tennis courts, a 36-hole championship golf course and outdoor massages by a waterfall or the ocean offer plenty of ways to unwind.

  • Book a massage in a private cabana by a waterfall or the ocean, or book a private yoga or Pilates training session
  • Play at the 36-hole championship course, named one of the 75 Best Golf Resorts in North America by Golf Digest
  • Enjoy the white-sand beach, coconut-tree grove and glistening aquamarine lagoon, plus basking turtles

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii is less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona in the upscale community of Waikoloa. The hotel rests on a dreamy landscape of sugar-white sand, aquamarine water and rugged black lava rock, surrounded by championship golf courses.

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii features 540 guest rooms and suites, each with a private balcony, tailored furnishings and a view of gardens or ocean. Executive suites include a separate bedroom with French doors. All accommodations sport air conditioning, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), Fairmont bath amenities, bathrobes and 42-inch LCD flat-screen TV with media panel.

Guests at The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii have several dining choices. The award-winning Brown's Beach House offers romantic dining. At Norio's Japanese Restaurant and Sushi Bar, enjoy some of the Big Island's best sushi by a serene koi pond. Hale Kai offers casual fare in an outdoor setting.

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii tempts with a 10,000-square-foot swimming pool, 10 tennis courts and a 36-hole golf course. A 24-hour fitness center and full-service Spa Without Walls round out the amenities. The Keiki Aloha Children's Program entertains kids while parents are enjoying their own leisure time.

  • Kona International Airport (22.7 mi/36.6 km)
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (5.9 mi/9.6 km)
  • Hapuna Beach (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (20.8 mi/33.4 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (28.9 mi/46.5 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (48.6 mi/78.2 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (102 mi/164 km)

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii Rooms

Fairmont Room
Fairmont Rooms are spacious accommodations which offer a private lanai with a view of the gardens. Bed Type: one King, two Queen or two Double beds Size: 522 sq. ft.
Ocean View Room
Ocean View Rooms are spacious accommodations offering a private lanai. There is a partial angled ocean view from the room and the lanai. Bed Type: One King, two Queen or two Double beds Size: 522 sq. ft.
Partial Ocean View Room
Partial Ocean View rooms are spacious accommodations offering a private lanai. There is a partial angled ocean view from the lanai. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds. 522 sq. ft.
Signature Ocean Front Room
Signature Ocean Front rooms are spacious rooms with a spectacular view of the ocean and a spacious private lanai. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds. 522 sq. ft.
Executive Suite Garden View
The Executive Suite Garden View offer luxurious accommodation and a view of the gardens. The bedroom closes off from the living room with French doors and includes a full bathroom with separate shower and water closet. There are also two large closets, a television and private lanai with patio furniture. Located off the bedroom is an alcove with a writing desk. The living room offers a Queen sofabed, easy chairs, another writing desk and a full stereo system with a CD player (CDs not provided). There is a half bathroom off the living room, as well as a second private lanai with patio furniture. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds. 1050 sq.ft.
Executive Suite Ocean View
The Executive Suite Ocean View offer luxurious accommodation and a view of the Pacific Ocean. The bedroom closes off from the living room with French doors. Also included is a full bathroom with separate shower and water closet, in addition to a bathtub with second shower. There are two large closets, a television and private lanai with patio furniture. Also, off the bedroom is an alcove with a writing desk. The living room offers a Queen sofabed, easy chairs, another writing desk and a full stereo system with CD player (CDs not provided). There is a half bathroom off the living room, as well as a second private lanai with patio furniture. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds; Queen sofabed in living room. 1050 sq.ft.
Oceanfront Suite
One-bedroom Oceanfront Suites offer spectacular panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean from the bedroom, living room and both private lanais. This spacious, elegant suite includes a parlor that is separated from the bedroom by classic French doors. The sofa bed in the living room pulls out for extra sleeping space. Also in the living room is a separate powder room, and the bedroom includes a full master bathroom. Oceanfront Suites can connect to a spacious Oceanview Rooms to become a Two-Bedroom Oceanfront Suite. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds; Queen sofabed in living room. 1,477 square feet or 2,144 square feet with the connecting Oceanview room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.9511 -155.8595
Area served
Kohala Coast Big Island, HI
Nearby airports
Kona/Keahole Airport
Area description
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is situated beachfront on the northwestern coast in Mauna Lani resort area of the "Big Island" of Hawaii. Located a 30-minute drive from the Kona/Keahole International Airport. Only 40 minutes to the quaint town of Kona where guests can find shopping and nightlife.

