Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Outrigger Reef on the Beach

4 stars
2169 Kalia Road, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
548 reviews
Beach Wedding

My friend recommended the Outrigger as she has stayed here several times. It's a beautiful hotel... See full review

  • Mayanne W
  • Jul 2, 2014
Loved it

No complaints great hotel the staff was the best and the room was so comfortable! See full review

  • maliachs
  • Jun 26, 2014
It's easy to believe paradise really does exist at the Outrigger Reef Hotel Oahu, with accommodations in the Ocean and Pacific Towers allowing full views of the Hawaiian island. Having undergone a $110 million renovation in 2009, you'll now find historian Herb Kane's collection of Polynesian canoe art mounted in the lobby, a Hawaiian literature library next door, and lots of extras like high-speed Wi-Fi around the pool (fees may apply) and direct phone calls to the US mainland (fees may apply). The resort ensures that guests get the most out of island life, from private surfing packages to hula lessons, all topped off with a fruit-packed cocktail and local pupus (hors d'oeuvres) at the poolside hangout, Kani Ka Pila Grille.
Key facts
  • Serenity Spa
  • 24-hour business center
  • 3 restaurants: Kani Ka Pila Grille, Ocean House and Shorebird Restaurant, and Beach Bar
  • Starbucks Coffee shop
  • On-site shops, including Ku'ai Market and Kuloko Arts of Hawaii
  • Free direct-dial phone calls to US mainland, Canada (fees may apply)
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi in rooms and communal areas, including pool 
  • Library and lounge
  • Swimming pool and sun deck
  • 2,500-square-feet of event space: Diamond Head Terrace
Neighborhood
The Outrigger Reef Hotel has a prime Hawaiian setting on the southern shores of Oahu, with barefoot access to the silky sands of Waikiki Beach. Roam the lush 500 acres of Kapiolani Park, or chase butterfly fish at the Waikiki Aquarium - both are within a mile of the hotel. Even stargazing from the Diamond Head crater is within walking distance of each guest's front door. If you crave designer labels, nearby Kalakaua Avenue beckons with upscale boutiques, fine jewelry emporiums and antique treasures.
Hints and Tips
There are different live music acts playing at the Kani Ka Pila Grille every night of the week. When the sun goes down, check out the Waikiki Beach Walk complex on Lewers Street, or the laidback, retro vibe of bars like Lulu's Waikiki, which becomes a club after the dinner crowd fades.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Outrigger Reef on the Beach Rooms

Moderate
The Moderate rooms have no view and all rooms do not have lanais. These rooms are 340 sq. ft. Each room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, & coffee maker. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or two double beds.
Ocean Front
Oceanfront rooms feature one king or two double beds with one double sleeper sofa. Roooms are 405 sq.ft.
Ocean View
The Ocean View room has a beautiful view of the ocean. These rooms are 340 sq. ft. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or two double beds. Each room has hair dryers, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai.
One Bedroom Ocean Front
One bedroom Ocean Front rooms have one king bed, and one sofa sleeper. Rooms are 1008 sq. ft, and have two bathrooms, jacuzzi tub and shower.
Partial Ocean View
Partial Ocean View rooms have one king bed, or two doubles with one sofa sleeper. Rooms are 355 sq.ft.
City View
The City View room has a spectacular view of the city or low pool view from the lanai. These rooms are 350 sq. ft. Each room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and lanai. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: One king bed, or two double beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Reef on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2787 -157.8323
Area served
Waikiki - Honolulu - Oahu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Best value on Waikiki Beach, this full service Resort offers Ocean Front dining, Day Spa and array of shops on property. Adjacent to Waikiki Beach Walk featuring over 40 shops and restaurants. 9 miles from Honolulu International Airport 4 miles from Downtown Honolulu 1 mile from Kapiolani Park, Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.2 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.4 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.2 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.4 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.6 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.6 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.9 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.9 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.9 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.9 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.9 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.2 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.6 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.7 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.2 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Diamond Head Terrace provides 2520 square feet of meeting room space adjoining the swimming pool's large patio deck and the Shore Bird Restaurant. It is a pleasant setting for an informal meeting and reception.

