Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
887 reviews
Great place!

We got derailed from our camping plans due to rain & lucked out getting a room here. The staff is... See full review

  • MGray
  • Feb 23, 2014
Wonderful stay.

Room was as described. Nice partial ocean view. Easy access to the beach. Two double beds. Quite... See full review

  • Dog 22
  • Nov 18, 2013
Utterly relaxing condo haven on the east shore of Kauai
Vacationers looking for nice, affordable beachfront digs in one of the top locations on Kauai will find much to love at Aston Islander on the Beach. Low-key and peaceful, the resort sits on six landscaped acres along a strand of golden sand. Strolling the beach and lounging poolside are pleasant ways to while away vacation days, and sunrise doesn't get much better. Grills are available for guests and the hotel rooms and one-bedroom suites offer home-away-from-home conveniences. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace has dozens of shops and restaurants.
Highlights
  • Relaxed oceanfront setting
  • Walking distance to Coconut Marketplace
  • Free in-room Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
Location
Kauai's Coconut Coast is the most central and convenient for vacationers who want to explore all that the Garden Isle has to offer -- which is to say, a lot. Aston Islander on the Beach is located almost mid-way between Waimea Canyon to the west and the riveting cliffs and dramatic topography of the Na Pali coast to the north. Poipu Beach is about 15 miles southwest. The eastern shore has its own compelling sights, too. Peaceful Wailua River, Wailua Falls, and Kauai Backcountry Adventure's Lihue tubing are just a short drive away.
Rooms
Teak furnishings, private lanais, air conditioning and free Internet access give accommodations an inviting island ambiance with contemporary appeal. Aston Islander on the Beach offers 198 units -- hotel rooms to one-bedroom suites -- in the low-rise, walk-up buildings set around the pleasant property.
Features
The beach at Aston Islander on the Beach is perfect for strolling and sunning and the pool is a peaceful respite from the frenetic world. But sports, sights and restaurants are nearby, allowing guests to choose how to spend their time. Lydgate Beach Park, for example, draws swimmers and snorkelers of all ages to its protected, sandy lagoon, and nearby Wailua Golf Course was named by Golf Digest as one Hawaii's 15 best courses.
Dining
There are no on-site restaurant but grills on property offer family cookouts. Guests can walk to restaurants at Coconut Marketplace.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/10 km)
Attractions
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5 mi/8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.4 mi/50.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (36.9 mi/59.4 km)
Business
Complimentary Internet access in rooms keeps working guests connected.
Policies and fees
Aston Islander on the Beach is under roofing enhancement project until July 25. Work is from Monday through Friday, 9am - 4pm. The project includes replacing the roof and lanai columns. Construction schedules will be staggered to minimize disruption. Guests will not be placed in buildings undergoing renovation.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

22.0549 -159.3295
Area served
Kapaa-Kauai HI
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Municipal
Area description
Located adjacent to popular Coconut Marketplace for shopping and dining. Nearby recreational and leisure activities include, golfing, snorkeling, tennis and more.

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (887)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
887 out of 887
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WorldBizTraveler
Germantown, MD
Jul 16, 2009

Worst Stay in A "Resort" Ever

Worst "resort" experience. We had to make the best of it. The only good thing there was the awesome cleaning lady (but she did miss all the ANTS that we had living with us for 4 days). They charge you for everything there, and it's basically a waste of money. We could have stayed in a MOTEL for BETTER rooms and service. They just remodeled?? Right...... Nothing special here. I booked this for our honeymoon, and what a big disappointment this was. The fridge worked well, horrible selection of TV channels... no DVD player in rooms or anything. Don't Ever go here.. you'll regret it... You might as well stay at the BEST WESTERN -- 100ft away, that probably offers you more in a room (free internet probably IN ROOM), probably has well sealed rooms for privacy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Always get a rental car... We searched all over Kauai.. the cheapest way to get a car is to go through Thrifty... you can get some really good rates there.. We payed like 20 dollars a day. Don't let people sell you on more.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Monica, CA
Dec 29, 2010

Never recommend this hotel!

