Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Hawaiian Monarch

2 stars
444 Niu Street, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
164 reviews
Nice

Warmly greated and fully informed regarding hotel and local area. See full review

  • Harrymon
  • Mar 10, 2014
hawaii vacation

the staff were nice and helpfull. The location were good, you could walk to the beach and the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 17, 2011
Mid-priced hotel with grand views of Waikiki

The Hawaiian Monarch is a towering landmark at the west end of Waikiki. The hotel is under new management and has been recently renovated. The Hawaii Convention Center, Hawaii's largest shopping mall and Waikiki's best shopping and dining are steps from the hotel. One of the area's widest sand beaches can be found several blocks away. The hotel's location along the Ala Wai Canal provides ample opportunity to meet residents on a morning walk. Guests can also enjoy lounging at the hotel's outdoor pool.

Highlights
  • Cream Pot serves Waikiki's best breakfast
  • High-floor rooms offer grand Waikiki and Ala Wai Canal views
  • Rent a motorcycle, scooter or mini-coupe onsite
Location

The hotel is ideally located in Waikiki near wide sand beaches and fine dining. Find many local eateries at McCully Shopping Center, the Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Center, Hawaii's largest shopping mall. The hotel is situated along the Ala Wai Canal, used by resident joggers and canoe paddlers.

Rooms

Rooms feature soft, island-style d├ęcor. Higher rooms offer unobstructed views of the city, canal, mountain or ocean. All rooms feature air conditioning, cable TV, mini refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer and in-room safe (fees apply).

Dining

The Hawaiian Monarch Hotel lobby is home to Waikiki's favorite breakfast and brunch spot. The Cream Pot has a French country cottage atmosphere with selections like Belgian waffles with Maui strawberries and savory maple bacon. Nearby, Honolulu's upscale Thai favorite Keo's, is a great choice for dinner.


Attractions
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium

Hawaiian Monarch Rooms

Standard Double Bed
One Queen or One Double Bed, views vary from city,mountain to ocean view.All rooms have a T.V, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and air conditioning. 100% non smoking hotel.
Standard Double-Double
Two Double size beds,City or Mountain View. All rooms have a T.V, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and air conditioning.100% non smoking hotel.
Standard Queen
One Queen size bed, City or Mountain view. All rooms have a T.V, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and air conditioning.100% non smoking hotel.
Ocean View Single
One Queen or One Double size ed, Ocean View. All rooms have a T.V, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and air conditioning.100% non smoking hotel.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hawaiian Monarch also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2873 -157.8324
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International Airport - 8 miles
Area description
Located in the heart of Waikiki between Kalakaua Avenue and Ala Wai Boulevard; 15 minute walk to the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.7 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.6 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.2 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.7 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.6 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.2 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.2 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.5 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.5 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.5 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.8 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.8 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.9 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.7 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.9 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.2 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.2 mi

Dining

Choco House Restaurant
ON SITE, Japanese cuisine featuring sushi and noodle dishes.
Cream Pot Breakfast & Brunch
ON SITE, Breakfast & Brunch Restaurant. Open daily from 6:30am-2:30pm
Keo's Thai Cuisine
5 minute walk from hotel.
Cheeseburger in Paradise Waikiki
Across the street from hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for Hawaiian Monarch

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.2

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Japan
Aug 29, 2010

Reasonable!

reasonable price, little far from waikiki beach, flexible check in time(if available), friend staff, room is not bad(sometimes noisy due to TV sound and music from next room)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lost_map
san francisco
Aug 19, 2010

Good and Bad

First time being in Hawaii, my friend and I thought we found a great deal on the price! Of coures you get what you pay for...the room was dirty, sheets were stained, and it appeared they had a pest control(ANTS) appt during our stay. Now, for the good... location was convienet, we thought it was far from Wakiki shopping area and its actually just a few blocks away and so is the beach. The staff was extremely friendly and we would most likely stay here again once they get the ants under control in the bathroom!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Definitely look throught those VIP TOURS booklet for your activity needs. Service was great as well for each activity that we did!!

