Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

5 stars
One North Kaniku Drive, Kohala Coast, HI 96743
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
119 reviews
Stay in Paradise!

We stayed at the Fairmont Orchid for 3 nights during our visit to the Big Island of Hawaii and we... See full review

  • KO in NYC
  • Jun 2, 2014
Excellent

This is a wonderful property. I would recommend that folks explore restaurants outside of the hotel... See full review

  • Kattglobal
  • Jun 2, 2014
Deluxe Waikoloa hotel with championship golf and beachfront dreamscape

Melt into tropical bliss at the 32-acre beachfront Fairmont Orchid Hawaii, in the upscale South Kohala community of Waikoloa. Situated on an aquamarine lagoon traced in sugar-white sand and coconut trees, guests need not ever leave the property to find paradise. Ten tennis courts, a 36-hole championship golf course and outdoor massages by a waterfall or the ocean offer plenty of ways to unwind.

  • Book a massage in a private cabana by a waterfall or the ocean, or book a private yoga or Pilates training session
  • Play at the 36-hole championship course, named one of the 75 Best Golf Resorts in North America by Golf Digest
  • Enjoy the white-sand beach, coconut-tree grove and glistening aquamarine lagoon, plus basking turtles

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii is less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona in the upscale community of Waikoloa. The hotel rests on a dreamy landscape of sugar-white sand, aquamarine water and rugged black lava rock, surrounded by championship golf courses.

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii features 540 guest rooms and suites, each with a private balcony, tailored furnishings and a view of gardens or ocean. Executive suites include a separate bedroom with French doors. All accommodations sport air conditioning, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), Fairmont bath amenities, bathrobes and 42-inch LCD flat-screen TV with media panel.

Guests at The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii have several dining choices. The award-winning Brown's Beach House offers romantic dining. At Norio's Japanese Restaurant and Sushi Bar, enjoy some of the Big Island's best sushi by a serene koi pond. Hale Kai offers casual fare in an outdoor setting.

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii tempts with a 10,000-square-foot swimming pool, 10 tennis courts and a 36-hole golf course. A 24-hour fitness center and full-service Spa Without Walls round out the amenities. The Keiki Aloha Children's Program entertains kids while parents are enjoying their own leisure time.

  • Kona International Airport (22.7 mi/36.6 km)
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (5.9 mi/9.6 km)
  • Hapuna Beach (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (20.8 mi/33.4 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (28.9 mi/46.5 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (48.6 mi/78.2 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (102 mi/164 km)

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii Rooms

Fairmont Room
Fairmont Rooms are spacious accommodations which offer a private lanai with a view of the gardens. Bed Type: one King, two Queen or two Double beds Size: 522 sq. ft.
Ocean View Room
Ocean View Rooms are spacious accommodations offering a private lanai. There is a partial angled ocean view from the room and the lanai. Bed Type: One King, two Queen or two Double beds Size: 522 sq. ft.
Partial Ocean View Room
Partial Ocean View rooms are spacious accommodations offering a private lanai. There is a partial angled ocean view from the lanai. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds. 522 sq. ft.
Signature Ocean Front Room
Signature Ocean Front rooms are spacious rooms with a spectacular view of the ocean and a spacious private lanai. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds. 522 sq. ft.
Executive Suite Garden View
The Executive Suite Garden View offer luxurious accommodation and a view of the gardens. The bedroom closes off from the living room with French doors and includes a full bathroom with separate shower and water closet. There are also two large closets, a television and private lanai with patio furniture. Located off the bedroom is an alcove with a writing desk. The living room offers a Queen sofabed, easy chairs, another writing desk and a full stereo system with a CD player (CDs not provided). There is a half bathroom off the living room, as well as a second private lanai with patio furniture. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds. 1050 sq.ft.
Executive Suite Ocean View
The Executive Suite Ocean View offer luxurious accommodation and a view of the Pacific Ocean. The bedroom closes off from the living room with French doors. Also included is a full bathroom with separate shower and water closet, in addition to a bathtub with second shower. There are two large closets, a television and private lanai with patio furniture. Also, off the bedroom is an alcove with a writing desk. The living room offers a Queen sofabed, easy chairs, another writing desk and a full stereo system with CD player (CDs not provided). There is a half bathroom off the living room, as well as a second private lanai with patio furniture. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds; Queen sofabed in living room. 1050 sq.ft.
Oceanfront Suite
One-bedroom Oceanfront Suites offer spectacular panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean from the bedroom, living room and both private lanais. This spacious, elegant suite includes a parlor that is separated from the bedroom by classic French doors. The sofa bed in the living room pulls out for extra sleeping space. Also in the living room is a separate powder room, and the bedroom includes a full master bathroom. Oceanfront Suites can connect to a spacious Oceanview Rooms to become a Two-Bedroom Oceanfront Suite. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds; Queen sofabed in living room. 1,477 square feet or 2,144 square feet with the connecting Oceanview room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.9511 -155.8595
Area served
Kohala Coast Big Island, HI
Nearby airports
Kona/Keahole Airport
Area description
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is situated beachfront on the northwestern coast in Mauna Lani resort area of the "Big Island" of Hawaii. Located a 30-minute drive from the Kona/Keahole International Airport. Only 40 minutes to the quaint town of Kona where guests can find shopping and nightlife.

