Rate based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2014 Check-out: Apr 30, 2014

Maui Beach Hotel

2 stars
170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, HI 96732
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
126 reviews
Very happy guest!!!

Staff is great, the only thing is that I wish the hotel would be in Wailea, but certainly is... See full review

  • Seasoned traveler 2013
  • Feb 14, 2014
Business trip

Location was perfect for my business trip(Kahalui) , staff was very friendly and helpfull, and the... See full review

  • S Brown
  • Jan 16, 2014
Centrally located, value priced hotel near Kahului airport and harbor
A value priced low-rise hotel near Kahului Harbor and Maui's main airport, the Maui Beach Hotel is an ideal choice for visitors connecting to a cruise ship, stopping overnight on Maui or seeking a central base for exploring the island. The hotel has undergone an extensive renovation and features a lovely pool and sundeck area, as well as a restaurant and lounge. The hotel also offers free shuttle service to and from the airport, free area shuttle service, free parking, free fitness center access and free high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Free airport-hotel shuttle and free surrounding-area shuttle, as well as free parking
  • Easy access to Kahului Airport and Kahului Harbor
  • Free Internet access
  • Fitness center
Location
The Maui Beach Hotel is centrally located in Kahului, a few minutes from the island's main airport and ship harbor. Iao Needle, the historic Wailuku, Paia, Hookipa Beach, the Maui Arts & Cultural Center and Maui's main business district are all in the immediate area. Upcountry Maui and its most popular destination, the summit of Haleakala, also are easily accessible. A swimming beach is within several miles of the hotel.
Rooms
The renovated Maui Beach Hotel offers guests 147 island and continental d├ęcor rooms with free high-speed Internet access, cable TV, air conditioning, mini-refrigerator, iron, bathroom amenities and safe. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available.
Recreation
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
  • Free fitness center access
  • Outdoor massage treatments
Transportation
  • Kahului Harbor (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Kahului Airport (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • The hotel offers guests a free airport shuttle and a free five mile-radius area shuttle
Attractions
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (5 mi/8 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Lahaina Town (23.4 mi/37.7 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (38.3 mi/61.7 km)

Maui Beach Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and includes a bathtub . This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Standard Room
Standard guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access
Superior Deluxe Room
Superior-Deluxe guest rooms has a king bed or two double beds available, and includes a bathtub . This room is 330 sq ft in size and has a pull out sofa, iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Deluxe Ocean Front
Deluxe Oceanfront guest rooms has a king bed or two double beds available, includes a bathtub with an ocean view. This room is 330 sq ft in size and has a pull out sofa, iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV, and data port for internet access.
Garden View Room
Garden View guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and has a beautiful courtyard view. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Superior Room
Superior guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and is located on the second floor with a mountain view. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Oceanfront Suite
Oceanfront Suite has a queen bed available, includes a separate shower and bathtub with an ocean view. This room is 426 sq ft in size and has an iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV, and data port for internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maui Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.89 -156.4707
Area served
Kahului, HI
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG, 10 minutes away. Airport Shuttle runs daily from 6A-845P.
Area description
Situated on the shores of Kahului Bay, Maui Beach Hotel commands Maui's most convenient location in the heart of downtown Kahului, just minutes from Kahului Airport, shopping, beaches, and golf courses.

Dining

Rainbow Terrace
Enjoy casual poolside dining at the Rainbow Terrace on the second floor. The restaurant has an open atmosphere and serves breakfast daily from 6:30 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. Maui's best dinner buffets are featured nightly from 5:30 p.m. Sunday brunch is available from 10:00 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
126 out of 126
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
annabanana
Seattle, WA
Jul 26, 2011

Too little, too late.

