Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 18, 2015 Check-out: May 21, 2015

Queen Kapiolani Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 Kapahulu Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
356 out of 356
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
la
May 8, 2009

3 niths stay

parking was very diffulture to find at night especially after 10:00 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

service was nice and excellent. friendly waitress and hostess was accormmodation.

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
May 22, 2009

Great friendly service

Decent location, older hotel that is in need of a fresh update. Hotel dining was dirty and felt unclean, good service though. Great view. OK value for the money. I would not bring my wife to this hotel because of the condition and the cleanliness. The surprise $15.00 per night parking was not expected and wasn't clear on how to pay for it until I received 2 nasty notes on my windshield to pay my parking bill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check for the add on charges like the parking fees to decide if it's a good deal or not in the total cost.

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JustSoSo
Business
CHINA
Jun 7, 2009

It's just so so.

When I got into my room at 9:15 PM, I could not find the switch of the light. At last I turned on the light of bathroom. The room is really so small and one of the light was broken. It will cost you $15 a day if you want to park your car in the hotel. I think it's expansive and parked my car just on the other side agaist the hotel which will charge me only $0.25 per hour. Even if there are so many unsatisfied situation, but the position of the Hotel is good to for visiting the zoo of Honolulu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can park your car just on the other side of the road agaist the Hotel.

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Recently Retired
Business
lihue kauai
Jul 6, 2009

Best Location

We have been staying there for at least once a month from the neighboring isle. you cant beat the location and pricing however the hotel is showing its age. We go to the beach ofter therefore we dont utilize any of the hotels amenities. Sure wish the room had complimentary hi speed internet connection. We will continue to stay there. By the way parking is $15 per nite per vehicle for those who need overnite parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

THink its the first weekend per month, free movie on the beach, that was really fun, the food concessions were okay too. Great place to meet all kinds of people.

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kamaiina
Business
Seattle
Jul 15, 2009

super location & view, but need updating

There to meet friend, relax and enjoy Waikiki If the hotel is renovated and updated.... Apples and oranges, cannot compare. Hotel is OK for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

ABC stores everywhere, provide anything you need. Very short walk to the beach, Kapiolani Park and Diamond Head and Waikiki

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redwood city ca
Aug 2, 2009

I had a terrible view

This was my third stay here . It would have been nice if the front desk offered me a room with a better view. I had a view of the backsides of old run down hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

dont walk near the zoo .Its smells really bad

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Honolulu great location
Business
Schaumburg, IL
Aug 3, 2009

Decent price for a great location

Visited Beaches (Wikiki, Sandy Beach, Koko head, Hanauma Bay. Great locations for many tourist locations, Dining and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
At Home W/ 1 Brat
Business
Las Cruces, NM
Sep 24, 2009

Queen Kapiolani Hotel

The hotel has a nice lobby but I was surprised that it looked outdated when I walked out the elevator and into the hall. There are no refrigerators nor microwaves to use therefore I had to dispose of left-overs I had from restaurants. They also didn't have any water to drink available for guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Recently Retired
Business
Koloa Hi
Dec 3, 2009

Returnees

unbeatable location, price is very competitive, parking fees too high however, would stay there again. Great beds...must be new

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mtr1
Business
NorCal
Nov 28, 2011

cheap and worst room

The moderate room was horrible! Could not stay more than 2 days - canceled the rest of the trip and moved to another, decent hotel. The only thing that looked good was the view from the window that didn't keep the street noise out and the AC's cold in; in reality, it's not even a window - it's a glass wall made of closeable shutter that are not noise proof. The staff didn't try to do their best - tried to charge for any room upgrade. The pictures are not showing how old the hotel is... The location is OK if you don't mind 0.5 mile walk to the heart of Waikiki - right next to the zoo. The elevators are ugly and slow - it took forever to get a ride down. The hotel needs some serious renovation! Would not go back unless they replace the in-wall AC with a central one and install good quality windows. What a disappointment!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Duraku Sushi was great!

Back to menu Return to top