Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 13, 2016 Check-out: Feb 15, 2016

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
View map of 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
47 reviews
Exceptional location, great value !

I booked this hotel sight unseen due to an unexpected layover in Honolulu. I was very pleased with... See full review

  • Bruce
  • Mar 4, 2015
I was pleased and would stay there again.

The service was good, price reasonable and front desk helpful. I would stay again if I ever return... See full review

  • Kay O.
  • Oct 7, 2015
The vibrant Aqua Waikiki Wave is a surprising find tucked into the middle of Waikiki. Offering hip room decor and amenities like WiFi, Aqua Waikiki is the perfect stop for any vacation. Step outdoors and find endless opportunity for exploration and fun, including International Market Place, Royal Hawaiian Center and Waikiki Beach, just a block away. The Wave is also one of Honolulu's few dog-friendly hotels, welcoming two critters up to 40 pounds each (fees apply). Renowned for exceptionally friendly service, this warm and welcoming hotel offers the following amenities: WiFi internet access in-room & throughout hotel, daily local newspaper, local & toll-free calls, AquaBLISS pillow top beds, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and safe. Additional amenities include a business center, concierge & tour desk, retail shops and a restaurant.

All Aqua Hospitality managed hotels and resorts are non-smoking.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Waikiki Wave also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2794 -157.8262
Area served
Honolulu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport (HNL) (9 miles from airport)
Area description
With just a few steps to the center of Waikiki Beach, at the world famous Royal Hawaiian Hotel, the Aqua Waikiki Wave is perfectly located. New rainbow shower trees line the Kuhio Avenue entrance, and the hotel is surrounded by the Waikiki International Marketplace, with towering banyan trees. Fun, chic shopping is extensive, from Waikiki tourist meccas to palatial international boutiques. Golf, tennis, surfing, canoeing and hiking are nearby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 47
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San jose ca
Jun 21, 2011

Never come back

The hotel located next to a parking deck that make noise thru out the night and on the other side have a night club and hookers stand around the hotel. A guy a front desk try to give me a attitude when I complain that my room haven't been clean. House keeper come at 3-4 pm for me. Bad very bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Jose, CA
Jul 6, 2010

You get what you pay for

The Aqua Waikiki Wave hotel is non-descript and is appropriate for budget-minded travelers. It is a 10-15 minute walk to Waikiki beach and shopping. Dining options are non-existent within the hotel (except for an attached Chinese restaurant) but plentiful in the surrounding area. Parking is available for $20/day in the hotel basement but space is extremely limited. The overflow lot (hydraulic lift type) in the alley is available but is not accessible 24/7. There are no elevators leading from the garage to the hotel, only stairs. The handicapped wheelchair lift was out of order for the duration of my stay. One major consideration for travelers wishing for rest and relaxation is the proximity of the hotel to nightclubs and bars downstairs. The noise is likely to keep you up at night depending on how high of a floor you are on. Management provides ear plugs in the room for that reason. Also, the proximity of said entertainment venues downstairs tends to draw undesirable types engaging in raucous behavior; definitely something to consider if you plan to bring your family. Overall, if you do not mind bare bones accommodations, neighborhood, and the noise, this is an appropriate hotel for those on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightclubs and bars are plentiful and within earshot of the hotel.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reiko
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 5, 2011

Great place for short stay

The location is so convenient and easy access to local transportations, walking distance to everywhere: Waikiki beach, shops, restaurants, and many attractions. They gave us a junior suite which was very spacious with two beds. I was aware of the noise of the hotel, and sure it was. The ear plug did not work, and had sleepless nights in Honolulu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went twice to UDON restaurant on Kuhio across from the Hotel. It is simple Japanese noodle shop, self service. The key is that they make a fresh noodle right in front of our eyes, and cook for the customers. It was so tasty with perfect al dente for Japanese Noodle. On top of that the price was so cheap, maybe the cheapest restaurant we ever went and the best food!!! Everyday, there was a big line in front of the restaurant for the fans. I cann't wait to go back to Honolulu, just for that!

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ryan P.
Couples
Riverside, California
May 3, 2013

Oahu couples getaway

This hotel is an old boutique style business. The hotel is pretty clean, although mold is an issue. The staff are wonderful. Gabriel and Isaac could not have been more helpful, and saved us money on our adventures. Don't expect the rooms to be extraordinary, because they could use some serious remodeling. Great place for saving money, just don't expect it to be quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marukame Udon and Subway are across the street. For budget friendly dining, I would strongly suggest these two establishments.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawaiian superman
Couples
Japan
Jun 9, 2014

It was good location!!

I had stayed for one week at this hotel. It was really good for nice locaition and great money budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food pantry is near from the hotel.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Couples
Rhode Island
Jun 7, 2011

, location, location

The hotel was conveniently located, so that we could walk to the beach, restaurants and shops. It was clean, but room service at times was either very late in the day, and in one case, not at all. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Very noisy at night, especially on the weekends, even though we were on the 7th floor. All in all a delightful vacation, and we could not have been happier with the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants in walking area. Some well known chains and some pricey local. High Tea at the Moana Surfrider is a must.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Bristol, TN
Jun 2, 2011

Aqua Waikiki Wave

Rooms were cleaned every day. We did the free breakfast and spent lots more money. Guy in charge led us to believe that there was lava flowing into ocean at Hilo -(Big Island) flight which we bought. Not true. We needed to spend the night on the island or book a really late flight to see the lava glow. Also we should have been told to bring a coat. It was very cold at the Volcano National Park. We did the dinner cruise, the circle tour- excellent tour guide named Rocky, the Dole Plantation, the Macadamian plantation, the Germine luau, hiked to Diamond Head twice,saw lost of hula shows, did the Pearl Harbor tour, the Arizona, the Air Museum and Army Museum, rented a car for 2 days- stopped at lots of beaches along the Northshore, went to the flea market at Aloha Stadium on 2 Saturdays, went to the beach and did lots of shopping. Someone at the hotel should have told us about the $1.00 bus fare for senior citizens. They did give us a bus schedule and we finally found out for ourselves. Would like to have known earlier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zaika
Couples
Sacramento, CA
Jul 27, 2009

Aqua Waikiki Wave hotel

We stayed in this hotel for the honeymoon and then came back again. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Good service and maintenance. Air conditioner works well. The only thing I would recommend is to have some movie channels on TV. Sometimes it's good to watch a nice movie after the long, beautiful day at the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
san francisco
Jan 15, 2011

Comfort guaranteed and great staff.....

We were treated so personally at the hotel. The staff could not be any more helpful and friendly. Great room. The location was perfect for shopping, restaurants nearby and Waikiki Beach is just 2 blocks away. Swimming before dinner was just great and fun. The Honolulu Academy is great but would have loved to see a new exhibit. It is always the same exhibition. As we discover Honolulu over the years and return every year, it gets better and better as you discover places off the beaten map. Also, it feels good to know the staff at the hotel. They are like friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Honolulu is a great place to dine. While not all restaurants are clustered in the Waikiki area, taking a drive and visiting different neighborhoods will certainly open up all kinds of options at night. Also, check out the opera and music scene. There are lots to do. We usually consult with the front desk to ask if there was anything we should experience. Best tips ever!

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jameej
Couples
Oceanside, CA
Mar 31, 2011

Excellent Location, nice hotel

Great location. Very close to shops, restuarants, and beach. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Only complaint, on a few of the days, the room was not clean until around 3pm to 4:30pm. Came back from being at the beach all day to find no clean towels and room not made up yet. Other than that, hotel was great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top