Dining

Ocean House
Casual Island Elegance True Fine-dining experience - in service, presentaton, atmosphere and, of course, food. 5:00pm - 10:00pm. Reservations suggested.
Shorebird Restaurant & Beach Bar
Popular beachfront setting w/ Diamond Head view Buffet breakfast 7:00am -11:00am Lunch 11:30am - 3:00pm "Broil your own" dinners - 5pm - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (548)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
548 out of 548
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kobe and Bailey's Mom
Standish, MI
Aug 9, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

We went to Honolulu to attend a friend's wedding and had a wonderful time. The location of our hotel was perfect. It was walking distance to restaurants, shopping, etc. We were surprised to learn that the wedding reception was just next door. We thought it was about a mile away when checking it over the internet. The room was nice, the beds were made everytime we come back from our outings. The beach was small and rocky but it was close to a public beach by the army museum were the beach is bigger and better. We were also able to attend a beach mass on saturday pm by the army museum. We had more fun this time than our first trip to Hawaii back in 2006. We stayed in a condo that was a little ways far from the main shopping center and had to walk so far to go to the beach, shopping area, restaurants, etc. But this time, our hotel was very accessible. The staff were very helpful and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

High end shops are just short walk from the hotel. No sales tax, excise tax is only 4.7%.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kobe and Bailey's Mom
Standish, MI
Aug 9, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

We went to Honolulu to attend a friend's wedding and had a wonderful time. The location of our hotel was perfect. It was walking distance to restaurants, shopping, etc. We were surprised to learn that the wedding reception was just next door. We thought it was about a mile away when checking it over the internet. The room was nice, the beds were made everytime we come back from our outings. The beach was small and rocky but it was close to a public beach by the army museum were the beach is bigger and better. We were also able to attend a beach mass on saturday pm by the army museum. We had more fun this time than our first trip to Hawaii back in 2006. We stayed in a condo that was a little ways far from the main shopping center and had to walk so far to go to the beach, shopping area, restaurants, etc. But this time, our hotel was very accessible. The staff were very helpful and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

High end shops are just short walk from the hotel. No sales tax, excise tax is only 4.7%.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mama lo
Dallas, TX
Aug 7, 2011

Great

It was a great trip and the hotel is clean and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walking to all the attraction.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mama lo
Dallas, TX
Aug 7, 2011

Great

It was a great trip and the hotel is clean and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walking to all the attraction.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
UBU
Livermore, California
Jul 26, 2011

Great location

Hotel is on the beach, excellent customer service. Close to shops and restaurants downtown. The restaurant in the hotel lobby (Shore Bird) had great food and beverages at reasonable prices. Rooms were clean, spacious with view of the pool.Beach views were available as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
UBU
Livermore, California
Jul 26, 2011

Great location

Hotel is on the beach, excellent customer service. Close to shops and restaurants downtown. The restaurant in the hotel lobby (Shore Bird) had great food and beverages at reasonable prices. Rooms were clean, spacious with view of the pool.Beach views were available as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Elmwood Park, IL
Jul 5, 2011

A really great place to stay in Honolu

The hotel was located adjacent to the beach and was in walking distince to shops. They provided a service for taking side trips in the area. As our son-in-law also stayed there he gave us rides to some areas and we took trolleys to various other areas of interest. We also enjoyed the food at the hotel, especially the grill overlooking the beach where you could cook your own food-- we had the steak and it was great along with the salad bar. We had been to Honolulu ion the past and this hotel was the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The grill in the rear of the hotel was great. For the smaller eater there is a small restaurant in the front of the hotel, which also delivers to poolside. Within a short ditance there is a Dennys, McDonalds and other national chainrestaurants.

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
round lake, il
Jul 4, 2011

Hawaii vacationp

We booked two rooms at the outrigger reef to celebrate my birthday and my daughters HS graduation. Right on Waikiki beach. Great breakfast buffet and dinner at both restaurants were great. Everyone was friendly and cheerful. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soulkane
los Angeles
Jul 2, 2011

OUTSTANDING!!!

Free Wifi in the rooms?, come on who else does that. What a friendly staff. We will return. Keep up the good work outrigger. Xoxo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do go outside of the hotel and wonder, there are many great places to eat without spending the bank!

Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soulkane
los Angeles
Jul 2, 2011

OUTSTANDING!!!

Free Wifi in the rooms?, come on who else does that. What a friendly staff. We will return. Keep up the good work outrigger. Xoxo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do go outside of the hotel and wonder, there are many great places to eat without spending the bank!

Back to menu Return to top