Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 6, 2016 Check-out: Feb 7, 2016

Queen Kapiolani Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 Kapahulu Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Aug 3, 2007

Very Family Friendly

Hotel was clean and well priced for the very popular location. The hotel needs upgrading; however was very comfortable. The restaruant was very good and had very reasonable prices for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The zoo and Waikiki are very close by with lots of shopping thrown in.

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charms
Couples
Pahrump, NV
Aug 29, 2011

Nice Hotel

Hotel staff was wonderful, Elevators need help, they are slow and stop in the middle of the floor you have to step down or up to get out of them. Room was clean and kept fresh daily. Microwave would be nice addition to rooms. WE went on daily tours and did lots of beach swimming. Our first trip and we plan on going back someday. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places to eat but quit expensive.

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raised on the islands
Couples
Las Vegas
Jun 2, 2009

Fantastic location.

Great location. Rooms need renovating though. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Single
Anaheim Hills, Ca
Jul 7, 2011

Great location

The Queen Kapiolani Hotel was in a great location. You are on the edge of Waikiki but can get to and from the hotel without all of the Waikiki traffic. I was at the beach most of my time in Hawaii. I am from there so being able to get in and out of my hotel was important. Also just being able to walk to Waikiki with such ease was also a plus.2 of the staff member made my stay much better. They are [...] and [...]. Always greeted me with a smile and asked how my day was or where I was going that day. They should be commended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk down Waikiki to the International Market Place for some great shopping. Also all of the ABCs store have almost everything you need.

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Artur
Single
New York, NY
Mar 1, 2008

ok

I went there by myself and I would recommend to anybody... great location, next time I'm going there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks - Waikiki beach

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 11, 2007

My Hotal was cool

The room was very clean. The air conditioner kept my room very cool every single day, and my bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of Restaurants and stores near the hotel where I stayed.

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 19, 2008

Great location.

This hotel is located 500 yards from the beach, and across the road from a large park and the Honolulu Zoo. The restaurant has a wide selection of food at reasonable prices, the food and service were excellant. The room was very clean with comfortable beds, and all amenities. Each room has a lani with a sink for washing swimwear. The only thing I was dissappointed in, was that there was a charge of $2.00 to use the coffee machine. There is a Starbucks and an ABC stores 100 yards down the street. On arrival in our room we found that the T.V. would not work. One call to the operator, and in six minutes a maintenace man arrived with a new T.V. We had a very pleasant stay and we would highly reccomend this hotel to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

At the International market place one can see a free show every night from 7:00 P.M. to 9:00 P.M. There is also a foodcourt with a wide selection.

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cathie
Couples
USA
Sep 11, 2007

Great hotel for the price!

This was our first visit to O'ahu. We were looking for a reasonably priced clean comfortable hotel and that was exactly what we got. The front desk clerk that checked us in could have been a little friendlier, but she was not rude. We were on floor 17 with a great view of Waikiki Beach ( right across the street) and Diamond Head.( which was a back drop for their swimming pool. The zoo was around the corner as well, but we didn't go. We were within all shopping areas including the International Market. There was Teddy's down the street for a GREAT hamburger as well a Subway, McDonald's, Burger King and other LOCAL eating places. The hotel definitely needs a face lift, but it was clean, had a fridge, and you could get a key for the safety box for $3.00 a day. Parking was around $15.00 per day if you had a car, but if not public transportation was right outside the front door. ( We did see a car rental place within walking distance.) They do have a gift shop with a good supply of gift stuff, plus personal articles and some food items. ( An ABC store is around the corner for whatever else you need. ) They also have a place on site to rent snorkel and surfing gear. The room did have air conditioning, but it was a window unit. Without it on the room did get warmer than we liked it and the housekeeping turned it off when they came in to clean our room, but it was not unbearable. The bed was king size, firm, but comfortable. There was a color TV. We would definitely stay there again and if you don't NEED PLUSH it's a great value!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Kansas City, MO
Jun 18, 2007

Clean and Comfortable, Good Value

We found Queen Kapiolani Hotel to be older but well-kept. It was clean throughout, and our bed was firm and good. Room size was quite comfortable with table, good lighting, drawer unit, and 2 suitcase stands. We chose the hotel because a niece picked it out -- affordable, safe, and only a block from where her parents were staying. Hotel ice machines were on ground floor in a room across from the reception desk. Although we didn't use the hotel restaurant, the niece and her friend ate there several times. The menu in the elevators looked appealing. We were given a free upgrade to a room with a view toward the ocean. Although I thought little of it that evening when we arrived late, now I treasure memories of looking out that window. Jet lag had me awake early. Seeing the sun come up over the water while an occasional surfer parked at the zoo across the street and carried a board toward Waikiki Beach confirmed that I wasn't in Kansas any more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotels in Honolulu are clustered in the Waikiki area. Queen Kapiolani is on the edge of that group, farther from the airport, closer to Diamond Head. Across from the front of the hotel find trees and flowers and nearby Kapiolani Park (green space) instead of more hotels. Out the back is easy walking to shops and restaurants.

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Aug 13, 2007

Perfect Family Get Away

I was a little skeptial about The Queen Kapiolani Hotel (because of the cheap rates and a couple of reviews that I read on the sight) but was quite surprised when we arrived. The room was spacious enough for four adults and the bathroom was more the adequate. The balcony was small but great to have. The beach was only a block away and lots of shopping, if you don't mind walking. The zoo was right across the street and the veiw of Diamond Head from the pool side was gorgeous. I would recommond this for anyone budget minded. I, myself would stay there again if I ever get the opportunity to make it back to Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

So many shops and the International Market was not too far. You can wheel and deal with the vendors there and they will usually give you a better deal.

Back to menu Return to top