Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Queen Kapiolani Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 Kapahulu Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
409 out of 409
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vacation a la carte
Business
Colorado
Jan 1, 2014

Good place

Good place to stay when booked with ample time and not on busy season

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brian world traveller
Business
Auckland, NZ
Jan 21, 2014

Kind of disappointing

The hotel itself is well located only a few blocks from Waikiki Beach however, the hotel itself is dated. The room I was assigned was on a low floor and the balcony overlooked the alley, the valet parking lane and another building which was loaded with old mattresses. Due to the high season, no new rooms (on a higher floor) were available. Ended up cancelling reservation and moved to different hotel. Staff was very accommodating in this process.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cvgg
Business
Hawaii
Apr 7, 2014

One night

Price was right. Rooms need a facelift. A/C needs an update

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 1, 2007

My review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Great view of Diamond Head and the beach!! The room was very small for 3 people and the first cot they provided was awful(too thin mattress) but we complained and a wonderful, comfortable cot was brought in. The hair dryer didn't work but a call to the front desk brought a new one quickly. Small but comfortable balcony with sink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
la
May 8, 2009

3 niths stay

parking was very diffulture to find at night especially after 10:00 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

service was nice and excellent. friendly waitress and hostess was accormmodation.

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
May 22, 2009

Great friendly service

Decent location, older hotel that is in need of a fresh update. Hotel dining was dirty and felt unclean, good service though. Great view. OK value for the money. I would not bring my wife to this hotel because of the condition and the cleanliness. The surprise $15.00 per night parking was not expected and wasn't clear on how to pay for it until I received 2 nasty notes on my windshield to pay my parking bill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check for the add on charges like the parking fees to decide if it's a good deal or not in the total cost.

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JustSoSo
Business
CHINA
Jun 7, 2009

It's just so so.

When I got into my room at 9:15 PM, I could not find the switch of the light. At last I turned on the light of bathroom. The room is really so small and one of the light was broken. It will cost you $15 a day if you want to park your car in the hotel. I think it's expansive and parked my car just on the other side agaist the hotel which will charge me only $0.25 per hour. Even if there are so many unsatisfied situation, but the position of the Hotel is good to for visiting the zoo of Honolulu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can park your car just on the other side of the road agaist the Hotel.

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Recently Retired
Business
lihue kauai
Jul 6, 2009

Best Location

We have been staying there for at least once a month from the neighboring isle. you cant beat the location and pricing however the hotel is showing its age. We go to the beach ofter therefore we dont utilize any of the hotels amenities. Sure wish the room had complimentary hi speed internet connection. We will continue to stay there. By the way parking is $15 per nite per vehicle for those who need overnite parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

THink its the first weekend per month, free movie on the beach, that was really fun, the food concessions were okay too. Great place to meet all kinds of people.

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kamaiina
Business
Seattle
Jul 15, 2009

super location & view, but need updating

There to meet friend, relax and enjoy Waikiki If the hotel is renovated and updated.... Apples and oranges, cannot compare. Hotel is OK for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

ABC stores everywhere, provide anything you need. Very short walk to the beach, Kapiolani Park and Diamond Head and Waikiki

Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redwood city ca
Aug 2, 2009

I had a terrible view

This was my third stay here . It would have been nice if the front desk offered me a room with a better view. I had a view of the backsides of old run down hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

dont walk near the zoo .Its smells really bad

Back to menu Return to top