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annaconda & Stick
Eugene, Oregon
Aug 13, 2010

Hotel Monarch Aug 5-9 2010

The staff was so friendly and remembered or acted like they remembered everyone. If they didn't know, then they would find out, but usually they knew how to help us. This was our first trip to Hawaii and we didn't know what to expect. This building was one of the tallest and only a couple blocks from Waikiki Beach, International Market, and well within walking distance of anything. We could see the building from the beach and since we were walking for our last 2 days, it was very easy to find. The best thing I liked was that you had to have your room key card to work the elevator. So there weren't people there who weren't staying within the hotel or condo areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

ALWAYS Pay to Park... We had our car towed in china town at midnight. The machine was broken, and so we just walked away (not smart) we came out and found our rental car gone. Very stressful, but the tow company came to pick us up and bring us to the car. It cost me an additional $145 that I wasn't prepared to spend in Hawaii. So always pay the meter!!!

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annaconda & Stick
Eugene, Oregon
Aug 13, 2010

Hotel Monarch Aug 5-9 2010

The staff was so friendly and remembered or acted like they remembered everyone. If they didn't know, then they would find out, but usually they knew how to help us. This was our first trip to Hawaii and we didn't know what to expect. This building was one of the tallest and only a couple blocks from Waikiki Beach, International Market, and well within walking distance of anything. We could see the building from the beach and since we were walking for our last 2 days, it was very easy to find. The best thing I liked was that you had to have your room key card to work the elevator. So there weren't people there who weren't staying within the hotel or condo areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

ALWAYS Pay to Park... We had our car towed in china town at midnight. The machine was broken, and so we just walked away (not smart) we came out and found our rental car gone. Very stressful, but the tow company came to pick us up and bring us to the car. It cost me an additional $145 that I wasn't prepared to spend in Hawaii. So always pay the meter!!!

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange Country, CA
Jul 31, 2010

A week at the Hawaiin Monarch

The room was marginally acceptable. The faucet in the tub dripped constantly. There were towels for two people - there were three of us. The towels were thin and as rough as sandpaper. The bedspreads, reminiscent of a 1980's motorhome, were thin, threadbare and had holes in them. There was no ice machine in the entire hotel. The only vending machines were 12 floors below us in the laundry room. The laundry room was not inviting. The machines were old and not well cared for. The door was dirty. The floor had many broken and missing tiles. The threshold of the doorway to the laundry room/vending machine area was badly chipped and chewed up. Several of the louvered windows were missing. Among other refuse outside, there was an old dinette chair on the 'balcony' of the laundry room missing most of its original vinyl and displaying the rotting foam of its original cushion. In its most recent 'refurbishing', no hardware, door knobs, etc. had been removed prior to painting so that paint was on doorknobs, switchplates etc. The only good thing: the elevator did work smoothly and quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange Country, CA
Jul 31, 2010

A week at the Hawaiin Monarch

The room was marginally acceptable. The faucet in the tub dripped constantly. There were towels for two people - there were three of us. The towels were thin and as rough as sandpaper. The bedspreads, reminiscent of a 1980's motorhome, were thin, threadbare and had holes in them. There was no ice machine in the entire hotel. The only vending machines were 12 floors below us in the laundry room. The laundry room was not inviting. The machines were old and not well cared for. The door was dirty. The floor had many broken and missing tiles. The threshold of the doorway to the laundry room/vending machine area was badly chipped and chewed up. Several of the louvered windows were missing. Among other refuse outside, there was an old dinette chair on the 'balcony' of the laundry room missing most of its original vinyl and displaying the rotting foam of its original cushion. In its most recent 'refurbishing', no hardware, door knobs, etc. had been removed prior to painting so that paint was on doorknobs, switchplates etc. The only good thing: the elevator did work smoothly and quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr.alexander
Las vegas,NV.
Jul 26, 2010

nice view

I'm going to Hawaii with my bicycle but they don't have the parking for me.I've to put my bike in the bell store room is better.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr.alexander
Las vegas,NV.
Jul 26, 2010

nice view

I'm going to Hawaii with my bicycle but they don't have the parking for me.I've to put my bike in the bell store room is better.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Middleton, WI
Jul 17, 2010

Great location for the price

This hotel is a nice place to stay. It is affordable and in a good location. Walking distance to the beach, shopping, and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

There is a small refrigerator and microwave in the hotel room. I saved money by going to a nearby grocery store and bying supplies. Much cheaper than eating out every night.

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Middleton, WI
Jul 17, 2010

Great location for the price

This hotel is a nice place to stay. It is affordable and in a good location. Walking distance to the beach, shopping, and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

There is a small refrigerator and microwave in the hotel room. I saved money by going to a nearby grocery store and bying supplies. Much cheaper than eating out every night.

Back to menu Return to top