Dining

The Orchid Court
Hours of Operation: Open Daily 6:30 a.m.-10:30 a.m. Dress Code: Resort attire. Cover ups and footwear required. The Orchid Court serves the best breakfast on the island, offering a sumptuous buffet daily and a tempting selection of la carte items from the menu, perfect for the dawn patrol or late risers alike. The Orchid Court offers both indoor and outdoor terrace seating.
Brown's Beach House
Hours of Operation: Dinner nightly 5:30 p.m.-8:30 p.m., on Tuesdays and Wednesdays until 9:00 pm Dress Code: Resort attire. Footwear required. Award-winning Brown's Beach House is the place for the quintessential island dining experience, located just steps from shore, featuring island-inspired cuisine with the best ingredients available locally. Clean, exciting flavors with an emphasis on super-fresh seafood prevail on the dinner menu. Reservations recommended.
Hale Kai Restaurant
Hours of Operation: Open daily from 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Dress Code: Casual resort attire. In Hawai`i, eating is a time of pleasure and enjoying our `ohana rather than simply taking nourishment. Hale Kai is the perfect venue for a most refreshing afternoon, sunset or evening family dinner. The Hale Kai Restaurant is located near the entrance to Brown's Beach House.
Luana Lounge
Hours of Operation: Open Nightly from 5:00 p.m. - Midnight Dress Code: Resort attire. Footwear required. In Hawaiian, "Luana" may be explained as "to be at leisure, enjoy pleasant surroundings and associates, live in comfort and ease, enjoy oneself, relax . . . be content." Enjoy a leisurely afternoon or evening here with your favorite tropical libation, nibble from a delectable pupu (appetizer) menu and relax in comfortable furnishings surrounding by local Big Island art and the glorious Kohala Sunset near the main lobby.
Norio's Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Hours of Operation: Thursday - Monday 5:30 - 9:00 p.m. Dress Code: Resort attire. Footwear required. A favorite among guests, visitors and locals alike, Norio's Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar is located alongside a serene koi pond on the garden level. The 60-seat restaurant features a 14-seat sushi bar and an 18-seat private dining room. The new menu reflects contemporary Japanese cuisine with items such as Hamachi and Avocado Sashimi, Beef Tenderloin Carpaccio and A5 Wagyu Ribe Eye Steak plus tantalizing traditional items like Miso Marinated Black Cod and Pan Seared Hawaiian Abalone topped with Uni Emulsion on Truffle Mash.
Kahakai Bar
Hours of Operation: Seasonally Open Daily until dusk. Dress Code: Casual resort attire. Kahakai means 'beach' in Hawaiian and this new beachside bar features a Polynesian-style thatched roof, refreshing trade winds and billion dollar views of Mauna Kea and the blue Pacific. A variety of tropical libations and mouth-watering pupus (appetizers) are served.
Brown's Deli
Hours of Operation: Daily 6:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Find this get-it-to-go restaurant options at the center of everything -- behind Brown's Beach House Restaurant, steps from the pool and Hale Kai Restaurant. Brown's Deli offers breakfast and lunch items delicatessen style with an island flair plus your favorite beverages to enjoy at outdoor tables or wander down to the beach. They'll even pack meals to take on the plane for a healthy alternative. A great place to pick up food gifts to take home with every item made either on the Big Island or in the state of Hawaii, i.e., Volcano Honey, Chocolate, Taro Chips and more.
In-Room Dining
Hours of Operation: Available daily from 6:00 a.m. to Midnight. In-Room Dining at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is not just another meal - it is the ultimate experience in convenience and comfort. Perfect for early-risers, a romantic dinner for two, night-time munchies or small gatherings, you can chose from signature gourmet dishes or hearty 'just like home' selections without having to leave the comfort of your room. Available daily from 6:00 a.m. until Midnight. Hoku Lani, "Dining Under the Stars," is served oceanfront at our Pacific Terrace, complete with tiki torches and your own private servers. This lavish four-course dinner offers a truly beautiful and romantic dining experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Notworthstaying
Business
San Diego
Jun 28, 2012

Not luxury. Event/wedding hotel. Very poor customer service.

Either a corporate event or wedding (sometimes two a day) happened at the hotel - which meant music all night, part of the pool closed off or decking around the pool. Most of the staff was just not unfriendly but actually mean. Location was fine but there are hotels nicer to choose from with better beaches right next door - Mauna Lani or Mauna Kea. Absolutely not worth the price - we stayed at the Marriot in Waikoloa a few years ago and the service, rooms, beach and services was way superior = huge disappointment. Also very few rooms have a direct ocean view...partial means if you sit on your balcony and look at a angle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
momof03
Business
Glendora
Jun 18, 2012

Beautiful quiet retreat

We loved this hotel! Our room was on the 'garden view' but on the bottom floor, so was a quick walk to the beach/bay. Our 3 kids were in the room 2 rooms over. We had no one in the room in-between, so it worked well. We sat on our porch every nite & relaxed after daily kayaking,snorkeling & hiking. We loved the local turtles in the bay. Staff was friendly & helpful. Food/drinks too expensive though. But It was a wonderful stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop for groceries & pre-made food at Foodland Farms. Gas/groceries also at Costco.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nancy from Denver
Business
Denver, Co
May 13, 2012

Wonderful!

