Ilima Hotel

2 stars
445 Nohonani, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
33 reviews
Comfortable in Waikiki

Having stayed at the hotel many times I was not pleased with the Standard room; I have always... See full review

  • fantomfan
  • Oct 14, 2009
Comfortable in Waikiki

Having stayed at the hotel many times I was not pleased with the Standard room; I have always... See full review

  • fantomfan
  • Oct 14, 2009

The 'Ilima Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Waikiki. Value-minded travelers will find spacious 530 sq ft studios with a fully equipped kitchen, air conditioning, and daily maid service. The hotel has two rooftop sun decks, a cozy heated pool, sauna, and exercise room. Free high-speed cable internet access and Cal King beds in deluxe units only.

Limited Free Parking available, but not guaranteed

Ilima Hotel Rooms

Standard Studio
Studio with 2 double beds includes a writing desk, dining table with 2 chairs, full kitchen, private lanai with table and 2 chairs. Located on floors 4 and 5. Includes free unlimited high speed internet.
Deluxe Studio
Studio with 1 king and 1 double bed includes a writing desk, dining table with 2 chairs, full kitchen, private lanai with table and 2 chairs. City and mountain views. Located on floors 10-16. Includes free unlimited high speed internet.
Superior Studio
Studio with 2 double beds includes a writing desk, dining table with 2 chairs, full kitchen, private lanai with table and 2 chairs. City and mountain views. Located on floors 6-9. Includes free unlimited high speed internet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ilima Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2806 -157.8254
Area served
Honolulu - Central Waikiki
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport - 7 Miles-HNL
Area description
The international Market place and Royal Hawaiian Shopping centre, Movie theatres, Restaurants, Exciting nightlife, Kapi'olani Park, Honolulu Zoo, Duty free shopping, Ala Moana Shopping Center and 18 Hole Ala Wai Public Golf Course.

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.5 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.9 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.8 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.1 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Fully equipped Conference Facilites for up to 50 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Ilima Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GOLIC
Chico, CA, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Best spot in Oahu for the money!

Amazing staff - courteous, prompt, caring. Hotel was within 2 blocks of the beach. Room was massive and included a full kitchen. The hotel had few perks and there wasn't any coffee packs included with the in-room coffee maker. Next time I am in Oahu, I'm staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Seek out and enjoy the best breakfast in Hawaii - the Loco Moco!

Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Beaumont,Tx
Aug 2, 2011

Large hotel rooms and good location

We were there for our vacation. The hotel was very near the International Market, and a few minutes walk to Waikiki beach and the other stores.Staff was very friendly and accomodating;our room was large (compared to other hotels), and the housekeeping staff kept it clean daily. Although the hotel was dated and could use some renovations, it was a nice place to stay at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Redondo Beach
Oct 6, 2009

Spacious affordable Waikiki room

The Ilima hotel is in a great location near the International Market Place and within a few minutes walking distance to the beach. The room was large and clean, the staff was friendly and knowledgable and it was great to save money by cooking some of our meals. Parking is also free. The pool and fitness room were samll but you do not need these amenities when you can swim and surf in the ocean or hike Diamond head. This h

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Free parking

Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deb249
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Nov 30, 2010

Excellent choice

This is the second time we have stayed at the Ilima. The first time was about 15 years ago with our kids and the room was quite large to accomodate all the luggage and kids. We just got back from a second stay at the Ilima, and we were blown away. Granted this is an older hotel but the rooms are huge by comparasion to other downtown hotels. It is in a great location and the hotel was spotless. The housekeeping dept.is to be commended, you could eat off their floors. Would highly recommend staying here!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GOLIC
Chico, CA, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Best spot in Oahu for the money!

Amazing staff - courteous, prompt, caring. Hotel was within 2 blocks of the beach. Room was massive and included a full kitchen. The hotel had few perks and there wasn't any coffee packs included with the in-room coffee maker. Next time I am in Oahu, I'm staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Seek out and enjoy the best breakfast in Hawaii - the Loco Moco!

Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NH
May 29, 2011

Very Clean & Friendly

Nice location for shopping and restaurants, a little far from the beach. Loved the free parking. The hotel is showing it's age, the room was clean and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cihcago, IL
Jul 29, 2009

it's an okay stay

The location is good: next to the river and three blocks to the beach and close to bus stops. The hotel room is big with full kitchen with full size freezer and microwave. You only need cooking oil and seasonings...if plan to cook. They have everything. Free wired internet (not wireless, but no need to bring cable). Flat screen TV. Good room service. The hotel room is little worn and not clean. My child walked on the carpet with bare feet. After a few minute, the feet turned "black". The carpet is very dirty and has been cleaned for very long time (two rooms we stayed have same problem). The first two days we found live cockroachers in the kitchen area. The safe in the room does not work ($2.75 daily charge for using safe). The standard room is on 4-5 floor, just above the parking garage. So the view from the balcony is the whole roof of the closed 2-story hotel next to Ilima Hotel and view of roofs of cars. It is very noisy and not worth of $150 per night. Also the bed is not very comfortable, and I can feel the spring. We chose this hotel only because of the kitchen. My child is very picky on food (we have to cook for our child). We won't recommend it to the family with small children, since it is not clean (unless you want to use kitchen). I'm a little regret to give up Hilton Village and choose Ilima Hotel at last minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SusJoy
Arlington, VA
Jan 18, 2011

Clean and functional

This hotel is in need of some updating but it served its purpose. We knew it was clean by the strong smell of bleach in the room which lingered the two days we were there. It's close to the dining and shopping of downtown Waikiki and a short walk to the beach, but far enough away from the action that it's quiet at night. The beds are comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. The pool is miniscule. It was nice to have towels and straw mats we could bring to the beach with us. I thought it to be a bit pricey to be off the main drag but overall it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Orange, NJ
Jan 31, 2011

Good location for the price

This is a very good bargain for the price. Clean, convenient and centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SusJoy
Arlington, VA
Jan 18, 2011

Clean and functional

This hotel is in need of some updating but it served its purpose. We knew it was clean by the strong smell of bleach in the room which lingered the two days we were there. It's close to the dining and shopping of downtown Waikiki and a short walk to the beach, but far enough away from the action that it's quiet at night. The beds are comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. The pool is miniscule. It was nice to have towels and straw mats we could bring to the beach with us. I thought it to be a bit pricey to be off the main drag but overall it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top