Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 12, 2014

Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

4 stars
100 Holomoana St, Island Of Oahu, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
207 reviews
one year anniversary

We loved our stay at this hotel! Breakfast buffet was amazing a little expensive but worth it if... See full review

  • Sarahbee2009
  • Aug 18, 2014
first class

Japanese owned hotel is perfect in every way, Priced high for the excellent staff and restaurants.... See full review

  • World traveler YUP
  • Aug 14, 2014
Adorned with Asian artwork, the Hawaii Prince in Waikiki is a large high-rise hotel that looks out over the tranquil ocean. Guests are welcomed, island-style, inside the spacious lobby, and accommodations in the Diamond Head tower offer the best scenic outlook across Waikiki. Watch the sunset over the Promenade Deck, or play a round on the 27-hole Hawaii Prince Golf Club, set against a backdrop of the Waianae Mountains and 10 sparkling lakes. Sip cocktails in the modern lounge or dine at Hakone, for delectable sushi bites like assorted tempura.
Key facts
  • 28 floors
  • Swimming pool and whirlpool
  • Day spa
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Conference and event space: 7,300-square-feet of banquet-style seating for 560
  • Golf course
  • Restaurants and lounges: Prince Court, Hakone, Reef Lounge, Marina Front Cafe, Bird of Paradise
  • Parking (charges apply)
  • Complimentary shuttle to surrounding beaches and world-class shopping
Neighborhood
At the northwest corner of Waikiki, you'll find the Hawaii Prince Hotel in an area that joins the Ala Wai Canal and Ala Wai Yacht Harbor. Accommodations are perfect for business guests, thanks to a close proximity with convention facilities. Meanwhile, the closest beach is a 10-minute walk for leisure guests who simply want to chill on soft sands. For off-site dining, try the Chart House restaurant right next to the hotel, where specialty seafood dishes such as oysters with Hollandaise sauce and Kahuku prawns come fresh from the ocean.
Hints and tips
Golfers can climb aboard the free shuttle and enjoy discounted rates at the Arnold Palmer/Ed Seay golf course.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki Rooms

Standard Room
Location of this room will vary depending on hotel occupancy, it is run of the house best available room at the time of your arrival. This room offers Floor-to-ceiling glass windows in each guest room offering breathtaking views of the Ko'olau Mountains, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Waikiki and the Pacific Ocean. Rooms feature mini-refrigerator with complimentary bottled water upon arrival day, coffee maker with Kona blend coffee replenished daily, two bath robes, complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, hair dryer and make-up mirror, television, VCP on request and Lodgenet entertainment system, AM/FM radio with alarm clock, High-speed internet access, complimentary locking safe for valuables, iron and board, nightly turndown service available upon request.
Oceanfront Marina
Located on Floors 5-9 This room offers Floor-to-ceiling glass windows in each guest room offering breathtaking views of the Ko'olau Mountains, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Waikiki and the Pacific Ocean. Rooms feature mini-refrigerator with complimentary bottled water on arrival day, coffee maker with Kona blend coffee replenished daily, two bath robes, complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, hair dryer and make-up mirror, television, VCP upon request and Lodgenet entertainment system, AM/FM radio with alarm clock, High-speed internet access available with fee, complimentary locking safe for valuables, iron and board, nightly turndown service available upon request.
OceanFront Prime
Located on Floors 20-28.This room offers Floor-to-ceiling glass windows in each guest room offering breathtaking views of the Ko'olau Mountains, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Waikiki and the Pacific Ocean. Rooms feature mini-refrigerator with complimentary bottled water on arrival day, coffee maker with Kona blend coffee replenished daily, two bath robes, complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, hair dryer and make-up mirror, television, VCP upon request and Lodgenet entertainment system, AM/FM radio with alarm clock, High-speed internet access available with fee, complimentary locking safe for valuables, iron and board, nightly turndown service available upon request.
Oceanfront Vista
Located on Floors 10-19.This room offers Floor-to-ceiling glass windows in each guest room offering breathtaking views of the Ko'olau Mountains, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Waikiki and the Pacific Ocean. Rooms feature mini-refrigerator with complimentary bottled water on arrival day, coffee maker with Kona blend coffee replenished daily, two bath robes, complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, hair dryer and make-up mirror, television, VCP upon request and Lodgenet entertainment system, AM/FM radio with alarm clock, High-speed internet access available with fee, complimentary locking safe for valuables, iron and board, nightly turndown service available upon request.
OceanFront Top
Located on Floors 30-33.This room offers Floor-to-ceiling glass windows in each guest room offering breathtaking views of the Ko'olau Mountains, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Waikiki and the Pacific Ocean. Rooms feature mini-refrigerator with complimentary bottled water on arrival day, coffee maker with Kona blend coffee replenished daily, two bath robes, complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, hair dryer and make-up mirror, television, VCP upon request and Lodgenet entertainment system, AM/FM radio with alarm clock, High-speed internet access available with fee, complimentary locking safe for valuables, iron and board, nightly turndown service available upon request.
Ala Moana Ste
Located on floors 6 - 29. Floor to ceiling glass windows in the living room and bedroom area 838 sq feet total. Mini refrigerator with complimentary bottled water on day of arrival, coffee maker with Kona blend coffee replenished daily, two bathrobes, complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, hair dryer and make-up mirror, television, High speed internet with fee, complimentary locking safe for valuables, iron and board and nightly turndown service available upon request. Also equipped with two bathrooms. Suite has views of the Ocean and Ko'olau Mountains, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, and Downtown Honolulu.
Prince Suite
2 Bedroom suite located on floors 5 - 29 with two full bathrooms, Floor to ceiling glass windows in the living room and both bedroom areas, 1866 sq ft total. Mii refrigerator with complimentary bottled water on day of arrival, coffee maker with Kona Blend coffee replenished daily, two bathrobes in each closet, complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, hair dryer and make-up mirror in both bathrooms. Television total of three one in each bedroom and one in the living room area, High speed internet with fee, complimentary locking safe for valuables, iron and board and nightly turndown service available upon request. Panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Downtown Honolulu and the Ko'olau Mountains. Lots of space and great for families or friends travelling together.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2861 -157.84
Area served
Honolulu International Airport HNL 8 mi, Ala Moana Beach Park 0 mi, Ala Moana Shopping Center 0 mi, Hawaii Convention Center 0 mi, Waikiki Beach 0 mi.
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International Airport
Area description
Located at the gateway to Waikiki, the hotel is the ideal location for easy access to the Hawaii Convention Center, Waikiki, Ala Moana Shopping Center, or the business center of downtown Honolulu. Situated between the Ala Moana Beach Park, a local favorite to its right and world famous Waikiki Beach to its left, the hotel is just a short walk to the two best beaches in the Waikiki area. In front of the hotel is the Ala Wai yacht harbor where guests can watch the million dollar yacht races every Friday afternoon. For business travelers, the Hawaii Prince offers the easiest access to downtown Honolulu avoiding the heavy tourist traffic in the center of Waikiki.

