Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 14, 2016 Check-out: Mar 17, 2016

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
View map of 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
57 reviews
Great stay

Good location friendly staff clean rooms and grounds See full review

  • David O.
  • Jul 12, 2015
jarek

Great time in this hotel ,this is 3 times we visited ,very convenient location to North side and... See full review

  • jarek h.
  • Jan 14, 2015
This oceanfront resort offers guests contemporary island-inspired dcor, six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, a sparkling pool and stunning beachfront location. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. Oceanfront location and plantation-style charm make the Aston Islander on the Beach the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Free parking and high speed internet in all rooms available.

All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking.

Effective immediately, the pool and & spa at the Aston Islander on the Beach will be closed until November 21st to perform emergency tile and plaster work due to unforeseen circumstances. Note that during this time, guests will be able to use alternate pools at neighboring hotels (Kauai Shores and Kauai Coast). They will be required to check in with the front desk at both hotels and provide them with their name, unit number and check-out date to have access and use of the alternate pool. Pool towels are still being issued at the Aston Islander on the Beach so please advise guests to sign out for them at our front desk.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

22.0549 -159.3295
Area served
Kapaa-Kauai HI
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Municipal
Area description
Located adjacent to popular Coconut Marketplace for shopping and dining. Nearby recreational and leisure activities include, golfing, snorkeling, tennis and more.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Santa Monica, CA
Dec 29, 2010

Never recommend this hotel!

Room was very clean with very nice air-conditioning. Unfortunately, we should call or talk to hotel receptionist or representatives, and beg them until we get a minimum room service. Hotel representative were not welcoming and not friendly at all, they were very angry with a bad manner. Hardly answering my questions and not helpful at all. They were treating us like prisoners. Even bartender didn't have a good manner and wasn't welcoming.... never ever would like to see these people. We bought a Snorkel package from a hotel with "Napali Kauai Sea Tours", off course because of rain in two days, tours have been cancelled; but they notified us when we arrived there; although, they knew people have to drive several miles in early morning in the rain to get there. They didn't call us to cancel, in two days, even didn't answer the phone unless phones were coming 15 minutes before departure time!!! People have to drive almost 30 minutes to one hour in early morning in rain to get there. I'm so unhappy and never ever recommend or trust this tour!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hammondo
Couples
Seattle
Jan 21, 2013

too many screw ups

terrific venue, staff very courteous, great location, nice amenities BUT: the hotel lost one night of our stay, had to produce our itinerary to get this resolved, also the hotel charged my credit card for an amount they were to charge to the agency. Had to spend over an hour on the phone to get this resolved AND was told it would take 5 to 7 days to get the charges reversed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do your homework - you do NOT have to use a tour agency to visit most, possibly ALL, attractions.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
joe128653
Couples
Honolulu
Feb 23, 2010

Aston islander on the beach

The hotel loction and the room were good but the front desk staff are horrible, we dealt with three different persons and all were the same, no one smiles, no one knows how to say " you welcome" and all were so not friendly. They really need intensive customer service class... if you stop by any gas station you'd get better customer service than we received in the Aston Islander on the Beach!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Good location

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Ohio
Aug 28, 2010

Bugs! Ahhhh!

The hotel's location was good, right on the beach (although unswimmable). When we went to our room for the first time, there was an overwhelming smell of bug spray. We thought nothing of it at first. Later that night, on two separate occasions we saw cockroaches. The next morning, we informed the hotel staff of our findings. The woman basically blamed it on us, which is weird since obviously it had been a problem before, hence the bug spray smell. She not so kindly gave us a new room. However, no one helped us with our luggage. The hotel is three floors and 7 different buildings with no elevators. So we packed up and trucked our luggage (for a nine day stay) down 3 flights of stairs, walked to another building, and up 3 flights of stairs. Not what you want to be doing on your vacation, let alone your honeymoon. Needless to say, this new room had a few cockroaches as well, we informed the hotel staff, but didn't move this time. We felt whichever room we went to we would have this problem. One other thing, parking is awful. For the number of hotel rooms at the hotel, there wasn't even enough parking spaces for half of the rooms to have one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sn
Couples
switzland
Oct 28, 2009

kapaa

- good location - noisy rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Sydney NSW, Australia
Oct 29, 2011

25th Anniversary Getaway

Not a bad place except for the parking. Once you had parked your car you didn't want to move your car in fear that you wouldn't find another one. Which put a dampener on the exploration of the island. Grounds were well kept but the buildings were in need of tender loving care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jkmk
Friends
Kent, OH, USA
Feb 12, 2012

average get away

location perfect needed more parking space !!!! lots of shops near by!!! beach is OK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Overworked
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
May 8, 2012

Vacation in the Garden Island

The staff was friendly. Rooms were clean and the hotel is not to far from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BigEngineer
Family
Los Angeles
Aug 29, 2012

Fantastic family getaway

Nice Location. Great view for ocean front room. excellent free DVD rental service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Garganuan
Couples
Eldridge, Missouri
Jan 22, 2013

The Island was beautiful

It really did not have a beach for swimming. the mattres was lumpy and old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

You need a car for the island

Back to menu Return to top