Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 8, 2014 Check-out: Dec 11, 2014

Hawaiian Monarch

2 stars
444 Niu Street, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
107 reviews
Could be better, could be worse!

I stayed at this hotel for a week. Upon check-in, I wasn't courteously greeted by reception, very... See full review

  • mariposa345
  • Sep 29, 2014
Good Value

unfriendly front desk...room nice and big, great location See full review

  • owens1111r
  • Aug 11, 2014
Mid-priced hotel with grand views of Waikiki

The Hawaiian Monarch is a towering landmark at the west end of Waikiki. The hotel is under new management and has been recently renovated. The Hawaii Convention Center, Hawaii's largest shopping mall and Waikiki's best shopping and dining are steps from the hotel. One of the area's widest sand beaches can be found several blocks away. The hotel's location along the Ala Wai Canal provides ample opportunity to meet residents on a morning walk. Guests can also enjoy lounging at the hotel's outdoor pool.

Highlights
  • Cream Pot serves Waikiki's best breakfast
  • High-floor rooms offer grand Waikiki and Ala Wai Canal views
  • Rent a motorcycle, scooter or mini-coupe onsite
Location

The hotel is ideally located in Waikiki near wide sand beaches and fine dining. Find many local eateries at McCully Shopping Center, the Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Center, Hawaii's largest shopping mall. The hotel is situated along the Ala Wai Canal, used by resident joggers and canoe paddlers.

Rooms

Rooms feature soft, island-style d├ęcor. Higher rooms offer unobstructed views of the city, canal, mountain or ocean. All rooms feature air conditioning, cable TV, mini refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer and in-room safe (fees apply).

Dining

The Hawaiian Monarch Hotel lobby is home to Waikiki's favorite breakfast and brunch spot. The Cream Pot has a French country cottage atmosphere with selections like Belgian waffles with Maui strawberries and savory maple bacon. Nearby, Honolulu's upscale Thai favorite Keo's, is a great choice for dinner.


Attractions
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium

Hawaiian Monarch Rooms

Standard Double Bed
One Queen or One Double Bed, views vary from city,mountain to ocean view.All rooms have a T.V, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and air conditioning. 100% non smoking hotel.
Standard Double-Double
Two Double size beds,City or Mountain View. All rooms have a T.V, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and air conditioning.100% non smoking hotel.
Standard Queen
One Queen size bed, City or Mountain view. All rooms have a T.V, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and air conditioning.100% non smoking hotel.
Ocean View Single
One Queen or One Double size ed, Ocean View. All rooms have a T.V, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and air conditioning.100% non smoking hotel.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hawaiian Monarch also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2873 -157.8324
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International Airport - 8 miles
Area description
Located in the heart of Waikiki between Kalakaua Avenue and Ala Wai Boulevard; 15 minute walk to the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.7 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.6 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.2 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.7 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.6 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.2 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.2 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.5 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.5 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.5 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.8 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.8 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.9 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.7 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.9 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.2 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.2 mi

Dining

Choco House Restaurant
ON SITE, Japanese cuisine featuring sushi and noodle dishes.
Cream Pot Breakfast & Brunch
ON SITE, Breakfast & Brunch Restaurant. Open daily from 6:30am-2:30pm
Keo's Thai Cuisine
5 minute walk from hotel.
Cheeseburger in Paradise Waikiki
Across the street from hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Hawaiian Monarch

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.1

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, NC
Jan 28, 2010

Good...But

We enjoyed going to the beach, mall, use the Go-Oahu cards

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Dec 15, 2009

NOT recommended...

Chose one of the cheaper hotels [...] for a quick one night island hop to Oahu to visit family. Unfortunately the Monarch was a major disappointment. There were hairs (yes, plural) in the bed sheets, it was very dated and not very clean. There was nothing in the booking information about having to pay to park, and for the extra parking fee we could've stayed someplace else. We almost went out and slept in our rental car. Yuck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hilo Hawaii
Dec 1, 2009

Life saver gettaway!!!

The elevator was fast,the room was perfect for our family and child, they gave free newspaper and there was a convienance store in the lobby that sold everything for most of the night. It was a perfect mini vacation for us!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oxnard, California
Nov 12, 2009

GET TOGETHER WITH MY DAUGHTER,

I drove around the whole island, I went to the zoo, went to the aquarium,and the lookout. I strolled the streetsof the canal,and waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

walking around the whole waikiki area and the canal.

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Oct 14, 2009

Relaxed getaway

Overall, I enjoyed my 5 night stay at the hotel. I was on the 19th floor so the sirens going off all night long did not bother me too much. In plus I have been there plenty times before to know what to expect in Waikiki. The hotel room was a very tight sqeeze walking in the door way because they have all of the furniture positioned akwardly. Room service was great. They came every morning around the same time. Front desk staff were also on the ball. Everyone was very friendly. Another thing that I really loved was the fact that they held my bags for me. My bus was not picking me up till 7pm the day I checked out which is at 11am. They held my bags for me, free of charge, while I spent my last day in Waikiki. Very pleased with my trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to catch the Magic of Polynesia show! Very worth it!

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
balot
Business
culver city, ca
Oct 10, 2009

vacation getaway

We went to Waikiki Beach, Dole plantation and around the island. We went to Germaine's Luau. The show and food was great! We did have a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

International market place is a about 30 minutes walk away from the Hawaiian Monarch Hotel.

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 28, 2009

"Really good for price"

I was there on business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VDexter
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 24, 2009

Robbed by the hotel

I registered the wrong date via cheaptickets.com. I tried to call and fix it with cheaptickets.com and they said, "They refuse to re-imburse because the check in date is the same day that I booked." After extensive explanation to both parties it was a website/computer error, I was still not granted my refund OR any adjustments. I WAS ROBBED, THE BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE ONE CAN GET! Especially during these hard economic times - THANKS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hellopanda
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 22, 2009

Great value!

We knew that we would be traveling around the island and that the only time in our room would be to sleep. Hawaiian Monarch truly is a great value...short walking distance to everything in Waikiki including the beach and nightlife. And, easy access to the highway to get to everything else! All of the staff was very friendly and the Cream Pot restaurant in the hotel was a huge surprise with superior food and service...honestly, it was a real treat. I would recommend this hotel to travelers who plan to explore the island and who are in need of a simple, clean place to sleep!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena, CA
Sep 10, 2009

Good Location - Acceptable Accommodation

Easy to find and convenient location. Friendly folks at the desk. If you are out-and-about most of the time (as I was) and your use of the hotel is limited (as mine was)the accommodations are adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top