Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2014 Check-out: Apr 24, 2014

Hawaiian Monarch

2 stars
444 Niu Street, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
104 reviews
Nice

Warmly greated and fully informed regarding hotel and local area. See full review

  • Harrymon
  • Mar 10, 2014
hawaii vacation

the staff were nice and helpfull. The location were good, you could walk to the beach and the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 17, 2011
Mid-priced hotel with grand views of Waikiki

The Hawaiian Monarch is a towering landmark at the west end of Waikiki. The hotel is under new management and has been recently renovated. The Hawaii Convention Center, Hawaii's largest shopping mall and Waikiki's best shopping and dining are steps from the hotel. One of the area's widest sand beaches can be found several blocks away. The hotel's location along the Ala Wai Canal provides ample opportunity to meet residents on a morning walk. Guests can also enjoy lounging at the hotel's outdoor pool.

Highlights
  • Cream Pot serves Waikiki's best breakfast
  • High-floor rooms offer grand Waikiki and Ala Wai Canal views
  • Rent a motorcycle, scooter or mini-coupe onsite
Location

The hotel is ideally located in Waikiki near wide sand beaches and fine dining. Find many local eateries at McCully Shopping Center, the Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Center, Hawaii's largest shopping mall. The hotel is situated along the Ala Wai Canal, used by resident joggers and canoe paddlers.

Rooms

Rooms feature soft, island-style d├ęcor. Higher rooms offer unobstructed views of the city, canal, mountain or ocean. All rooms feature air conditioning, cable TV, mini refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer and in-room safe (fees apply).

Dining

The Hawaiian Monarch Hotel lobby is home to Waikiki's favorite breakfast and brunch spot. The Cream Pot has a French country cottage atmosphere with selections like Belgian waffles with Maui strawberries and savory maple bacon. Nearby, Honolulu's upscale Thai favorite Keo's, is a great choice for dinner.


Attractions
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium

Hawaiian Monarch Rooms

Standard Double Bed
One Queen or One Double Bed, views vary from city,mountain to ocean view.All rooms have a T.V, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and air conditioning. 100% non smoking hotel.
Standard Double-Double
Two Double size beds,City or Mountain View. All rooms have a T.V, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and air conditioning.100% non smoking hotel.
Standard Queen
One Queen size bed, City or Mountain view. All rooms have a T.V, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and air conditioning.100% non smoking hotel.
Ocean View Single
One Queen or One Double size ed, Ocean View. All rooms have a T.V, mini refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and air conditioning.100% non smoking hotel.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hawaiian Monarch also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2873 -157.8324
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International Airport - 8 miles
Area description
Located in the heart of Waikiki between Kalakaua Avenue and Ala Wai Boulevard; 15 minute walk to the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.7 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.6 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.2 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.7 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.6 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.2 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.2 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.5 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.5 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.5 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.8 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.8 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.6 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.9 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.7 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.9 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.2 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.2 mi

Dining

Choco House Restaurant
ON SITE, Japanese cuisine featuring sushi and noodle dishes.
Cream Pot Breakfast & Brunch
ON SITE, Breakfast & Brunch Restaurant. Open daily from 6:30am-2:30pm
Keo's Thai Cuisine
5 minute walk from hotel.
Cheeseburger in Paradise Waikiki
Across the street from hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Hawaiian Monarch

Overall score

2.7 / 5
104 out of 104
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.1

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Santa Barbara
Jul 7, 2008

Value for Money

Hawaiian Monarch has a geat location but the upkeep and maintainence is really poor. We transfered in different rooms twice due to uncomfort. The first room does not have telephone, garbage bin and room was not comfortable. Beds were really old and uncomfortable. Rooms keys were not working which annoyed us. There was no parking facility. I will not recommend this Hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Memphis
Jun 8, 2008

hotel was not prepared for guess !!!!!

the shower was not working , had to call for repair , the location is not near any fast food mcd etc. when offering a hotel/motel , there need to be mention concerning places to eat out. this is a must , for ppls that stay at hotel/motel. any assitance with this will be greatly appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

5
Sundararaj
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 13, 2008

Value for money

Very fiendly staff, neat, good house keeping - best hotel for the low cost. Only thing is you need to walk extra 10 minutes to reach the beach and shopping areas. But well connected by bus. If you plan to go from the hotel once in the day, finish all your activities and return at the end of the day, this is an ideal hotel for the dollar value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Internet hoisk in the lobby is very useful for online check-in for your return trip.

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Feb 29, 2008

No Title

It seems the hotel was going through some type of upheaval, maybe and change in management but whatever it was I was primarily concerned with the cleanliness of our room which left a lot to be desired especially the bathroom. All though I answered NO to recommending this hotel to a friend at this time I do believe I can and will in the future if upgrades are made and the level of upkeep is increased. AND, I would also think of useing the hotel again because of its location which I found very good. Staff WAS very helpful in directing us to a wonderful breakfast place just a block from the hotel and we are very greatful for that information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A must place to go for breakfast is Eggs & Things just a short walk from the hotel. Also, Tony Romas for dinner which is just a short walk. Both are excellant.