[...] I will never stay here again. This is one instance where I would have preferred to stay at a chain hotel. That night I was woken up to the owner pounding on one of the outer doors for 20 minutes and the following night my electricity went out for several hours. The owners made an attempt at an apology on my second day stating that they have had problems with cheap tickets before, (not my problem however.)I am very disappointed with my experience and would have gone to another hotel if I had the option. The facility itself is very charming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
San Francisco
Jul 5, 2011

Hotel Staff Stole From Me

Everything about this hotel is substandard including the old, uncomfortable bed, tacky furnishings, noisy airconditioner and cheap linens. But the worse part is the attitude of the front desk staff. During my unexpected 4 day stay there while a relative was hospitalized down the street, I never once encountered an efficient, friendly, courteous or professional staff member. My reservations were repeatedly lost so I was forced to relocate to another room several times. I had purchased several perishable items to take to my hospitalized relative, which were promptly stolen out of the refrigerator in my room by the housekeeping staff. No apologies or restitution was offered, I couldn't even get the Manager to return my calls! It was noisy at night in the rooms and hallways and a large group of men were loitering in the parking lot late one night. I did not feel safe at all. And what hotel these days does not have free coffee on the premises. The Maui Beach does not offer it in the room or even in the lobby. However, you are allowed to purchase a cup from the front desk staff if you are lucky enough to get their attention behind the counter. This place is a rip off in more ways than one. If you do stay here, I recommend you don't leave anything that you mind having stolen from your room while you are out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Ventura, Ca
Jul 5, 2011

Maui Beach Hotel

The Hotel was very clean and the house keeping was very good.We did not eat there becahus neither one of us likes buffets.It is near the shopping center which was convient We have always stayed at the expensive resort hotels and never got out to see the Island.We never left the grounds but this time we got out to see the real Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The grounds are well kept and we had a great view.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
dianaprince
Business
long beach, ca
May 29, 2011

Pretty Good. Great for BusinessTravelers

I come to Hawaii for business twice a year, and this is the second time I've stayed at the Maui Beach Hotel. I will be staying again. There really is no budget type hotels on Hawaii, or non resort types, like Best Westerns or Hampton Inns,etc. They're all resort types. So it was really great to find this hotel, in the downtown area, good price. Staff is very accommodating and helpful. This is NOT a resort hotel, but they do have breakfast buffets, and dinner, and the food was excellent at both. It's nearby the places I need for business. I feel it's perfect for business travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a great Thai restaurant in the "Maui Mall" - more an outdoor strip mall -- where the Whole Foods is. "Thailand Cruisine" - Excellent. Won awards from Thailand. AND for a great nail salon, there's a salon in the same complex, across from the Thai restaurant. They do take walkins, but I'd call ahead because they're always packed. [...] is great there.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
wildtinman
Seattle, CA
May 10, 2011

Clean, simple, and convenient

Quick check-in and clean room. I just stayed overnight. It was Saturday night and there was some loud talking/laughing in the hall for about 2 hours, but subsided in time for sleeping. Bed was acceptable but pillows were hard lumps. Hotel grounds are nice to walk around on. Super convenient to anything in Kahului and surrounding area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The cruise ships come into the harbor right behind the hotel. Cool to watch. Just walk out into the lawn area and past the gazebo to the beach.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Vancouver
May 1, 2011

Good Value Good Location

Great Location near airport. Friendly helpful staff and good shuttle to and from airport Clean rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
RedLava
Business
Lanai City
Apr 22, 2011

Maui Beach Hotel, Kahului, Maui

Check in and out was easy and pleasant. The room AC was loud. Room was comfortable but small. Recent remodeling of the lobby area is nicely done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping at Kaahumanu Center across the street.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Henderson, NV
Apr 17, 2011

The almost good, bad & really ugly.

Unfriendly check in, lousey air condintioning, turned it off every time we left the room, food lousey. Was supposed to be free breakfast and had to pay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat somewhere else!

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Berlin, Germany
Mar 26, 2011

Maui Beach Hotel

We luckily got a room facing the inner court, which was fine as the hotel is surrounded by heavy traffic. The front desk service was the worst I experienced since many years in traveling. So the complementary flight check in doesn't exist any more, so the service handbook for the guests should be updated. Also the hotel should get rid of some their unfriendly employees at the reception. Simple unacceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping centers are in short distances, like Foodland, Safeway etc.. Also the central location of the hotel is ok, when you manage to get a quit room. Good luck.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Rawlins, Wyoming
Mar 24, 2011

Very nice friendly hotel on the bay

Room was clean and proper temperature for comfort. Restaurant for breakfast and dinner was very good (especially the fresh pineapple each day) Will definitely return here on next trip to Maui!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search

Hotel Map