Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

Hawaiian Monarch

2 stars
View map of 444 Niu Street, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hawaiian Monarch

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.1

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oxnard, California
Nov 12, 2009

GET TOGETHER WITH MY DAUGHTER,

I drove around the whole island, I went to the zoo, went to the aquarium,and the lookout. I strolled the streetsof the canal,and waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

walking around the whole waikiki area and the canal.

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Oct 14, 2009

Relaxed getaway

Overall, I enjoyed my 5 night stay at the hotel. I was on the 19th floor so the sirens going off all night long did not bother me too much. In plus I have been there plenty times before to know what to expect in Waikiki. The hotel room was a very tight sqeeze walking in the door way because they have all of the furniture positioned akwardly. Room service was great. They came every morning around the same time. Front desk staff were also on the ball. Everyone was very friendly. Another thing that I really loved was the fact that they held my bags for me. My bus was not picking me up till 7pm the day I checked out which is at 11am. They held my bags for me, free of charge, while I spent my last day in Waikiki. Very pleased with my trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to catch the Magic of Polynesia show! Very worth it!

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
balot
Business
culver city, ca
Oct 10, 2009

vacation getaway

We went to Waikiki Beach, Dole plantation and around the island. We went to Germaine's Luau. The show and food was great! We did have a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

International market place is a about 30 minutes walk away from the Hawaiian Monarch Hotel.

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
balot
Business
culver city, ca
Oct 10, 2009

vacation getaway

We went to Waikiki Beach, Dole plantation and around the island. We went to Germaine's Luau. The show and food was great! We did have a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

International market place is a about 30 minutes walk away from the Hawaiian Monarch Hotel.

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 28, 2009

"Really good for price"

I was there on business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VDexter
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 24, 2009

Robbed by the hotel

I registered the wrong date via cheaptickets.com. I tried to call and fix it with cheaptickets.com and they said, "They refuse to re-imburse because the check in date is the same day that I booked." After extensive explanation to both parties it was a website/computer error, I was still not granted my refund OR any adjustments. I WAS ROBBED, THE BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE ONE CAN GET! Especially during these hard economic times - THANKS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VDexter
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 24, 2009

Robbed by the hotel

I registered the wrong date via cheaptickets.com. I tried to call and fix it with cheaptickets.com and they said, "They refuse to re-imburse because the check in date is the same day that I booked." After extensive explanation to both parties it was a website/computer error, I was still not granted my refund OR any adjustments. I WAS ROBBED, THE BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE ONE CAN GET! Especially during these hard economic times - THANKS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hellopanda
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 22, 2009

Great value!

We knew that we would be traveling around the island and that the only time in our room would be to sleep. Hawaiian Monarch truly is a great value...short walking distance to everything in Waikiki including the beach and nightlife. And, easy access to the highway to get to everything else! All of the staff was very friendly and the Cream Pot restaurant in the hotel was a huge surprise with superior food and service...honestly, it was a real treat. I would recommend this hotel to travelers who plan to explore the island and who are in need of a simple, clean place to sleep!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena, CA
Sep 10, 2009

Good Location - Acceptable Accommodation

Easy to find and convenient location. Friendly folks at the desk. If you are out-and-about most of the time (as I was) and your use of the hotel is limited (as mine was)the accommodations are adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Lisa :)
Business
Wailuku, HI
Jun 29, 2009

Awesome! :)

My friend and I booked a room at the Hawaiian Monarch last month for business, and really liked staying at this hotel. It was nice, clean, the staff was friendly, and it was close to where we needed to be. It's not a new hotel,and it can be kind of small if you have a large family (just book an ajoining room)but it was a nice place to go to sleep after studying all day. My friend and I have been travelling once a month for the past year now, and have had to find places to stay whenever we come over to Oahu for business. We've stayed in a lot of hotels over the months, and was very happy to have stumbled upon the Hawaiian Monarch Hotel on Orbitz. The price was absolutely fantastic! We were so happy with Hawaiian Monarch, that we decided to book a room for this month. We were pleasantly surprised to find that we had a room reserved for us with a little kitchenette. We didn't expect it! We are very pleased with the Hawaiian Monarch Hotel, and will come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close by to a lot of eateries. Our number one restaurant that's either a walking or driving distance is Wailana Coffee House, off of Ala Moana Blvd.

Back to menu Return to top