Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 5, 2014 Check-out: Dec 7, 2014

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
532 reviews
Nice and clean, free parking

Very nice place to stay in. We had an ocean view room which was amazing for having breakfast on the... See full review

  • Sofiene B
  • Oct 22, 2014
Great location

This hotel was a great location to explore the island. It was clean and the staff was great. The... See full review

  • Newest
  • Sep 9, 2014
Utterly relaxing condo haven on the east shore of Kauai
Vacationers looking for nice, affordable beachfront digs in one of the top locations on Kauai will find much to love at Aston Islander on the Beach. Low-key and peaceful, the resort sits on six landscaped acres along a strand of golden sand. Strolling the beach and lounging poolside are pleasant ways to while away vacation days, and sunrise doesn't get much better. Grills are available for guests and the hotel rooms and one-bedroom suites offer home-away-from-home conveniences. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace has dozens of shops and restaurants.
Highlights
  • Relaxed oceanfront setting
  • Walking distance to Coconut Marketplace
  • Free in-room Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
Location
Kauai's Coconut Coast is the most central and convenient for vacationers who want to explore all that the Garden Isle has to offer -- which is to say, a lot. Aston Islander on the Beach is located almost mid-way between Waimea Canyon to the west and the riveting cliffs and dramatic topography of the Na Pali coast to the north. Poipu Beach is about 15 miles southwest. The eastern shore has its own compelling sights, too. Peaceful Wailua River, Wailua Falls, and Kauai Backcountry Adventure's Lihue tubing are just a short drive away.
Rooms
Teak furnishings, private lanais, air conditioning and free Internet access give accommodations an inviting island ambiance with contemporary appeal. Aston Islander on the Beach offers 198 units -- hotel rooms to one-bedroom suites -- in the low-rise, walk-up buildings set around the pleasant property.
Features
The beach at Aston Islander on the Beach is perfect for strolling and sunning and the pool is a peaceful respite from the frenetic world. But sports, sights and restaurants are nearby, allowing guests to choose how to spend their time. Lydgate Beach Park, for example, draws swimmers and snorkelers of all ages to its protected, sandy lagoon, and nearby Wailua Golf Course was named by Golf Digest as one Hawaii's 15 best courses.
Dining
There are no on-site restaurant but grills on property offer family cookouts. Guests can walk to restaurants at Coconut Marketplace.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/10 km)
Attractions
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5 mi/8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.4 mi/50.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (36.9 mi/59.4 km)
Business
Complimentary Internet access in rooms keeps working guests connected.
Policies and fees
  • The pool and spa at the Aston Islander on the Beach is closed until November 21, 2014 for tile and plaster works. During this time, guests will be able to use alternate pools at neighbouring hotels (Kauai Shores and Kauai Coast). Guests are required to check in at the front desk of both hotels and provide them with their name, unit number and check-out date to have access and use of the alternate pool. Pool towels are still being issued at the Aston Islander on the Beach.
  • The hotel is undergoing a Roofing Enhancement Project which includes installation of new railings and painting of building exteriors until 21 November 2014 (subject to change). Work will be done from Mondays to Fridays, 9 AM to 5 PM.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

22.0549 -159.3295
Area served
Kapaa-Kauai HI
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Municipal
Area description
Located adjacent to popular Coconut Marketplace for shopping and dining. Nearby recreational and leisure activities include, golfing, snorkeling, tennis and more.

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (532)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
532 out of 532
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Dec 29, 2010

Never recommend this hotel!

Room was very clean with very nice air-conditioning. Unfortunately, we should call or talk to hotel receptionist or representatives, and beg them until we get a minimum room service. Hotel representative were not welcoming and not friendly at all, they were very angry with a bad manner. Hardly answering my questions and not helpful at all. They were treating us like prisoners. Even bartender didn't have a good manner and wasn't welcoming.... never ever would like to see these people. We bought a Snorkel package from a hotel with "Napali Kauai Sea Tours", off course because of rain in two days, tours have been cancelled; but they notified us when we arrived there; although, they knew people have to drive several miles in early morning in the rain to get there. They didn't call us to cancel, in two days, even didn't answer the phone unless phones were coming 15 minutes before departure time!!! People have to drive almost 30 minutes to one hour in early morning in rain to get there. I'm so unhappy and never ever recommend or trust this tour!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Arashh
Business
Hawaii, USA
Apr 1, 2012

