Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

Hawaiian Monarch

2 stars
View map of 444 Niu Street, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hawaiian Monarch

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.1

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lost_map
Business
san francisco
Aug 19, 2010

Good and Bad

First time being in Hawaii, my friend and I thought we found a great deal on the price! Of coures you get what you pay for...the room was dirty, sheets were stained, and it appeared they had a pest control(ANTS) appt during our stay. Now, for the good... location was convienet, we thought it was far from Wakiki shopping area and its actually just a few blocks away and so is the beach. The staff was extremely friendly and we would most likely stay here again once they get the ants under control in the bathroom!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Definitely look throught those VIP TOURS booklet for your activity needs. Service was great as well for each activity that we did!!

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annaconda & Stick
Business
Eugene, Oregon
Aug 13, 2010

Hotel Monarch Aug 5-9 2010

The staff was so friendly and remembered or acted like they remembered everyone. If they didn't know, then they would find out, but usually they knew how to help us. This was our first trip to Hawaii and we didn't know what to expect. This building was one of the tallest and only a couple blocks from Waikiki Beach, International Market, and well within walking distance of anything. We could see the building from the beach and since we were walking for our last 2 days, it was very easy to find. The best thing I liked was that you had to have your room key card to work the elevator. So there weren't people there who weren't staying within the hotel or condo areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

ALWAYS Pay to Park... We had our car towed in china town at midnight. The machine was broken, and so we just walked away (not smart) we came out and found our rental car gone. Very stressful, but the tow company came to pick us up and bring us to the car. It cost me an additional $145 that I wasn't prepared to spend in Hawaii. So always pay the meter!!!

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange Country, CA
Jul 31, 2010

A week at the Hawaiin Monarch

The room was marginally acceptable. The faucet in the tub dripped constantly. There were towels for two people - there were three of us. The towels were thin and as rough as sandpaper. The bedspreads, reminiscent of a 1980's motorhome, were thin, threadbare and had holes in them. There was no ice machine in the entire hotel. The only vending machines were 12 floors below us in the laundry room. The laundry room was not inviting. The machines were old and not well cared for. The door was dirty. The floor had many broken and missing tiles. The threshold of the doorway to the laundry room/vending machine area was badly chipped and chewed up. Several of the louvered windows were missing. Among other refuse outside, there was an old dinette chair on the 'balcony' of the laundry room missing most of its original vinyl and displaying the rotting foam of its original cushion. In its most recent 'refurbishing', no hardware, door knobs, etc. had been removed prior to painting so that paint was on doorknobs, switchplates etc. The only good thing: the elevator did work smoothly and quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr.alexander
Business
Las vegas,NV.
Jul 26, 2010

nice view

I'm going to Hawaii with my bicycle but they don't have the parking for me.I've to put my bike in the bell store room is better.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Middleton, WI
Jul 17, 2010

Great location for the price

This hotel is a nice place to stay. It is affordable and in a good location. Walking distance to the beach, shopping, and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

There is a small refrigerator and microwave in the hotel room. I saved money by going to a nearby grocery store and bying supplies. Much cheaper than eating out every night.

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MKN
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 13, 2010

Great Price and Very Friendly Staff

The staff was very friendly and helpful with everything from checking in, answering questions, delivering extra towels, giving us ideas of things to do and what is close by. The hotel doesn't look like one of the newer hotels and isn't the nicest, but for the price and only being in the room to shower and sleep it's well worth it. The shower seemed a bit small, but other than that the room was clean and a decent size for 2 people. Every hotel in the Waikiki area charges insane prices for parking and the Hawaiian Monarch was one of the cheaper hotels to park at. Overall, we had a great time and would probably choose this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a restaraunt called Cheeseburger right across the street. Be prepared to sit and wait long for service and/or food or drinks if you even get noticed. The staff was nice, but just don't seem like the know what "busy" really is. It was the closest thing to the hotel so we'd spend about an hour and a half there every morning mostly waiting on our breakfast or check. On our last day we were seated and 15 minutes later no one had even checked on us, so we ended up walking out. You might want to find a different breakfast spot if you want to get to your activities on time.

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bad place to go if u like clean
Business
indana
Apr 27, 2010

city is good the hotel is bad

look good ants in room an rochis in the loby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Turmanized
Business
Milwaukee, Wi
Apr 9, 2010

Spring Break 2010

My husband and I planned the trip to Hawaii with a budget in mind. Hawaiian Monarch was right up our alley. We basically needed a place to lay our heads after seeing Waikiki, shopping, or sightseeing. So, if you are looking for just a place to lay your head, this is the place for you. The staff was excellent and knowledgeable enough to help us out with our day to day itinerary. [...], the night clerk, was awesome and inviting. Vanessa, during the day, was a great asset to our trip with directions and advice. I wouldn't say that this hotel is a 5 star as we did see other hotels close that were much nicer, but for the price, it was fine. The location was fine as well if you didn't mind a short walk, which we didn't. Everything was in walking distance and what wasn't we did have a rental car. In all, the trip was still amazing and we would love to go back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In the Waikiki Business/Shopping center, the food court was cool. Once again, with our budget, we wanted to save for the parasailing, and catamaran, and luau, so to eat cheap walk a little ways down to the shopping center. It had little eateries in there just like any mall instead of spending $40-50 bucks at the restaurants along the streets. Also, there is a 24 hour restaurant on Ala Moana that was very reasonable and very well worth it. All you can eat pancakes if you are a breakfast nut.

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kihei, HI
Apr 1, 2010

Sorry Honey

First impression wasn't very good. As I walk into the lobby to check-in, there were a couple of scantly clad women, overly made up and falling out of their dresses. Not exactly what you want your 3 yo daughter to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kihei, HI
Apr 1, 2010

Sorry Honey

First impression wasn't very good. As I walk into the lobby to check-in, there were a couple of scantly clad women, overly made up and falling out of their dresses. Not exactly what you want your 3 yo daughter to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top