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Springfield, IL
Feb 20, 2008

to early for check out

Its so funny that we check in at 3pm and have to be out not even 24 hours. Wish the hotel industry would make exceptions or we can pay a little more to have a later checkout. I payed a full extra day just to stay 3 hours more. Have a good day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach, dining, and night life

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
USA
Feb 13, 2008

Very Helpful Staff

The first room that the hotel provided was unkempt and creepy. However the staff was very understanding and helped me into what they had left on a busy weekend to accommodate my needs and concerns. Even though the room was better, it was still semi-neglected. One of the beds in the room was completely concaved. The location was very good and the view was pretty decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Being in Waikiki you are within walking distance to a lot including shopping, dining, entertainment, and nightlife.

Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
USA
Feb 4, 2008

Accommodating-THAT'S ALL

Rooms were very basic and needed renovation, i.e. cracked basin in bathroom, drywall repairs, etc. It was difficult to find the lobby check-in due to construction going on. Location was at the far end of Waikiki so restaurants, shops, etc. were not easily attainable or in walking distance. We searched for quite a while before we found a restaurant serving breakfast. The parking structure was very convenient and the prepaid window tag allowed you to enter and exit quickly. For me and my family's purpose, we just slept, freshened up and left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Edmonton, AB
Feb 1, 2008

Poor Choice

We recognized that we had chosen a hotel at the lower end of the price scale as we were only stopping for 1 night however tis place was not worth the price we paid. The carpet was filthy the bed spread was dirty and the shower did not work. the lock on the door was worn out and so you had to wait for it to open several seconds and if you moved the handle to soon you had to retry. Young staff in hotel not very experienced. Furniture on the pool deck was limited and 1/2 of it was broken. In all very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
USA
Jan 27, 2008

WORST HOTEL EVER!!!

I would NEVER stay at this hotel EVER. BAD service, staff & experience. I am born and raised in Hilo, which is located on the Big Island of Hawaii. I went to Oahu for my best friends 22nd birthday. When I first checked in I did not feel welcomed at all. The man who checked me in had ABSOLUTELY NO aloha spirit. He forgot to give my ID back to me. So when I went back to the hotel to pickup my ID no one wanted to help me. There were 3 staff members at the front desk and only a couple at the front desk. When someone finally helped me they couldn't find my ID. It took them about 15 minutes or so to remember where they put it. They were really rude and didn't even apologize. The next morning I went out for breakfast & when we got back to the room our beds were made. Since it was the day of my best friends birthday, my other friend and I decided to get her gift ready. We went shopping for the her previous day and I bought her some things. I left my shopping back with items in it right next to the microwave & noticed that it was missing. So I looked everywhere in my room and couldn't find it. So I went down to the front desk and asked politely if I could speak with the housekeeper who cleaned my room. I spoke with someone over the phone and she just told me that she already left for the day and there was nothing she could do about the things that were missing in my room. I was then very upset and asked to speak with someone else regarding this who COULD help me. she said okay & hung up the phone. I spoke with the guy at the front desk and he said someone will be out to speak to me. I waited again and the lady asked me what happened & I told her & she said that she'd be back in a few minutes. I was left waiting in the lobby area for about 30 minutes & then decided that I was sick of waiting and told them to call my cell phone later because I did not want to spend the day waiting for news on my best friends birthday. The later got back to me and apologized and gave me a complimentary stay at the hotel which means nothing to me. I was not satisfied at all & worst of all I was not treated with aloha & RESPECT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hawaiian Monarch

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
USA
Jan 6, 2008

Good place if need cheap night or two...

My initial greeting made me very nervous. The entire first floor is outside and under construction. There is no obvious enterence, people just stand looking around...no doors, no signs, no employees. Once you figure out where to go you walk up this ramp to an area all under construction with a make shift front desk (a piece of wood leaning against a post with a table behind it). I stood there for 5 minutes, no one else in front of me, before someone decided to ackowledge my existance. I got up to the room to find two singles beds, a small tv, table with two chairs and a view of the highway. Not great. Regardless, the bed was comfy enough and the sheets and room were very clean. The bathroom was functional and clean enough. For the price I reall could not have asked for more. The sad sad thing about the place was the pool. Imagine a football field (or atleast half a football field) that is all cement with a big hole in the middle. Nothing else. All cement as far as the eye can see. The pool was dirty, had not been cleaned. The few chairs they had were even dirtier. No plants, no tables, no decorations, no signs, no bar, nothing. It just made me laugh. After all I was close enough to the beach. If you need cheap..this is the place for you. No more than two nights...you'll go out of your mind. Oh, and you better like to walk. This is at the very end of Waikiki. No places to eat or go out for over a mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The only place is Cheeseburger in Paradise. It is right across the street. But the only thing they have to eat pretty much is burgers. Good burgers!

Back to menu Return to top