Dining

The Orchid Court
Hours of Operation: Open Daily 6:30 a.m.-10:30 a.m. Dress Code: Resort attire. Cover ups and footwear required. The Orchid Court serves the best breakfast on the island, offering a sumptuous buffet daily and a tempting selection of la carte items from the menu, perfect for the dawn patrol or late risers alike. The Orchid Court offers both indoor and outdoor terrace seating.
Brown's Beach House
Hours of Operation: Dinner nightly 5:30 p.m.-8:30 p.m., on Tuesdays and Wednesdays until 9:00 pm Dress Code: Resort attire. Footwear required. Award-winning Brown's Beach House is the place for the quintessential island dining experience, located just steps from shore, featuring island-inspired cuisine with the best ingredients available locally. Clean, exciting flavors with an emphasis on super-fresh seafood prevail on the dinner menu. Reservations recommended.
Hale Kai Restaurant
Hours of Operation: Open daily from 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Dress Code: Casual resort attire. In Hawai`i, eating is a time of pleasure and enjoying our `ohana rather than simply taking nourishment. Hale Kai is the perfect venue for a most refreshing afternoon, sunset or evening family dinner. The Hale Kai Restaurant is located near the entrance to Brown's Beach House.
Luana Lounge
Hours of Operation: Open Nightly from 5:00 p.m. - Midnight Dress Code: Resort attire. Footwear required. In Hawaiian, "Luana" may be explained as "to be at leisure, enjoy pleasant surroundings and associates, live in comfort and ease, enjoy oneself, relax . . . be content." Enjoy a leisurely afternoon or evening here with your favorite tropical libation, nibble from a delectable pupu (appetizer) menu and relax in comfortable furnishings surrounding by local Big Island art and the glorious Kohala Sunset near the main lobby.
Norio's Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Hours of Operation: Thursday - Monday 5:30 - 9:00 p.m. Dress Code: Resort attire. Footwear required. A favorite among guests, visitors and locals alike, Norio's Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar is located alongside a serene koi pond on the garden level. The 60-seat restaurant features a 14-seat sushi bar and an 18-seat private dining room. The new menu reflects contemporary Japanese cuisine with items such as Hamachi and Avocado Sashimi, Beef Tenderloin Carpaccio and A5 Wagyu Ribe Eye Steak plus tantalizing traditional items like Miso Marinated Black Cod and Pan Seared Hawaiian Abalone topped with Uni Emulsion on Truffle Mash.
Kahakai Bar
Hours of Operation: Seasonally Open Daily until dusk. Dress Code: Casual resort attire. Kahakai means 'beach' in Hawaiian and this new beachside bar features a Polynesian-style thatched roof, refreshing trade winds and billion dollar views of Mauna Kea and the blue Pacific. A variety of tropical libations and mouth-watering pupus (appetizers) are served.
Brown's Deli
Hours of Operation: Daily 6:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Find this get-it-to-go restaurant options at the center of everything -- behind Brown's Beach House Restaurant, steps from the pool and Hale Kai Restaurant. Brown's Deli offers breakfast and lunch items delicatessen style with an island flair plus your favorite beverages to enjoy at outdoor tables or wander down to the beach. They'll even pack meals to take on the plane for a healthy alternative. A great place to pick up food gifts to take home with every item made either on the Big Island or in the state of Hawaii, i.e., Volcano Honey, Chocolate, Taro Chips and more.
In-Room Dining
Hours of Operation: Available daily from 6:00 a.m. to Midnight. In-Room Dining at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is not just another meal - it is the ultimate experience in convenience and comfort. Perfect for early-risers, a romantic dinner for two, night-time munchies or small gatherings, you can chose from signature gourmet dishes or hearty 'just like home' selections without having to leave the comfort of your room. Available daily from 6:00 a.m. until Midnight. Hoku Lani, "Dining Under the Stars," is served oceanfront at our Pacific Terrace, complete with tiki torches and your own private servers. This lavish four-course dinner offers a truly beautiful and romantic dining experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hwtraveler
Southern California
Feb 27, 2012

