Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Waikiki Resort Hotel

3 stars
View map of 130 Liliuokalani Ave, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Resort Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Bernardino, Ca
Mar 31, 2011

Always dependable....

This was my second visit to the Waikiki Resort Hotel. The last trip was 14 years ago. I did some research this time, and for the money, you can not beat it. Many other hotels in area are more expensive and have worse reviews. My favorite part of the hotel is the open lobby area to the front. The outside breeze just blows through and I actually like sitting in the lobby and just people watching. The rooms are basic but very clean. I paid $40 something to have wireless Internet for the week. The room did have a mini fridge and coffee maker. The shower/toliet area is kind of small, but you don't spend that much time in there anyway. It is nice to sit out on the balcony and enjoy the weather. Good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring a lot of extra money. Food is expensive, everywhere !!!!

Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beachlvr
Business
Pgh, PA
Mar 25, 2011

What we were looking for!

Our hotel was in a great location. Only a block from the beach, places to eat nearby as in McDonald's, Burger King, a Mexican place and many more. Lots of shops near. All within walking distance including the International Marketplace. The only compliant I have is in our room, the sliding glass doors were not insulated well. The wind was always howling. Sometimes it didn't bother me. It actually sounded kind of like the ocean lol. But many times it whistled and was hard to sleep with the noise. But the location and room was great! I would stay again if I knew I wouldn't hear the wind, oh and they need comfier beds!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
custom
Business
San Diego
Mar 10, 2011

Good location, close to Waikiki Beach

A very nice, updated and clean hotel. At the end of Waikiki Beach, but you can walk to most sites in Waikiki. Friendly and helpful staff. We had a car, so it was easy to get around the island. Free parking was a plus. Reasonable prices, we would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market Place and Duke's Alley both with dozens of vendors close by to the hotel.

Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, Ma.
Mar 9, 2011

A great value for the price!

The Hotel was very stategically placed close to all the action, Beach, Activity pick-up right across the street, and a very pleasant, and professional Hotel staff; especially [...]at the Front Desk Reservation, always had a warm smile, and Aloha feel. What a DOLL! I would recomend this place! Tony

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All your dining and especially your shopping is a short walk away!

Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kapolei, Hawaii
Feb 1, 2011

Great location...

Went to the Block Party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Jan 8, 2011

Happy that it was a block back

Nice lobby, nice room but a bit tight. I liked the balcony lanai. The bathroom is tight but nice. McDonalds is only a block away. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Jan 8, 2011

Happy that it was a block back

Nice lobby, nice room but a bit tight. I liked the balcony lanai. The bathroom is tight but nice. McDonalds is only a block away. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco
Jan 4, 2011

walking distance to beach

I was in honolulu on vacation and checked reviews on this hotel. Very good reviews so i booked it. On arrival i was told about parking fee and was shocked, it was quite expensive. I talked to the rep. at the desk and I mentioned promos that [...]told me about. She was so nice to ask mgn. about parking, that they waved the parking for 7 days. Great staff and great hotel, next time I would book again......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
Jan 4, 2011

Great Location

Nice location. Close to shopping, beach, nice restaurants, etc. Room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great seafood buffet right across the street at the Pacific Beach Hotel. The concierge will give you a coupon for 25% off the buffet. I suggest getting a reservation but we were able to walk in without one.

Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Dec 29, 2010

Great family hotel close to beach

Waikiki Resort Hotel is located just one block away from the main strip, and less than a 2 minute walk from the beach. Really, that was a big factor in our decision to stay here.The front desk staff were warm and helpful. The room was clean, but don't expect too many extra bells and whistles. The rooms were a little smaller than hotels I usually stay in, but I have a feeling that's just how most hotels are designed in the Waikiki area. Be sure to ask for beach towels from the front desk. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We did the hike at Diamond Head and although there were a few difficult moments (long series of stairs just before you reach the top observation point), the view from the top was well worth it. It helps if you do this on a day with clear skies. Got some great pictures of Honolulu and the surrounding areas. Also close to Diamond Head are some neighborhoods with beautiful houses/mansions.

Back to menu Return to top