Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WahineDiva
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jun 8, 2013

A mix of good and bad

Overall, a good stay. Great to be right on the beach. But the accommodations were not worth the price. Many of the staff were very friendly. But a few were especially rude - except toward singer Bobby Brown and his family, who were there for Brown's wedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EHung
Business
Palo Alto, CA
May 29, 2013

Unsurpassed Location, Very Good Hotel

The Moana Surfrider is a historically significant hotel, and by staying here you are following the footsteps of more than 100 years of visitors to Waikiki. As it is an older property, the rooms are somewhat smaller in area, and you can here sounds from the hallway through the doors. But, the rooms themselves are excellent an everything is new and clean since the 2007 renovation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Banyan tree in the courtyard has a long and interesting history, you can check out a historical exhibit on the second floor of the lobby area.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Desertdweller
Business
Tucson, AZ
May 16, 2013

Lives up to it's reputation as the Grand Lady of Waikiki

This was my third stay at the Moana. The Moana is a historical hotel with the best location in Waikiki. Service this year was excellent and much improved from past stays. Do your homework and decide what you are looking for. This is not a huge multi-tower conglomerate with a shopping center. It suits the discerning traveler who appreciates it's old world charm along with fine dining and great beach acess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There are times when the Moana offers it's breakfast buffet complimentary on upgrades. It is oh so worth doing the upgrade for it alone. Really enjoyed the quality, quantity, and service and the view from the veranda can make anyone's day.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A little noisy
Business
Alaska
Mar 25, 2013

Don't stay on street side

Everything about the hotel was great - if you have a choice, don't stay on the street side as it's loud at night and early morning. If you're looking for a hotel with a large pool for the kids - this is not the place. Hotel is mostly adults.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mai Mai
Business
NYC
Dec 17, 2012

Not Worth the Cost

The rooms was tiny. Location on the beach is good and the huge banyan tree is beautiful. But, staying just about anywhere else would have been a much better value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Mike McC
Business
Anchorage, AK
Nov 30, 2012

Moana Surfrider

Free parking across the street. Valet parking is also available for $15/day. Perfect location at the oldest hotel on Waikiki and yet it has been thoroughly modernized. As part of a 4 hotel complex in that area, plenty of opportunities for dining and the shopping in the area is the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take one of the express busses for $2 person to the Ala Moana shopping center for great food and shopping. Lots of designer shops and malls within walking distance.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deaf Guests
Business
Chantilly, Virginia
Nov 30, 2012

Beautiful and classy hotel

We loved our stay at Surfrider. The only suggestion we'd like to make is to tear out all of the carpet in all hallways and replace with wood floors. The hallways had a musty smell to them that can only be attributed to the warm, humid air of the island, and the lack of ventilation in the hallways. Otherwise, from the hotel's prime location to the restaurants, we highly recommend Moana Surfrider.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJ....
Business
California
Nov 6, 2012

Heavenly view, Perfect Location, Beautiful Atmosphere

The Location of the hotel is absolutely perfect. Right in the middle of axtion. And right by the beach.. We got a room at the diamond wing. they tried to move us to the tower, which has a great view if you are located on the right side. The room they upgraded! us to was not.. But we told them we didn't want that room and they moved us back to the Diamond deluxe room which we had booked to begin with. The diamond deluxe wing is an old building, and the rooms do feel a little old but the view makes it worthwhile. The do need to renovate some part of the hotel othervise the value is simply too much..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marla Ann
Business
Vacaville Ca
Oct 22, 2012

Great location , center of activities !

Had great time ! Friendly staff, beautiful hotel,but small room,small pool,room not cleaned well like behind bathroom door , shower floor . The room was to small to ever have anyone visit . The store didnt have any toiletries or any vending machines . Hotel was great , just needed more of the conveniences of home !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dukes restaurant is just down the street ! The atmosphere is wonderful ! Great food music and employees !

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Three daughters and a mom
Business
Surrey
Oct 15, 2012

Bad first night

We arrived to our hotel to be told that we would have one double bed per room even though we were guaranteed to have one king or TWO double beds. It was an extrememly small room. We were told the reason we had that room was that the hotel was over booked. I think that no hotel should be overbooked. Once a room type has been sold out that should be it. After many phoned calls to the front desk and then to the manager, we were upgraded and compensated for that first night, Therefore we ended up having a great experience but if we had of stayed the first night only, our experience would have been one star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top