Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
315 reviews
mother -daughter vacation

the hotel was good. i was in hawaii with my daughter to show her the sites. i used to live in... See full review

  • m.sanchez
  • Aug 20, 2014
Best time

Location is very Nice in the middle of everything. See full review

  • Coolmarc
  • Jul 22, 2014
Hip escape in the center of Waikiki

The vibrant Aqua Waikiki Wave is a surprising find tucked into the middle of Waikiki. Offering  hip room decor and complimentary amenities like free Wi-Fi access, Aqua Waikiki is the perfect stop for any vacation. Step outdoors and find endless opportunity for exploration and fun, including International Market Place, Royal Hawaiian Center and Waikiki Beach, just a block away. The Wave is also one of Honolulu's few dog-friendly hotels, welcoming two critters up to 40 pounds each (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Vibrant location in the middle of Waikiki
  • Free Wi-Fi, daily paper, fitness center and business center

Location

Aqua Wave Waikiki sits in a nook along one of Waikiki's main streets next to the International Market Place and a block from Waikiki Beach. Enjoy walking access to the entire area before retreating to the vibrant atmosphere at Aqua Wave.

Rooms

The hotel's 247 renovated rooms are comfortably sized and feature Asian-inspired and artistically vogue decor. Balconies offer modest city views, wide or peek-a-boo ocean views. All rooms have LCD TV and DVD player, free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning, Aqua BLISS bed, signature Aqua bath amenities, refrigerator and microwave.


Dining

Being in the heart of Waikiki has its advantages. Find restaurants and cafes in every direction. On the property, choose from The Big Kahuna, a tropical-themed sports and entertainment eatery, or China Garden Restaurant, serving Cantonese cuisine.


Recreation
  • Fitness center
  • Special access to AquaSPA, located at sister properties
Attractions
  • International Market Place (.1 mi/.1 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

Aqua Waikiki Wave Rooms

Deluxe
Ample room located on the upper floors of the hotel with 2 Queen beds. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Superior
Spacious rooms located on the lower floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (479 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Deluxe
Greater space on the upper floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Features private lanai with partial city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum. (479 sq. ft.)
Partial Ocean View
Generously sized room located on upper floors with 2 Queen beds offering partial ocean view. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
King
Generously sized room offers 1 King bed. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 2 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
Superior
Generously sized room located on lower floors offers 2 Queen beds and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
1 Bedroom Suite Superior
A refreshingly spacious suite boasting partial city views, offers 3 Queen, or 1 King bed and 1 sofa bed. Suite features private lanai, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and flat-screen television. 4 guests maximum. (511 sq. ft.)
Junior Partial Ocean View
Spacious room located on upper floors offering partial ocean view. Choose between 2 Queens or 1 King and 1 Queen. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. (479 Square Feet)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Waikiki Wave also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2794 -157.8262
Area served
Honolulu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport (HNL) (9 miles from airport)
Area description
With just a few steps to the center of Waikiki Beach, at the world famous Royal Hawaiian Hotel, the Aqua Waikiki Wave is perfectly located. New rainbow shower trees line the Kuhio Avenue entrance, and the hotel is surrounded by the Waikiki International Marketplace, with towering banyan trees. Fun, chic shopping is extensive, from Waikiki tourist meccas to palatial international boutiques. Golf, tennis, surfing, canoeing and hiking are nearby.

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi

Dining

Da Big Kahuna
Offers lunch, appetizers, dinner, cocktails and nightly entertainment.
China Garden
Offers Chinese cuisine for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (315)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
103 out of 315
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San jose ca
Jun 21, 2011

Never come back

The hotel located next to a parking deck that make noise thru out the night and on the other side have a night club and hookers stand around the hotel. A guy a front desk try to give me a attitude when I complain that my room haven't been clean. House keeper come at 3-4 pm for me. Bad very bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tiff0316
Business
florida
Dec 21, 2012

Roach infested!!!!

