Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Hawaiian Monarch

2 stars
View map of 444 Niu Street, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hawaiian Monarch

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.1

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BeccaAaron
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 18, 2010

Great hotel

The hotel was nice looking but a little old. We got it for a reasonable price since we were only in our hotel to sleep and change. It had nice views and a nice pool. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would defiantly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tokyo, Japan
Feb 24, 2010

Cheap, but not great

The staff was very helpful and the location was good. However, extremely noisy and just bare min accomadations. I would not stay there again. Might be ok for college kids. Many of the other hotel guests looked shady.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sanpea
Business
Gardendale AL
Feb 4, 2010

Bad Real BAD. NO GO!

Not clean. Could not keep clean wash cloths and towels. No ice machine on property. Staff was great. They were the only good thing about this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vermont
Feb 3, 2010

Great bargain

WE are an older, quieter couple, here to see the more out of the way spots, not to enoy the nightlife. We found this a perfect location to leave from, easy to access the highway. Wonderful to have the parking there. We were on the 24th floor, so very quiet. Room was small, but adequate for us since we weren't spending much time there. Clean, very friendly staff. I would certainly use this hotel again, as it was a great price, and met our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, NC
Jan 28, 2010

Good...But

We enjoyed going to the beach, mall, use the Go-Oahu cards

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Dec 15, 2009

NOT recommended...

Chose one of the cheaper hotels [...] for a quick one night island hop to Oahu to visit family. Unfortunately the Monarch was a major disappointment. There were hairs (yes, plural) in the bed sheets, it was very dated and not very clean. There was nothing in the booking information about having to pay to park, and for the extra parking fee we could've stayed someplace else. We almost went out and slept in our rental car. Yuck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hilo Hawaii
Dec 1, 2009

Life saver gettaway!!!

The elevator was fast,the room was perfect for our family and child, they gave free newspaper and there was a convienance store in the lobby that sold everything for most of the night. It was a perfect mini vacation for us!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oxnard, California
Nov 12, 2009

GET TOGETHER WITH MY DAUGHTER,

I drove around the whole island, I went to the zoo, went to the aquarium,and the lookout. I strolled the streetsof the canal,and waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

walking around the whole waikiki area and the canal.

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Oct 14, 2009

Relaxed getaway

Overall, I enjoyed my 5 night stay at the hotel. I was on the 19th floor so the sirens going off all night long did not bother me too much. In plus I have been there plenty times before to know what to expect in Waikiki. The hotel room was a very tight sqeeze walking in the door way because they have all of the furniture positioned akwardly. Room service was great. They came every morning around the same time. Front desk staff were also on the ball. Everyone was very friendly. Another thing that I really loved was the fact that they held my bags for me. My bus was not picking me up till 7pm the day I checked out which is at 11am. They held my bags for me, free of charge, while I spent my last day in Waikiki. Very pleased with my trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to catch the Magic of Polynesia show! Very worth it!

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
balot
Business
culver city, ca
Oct 10, 2009

vacation getaway

We went to Waikiki Beach, Dole plantation and around the island. We went to Germaine's Luau. The show and food was great! We did have a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

International market place is a about 30 minutes walk away from the Hawaiian Monarch Hotel.

Back to menu Return to top