This hotel has it all! The beach and snorkeling was great. The pool and hot tub wonderful. Every staff person was friendly and very helpful. Dinner on the beach at sunset is hard to top. The room and the ocean view was perfect. The bed and pillows were yummy-and the best I have found. The grounds are spectacular-orchids and waterfalls everywhere. I would recommend this to everyone & happily plan another visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Lots of options - good food, friendly staff.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Husband and Lover
Business
Ohio
May 3, 2012

Great time!

My wife and I really enjoyed our time at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marglane
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Fans for life!

This was our 2nd stay at The Fairmont Orchid and won't be our last! The staff here is amazing and the grounds are fantastic! It's the perfect place to get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life and just relax! Can't wait to come back! Thanks for a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you're watching your funds a bit and find the dining on the grounds a bit expensive you can take about a mile walk down to the small grocery store. It has everything you would need for a snack, lunch or casual dinner. We saved a little money getting some of our meals there and the food was really good.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hwtraveler
Business
Southern California
Feb 27, 2012

Family Trip with Teens

Hotel was nice and clean. The rooms were modern and spacious. The bell staff was great. The property is in a nice location. We traveled here when the kids were younger and really enjoyed the lagoon but the kids are teens now and wanted more of a water sports beach. Snorkeling was good. No surfing or boogie boarding. Sports rentals (paddle boards and kayaks) were limited to use in the small lagoon area. Pool is very nice. We were moved around on the beach and at the pool a number of times due to corporate events. You might want to check the corporate event schedule before you book. The pool deck got quite crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

You can walk to the Canoe House at the Mana Lani. Great food and views to enjoy.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jfmanhattan
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Dec 26, 2011

Great family vacation spot

The Fairmont is great! The beach right in front of the hotel is perfect for kids all ages. It is like a swimming pool: no waves. My 2-year old son could stay in the water by himself, and my 8-year old daughter could go snorkeling too (we even saw turtles!) The staff is very courteous. I made a mistake in my checkout date and they were able to accommodate a late checkout. The food at the hotel is very good, although a bit pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Roy's Restaurant

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yzhuge
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Dec 18, 2011

Lovely escape!

Located in Waikoala, which is about an hour north of Kona, it's located at a nice area between Kohala (north Big Island with mountains), and Kona. The hotel is beautiful, and there are numerous activities, like canoing, snorkeling with turtles, and luaus. The food is also very good. Located very close to Waikoala Beach Drive, where there are other shops and food options. Rooms are very comfortable. The compound is open and breezy and the staff is helpful. A perfect place to get away from it all!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Mauna Kea Summit Adventures picks up 10 minutes away from the hotel, and is a great tour to see an amazing sunset, stars, and an old volcano.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PPPS
Business
Medford, OR
Dec 14, 2011

Love this hotel and property

From the moment we walked into the lobby, our vacation was perfect! The staff, hotel and grounds are wonderful. Every one of the hotel employees was friendly and helpful. The rooms were updated, clean, and had very comfortable beds. I would definitely come back for another vacation. I highly recommend this property for a relaxing get away. You don't even have to leave the grounds for anything...it's all right there. We went to the King's Gathering Luau, and were blown away by the delicious food, and excellent entertainment. It was the best luau we've been to in the islands (and we've been to lots of them). And again, you don't have to leave the resort to see it. Wonderful place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast buffet in the Orchid Court is fabulous! They have a wonderful selection of fresh fruits, island cuisine, and omelete station, not to mention the freshly baked pastries. It was a delight to get up in the morning and walk to such a wonderful breakfast!

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tony P00
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Dec 2, 2011

Fairmont Orchid Stay

My wife and I loved our stay here. They were very accommodating to us for our requests and the staff was generally pleasant and friendly. The grounds are beautiful, well manicured and feel comfortably classy. Everything felt well done and not at all about being gaudy and resort-esque. As an added bonus, green sea turtles often cruise their little rocky bay/beach. Great for a quick snorkeling trip- especially for kids. Our only complaints were that our shower never quite got hot, and that Kohala and Waikoloa are a 45 minute drive from activities based in Kailua-Kona. Our complaints were pretty minor and our 6 day stay felt way too short. We already miss it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top