Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Hawaiian Monarch

2 stars
444 Niu Street, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
164 reviews
Nice

Warmly greated and fully informed regarding hotel and local area. See full review

  • Harrymon
  • Mar 10, 2014
hawaii vacation

the staff were nice and helpfull. The location were good, you could walk to the beach and the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 17, 2011
Mid-priced hotel with grand views of Waikiki

The Hawaiian Monarch is a towering landmark at the west end of Waikiki. The hotel is under new management and has been recently renovated. The Hawaii Convention Center, Hawaii's largest shopping mall and Waikiki's best shopping and dining are steps from the hotel. One of the area's widest sand beaches can be found several blocks away. The hotel's location along the Ala Wai Canal provides ample opportunity to meet residents on a morning walk. Guests can also enjoy lounging at the hotel's outdoor pool.

Highlights
  • Cream Pot serves Waikiki's best breakfast
  • High-floor rooms offer grand Waikiki and Ala Wai Canal views
  • Rent a motorcycle, scooter or mini-coupe onsite
Location

The hotel is ideally located in Waikiki near wide sand beaches and fine dining. Find many local eateries at McCully Shopping Center, the Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Center, Hawaii's largest shopping mall. The hotel is situated along the Ala Wai Canal, used by resident joggers and canoe paddlers.

Rooms

Rooms feature soft, island-style d├ęcor. Higher rooms offer unobstructed views of the city, canal, mountain or ocean. All rooms feature air conditioning, cable TV, mini refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer and in-room safe (fees apply).

Dining

The Hawaiian Monarch Hotel lobby is home to Waikiki's favorite breakfast and brunch spot. The Cream Pot has a French country cottage atmosphere with selections like Belgian waffles with Maui strawberries and savory maple bacon. Nearby, Honolulu's upscale Thai favorite Keo's, is a great choice for dinner.


Attractions
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium

Hawaiian Monarch Rooms

Standard Double Bed
One Queen or One Double Bed, views vary from city,mountain to ocean view.All rooms have a T.V, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and air conditioning. 100% non smoking hotel.
Standard Double-Double
Two Double size beds,City or Mountain View. All rooms have a T.V, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and air conditioning.100% non smoking hotel.
Standard Queen
One Queen size bed, City or Mountain view. All rooms have a T.V, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and air conditioning.100% non smoking hotel.
Ocean View Single
One Queen or One Double size ed, Ocean View. All rooms have a T.V, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and air conditioning.100% non smoking hotel.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hawaiian Monarch also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2873 -157.8324
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International Airport - 8 miles
Area description
Located in the heart of Waikiki between Kalakaua Avenue and Ala Wai Boulevard; 15 minute walk to the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.7 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.6 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.2 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.7 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.6 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.2 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.2 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.5 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.5 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.5 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.8 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.8 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.9 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.7 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.9 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.2 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.2 mi

Dining

Choco House Restaurant
ON SITE, Japanese cuisine featuring sushi and noodle dishes.
Cream Pot Breakfast & Brunch
ON SITE, Breakfast & Brunch Restaurant. Open daily from 6:30am-2:30pm
Keo's Thai Cuisine
5 minute walk from hotel.
Cheeseburger in Paradise Waikiki
Across the street from hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for Hawaiian Monarch

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.2

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BeccaAaron
Chicago, IL
Mar 18, 2010

Great hotel

The hotel was nice looking but a little old. We got it for a reasonable price since we were only in our hotel to sleep and change. It had nice views and a nice pool. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would defiantly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tokyo, Japan
Feb 24, 2010

Cheap, but not great

The staff was very helpful and the location was good. However, extremely noisy and just bare min accomadations. I would not stay there again. Might be ok for college kids. Many of the other hotel guests looked shady.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tokyo, Japan
Feb 24, 2010

Cheap, but not great

The staff was very helpful and the location was good. However, extremely noisy and just bare min accomadations. I would not stay there again. Might be ok for college kids. Many of the other hotel guests looked shady.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sanpea
Gardendale AL
Feb 4, 2010

Bad Real BAD. NO GO!

Not clean. Could not keep clean wash cloths and towels. No ice machine on property. Staff was great. They were the only good thing about this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sanpea
Gardendale AL
Feb 4, 2010

Bad Real BAD. NO GO!

Not clean. Could not keep clean wash cloths and towels. No ice machine on property. Staff was great. They were the only good thing about this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vermont
Feb 3, 2010

Great bargain

WE are an older, quieter couple, here to see the more out of the way spots, not to enoy the nightlife. We found this a perfect location to leave from, easy to access the highway. Wonderful to have the parking there. We were on the 24th floor, so very quiet. Room was small, but adequate for us since we weren't spending much time there. Clean, very friendly staff. I would certainly use this hotel again, as it was a great price, and met our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vermont
Feb 3, 2010

Great bargain

WE are an older, quieter couple, here to see the more out of the way spots, not to enoy the nightlife. We found this a perfect location to leave from, easy to access the highway. Wonderful to have the parking there. We were on the 24th floor, so very quiet. Room was small, but adequate for us since we weren't spending much time there. Clean, very friendly staff. I would certainly use this hotel again, as it was a great price, and met our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wilmington, NC
Jan 28, 2010

Good...But

We enjoyed going to the beach, mall, use the Go-Oahu cards

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oregon
Dec 15, 2009

NOT recommended...

Chose one of the cheaper hotels [...] for a quick one night island hop to Oahu to visit family. Unfortunately the Monarch was a major disappointment. There were hairs (yes, plural) in the bed sheets, it was very dated and not very clean. There was nothing in the booking information about having to pay to park, and for the extra parking fee we could've stayed someplace else. We almost went out and slept in our rental car. Yuck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oregon
Dec 15, 2009

NOT recommended...

Chose one of the cheaper hotels [...] for a quick one night island hop to Oahu to visit family. Unfortunately the Monarch was a major disappointment. There were hairs (yes, plural) in the bed sheets, it was very dated and not very clean. There was nothing in the booking information about having to pay to park, and for the extra parking fee we could've stayed someplace else. We almost went out and slept in our rental car. Yuck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top