Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 14, 2015 Check-out: Jun 16, 2015

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

5 stars
View map of One North Kaniku Drive, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dominika and Angel
Business
California
Sep 18, 2012

Aloha!!!

Awsome! We really enjoyed our stay. Fantastic location. A hui hou! Everything was just perfect except the parking prices!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

You've got to see the Green Sand Beach. Accessible only with a 4 by 4! Don't let the path discourage you. The view is worth it. You can do it! (Good luck ! :I ). Ah, and the helicopter trip to see the volcano/island is a MUST!

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pong family
Business
diamond bar, ca
Sep 6, 2012

fantastic family getaway

This was the best hotel we've ever stayed at in in Hawaii. The whole family snorkeling everyday. We saw a variety of fish including turtles, eels, and my favorite puffer fish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

snorkeling

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lanigirl
Business
Mililani, HI, USA
Aug 30, 2012

great anniversary stay

Loved every minute of our stay! We were pleasantly surprised to find out our room came with daily breakfast buffet which was delicious. Great variety. Will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tourist
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 10, 2012

Family Vacation

Quintessential luxurious Hawaiian resort. Stunning. Beachfront pool and restaurants from which to admire the view and watch the sunset. White sand beach steps away from pool with calm waters to laze, snorkel, and stare out onto the turquoise blue Pacific waters, Sea Turtles, and Maui in the distance. Pool attendants take your drink and food orders so you don't have to lift a finger. Paved walking path along the ocean for a leisurely stroll. State Park directly adjacent to resort also has a walking path. Convenient to grocery store and lovely shops. Room (2 queens), 2 sinks in bath, bathtub shower and standing shower, garden view, was quiet, immaculate, and lovely. Shops within resort were not overly pricey which was a nice surprise. Highly recommend this property for honeymoon or family getaway. A real treasure. Negatives: Charges for self-parking, WiFi, and beach/pool Cabana rental. Birds flocking around tables at breakfast buffet made the meal unappetizing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Poolside delicatessen at resort was nifty and yummy.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bay Area Travelers
Business
San Francisco, California
Jul 3, 2012

Near Perfect

First, the good stuff -- the hotel property is postcard perfect, thestaff are friendly and helpful, the mango margaritas are addictive, the spa services are top-notch and the small, beach is a rarity on the Big Island. But, there's room for improvement. Unless you plan never to leave the hotel, you'll need a car. Parking at the Fairmont is not cheap (or free like other hotels on the island) -- $17 for self-parking and $22 for valet parking per day. Food, drinks and just about any service that you would want also come with a big price tag. Lastly, walking in the hallways is like stepping into a freezer. Walk fast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Notworthstaying
Business
San Diego
Jun 28, 2012

Not luxury. Event/wedding hotel. Very poor customer service.

Either a corporate event or wedding (sometimes two a day) happened at the hotel - which meant music all night, part of the pool closed off or decking around the pool. Most of the staff was just not unfriendly but actually mean. Location was fine but there are hotels nicer to choose from with better beaches right next door - Mauna Lani or Mauna Kea. Absolutely not worth the price - we stayed at the Marriot in Waikoloa a few years ago and the service, rooms, beach and services was way superior = huge disappointment. Also very few rooms have a direct ocean view...partial means if you sit on your balcony and look at a angle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
momof03
Business
Glendora
Jun 18, 2012

Beautiful quiet retreat

We loved this hotel! Our room was on the 'garden view' but on the bottom floor, so was a quick walk to the beach/bay. Our 3 kids were in the room 2 rooms over. We had no one in the room in-between, so it worked well. We sat on our porch every nite & relaxed after daily kayaking,snorkeling & hiking. We loved the local turtles in the bay. Staff was friendly & helpful. Food/drinks too expensive though. But It was a wonderful stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop for groceries & pre-made food at Foodland Farms. Gas/groceries also at Costco.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nancy from Denver
Business
Denver, Co
May 13, 2012

Wonderful!

This hotel has it all! The beach and snorkeling was great. The pool and hot tub wonderful. Every staff person was friendly and very helpful. Dinner on the beach at sunset is hard to top. The room and the ocean view was perfect. The bed and pillows were yummy-and the best I have found. The grounds are spectacular-orchids and waterfalls everywhere. I would recommend this to everyone & happily plan another visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Lots of options - good food, friendly staff.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Husband and Lover
Business
Ohio
May 3, 2012

Great time!

My wife and I really enjoyed our time at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marglane
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Fans for life!

This was our 2nd stay at The Fairmont Orchid and won't be our last! The staff here is amazing and the grounds are fantastic! It's the perfect place to get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life and just relax! Can't wait to come back! Thanks for a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you're watching your funds a bit and find the dining on the grounds a bit expensive you can take about a mile walk down to the small grocery store. It has everything you would need for a snack, lunch or casual dinner. We saved a little money getting some of our meals there and the food was really good.

Back to menu Return to top