Medium hotel

We didn't have hot water for 3 days, and the power was gone for one whole day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are some dining places in Kappa close to hotel by Foodland and Safeway.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rangeer Rick
Business
Long Beach
Jun 7, 2013

Construction Zone

The Islander was undergoing major reconsruction. There was consruction equipment every where. My first floor room ratio looked out on bare ground littered with netting covering construction materials. There was no view. . There was construction noise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WorldBizTraveler
Business
Germantown, MD
Jul 16, 2009

Worst Stay in A "Resort" Ever

Worst "resort" experience. We had to make the best of it. The only good thing there was the awesome cleaning lady (but she did miss all the ANTS that we had living with us for 4 days). They charge you for everything there, and it's basically a waste of money. We could have stayed in a MOTEL for BETTER rooms and service. They just remodeled?? Right...... Nothing special here. I booked this for our honeymoon, and what a big disappointment this was. The fridge worked well, horrible selection of TV channels... no DVD player in rooms or anything. Don't Ever go here.. you'll regret it... You might as well stay at the BEST WESTERN -- 100ft away, that probably offers you more in a room (free internet probably IN ROOM), probably has well sealed rooms for privacy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Always get a rental car... We searched all over Kauai.. the cheapest way to get a car is to go through Thrifty... you can get some really good rates there.. We payed like 20 dollars a day. Don't let people sell you on more.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 29, 2008

Great location

They cleaned our room they didn't bring us tolet paper, and we had to call the desk at 5:30 am and request tolet paper, 2 days later, housekeeping did not clean our room, we called the front desk and they told us we would have to talk to housekeeping the next morning. We didn't do this because we were leaving that day, we asked for a late checkout for our flight out was at 9:30, and they refused saying the room was already rented. I felt like the natives were very resentful toward the mainlanders, they simply did not like us. I would not stay in this hotel again. If you left a night, when you came back there was no parking, we had to park at the mall across the street. I don't think I would visit this Island again, It was not a good experiende.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 18, 2008

You get what you pay for

The grounds and lobby area of this hotel were pretty well maintained but the rooms were not. We were put in a room that had really dirty sheets, so we asked to be moved. The next room was not much better because we found a cockroach in the bathroom! The sheets and towels were so thin, like they had been reused too many times or just of the poorest quality. They also had very small bottles of shampoo and lotion, and did not replace them until our 4th day here! Ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sn
Business
switzland
Oct 28, 2009

kapaa

- good location - noisy rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
joe128653
Business
Honolulu
Feb 23, 2010

Aston islander on the beach

The hotel loction and the room were good but the front desk staff are horrible, we dealt with three different persons and all were the same, no one smiles, no one knows how to say " you welcome" and all were so not friendly. They really need intensive customer service class... if you stop by any gas station you'd get better customer service than we received in the Aston Islander on the Beach!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Good location

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Aug 28, 2010

Bugs! Ahhhh!

The hotel's location was good, right on the beach (although unswimmable). When we went to our room for the first time, there was an overwhelming smell of bug spray. We thought nothing of it at first. Later that night, on two separate occasions we saw cockroaches. The next morning, we informed the hotel staff of our findings. The woman basically blamed it on us, which is weird since obviously it had been a problem before, hence the bug spray smell. She not so kindly gave us a new room. However, no one helped us with our luggage. The hotel is three floors and 7 different buildings with no elevators. So we packed up and trucked our luggage (for a nine day stay) down 3 flights of stairs, walked to another building, and up 3 flights of stairs. Not what you want to be doing on your vacation, let alone your honeymoon. Needless to say, this new room had a few cockroaches as well, we informed the hotel staff, but didn't move this time. We felt whichever room we went to we would have this problem. One other thing, parking is awful. For the number of hotel rooms at the hotel, there wasn't even enough parking spaces for half of the rooms to have one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Whatsup
Business
MN
Mar 13, 2012

Not that great!

This hotel was not that great. The room smelled very musty even after we turned on the air conditioner. The room cleanliness was also not great. I had to wipe down everything in the room since there was an inch of dust upon check in. They do have laundry facilities on site, however, they are very strict on when they open and close the room. They were down 1 washing machine and 2 dryers so you had to wait for machines. I had laundry in the dryer and was told to leave it so they could lock the door at 10pm. I would recommend staying in poipu for a much better experience. Better hotels and better restaraunts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top