Family Trip with Teens

Hotel was nice and clean. The rooms were modern and spacious. The bell staff was great. The property is in a nice location. We traveled here when the kids were younger and really enjoyed the lagoon but the kids are teens now and wanted more of a water sports beach. Snorkeling was good. No surfing or boogie boarding. Sports rentals (paddle boards and kayaks) were limited to use in the small lagoon area. Pool is very nice. We were moved around on the beach and at the pool a number of times due to corporate events. You might want to check the corporate event schedule before you book. The pool deck got quite crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

You can walk to the Canoe House at the Mana Lani. Great food and views to enjoy.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D the explorer
Santa Monica, CA
Jul 15, 2014

Beautiful location

Really beautiful location. Perfect orientation for sunsets - they are right there in front of you. The rooms are mostly at angles to the ocean though - even most of the ocean view room. The cove is an amazing place for kids. We saw turtles in the water and sleeping on shore every day. Nice pool but there is only one large one - there is no kids specific pool. Staff was really nice. Food at the restaurants we ate at was ok. There are some other good options near by. Would definitely stay there again in the future

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Napua restaurant has a beautiful and really good food

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KO in NYC
New York
Jun 2, 2014

Stay in Paradise!

We stayed at the Fairmont Orchid for 3 nights during our visit to the Big Island of Hawaii and we had a great experience! The hotel is one of the nicest 4 star hotels that I've ever seen (and definitely seems to be reaching for the 5th star#. The stay was for the end of our trip #2 nights in Hilo before to see the Volcano Park# and we were looking to do some relaxing and a little more exploring. The room we got was "partial ocean view" which was pretty accurate. However, the view of the perfectly manicured property and pool was still beautiful and relaxing. The property was quiet and really what you would expect from a relaxing luxury resort. The pool was probably the nicest I have seen and huge but tranquil. There are trees and streams and waterfalls all over the property. The beach is small but perfect for a dip and the snorkeling was amazing! We had it include with our resort fee and even if it was not I would recommend paying for it. We saw tons of brightly colored large fish of all varieties and sea turtles! The other equipment rentals are expensive unless you are there long enough to make the $75 per week worth it. The room was perfect with small terrace. The bathroom was exquisite with 2 showers #perfect for a couple to have their own space!# and 2 sinks. The hotel rate was definitely worth the hotel stay. The only thing that was expensive was food on the resort in the restaurants. Tip - buy breakfast from the snack bar by the pool instead of the restaurant. Better Tip - order the Lobster Fried Rice from the poolside restaurant for lunch or dinner - never had better - was worth the $35! This is a bit further from the resorts in Kona town #30 min?# but not a bad location and sites are a quick drive away on the island. #There is no nightlife at the hotel.) I would definitely stay here again for some relaxation!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kattglobal
Newton, Ma
Jun 2, 2014

Excellent

This is a wonderful property. I would recommend that folks explore restaurants outside of the hotel for more variety and value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ed and Kris
Lake Forest, CA
May 26, 2014

Will never book Fairmont again.

