Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Queen Kapiolani Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 Kapahulu Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
354 out of 354
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Recently Retired
Business
lihue kauai
Jul 6, 2009

Best Location

We have been staying there for at least once a month from the neighboring isle. you cant beat the location and pricing however the hotel is showing its age. We go to the beach ofter therefore we dont utilize any of the hotels amenities. Sure wish the room had complimentary hi speed internet connection. We will continue to stay there. By the way parking is $15 per nite per vehicle for those who need overnite parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

THink its the first weekend per month, free movie on the beach, that was really fun, the food concessions were okay too. Great place to meet all kinds of people.

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kamaiina
Business
Seattle
Jul 15, 2009

super location & view, but need updating

There to meet friend, relax and enjoy Waikiki If the hotel is renovated and updated.... Apples and oranges, cannot compare. Hotel is OK for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

ABC stores everywhere, provide anything you need. Very short walk to the beach, Kapiolani Park and Diamond Head and Waikiki

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redwood city ca
Aug 2, 2009

I had a terrible view

This was my third stay here . It would have been nice if the front desk offered me a room with a better view. I had a view of the backsides of old run down hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

dont walk near the zoo .Its smells really bad

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Honolulu great location
Business
Schaumburg, IL
Aug 3, 2009

Decent price for a great location

Visited Beaches (Wikiki, Sandy Beach, Koko head, Hanauma Bay. Great locations for many tourist locations, Dining and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
At Home W/ 1 Brat
Business
Las Cruces, NM
Sep 24, 2009

Queen Kapiolani Hotel

The hotel has a nice lobby but I was surprised that it looked outdated when I walked out the elevator and into the hall. There are no refrigerators nor microwaves to use therefore I had to dispose of left-overs I had from restaurants. They also didn't have any water to drink available for guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Recently Retired
Business
Koloa Hi
Dec 3, 2009

Returnees

unbeatable location, price is very competitive, parking fees too high however, would stay there again. Great beds...must be new

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mtr1
Business
NorCal
Nov 28, 2011

cheap and worst room

The moderate room was horrible! Could not stay more than 2 days - canceled the rest of the trip and moved to another, decent hotel. The only thing that looked good was the view from the window that didn't keep the street noise out and the AC's cold in; in reality, it's not even a window - it's a glass wall made of closeable shutter that are not noise proof. The staff didn't try to do their best - tried to charge for any room upgrade. The pictures are not showing how old the hotel is... The location is OK if you don't mind 0.5 mile walk to the heart of Waikiki - right next to the zoo. The elevators are ugly and slow - it took forever to get a ride down. The hotel needs some serious renovation! Would not go back unless they replace the in-wall AC with a central one and install good quality windows. What a disappointment!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Duraku Sushi was great!

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Momma Lu
Business
Wausau WI
Dec 7, 2011

Hawaiian Family Wedding Trip

Our room was small and extremely noisy. On the backside over the back entrance andf heard trucks unloading etc at extremely early hours. Lack of vending and Ice machines on floor. Room had a musty odor and carpet by doorway was damp. Was to be dried out but never happened. No complimentary breakfast ticket for a 5-day stay. Food at buffet was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Waikki beach was very short and close to ABC store to pick up needed items. Many short order places to eat.

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lynlee
Business
Maui, Hi
May 25, 2012

close to beach!

The tradewinds blew so badly through this corner room, I had to leave my door open with a towel.! Security even was worried.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
worldtraveler777
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Dec 25, 2012

Ok, but a little disappointing

The room was clean, had a balcony, a big bed, and a partial view of the ocean (we had the City View higher up) It served its purpose and we liked the location, but we just weren't impressed. There was no "wow" factor at all. The overall hotel is very dated, and looks more bland in real life than in the pictures. The staff was good. If you just care about being in Waikiki, I would say around $100-$120/night this is a decent deal. But I wouldn't recommend this to someone who likes to feel like they are in a really nice hotel. If you have a car and don't want to spend $20/night on parking, the one nice thing about this location is you can find a free parkng spot on Monsarrat Ave or a couple other small streets around there. We always found a spot in about 5 minutes that was a 5 minute walk to the hotel. But again, if you're on your honeymoon for example, splurge on parking, and better yet, stay at a different hotel. We stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki the last time, it was more expensive, we ended up spending around $200/night (but its definitely a different experience: own beach, nice restaurants, much nicer quality room, great view) In summary, if you only need a room to sleep in, and enjoy the destination itself go for it. Its not a motel, its nicer. But its just an average hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Free Overnight Parking on Monsarrat Ave.

Back to menu Return to top