Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
400 reviews
Great location

Centrally located, historical site and our room was upgraded. See full review

  • Peewee
  • Jul 7, 2014
A great way to enjoy Honolulu

Even though we toured several parts of the area, we always looked forward to returning to our hotel See full review

  • Aloha Practician
  • May 25, 2014
'The First Lady of Waikiki' was constructed at the turn of the 20th century, and the Moana Surfrider lives up to her elegant name as a Waikiki beachfront property. Upon arrival, you'll be treated to a signature Westin elixir, a fragrant flower lei, and a refreshingly chilled towel. Catch a great night's sleep on your Westin Heavenly Bed, and soak up traditional Hawaiian healing techniques and treatments inside Waikiki's only beachfront spa. High-end toiletries, superior linens, and comfortable bathrobes adorn the accommodations, while the refurbished lobby features hardwood floors, along with new fixtures and fittings.
Key facts
  • Guestrooms inside three wings: Diamond Wing, Banyan Wing and Tower Wing
  • Moana Lani Spa
  • Bars and restaurants: Beachhouse at the Moana, Bin1901, Veranda at the Beachhouse, Beach Bar
  • Wedding venue facilities
  • Meeting spaces and conference area
  • Banyan Courtyard
Neighborhood
The central Waikiki location of the Moana Surfrider Westin Resort and Spa affords visitors easy access to a range of beach-related activities. Snorkeling adventures, surf lessons, and outrigger canoe rides can be experienced within steps of the resort. After riding the waves, enjoy six floors of retail therapy and eateries at the Waikiki Shopping Plaza down the street.
Hints and tips
The Banyan Courtyard is a popular place to relax under the trees while sipping umbrella drinks and enjoying live music, along with occasional hula dancing.

Book a room in the Tower Wing for balcony views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean from your spacious guest room. The contemporary Hawaiian decor is complemented by two double or king size Heavenly Beds, a 32 inch flat screen TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with high-speed internet access available at an extra charge) and chair, and a hardwood dresser. The bathrooms feature Westin's Heavenly BathEamenities. Additional features include a coffee maker, cable TV, and a refrigerator.
City View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of Honolulu from your spacious and newly renovated guest room. The contemporary decor is complemented by a king size Heavenly Beds, Flat Screen 32 inch TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with HSIA - surcharge) and chair, a hardwood dresser, and modern tile-floored baths with heavenly bath with granite counters - all accented in a Hawaiian motif. (264 square feet). Additional features include coffee maker, cable, and refrigerator.
Banyan Classic Ocean Club
All guests booking this category will have access to the Beach Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2765 -157.8265
Area served
Honolulu Oahu Hawaii. Waikiki Beach
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL 10 Miles
Area description
Waikiki Beach, International Market-225ft, Pearl Harbor-10mi, Honolulu Zoo-0.3mi, Kapiolani Park-0.4mi, Ala Moana Shopping Center-2mi,Aloha Tower-4mi, Aloha Stadium-10mi, Hanama Bay-12mi, North Shore 35mi

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Dining

The Veranda
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, Banyan Veranda also offers a traditional yet savvy during our Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6 - 11 am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday - Friday 12:00 - 3:00 pm
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30-10pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (400)

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
400 out of 400
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RMT Scotland
Scotland
Jul 9, 2012

family holiday

All hotel staff are excellent. Wonderfull majestic building-oldest hotel on Waikiki. Great breakfast- best to choose complete breakfast option with lots of choice. Hotel pool is only negative which is too small as beach is not good to swim in with constant waves and some coral rock underfoot in places. Hotel charges 50 dollars for 4 chairs plus umbrella just in front of the free pool area on the strip of beach in front of hotel. There is not enough free pool loungers and so you often have to pay to sit on a beach chair. pool area is free. I liked resort charge for free innet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monica957
San Diego, CA
Jul 9, 2012

All Aloha

We arrived to paradise!!! When we arrived our room was not ready, but right away the front desk attendant was proactive and offered us to have our bags stored and gave us a free beverage. We immediately went to the "beach bar" and ordered some aloha juice. The room was always very clean and had a hint of floral aroma. We rented an umbrella on the beach and this was awesome. The pool attendants were helpful and very friendly, especially Mo. All in all, this was a great experience and allowed us to enjoy Hawaii better than ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Suntory Japanese

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
newlywed and happy
pennsylvannia
Jul 4, 2012

Awesome!

Our room was upgraded from the one that we booked. We absolutely loved this hotel. It was the prettiest one on Waikiki. It would be great for international guests as well. The lobby was beautiful and smelled fantastic. Pick this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duke's resturant next door is cheap and yummy!

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Engineering Artist
Bellevue, WA
Jul 2, 2012

Pros and cons

Pros: Great location, great beach, great verandas/beach house. Food was very good in the restaurant but a little pricey. We had the buffet breakfast at $30 ea because omelettes alone were already $21! Beach was great considering that beach hotels west of us don't even have a beach! (washed away or something). Wonderful hotel, save for 3 items (cons): First, buying a package deal offers little to no options on room location. Luckily, we spent very little time in our room but our view was pretty bad. Second, it was difficult to get in and out of the room because the door barely clears the bed. Third, the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor because the glass wall or door was not properly caulked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask about the view in your room when you book, if possible, because package deals generally put you in rooms with no view.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Eat Shop
Vancouver. BC
Jun 30, 2012

Terrific holiday

Fifth time in Waikiki but first time at The Moana Surfrider. It was fantastic, love the history and the location on Kalakaua. Beach is shallow but rocky however almost worth the toe stubbing are the turtles coming up for air almost right beside you, feeding on the rocks below. Fantastic. Friendly and helpful staff though out the hotel. Would definitely choose Moana Surfrider again. As there are always the pool chair hoggers that just throw their towel down at 7am to "reserve" the chair, the pool staff actually check and enforce the unattended one hour rule! I love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marukame on Kuhio across from International Village. Always a line but so worth the short wait. It is the absolute freshest and best udon ever. So convenient and such good vaule!

