Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

3 stars
View map of 120 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
456 out of 456
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 15, 2010

Good and Bad

The Good: if you want to be in Waikiki, this is a great location at an affordable hotel, with short walk to the beach, shopping, International Market, and historic hotels. If your flight leaves after the 11 a.m. checkout, you can check your luggage and still lounge at the pool or the beach for the day, then pick up your luggage and take a shower and/or change clothes in one of the hotel's two hospitality suites that can be used for up to an hour. Nice lobby with free hula lessons, lei-making, and various arts and crafts for sale in the mornings. Rooms were kept very clean by staff. Fridge in the room is great with kids (milk, cold water, etc). The Bad: The pool closes at 6 p.m. every day, because it sits adjacent to the bar/restaurant/stage area where music is played live. My kids wanted to spend the day at the beach or sightseeing and take a nice swim in the evening--sorry, not possible. Who closes a hotel pool at 6? So many rules in the pool--including not allowing inflatable beach balls--that it didn't feel very kid-friendly. And they track pool towels like expensive jewelry. Staff was friendly, but slow and not overly helpful (would have been nice, for example, if someone had mentioned that if you stay in the Ainahau tower, there is a part of the hotel's parking garage that is only a door away from the elevators to your room, rather than have you parking in the main part of the garage that has only a stairway leading to the lobby). Our room had the tackiest furniture I've ever seen in a Shearton--painted old furniture that looked like it was picked up surplus from an old hotel that closed. Room was very clean, but overall looked like a cheaper hotel than I expected. Expensive internet service was slow. Two of the guest terminals in the lobby were out of order during most of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flint Michigan
Apr 12, 2010

Great hotel

The only thing that we did not like, that for breakfast in the restaurant you could not order from the menu, they only offered the buffet,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B.
Business
New Jersey
Apr 11, 2010

Great value, great location

My family of four (all adults) stayed here for just the last night of our trip after staying at a timeshare all week. We could not believe how nice this place is for the price we paid. The pool was refreshing after being in the ocean all week. Unfortunately the pool closes pretty early, at 6pm. The walk to the beach is less than a block. The poolside bar had some great drinks and we enjoyed listening to the nightly band as we relaxed on the patio. The balcony had a decent view especially for the standard room rate. The city lights at night were gorgeous. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. They let us check in five hours early and gave us tips on where to find free parking nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smiling in the sun
Business
Vancouver, WA
Apr 8, 2010

Great getaway

My stay at the Sheraton was great!!! There was always someone around to answer and questions I had on finding places. Lots to do within walking distance from the hotel, including the zoo, beach and aquarium. Also was able to book adventures outside the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't want to lease a car this is the place to stay!!!!

Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harlie
Business
Caldwell, ID
Apr 7, 2010

Outstanding Customer Service

Great experience. We arrived before 11:00. Tried to check-in, and our room was not ready. But they check all of our bags, and provided us with a pager to notify us when our room was ready. This allowed us to start our day. Pager went off in a short period of time, while shopping, and we checked in when we had a free minute. Room was nice, a little dated, but clean and roomy with a great view. Bags delivered promptly. Nice entertainment at night pool side, but finishes early enough not keep you awake, in your room. Staff was friendly and very outgoing, they truely understand customer service! A lost art in many businesses these days. We will return and stay at this location again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Most everything within walking distance, or city bus.

Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I feel dirty
Business
Bismarck North Dakota
Mar 30, 2010

disgusting!!!!

This is the second time my wife and I stayed at this hotel. The first wasn't too bad so we decided to try it again. Big mistake!! The rooms are absolutely disgusting! When we first got into the room the bathroom was so dirty that we wore flip flops in the shower! The carpet was so dirty that your socks are black after walking across the floor. When I booked the room I booked the High floor escape ocen view with a King size bed, we got two full size beds instead. Not so romantic!! When I asked for an upgrade I was told there was none and nothing they could do about it. I will never stay at this hotel again and will recommend all of you stay away as well, unless you like filth!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelin Through Lexington
Business
Cleveland/Akron, Ohio
Mar 29, 2010

Great Location, Mediocre-but clean-room

Hotel is in a great location - central waikiki. Stayed in older wing, which is outdated and in desperate need of refurb. With that said, the hotel did a fantastic job keeping the room clean. If looking for a clean room in a great location for a low, low price; this is the hotel for you. Don't expect anything superior or fancy. By the way, they charge $25 per day for parking and $3.50 per day for the in-room safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining in Waikiki is expensive (even at the cheap eat places). Checkout the happy hours at local restaurants that greatly reduce the cost. The happy hours include not only drinks and appitizers, but even entrees!

Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Mar 29, 2010

fun

slept

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MasterShake
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Mar 27, 2010

Great location, great staff, great value

Outstanding location, outstanding value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't over plan your vacation, visit the activeties desk when you arive and do what you want when you want. Don't be afraid to be spontanius.

Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
La Grange, Calif 95329
Mar 25, 2010

Great location and pool side

Great value & dinner next to the pool with the entertainment was wonderful. The location was perfect, short walk to the shopping and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top