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.9 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.9 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.7 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.4 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.4 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.2 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.6 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.7 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10.2 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.3 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10.3 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Located at the gateway to Waikiki overlooking the picturesque Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, the Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki is dedicated to providing exceptional service and its own special brand of hospitality for every meetings group. Overview: Eight function areas including outdoor Promenade Terrace Mauna Kea Ballroom offers 7,300 sq. ft. of space, banquet-style seating for 560 Outdoor function space accommodates up to 500 Latest audio and visual equipment available.

Dining

Prince Court
Famed for Contemporary Island Cuisine, the Prince Court is a subtle blend of the classic culinary techniques of East and West, prepared with fresh Island produce from land and sea. Spectacular views of Ala Wai Yacht Harbor and the island's beautiful sunset are a focal point from the restaurant's glass walls.
Bird of Paradise
Located at the Hawaii Prince Golf Club, The Bird of Paradise Restaurant offers casual resort dining daily with lunch and pupu (appetizer) service. Golfers, as well as the general public, will be pleased with the menu variety and generous portions.
Marina Front Cafe
Throughout the day, guests are treated to croissants, muffins, bagels, sandwiches, coffee and salads. Made-in-Hawaii gift baskets, gourmet chocolates or specialty cakes are available for guests looking for that special omiyage or gift.
Hakone
Enjoy authentic Japanese cuisine at Hakone Restaurant featuring traditional complete dinner selections and a wide variety of sushi specialties.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (207)

Ratings and reviews for Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
207 out of 207
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Glenn and Gail
Thousand Oaks, CA.
May 16, 2010

Nice, but could be better.

The check in girl was rather rude, we got a room on the 17 th floor adjacent to the elevators and the noise level was very loud. At first I thought there was a service laundry room above us because it sounded like heavy carts being rolled around. After complaining they offered to move us but we were not happy with being moved to a lesser room so we just stayed where we were. Our room was nice, it did have a refridgerator, coffee svc. The bathrobes and slippers were a nice touch. The porters, room service and the local people were all very, very nice and helpful. We come to Hawaii at least 2 to 3 times a year and although this Hotel was rated higher in quality, my Fiance said she would rather stay at the Queen Kapiolani again because of it's location, much larger rooms, it's quiet and we could stay much longer and enjoy much more activities for about a third of the cost! We always rent a car and are always out and about, the savings on the lower cost per day on parking adds up and if you spend more time enjoying the great and many fine restaurants and activities; then we would reccommend staying at lesser expensive Hotel. And if you enjoy staying at finer Hotels, choose one that is actually on the beach near Waikiki and has better pool, sauna etc. facilities . Hawaii is a beautiful place, with a tremedous amount of great food, restaurants, museums, landmarks, outdoor as well as indoor activities so the accomodations although important, is not as important as being able to make the most of your stay by being there longer or doing more things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase a Hawaii entertainment book as well as take advantage of the many money saving coupons in the free magazines such as On Oahu or This Week in Waikik.

Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BuddhaBelly
Los Angeles, CA
May 14, 2010

Nice and quiet!

The best part of our stay here was the view! If you stay in a hotel that has an ocean view that's one thing, but the Hawaii Prince ocean view rooms look right out over the harbor which makes the view at night just as enjoyable. We always had the window wide open to enjoy it. The staff was friendly and helpful. Very clean hotel. Pretty comfy beds. Nice restrooms. The pool is nice, especially for laying out in the sun, but it's a little small. Pool bar has cheaper drinks than most but is pretty small and not quite what you'd want if you plan on chilling by the pool a lot and having Mai Tais. It closes at 5pm also on weekdays and not sure when on the weekends. Overall, it's a great place to stay and is located at the top end of Waikiki beach away from all the commotion. Great for a quieter, more family oriented vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle
May 11, 2010

Awesome View

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel the people were very friendly and courteous. We went for walks on the beach and around town. We went on tour of the different attractions. We went shopping. Our intention is to go again next year. A map of the various land marks around the area, such as eating and shopping would help greatly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The most helpful hint would be to go to the local store and buy water and other things you may want rather than getting it from the hotel. Take long walks around town to get the lay of the land and enjoy the scenery.

Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kauai, HI
May 9, 2010

Great Getaway

Close to everything, can walk to dinner, shopping center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarkMNHIOK
Minneapolis, MN
May 3, 2010

Quiet

We stayed at this hotel for two weeks for a last minute vacation. The location was perfect for us as it was off of the noisy beaches, but still right on the shore across from the marina. The ABC Superette across the street is also convenient (it has more produce and other food items than the regular ABC stores that are all over Waikiki). The Ala Moana Mall is also very close for shopping, and there is hotel shuttle service to the heart of the shopping on Waikiki. As for beaches, Waikiki is only a couple of blocks down the shoreline and this end of Waikiki is a nice wide beach. Discovery Bay and the Ala Moana Beach are close enough if you get tired of the touristy atmosphere on Waikiki. The Hilton's Friday night fireworks are also seen very beautifully from the hotel rooms. The ample busses that stop right by the hotel also make the rest of the island very accessible by bus, and there are three or so car rental facilities only a block away. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly. Only complaints is that the excercise room is tiny, and the concierge desk isn't open very late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 28, 2010

Great view; Decent for business traveler

I stayed at this hotel for one night for business. I travel every couple weeks for business and usually stay at a Doubletree or Hilton. The Hawaii Prince was clean, had efficient check-in, and friendly staff. I was disappointed there was no free internet access to print my boarding pass. Rooms were clean; great view; not too noisy b/c my room was high enough up to not hear the street noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Costa Mesa Sister
Southern California
Apr 27, 2010

Great place to stay

Restaurant "Hakone" was fantastic. Walking distance to Ala Moana Shopping Center was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HSVTPT
HSV, AL
Apr 12, 2010

The Hawaii Prince

The Prince is truely a dream for anyone for a Oahu stay. We were there for a Reunion Concert of nightclub bands that used to perform in Waikiki. The hotel is at the entrance to Waikiki which means you do not need a car uless you like spending your time in traffic 5 days and never missed it. Ala Moana shopping center is a 5 minute walk as is the Hilton beach. The rooms are just right and comfortable (there is a frig in the room buy snaks at ABC)and with the widows open the you can hear the ocean at night. The seafood buffet YES! The spa YES! The Staff YES! especially Housekeeping always there and more than ready to help. We had a late departure the hotel was so accommodating they locked our bags up and we were able to spend our last day at the beach, shower in the fitness center, then off for our 8:30Pm departure. I whole-heartedly recommend you look into The Hawaii Prince Hotel for your next stay on Oahu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The food court at Ala Moana Shopping Center is a great place for casual food. There is something for everyone and you can spend under $10 for more than you can eat. Also a must for a local experince RAINBOW DRIVE-IN ask anybody!

Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hula Mom
San Diego, CA
Apr 4, 2010

quiet

The location was not "bad" but was not particularly "good". It was quite a long walk to the beach, food, and shopping. However, it was quiet. I would recommend this hotel, although it is not in the more popular area of Waikiki. Desk staff was not friendly. Gift shop and small lounge staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The Go Oahu card was not a smart purchase for me. There were only a few times/places I could use it. The cost for two days = ??? around 75.00. x Also, I had to get a reservation for a shuttle bus to take me to pick up the card at another location...took up a lot of time. It would have been more convenient and economical had I purchased a ticket at each activity/event.

Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stiletto Junkie
Honolulu, HI
Mar 31, 2010

The most relaxing hotel ever

The bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in: coming home and sleeping in my bed made me very sad. We walked to Ala Moana a bunch during our trip, being next to the mall made everything very convenient. Also, mealtime was easier because we knew we didn't have to pay an arm and a leg for meals. I have to say, this is the best hotel I've ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top