Go to Kauai and stay at the Grand Hyatt, much better place and island. Fairmont Orchid stay: 1) wifi is $13.50 per day. Needless to say, I went to the local Starbucks for wifi. 2) Bathroom not clean, looked like mold on the shower head and some on the walls. 3) tried to book a bungalow on the beach for the next day. I had a total miscommunication with the staff. The next day, they showed me two lounge chairs with a cover. I told the staff, this is not what I wanted. So, I tried to resolve the issue with a manager. I was told nothing could be done. I'm so sorry. Later..., a call to the room, the manager said she could fix the problem. I went to the beach house, the staff there were not informed, I was done. Horrible experience. Unprofessional. Not on the spot to resolve issues. 4) My bath towel had holes in it! Wow not 5 star to me... 5) air conditioning broke for the evening and night. Hawaii is very humid. They offered complementary snowcones as comphensation . Can you believe snow cones! Wow, it blows my mind! Did I say snow cones... 6) The breakfast buffet had covers on the Italian cold cuts, the covers didn't keep the flies out. very disgusting! I would not recommend this place to anybody. I would have been better off at a motel 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For breakfast drive about 17 miles north east to the Hawaiian Style Cafe. Awesome place, better food and half price. Nothing better is closer.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Momma Falcone
Bellingham, WA
Mar 11, 2014

Wonderful Stay

The beach here is wonderful. Although on the small side, it was never crowded. It was very protected so even on rough surf days we were able to snorkel and see colorful fish and even swam with turtles! The hotels is great with beautiful gardens, tranquility and was never loud or crowded. A very peaceful, relaxing oasis in north Kona!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Tommy Bahama's was a surprisingly great dining experience. The drinks were some of the best we had on the island and the meal was delicious! Definitely recommend Tommy Bahama's in the shopping center just before Fairmont Orchid!

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jeanmatt
san francisco
Aug 30, 2013

The Fairmont Orchid HI - stayed in August

The Best Resort we have ever stayed and we plan to visit every year here.. The place is huge and Awesome!! The easy relaxing Beach & Lagoon ....the sea turtles and fish were amazing! No need really to leave the resort except to eat out as dining is expensive there. All in all we Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The Lagoon filled with Sea Turtles & fish...not too far from the beach shore.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mixed
Bay Area
Aug 20, 2013

Overrated

Too expensive and they treat a package reservation with little or no appreciation. They also nickel and dime you for everything including $17 to self-park with very expensive food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Garcia3
San Gabriel, California
Aug 12, 2013

Great family vacation resort

This was a great resort with very friendly and helpful staff. The room was excellent as we're all of the facilities. The environment was family oriented. Great heated pool with plenty of lounge shares. Overall, great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JU LO
San Antonio, TX
Jul 14, 2013

GREAT HOTEL NOT TOO FAR FROM ACTIVITIES

This was a first class hotel experience. The check-in was smooth although we wish the front desk clerk had told us there was a hotel luau the day we checked in. We did not know and would have gone had we known. The drive from KOA is misleading. You come out of the airport and it seems like a deserted planet strewn with lava. However, once you get to the drive to the hotel, the landscaping is first rate. Tips: join the President's Club and get free wi-fi. I would also self-park. It is cheaper and you get to your car quicker. We did not eat at the restaurants other than have an appetizer and drinks which ran about $80. The only thing that marred our trip was that we went out the morning of check-out and came back before check-out time. We were locked out of our room and we had to wait for security to let us in. No explanation as to why it happened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Monstera which is a short drive from The Fairmont Orchid. Great Japanese food. Reservations are recommended because the food is so good and the prices very reasonable for Hawaii.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
30 Years BFFs
Bay Area, California
May 21, 2013

Highly recommend without hesitation

This is a great hotel resort and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone. We were told that the rooms had been recently renovated and ours was in perfect condition with a lovely view of the ocean and a waterfall just outside our linai. The beds are extremely comfortable. The staff was absolutely great, very friendly with the special Hawaiian touch. I stay at a lot of hotels, traveling often for business and I can honestly say that this is by far one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed at. The Spa Without Walls is a great experience - getting your massage right in front of the ocean with the sounds of the waves crashing against the rocks, the breeze against the palm trees and the birds singing is the one of the great things that this hotel has to offer. We loved the fact that the hotel has a very large pool (it never felt crowded) and direct beach access with a lagoon and nice sandy beach. The lagoon beach is not very large but it was not at all crowded during our stay so we always had our own space. Off to the left of the lagoon beach, there is a more private beach (some sand & somewhat rocky) where you really feel off of your own. The hotel offers free shuttle service to restaurants and shops within the resort area. Nice if you want to pick up some groceries or have dinner and drinks without taking your own car. If you are looking for a place where you can get some serious R&R then this is it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is located within the Mauna Lani resort area. They provide a free shuttle within the resort area which has several restaurants, shops and a small food market.

Back to menu Return to top