Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Hawaiian Monarch

2 stars
View map of 444 Niu Street, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hawaiian Monarch

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.1

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saginaw
Oct 20, 2008

Decent value

The Hawaiian Monarch was was I expected for the price. It's an older hotel in need of upgrades. The bed sagged in the center and the carpet and shower weren't barefoot friendly. However, if you're on a budget and want to be close to Wakiki beach(about a 15 minute walk), and don't plan to spend much time in your room, you may find this hotel acceptable. Some plusses: No bugs in the room. The front desk clerks were very friendly and helpful. Tour buses pick up from this hotel. One of the best features is that our room had a refrigerator and microwave, so we could save money by buying food and preparing it in the room. They also provided a packet of coffee for your first night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is about a 15 minute walk away.

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milpitas, CA
Oct 13, 2008

Very Poor Choice

The room was very small. The bath room was even smaller & the sink was cracked & stained. The bath tub was painted & the paint was pealing. The closit was very small & needed painting badly.The mini refridgerator did not work & the one ice maker for the entire hotel was out of order. The outside noise was disturbing late into the nite even on the 22nd. floor where we were.The only good thing was the hotel staff was friendly & as helpfull as they could be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Walnut
Sep 5, 2008

Hawaiian Monarch

We enjoyed our stay in Honolulu definitely. The staff at the hotel were very nice and efficient. The room was cleaned well each day. We were somewhat disappointed in that the hotel had a rundown appearance, for example, the elevators with some type of cloth stuff hanging from the walls. Another thing was that you only got your first night's room with free coffee for the room coffeemaker. I've never had this experience before. Always the coffee, cream, sweetener is part of the package. Here if you wanted to buy more then you had to pay for it. We travel all over the US with what we do and this is the first time we've encountered this. Also the rooms could use some updating, get rid of a.c. and provide central air, be able to open windows, etc. I would recommend this room to someone on a very limited budget. We don't require 5 star hotel rooms but I think overall this hotel could use some improvement, and I would only feel right sharing the above with people I know who might stay in this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

From the Monarch you simple step on Kalakuhua Ave. go few blocks and you are instantly in Waikiki Business District with great shops, eateries, and the International Market.

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 1, 2008

The Only Good Thing was the front desk peron let me check-in early!

I was so disgusted in the whole set-up of the hotel and room, the bathroom was despicable, the bathtub was clogged and I felt sick, the view was great, but the hotel is so old and moldy, the parking people are a joke, everything is about money, money, money! The hotel was offer late check out for 4pm departer for 25.00 more, I was so surprised to see that, people do not what to stay in the hotel, they want to leave as soon as possible! We stayed there 10 years ago, and it has just gotten worse, I will never stay there again !!!!! I will tell everyone and anyone NEVER TO STAY THERE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 30, 2008

affordable

for the price it was not bad, but does have some plumbing problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

all kinds of food places close by

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Somerset, NJ
Jul 18, 2008

Good value.

The room had a lovely view toward the canal and the mountains. There were 2 double beds. The bathroom was small. A refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker were included. A new breakfast/brunch restaurant on-site was very good, as was another restaurant 1/2 block away. The bus stop was 3 blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cheeseburger place 1/2 block away had good food and a great atmosphere.

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville
Jul 8, 2008

My review of Hawaiian Monarch

Just a place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara
Jul 7, 2008

Value for Money

Hawaiian Monarch has a geat location but the upkeep and maintainence is really poor. We transfered in different rooms twice due to uncomfort. The first room does not have telephone, garbage bin and room was not comfortable. Beds were really old and uncomfortable. Rooms keys were not working which annoyed us. There was no parking facility. I will not recommend this Hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis
Jun 8, 2008

hotel was not prepared for guess !!!!!

the shower was not working , had to call for repair , the location is not near any fast food mcd etc. when offering a hotel/motel , there need to be mention concerning places to eat out. this is a must , for ppls that stay at hotel/motel. any assitance with this will be greatly appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sundararaj
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 13, 2008

Value for money

Very fiendly staff, neat, good house keeping - best hotel for the low cost. Only thing is you need to walk extra 10 minutes to reach the beach and shopping areas. But well connected by bus. If you plan to go from the hotel once in the day, finish all your activities and return at the end of the day, this is an ideal hotel for the dollar value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Internet hoisk in the lobby is very useful for online check-in for your return trip.

Back to menu Return to top