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Clara, California
Jun 30, 2012

Could be great

I have spent a whole week at this hotel. I stayed in a room that was advertised as partial ocean view. I know what that means and I did not have any illusions. But this was a stretch even for me. The room was on the 18-th floor on the street facing end of the tower. Very noisy, there is a loading dock below, there was some construction on the roof of the next hotel and the street performers down below added to the commotion. Other than that the hotel is great. The staff is very helpful and friendly. When I arrived, I was dropped off in front of the hotel. As soon as I took 3 steps crossed the side walk and stepped on hotel property I had 3 people there to greet and assist me. One of them asked if I needed my luggage to be sent to my room,( I only had 1 small luggage) the other one greated me with a traditional hawaiian necklace, the third one... well he was just there. I was 3 hours before my checkin time, but my room was ready. I really enjoyed having breakfast in the morning on the veranda and looking out to the ocean. The hotel is right on the beach. This is very convenient and definetely a great aspect of the stay at this hotel. After breakfast I would walk to 24hr fitness, just 2 blocks away, for a quick morning workout. After that back to the hotel and hit the beach. The hotel offers beach umbrella rentals with up to 4 chairs. I took advantage of this since the lounge chairs filled up early. The beach towels that came with the umbrellas were soft, clean and looked practically new unlike the overwashed beach towels at some of the other hotels. With the umbrella rentals you also get drink and food service from the beach bar right on the beach. The surf and paddle board rentals just steps away. The prices are very reasonable. The pool looked small, but it did not really matter since I never had to use it. The ocean, steps away, was warm and clear great for many activities. Conveniently there were 1 hr sail boat tours available right from the beach. They would take you out to the edge of the reef and bring you back right to the sandy beach. The hotel is equally convenient if you want to get off the beach. The ABC store is just across the street. There are restaurants up and down the street. At night, after a day on the beach, I would walk to different restaurants for dinner. They also offer dinner at the hotel on the veranda. I ate dinner there once, but I found that the prices weren't worth the food. The ambience is great, but I had breakfast there every morning so I did not feel the need to have dinner there. If you want to do some shopping there are many high end retail stores within walking distance. For a more scaled back shopping you can hop on the Pink Trolley which will take you to the mall for $2. I have been to a number of comparable hotels on Waikiki. The list includes: Hilton Hawaiian Village, Sheraton, Outrigger On The Beach. Out of all, I like the Surfrider the most. Although my room was noisy that is something I can change next time. The rest was great. I think, I will definetely come back to the Surfrider, but I will get the room that is facing the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uber picky traveler
New York, NY
Jun 26, 2012

Excellent for all!

Excellent service, location, food! And right on the beach! My mother loved sitting on the over-sized porch in the rocking chairs. It is a very tranquil hotel. Breakfast buffet is amazing! Plenty of space to lay by the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alys and BR
East Texas
Jun 11, 2012

Good value and amenities

The Moana Surfrider is a beautiful hotel and a good value for the money. The staff was friendly and the food very good. Our overall experience was very positive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed the International Market which was just across the street from the hotel.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pigeoneer
San Martiin, Ca
Jun 5, 2012

1st time Moana & 30 Years Later in Waikiki

The Westin Moana Surfrider fulfilled numerous expectations and provided incentive to return for a longer stay. She has a foot in the past and a foot in the now that will continue into the future for there is nothing like her on Waikiki. While the nightlife on Kalakaua has become more intense from what I recall 30 years past, the Surfrider maintains its charm and on the Beach comfort for relaxation. The staff is courteous, helpful and provides top-notch service. Arrival Manager Casey King was attentive to our needs and went over the top to assure our stay would be in his words “relaxing, refreshing and memorable.” Roxanne at the excursions desk, and Colin and Gloria at the pool and beach side service were fantastic. The Westin Moana Surfrider has a fabulous breakfast buffet, afternoon tea, and a classic veranda for dining. Fitness and Spa are conveniently accessible as with Yoga and Hula lessons for those wishing to experience diverse activities. Nightly entertainment in the Banyan Tree Beach Bar courtyard who's setting can't be compared to any other resort on Waikiki. The Moana Surfrider is a thriving resort whose energy flows like the breeze that carries the spirit of the Islands. We were loyal vacationers to Cancun but I think we've found a new home. Well done Moana Surfrider!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Hawaii has a passion for her unique lifestyle and good living, happy moments and calming of your spirit if you allow yourself to slow down and learn to enjoy what is there. The diversity of cultures in the islands provides foods from all around the world and some recipes are in a state of flavor fusion. Experiment and try small establishments. The name brand eateries are predictable and can be pricey. Entertainment is also a necessity for fine and enjoyable dining so seek out where the “Local” talents are jamming (Tiki's Grill & Bar). Don't forget to "suck-em up! It all works together. There’s everything you want by foot, public transportation, rental car or nearby hotels. If its to busy then head out to outer Islands. They are all good for what suits your temperment.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
S.Harder
Hawaii
Jun 4, 2012

Noisey!!!

Very Very Very noisey next to the main street!!!! The weekend we stayed had a Pride Parade and graduation parties. Horribly noisey place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top