Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suzze q
Business
Folsom, Pennsylvania
Feb 8, 2014

Beautiful hotel

This is a beautiful property inside and out. The front faces the street with a great view point for watching street performers. The back faces the ocean's spectacular views. The staff was more than pleasant at every encounter. The use of the hospitality room allowed for and an early arrival. The Hawaiian woman working the activities desk was informative and extremely helpful as well as congenial. Wish there had been a ceiling fan in the room, even though it was cool enough. Be prepared to pay for beach chairs and if you want something like tea in your room, you will need to ask daily. Overall a great place and we were very happy to have stayed here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sea Side Grill is basic but clean. The food was graciously portioned and very good. More reasonably priced than most in the area. Don't bother with the popular place, "Eggs N Things", not worth the wait , food not so good.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
California2013
Business
California
Jan 24, 2014

Perfect location

Location doesn't get better.. The spa is also great. Definitely worth the splurge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miabs
Business
Oregon
Dec 28, 2013

Beautiful!

This is exactly the type of hotel and experience that we love. True character in the building and the staff. While the location was a bit overwhelming, the hotel was a beautiful oasis. The hotel was the best part of our time in Honolulu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Talk with the staff...anything and everything, they will handle it for you.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BFSLDS
Business
Rochester, N.Y.
Dec 26, 2013

Moana

Except for tiny bathroom (leaky shower), we had a great time. Kudos to the concierge!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Roy's restaurant is worth the walk.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bus Driver Guy
Business
Surrey, BC, Canada
Dec 9, 2013

Another return visit

This was my fourth trip back to Hawaii and a repeat stay at the Moana Surfrider. On every trip, as well as this last visit, I've always found that the entire staff; from the bell/valet, front desk and housekeeping personnel to the restaurant/bar folks all go out of their way to make you feel cormfortable and welcome. It was a great feeling to see so many friendly faces all working to make you feel completely at home. That is the feeling I get everytime I stay at this hotel on my visits to Hawaii. I shall return again to experience more of their great hospitality! Don

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can take advantage of dining at any of the Starwood group of hotels within walking distance and have the ability to charge all of your meals to your room at the Moana Surfrider.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Abermudez
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 2, 2013

Awesome Hotel!

Cannot say enough how awesome this hotel was. The staff was super friendly and any questions that we had were answered right away. The room was cleaned everyday. The hotel was situated right Waikiki Beach, so FYI there is a lot of people walking along the hotel. The front of the hotel faces the strip where are the high-end stores are located. Even the locals would tell us how they would like to stay there one day. Its a bit pricey but I think is well worth it. Also, our flight didn't leave until 7pm but they let us store our bags and gave us a courtesy room to shower and change well after check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PKER
Business
Austin, TX
Nov 14, 2013

Loved it

Beautiful property, very convenient location, good food and great rooms. Loved the festive atmosphere and friendly staff. Right on waikiki beach. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duke's is right next door. Great food at a reasonable price, although the service could be better. The area is supberb for all kinds of shopping.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miss Disapointed
Business
San Jse , California
Oct 29, 2013

Not family oriented

Carpet is filthy. Bathroom is about 35 square feet with shower stall only no bathtub. 90% of the common areas require you to buy a drink in order to sit. The lobby wood floor is being sanded during our stay. The in-room safe does not work. Night stand does not work. Hotel entrance is being painted at this moment. Stay if you are willing to pay a four-star hotel for a two and a half hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Collen
Business
Philadelphia
Oct 21, 2013

Honeymoon

The Moana Surfrider was a perfect location on the beach to see the sunset. Great facility and excellent service. Complimentary tour of the hotel, first glass of wine, and first breakfast were included. There was a resort fee of $30/day, but it was worth it because there of the free self-parking and free wifi. They also charge $2-3 for using the gym too. It is definitely one of the more popular resort on Waikiki. There's always people going in and out of the location. Weddings almost everyday. It was very convenient location for restaurants, market, and shopping. The only down side were that the elevator was out of order sometimes, the lobby was closed off for the first few days and no mention of it by the front desk when we first check-in (more detail from the staff about the closure would be appreciated on how to get around but we figured it out ourselves), and the wifi was down for the most part of the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's tons of designer shops everywhere.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Annie15
Business
Keauhou, HI 96739
Oct 16, 2013

WAIKIKI GRANDE DAME

This historic hotel is my Honolulu favorite! Unlike the concrete high-rises that flank it on either side, it feels like the real, true Hawai'i, as does its high level of hospitality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The chocolate-dipped tropical fruits in the candy store in the Sheraton Waikiki mall (left side after entrance) make perfect presents for family and friends.

Back to menu Return to top