Room was very clean with very nice air-conditioning. Unfortunately, we should call or talk to hotel receptionist or representatives, and beg them until we get a minimum room service. Hotel representative were not welcoming and not friendly at all, they were very angry with a bad manner. Hardly answering my questions and not helpful at all. They were treating us like prisoners. Even bartender didn't have a good manner and wasn't welcoming.... never ever would like to see these people. We bought a Snorkel package from a hotel with "Napali Kauai Sea Tours", off course because of rain in two days, tours have been cancelled; but they notified us when we arrived there; although, they knew people have to drive several miles in early morning in the rain to get there. They didn't call us to cancel, in two days, even didn't answer the phone unless phones were coming 15 minutes before departure time!!! People have to drive almost 30 minutes to one hour in early morning in rain to get there. I'm so unhappy and never ever recommend or trust this tour!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 18, 2008

You get what you pay for

The grounds and lobby area of this hotel were pretty well maintained but the rooms were not. We were put in a room that had really dirty sheets, so we asked to be moved. The next room was not much better because we found a cockroach in the bathroom! The sheets and towels were so thin, like they had been reused too many times or just of the poorest quality. They also had very small bottles of shampoo and lotion, and did not replace them until our 4th day here! Ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Arashh
Hawaii, USA
Apr 1, 2012

Medium hotel

We didn't have hot water for 3 days, and the power was gone for one whole day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are some dining places in Kappa close to hotel by Foodland and Safeway.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rangeer Rick
Long Beach
Jun 7, 2013

Construction Zone

The Islander was undergoing major reconsruction. There was consruction equipment every where. My first floor room ratio looked out on bare ground littered with netting covering construction materials. There was no view. . There was construction noise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 18, 2008

You get what you pay for

The grounds and lobby area of this hotel were pretty well maintained but the rooms were not. We were put in a room that had really dirty sheets, so we asked to be moved. The next room was not much better because we found a cockroach in the bathroom! The sheets and towels were so thin, like they had been reused too many times or just of the poorest quality. They also had very small bottles of shampoo and lotion, and did not replace them until our 4th day here! Ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 29, 2008

Great location

They cleaned our room they didn't bring us tolet paper, and we had to call the desk at 5:30 am and request tolet paper, 2 days later, housekeeping did not clean our room, we called the front desk and they told us we would have to talk to housekeeping the next morning. We didn't do this because we were leaving that day, we asked for a late checkout for our flight out was at 9:30, and they refused saying the room was already rented. I felt like the natives were very resentful toward the mainlanders, they simply did not like us. I would not stay in this hotel again. If you left a night, when you came back there was no parking, we had to park at the mall across the street. I don't think I would visit this Island again, It was not a good experiende.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WorldBizTraveler
Germantown, MD
Jul 16, 2009

Worst Stay in A "Resort" Ever

Worst "resort" experience. We had to make the best of it. The only good thing there was the awesome cleaning lady (but she did miss all the ANTS that we had living with us for 4 days). They charge you for everything there, and it's basically a waste of money. We could have stayed in a MOTEL for BETTER rooms and service. They just remodeled?? Right...... Nothing special here. I booked this for our honeymoon, and what a big disappointment this was. The fridge worked well, horrible selection of TV channels... no DVD player in rooms or anything. Don't Ever go here.. you'll regret it... You might as well stay at the BEST WESTERN -- 100ft away, that probably offers you more in a room (free internet probably IN ROOM), probably has well sealed rooms for privacy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Always get a rental car... We searched all over Kauai.. the cheapest way to get a car is to go through Thrifty... you can get some really good rates there.. We payed like 20 dollars a day. Don't let people sell you on more.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 29, 2008

Great location

They cleaned our room they didn't bring us tolet paper, and we had to call the desk at 5:30 am and request tolet paper, 2 days later, housekeeping did not clean our room, we called the front desk and they told us we would have to talk to housekeeping the next morning. We didn't do this because we were leaving that day, we asked for a late checkout for our flight out was at 9:30, and they refused saying the room was already rented. I felt like the natives were very resentful toward the mainlanders, they simply did not like us. I would not stay in this hotel again. If you left a night, when you came back there was no parking, we had to park at the mall across the street. I don't think I would visit this Island again, It was not a good experiende.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ukulele player
Santa Barbara area- Ca
Oct 7, 2010

good and not so good

We were at the hotel for 5 nites for our 50th wedding aniversary, I asked at the desk when we checked in if there was a possibility to get an ocean view or ocean front room for our special anniversary of 50 years, since they were not full occupancy- and was told it would cost an additional $$$$$$$$$$$$$ I would have thought they could accomadate us, but no. Also the sheets were not changed during the time we were there. They do not do dishes in the kitchenette area. Unsafe swimming beach and no fitness center. No music or entertainment in evenings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top