Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
265 reviews
Amazing time with SO and friends

Celebrated anniversary/birthday there. Great experience. See full review

  • toolizzit2quit
  • Sep 16, 2014
possibly best value for money in Waikiki

Love this hotel. Would absolutely return. They got all the small details to make a vacation... See full review

  • gizmorules04
  • Sep 15, 2014
'The First Lady of Waikiki' was constructed at the turn of the 20th century, and the Moana Surfrider lives up to her elegant name as a Waikiki beachfront property. Upon arrival, you'll be treated to a signature Westin elixir, a fragrant flower lei, and a refreshingly chilled towel. Catch a great night's sleep on your Westin Heavenly Bed, and soak up traditional Hawaiian healing techniques and treatments inside Waikiki's only beachfront spa. High-end toiletries, superior linens, and comfortable bathrobes adorn the accommodations, while the refurbished lobby features hardwood floors, along with new fixtures and fittings.
Key facts
  • Guestrooms inside three wings: Diamond Wing, Banyan Wing and Tower Wing
  • Moana Lani Spa
  • Bars and restaurants: Beachhouse at the Moana, Bin1901, Veranda at the Beachhouse, Beach Bar
  • Wedding venue facilities
  • Meeting spaces and conference area
  • Banyan Courtyard
Neighborhood
The central Waikiki location of the Moana Surfrider Westin Resort and Spa affords visitors easy access to a range of beach-related activities. Snorkeling adventures, surf lessons, and outrigger canoe rides can be experienced within steps of the resort. After riding the waves, enjoy six floors of retail therapy and eateries at the Waikiki Shopping Plaza down the street.
Hints and tips
The Banyan Courtyard is a popular place to relax under the trees while sipping umbrella drinks and enjoying live music, along with occasional hula dancing.

Book a room in the Tower Wing for balcony views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean from your spacious guest room. The contemporary Hawaiian decor is complemented by two double or king size Heavenly Beds, a 32 inch flat screen TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with high-speed internet access available at an extra charge) and chair, and a hardwood dresser. The bathrooms feature Westin's Heavenly BathEamenities. Additional features include a coffee maker, cable TV, and a refrigerator.
City View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of Honolulu from your spacious and newly renovated guest room. The contemporary decor is complemented by a king size Heavenly Beds, Flat Screen 32 inch TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with HSIA - surcharge) and chair, a hardwood dresser, and modern tile-floored baths with heavenly bath with granite counters - all accented in a Hawaiian motif. (264 square feet). Additional features include coffee maker, cable, and refrigerator.
Banyan Classic Ocean Club
All guests booking this category will have access to the Beach Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2765 -157.8265
Area served
Honolulu Oahu Hawaii. Waikiki Beach
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL 10 Miles
Area description
Waikiki Beach, International Market-225ft, Pearl Harbor-10mi, Honolulu Zoo-0.3mi, Kapiolani Park-0.4mi, Ala Moana Shopping Center-2mi,Aloha Tower-4mi, Aloha Stadium-10mi, Hanama Bay-12mi, North Shore 35mi

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Dining

The Veranda
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, Banyan Veranda also offers a traditional yet savvy during our Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6 - 11 am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday - Friday 12:00 - 3:00 pm
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30-10pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (265)

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
265 out of 265
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Danny Allen
Sydney, Australia
Aug 21, 2013

