Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Waikiki Resort Hotel

3 stars
130 Liliuokalani Ave, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
109 reviews
Couldn't ask for more

Very friendly helpful staff. Room was very comfortable and very clean. Would stay here again See full review

  • coffee lover
  • Feb 18, 2014
Single man point of view

The hotel staff was very friendly and willing to help with anything I needed. The room was a suite... See full review

  • Stargazing1961
  • Sep 6, 2013
Comfortable, island-style hotel near the beach

A total overhaul has reinvented the peaceful, tucked-away Waikiki Resort Hotel. A surprising find, the hotel offers more for your money than meets the eye. Located a half-block from Waikiki's best swimming beach and the main shopping and dining street, Kalakaua Avenue, opportunity for entertainment abounds. Waikiki Resort Hotel is a small hotel with big amenities. Expect a 24-hour business center, mini spa and all-you-can-eat Korean barbecue restaurant onsite.

Highlights
  • Large guest rooms with remodeled island d├ęcor
  • Located in a quiet area less than a block from Waikiki's best swimming
  • Mini spa, dry cleaning, beauty salon and Korean barbeque restaurant
Location

The Waikiki Resort Hotel is a 2-minute walk to the best swimming stretch on Waikiki Beach and Kalakaua Avenue, Waikiki's main shopping and dining thoroughfare. Tucked away on a side street between Kalakaua Avenue and Waikiki's second main road, the hotel affords serenity in the heart of the city. The Honolulu Zoo is less than 10 minutes away on foot.

Rooms

All of the hotel's 296 spacious rooms have undergone a recent $11 million renovation. Each upgrated room now features a microwave, mini refrigerator, work desk with ergonomic chair, 32-inch LCD TV with pay-per-view movies, private balcony, in-room safe, ironing board with iron, hair dryer and high-speed Internet (fees apply).

Dining

Visit the hotel's exciting restaurant, Seoul Jung, a Korean all-you-can-eat yakiniku barbecue that lets you select meats and other ala carte dishes to grill at your table. For American-style eats, the hotel offers Ilima Restaurant, serving a full breakfast buffet, plus sandwiches, soups and home-style dishes for lunch. Find endless casual and fine dining choices a short walk from the hotel.

Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Diamond Head Crater

 

Waikiki Resort Hotel Rooms

Standard
Located on the lower floors that overlook the surrounding neighborhood of Waikiki, these comfortable rooms range in size from 315 to 348 square feet, and comes with 2 Double beds, a Private Balcony, Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Mini Refrigerator, Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, In-Room Safe, and Coffee Maker.
City View
Located on the middle to high floors that offer views of Waikiki's neighborhood city lights, these comfortable rooms range in size from 315 to 348 square feet, and comes with either 1 King or 2 Double beds, a Private Balcony, Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Mini Refrigerator, Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, In-Room Safe, and Coffee Maker.
Partial Ocean View
Comfortable and inviting, these 315 square feet rooms come with 2 Double beds, and offer partial views of the Pacific Ocean from your Private Balcony. Located on the middle floors, these rooms include Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Mini Refrigerator, Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, In-Room Safe, and Coffee Maker.
Ocean View
Located on the higher floors, these comfortable and inviting 315 square feet rooms come with 2 Double beds, and offer views of the Pacific Ocean. Also included are Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Mini Refrigerator, Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, In-Room Safe, and Coffee Maker.
Deluxe Corner Room
These spacious corner rooms, at 394 square feet, comes with a King bed, a Queen Sofa Bed, Private Balcony, Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, and In-Room Safe. A Mini-Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Wet bar and dishware/cutlery service for two are also included. Located on floors 3-18 on the front 2 corners of the building, with various views of Waikiki or beyond. Specific views may be requested by contacting the hotel's Reservations Office at: hotel@waikikiresort.com.
Mini Suite
Perfect for working professionals or families, these 480 square feet suites come with a Kitchenette, a Queen bed in the bedroom, a Queen Sofa Bed in the Parlor, two Private Balconies, Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, and In-Room Safe. The Kitchenette consists of a Mini-Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Wet bar and dishware/cutlery service for two; additional settings are available. Located next to the elevator on floors 3-18, with views of the Waikiki neighborhood or beyond.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waikiki Resort Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2754 -157.8237
Area served
Honolulu, Waikiki, Waikiki Beach
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL 12 miles.
Area description
Waikiki,Waikiki Beach, shows, shops, activities, beaches, and restaurants are generally within walking distance. Oahu's bus system offers connections around the island with fees starting at $2 per day. Most visitors with plans to venture away from Waikiki prefer rental cars. Car rentals are available online. The hotel is located block from Waikiki Beach, 4 blocks from Honolulu Zoo, 0.5 miles from Waikiki Aquarium, 1mile from Ala Wai Golf Course, 1 mile from Ala Wai Boat Harbor and 2 miles from Diamond Head.

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.1 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.8 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.3 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.3 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Dining

Seoul Jung
Seoul Jung is Waikiki Resort Hotel's signature restaurant where you'll experience the finest in authentic Korean cuisine. Promoting HEALTH & WELLNESS, all entrees are accompanied by vegetable side dishes made fresh daily by the master chefs from Korea. Open daily 6am - 2pm & 5pm - 10pm.
Ilima Restaurant
Ilima restaurant is open daily from 6am - 10pm, caters to a more "American-Friendly" palate; it features a full breakfast buffet, specialty sandwiches, soups, island-style favorites and ramen dishes. Daily specials available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Resort Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 9, 2010

Convenient to everything Location

Overall is a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great varieties of dining choices from buffet to small sushi bar around the area.

Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Aug 31, 2010

Waikiki Resort Hotel, Hawai

Good Experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach Ca
Jul 2, 2010

Comfortable

For just a business stay, The Hotel is right in the middle of where things happen in Waikiki. The room was comfortable and well kept. As all hotels in the area are going through renovations, the WRH staff is helpful in making your stay as comfortable as possible. everything is just a call away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin TX
Jun 21, 2010

Ok but nothing to write home about

Inexpensive, not updated but going through renovations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new orleans La.
Jun 12, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

Hotel was very nice and clean, our room was nice but not cleaned like it should of been every day, stayed 6 nights, and had to ask for our bed to be changed after the fourth night.and to be vacuumed. Only had one mirror in the bath room, none in the bed room, and that was and inconvenience, over all it's a real nice hotel, friendly people, and a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SingleMomWith2Boys
Business
San Diego CA
Jun 12, 2010

Great Hotel

I was initially apprehensive due to a response from a Sherrie Smith who said my reservations [...] was for 2 people & I have to pay extra. It was a mean e-mail and did not even respond to what I truly asked for which is: Is there a shuttle from the airport to the hotel? When I emailed back saying I paid for 3 people already I did not get a response. When I got there though a Korean lady I think her name was [...]@ the registration looked at my paper & said it's all good as long as the 2 standard bed is good enough for us, which it is. I have my two sons with me & they can share a bed. The other people @ registration does not look as friendly so I'm glad I got her to check me in.The hotel is a block from Waikiki beach. Short walk to both the bus stops & Waikiki Trolley stops. Most attractions bus pickups stop in front of it. So I did not have any problem going anywhere, including the luau I reserved & breakfast. It is a perfect location. I don't mind that I don't have a direct view of the beach, I can see parts of it from my patio on the 5th floor. I called housekeeping so many times. The Filipino & Hawaiian staff are always nice when they answer. Except for the first night I was there, 06/07/10 whoever answered forgot and I have to call another time. But everytime I ask for extra towels, shampoo or coffee, they were at my door within 10 minutes.I liked that the hotel has a bolted in-room safe. I felt safer. The only drawback was the street noise from delivery trucks or buses went on until 2 am. It was hard to sleep!!! If they can soundproof the doors/windows, it will be most perfect. Or maybe they can provide an earplug for everyone to make it possible to sleep.The bathroom needs work though. No tub. No exhaust fan. When people do a #2 the stink lingers in the small room. The toilet also clogged, they might have to replace them with newer ones that flushes better. It was in all, a great place. We checkout without hassle at 12 noon and stayed at the lobby until 5 pm because our flight is not until 9 pm. It was nice that they did not kick us out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Food Pantry @ Kuhio

Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Nurse
Business
Hilo, Hawaii
Jun 1, 2010

Lovely hotel

Very friendly, helpful and informative staff. Great location, just a block from the beach, shopping and restaurants. You don't need a car here, just walk wherever you want to go. The air is fresh and smells lovely. Room is well appointed and comfortable. The mattress is firm but not too firm. The bathing area is tiny. The light switch is on the wall where the sink is and I forgot to turn it on twice and had to use the bathroom in the dark (you have to close the door to use the toilet... dark!!!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
soldierboy
Business
South Korea
May 28, 2010

Not a good choice 4 a long stay!!!

Not what I expected. Did not realize until checking in at the front desk that the voucher for the free continental breakfast had to be redeem through the online agency. No amenities offered complimentary by the hotel. Great location to the Waikkiki beach and shopping. Do not purchase internet,9.95 a day, through the hotel, there is free wifi internet service in the lobby of the hotel but you will have to take your laptop downstairs to connect. You will receive a better wifi rate in your room through the wifi service called,skywave,that pops up via your wifi on your computer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping can be found literally just steps away,along with the fabolous Waikkiki beach.

Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rocklin, CA
May 2, 2010

Second time here, love this place!!!!!

Love this place, 2nd time here..when we arrived asked if we could get same room we had last time they did better gave us one on a higher floor with much better view. They did a great job fixing up rooms. When we checked in warned us they were still doing some work, might hear some noise, we didn't hear a thing. This Hotel is in a great location 1/2 block from beach close to The Bus stops and many restuarants and shopping. Make sure you try Teddy's bigger burgers they were awesome. We didn't drive anywhere we took the bus all over the place you can circle the whole island on the bus. They have a farmers market across from Diamond Head on Saturdays beautiful flowers and a great place to try some of the Hawaiian plate lunches. You can walk to the zoo from the Hotel and a Catholic church near by we could see it from our lani. There's always something going on in the park, which you can walk to. And don't forget to watch the fireworks Friday night from the beach. The staff of the Wiakiki Resort Hotel are helpful and friendly and I hope I will be able to go back agian one day. And when and if I do the Wiakiki Resort Hotel will be the place I will stay. Our many thanks to the hotel staff for making our vacation all we hoped it would be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use The Bus great way to get around, Hilo Hattie Trolley, Lots of fast food places near by, go to Aloha Stadium for some souvenirs, check out farmers markets, walk the many beach park trails, get the many free magazines available at airport and on the streets of Wiakiki they have many money saving coupons.

Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newlywed Emily
Business
San Diego, California
Apr 22, 2010

Waikiki Resort Hotel

They treated us like royalty. We loved it and would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top