Upon return to our room after dinner we walked onto our room and there were bugs in our room and the bathroom. There was also one in the toilet. We further looked in the room and found about 7 more behind the mini fridge. When we went downstairs to complain we were told this was a "common problem in all hotels in hawaii". They switched our room and when we went in we also found a roach. Very disapointing how they handled the situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dianeandart
Business
Columbus, ohio
Jan 27, 2013

airport special

Location was close to airport, but in a run down warehouse type neighborhool and was difficult to find. Parking was free, but limited. Room walls were paper thin and room could use some updating. Microwave was missing. Room was clean and bed ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waikiki
Dec 25, 2010

I didn't rest

It was party central. From 11 pm to 430 am it was noisy near this motel. I didnt get much rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ronald Lawrence
Business
Oahu, Hawaii We live in Lakeview, Ohio
May 7, 2011

UGH! Hotel was toooo far from the beach

I had asked for a beach front hotel, but I didn't get it. The hotel smelled of Chinese all the time. We were put in a noisy room right next to the parking garage that stayed open all night! I think we have had alot better vacations before and the Luau food was gross!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the beach area...more shops, finer dining and more entainment.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Dec 15, 2010

Hated this hotel.

Bed & pillows uncomfortable. Had to wait 3-hours to get extra pillows, called 3-times for them. Bathroom dirty,low grade hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HCP
Business
Boise, ID
Sep 19, 2009

DO NOT STAY HERE!

We do not reccomend this hotel to anyone. First we got lost on the way to the hotel. I tried to call them several times for directions and no one would answer the phone. The first night we were there a fire alarm went off at 3am and we had to evacutate the Hotel. We stood out on the street for an hour and no hotel staff came to explain or apologize. There was no fire of course. They only had one working elevator for 15 floors. So we climbed the stairs to our sixth floor room. Parking was an additional $20 a night, provided you could find parking. One night we had to park three blocks away at a different hotel. The blankets had stains on them. We found three chocroaches in our room. The carpet was thread bare and pilling. The only good thing about our hotel was the location; but then againm, there were about 30 other hotels in the same location that I am sure were much nicer. Try the Mariot on Waikiki. We heard nice things about it. The weather was wonderful and the beach was beautiful. I loved Oahu and if I ever have another chance to go there I will just stay at a different hotel. Everything else was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The international market place is right behind the hotel. It offers lots of inexpensive lunch options and some fun shopping.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy with AQUA
Business
Oxnard, Ca.
Sep 14, 2009

If you have a family dont stay here!!

First off the elevator has been broken for over a month and that forced us to either wait for an elevator that would skip floors or take the service elevator or stairs. 15 floors of hotel and asked to take stairs. Once we got checked in we were informed that in order to use the hotel parking we had to pay $20 a day. Once we were in the room the ceiling was spot painted with the wrong color so it was obvious, the outside noise came right through the sliding window, and the bathroom looked as if someone had been doing lines off the toilet seat. Everyday after the maid cleaned the room it smelled as if she had been smoking in the room. The hotel is non-smoking which was a bonus for us and everyday we came back to a room that smelled of smoke. That was just the inside. Getting to the hotel was a mission in itself with the prostitutes hanging just outside the enterance. It makes for great people watching but not great for families. You need a key to get in the hotel after 10pm. What if you checking in? You stand there banging on the glass hoping someone can hear you and then walk over to the door to trigger the sensor. The staff while somewhat helpful had a certian "if you dont like it find another hotel" attitude. Finally the fire alarm at 4am. Once we were back in the room there were two annoucements that it was all clear, obviously being that we were already told to go up to our rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Every meal will cost at least $60 per couple. Be prepared!!

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
texas
May 11, 2009

Horrible

Way noisey and the pool is like having a kiddie pool in your back yard

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 6, 2010

You get what you pay for

The Aqua Waikiki Wave hotel is non-descript and is appropriate for budget-minded travelers. It is a 10-15 minute walk to Waikiki beach and shopping. Dining options are non-existent within the hotel (except for an attached Chinese restaurant) but plentiful in the surrounding area. Parking is available for $20/day in the hotel basement but space is extremely limited. The overflow lot (hydraulic lift type) in the alley is available but is not accessible 24/7. There are no elevators leading from the garage to the hotel, only stairs. The handicapped wheelchair lift was out of order for the duration of my stay. One major consideration for travelers wishing for rest and relaxation is the proximity of the hotel to nightclubs and bars downstairs. The noise is likely to keep you up at night depending on how high of a floor you are on. Management provides ear plugs in the room for that reason. Also, the proximity of said entertainment venues downstairs tends to draw undesirable types engaging in raucous behavior; definitely something to consider if you plan to bring your family. Overall, if you do not mind bare bones accommodations, neighborhood, and the noise, this is an appropriate hotel for those on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightclubs and bars are plentiful and within earshot of the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top