Dissapointing Spa Experience

After hiking throughout Kauai, my wife and I decided to recover and spoil ourselves by spending the day at the Moana Lani Spa (at the Waikiki Westin Moana Surfrider). What a mistake. Here’s why… 1. Despite $1000 in treatments, we were treated like second class citizens. We were flying out to LAX later that night so we weren’t guests of the hotel, though we had booked $1000 of spa treatments. But could I jump on Wi-Fi to check my work email while my wife did some quick shopping ahead of our appointment? No, sorry sir, that’s only for Moana Surfrider guests. Fair enough...I guess, so how much is it to pay extra for the privilege? No sir, that’s only for guests, despite your $10000 spend -- but you’re welcome to login to your sensitive work email using our freely available public computer over there, next to the kid about to spill his Fanta. 2. The above is a pretty absurd situation, and when we calmly (literally smiling dumbfounded; laughing) pointed this out to Sakura on the Moana Surfrider front desk, I really didn’t feel like the simple query was escalated in any real fashion. I ended walking 2 blocks to a Starbucks. And I had to ask for directions on the street. That’s some top-quality Westin customer service right there. I don’t know if it was because she had a cold (or allergies), but Sakura just felt off script. I do actually believe she genuinely cared, she seemed quite nice, but it felt like she had no script to work from in this situation and was lost. I don’t fault Sakura at all; it’s management. 3. Fun fact: Your SPG Starwood Preferred Guest number is almost useless. Outside of a nominal discount, you don’t accrue points on spa treatments. Allow me to point that out for you, because they won’t. 4. Would you like fries with that? At the very start of each treatment – before you’ve even disrobed – the treatment staff is apparently forced to try to upsell you to further treatments. Parafan wax hand creams, etc. I don’t know about you, but being nickel and dimed before the treatment has begun, when I’m already booked in for $1000 between my wife and I – is the opposite of relaxation. It sets an awkward tone. 5. I purposely chose the “Ikaika Sports” massage for its “range of motion stretches and deep tissue techniques”. However, there wasn’t much stretching at all. It was pretty much a deep tissue massage with some Thai elements thrown in. In fact, I’ve had more stretching in a Thai massage – which was a let-down. That said, Hakura is still a great masseuse and it still felt great. First world problems, right? 6. All the above aside, the spa staff is wonderful. My wife enjoyed Maria’s pedicure, Gilda’s massage and Denise’s facial. And Jessica was great talking me through my very first facial. We were pleasantly surprised to have booked in on 24-hours’ notice, and though I was a few minutes late for my appointment, it wasn’t subtracted from my time. Thank you for that. That said, I’d have been on time if I wasn’t forced to make my way back from Starbucks two blocks away. 7. Which, ultimately, is reflective of our entire Moana Lani Spa experience: The spa staff is great. The management of guest services at this particular hotel… not so much. I don’t normally write reviews, but as an SPG member, I’m still irked by the unpleasantness and felt compelled to share the experience to other travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YUPpy Young Urban Profess
Marina Del Rey, California
Aug 3, 2013

Nice hotel

The hotel was in a good location and was clean but the size of the room was small. Also the noise level was high due to the location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marissa cobb
scottsdale,arizona
Jul 22, 2013

perfect location

Excellent location, just in the heart of Waikiki best area. The pianist player at the lobby is fantastic. The atmosphere f the hotel is great, it is like leaving the past with the Lexus of the present. However the pool is not well maintain and the area on the beach is almost limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trsh
seattle,wa
Jun 23, 2013

Overall, great place

This was a great experience. The only negative aspect was how my friend and I were treated once they knew we booked through a 3rd party travel agency/package deal. They saw that we were young (and assumed we had no money) and in combination with the package deal listed by our name, and gave us the smallest, hidden away room possible. But was still a nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Street food vendors come out on Thursday in the international market. Inexpensive, home made food!

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Indyjackson
Santa Barbara
Jun 20, 2013

Moana Surfrider

Excellent Hotel, Perfect Location, Great Beach With Friendly Sea Turtles!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WahineDiva
Denver, Colorado
Jun 8, 2013

A mix of good and bad

Overall, a good stay. Great to be right on the beach. But the accommodations were not worth the price. Many of the staff were very friendly. But a few were especially rude - except toward singer Bobby Brown and his family, who were there for Brown's wedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EHung
Palo Alto, CA
May 29, 2013

Unsurpassed Location, Very Good Hotel

The Moana Surfrider is a historically significant hotel, and by staying here you are following the footsteps of more than 100 years of visitors to Waikiki. As it is an older property, the rooms are somewhat smaller in area, and you can here sounds from the hallway through the doors. But, the rooms themselves are excellent an everything is new and clean since the 2007 renovation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Banyan tree in the courtyard has a long and interesting history, you can check out a historical exhibit on the second floor of the lobby area.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Desertdweller
Tucson, AZ
May 16, 2013

Lives up to it's reputation as the Grand Lady of Waikiki

This was my third stay at the Moana. The Moana is a historical hotel with the best location in Waikiki. Service this year was excellent and much improved from past stays. Do your homework and decide what you are looking for. This is not a huge multi-tower conglomerate with a shopping center. It suits the discerning traveler who appreciates it's old world charm along with fine dining and great beach acess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

There are times when the Moana offers it's breakfast buffet complimentary on upgrades. It is oh so worth doing the upgrade for it alone. Really enjoyed the quality, quantity, and service and the view from the veranda can make anyone's day.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A little noisy
Alaska
Mar 25, 2013

Don't stay on street side

Everything about the hotel was great - if you have a choice, don't stay on the street side as it's loud at night and early morning. If you're looking for a hotel with a large pool for the kids - this is not the place. Hotel is mostly adults.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mai Mai
NYC
Dec 17, 2012

Not Worth the Cost

The rooms was tiny. Location on the beach is good and the huge banyan tree is beautiful. But, staying just about anywhere else would have been a much better value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top