Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
529 reviews
Best time

Location is very Nice in the middle of everything. See full review

  • Coolmarc
  • Jul 22, 2014
Family Vacay

Good location, right in the middle of everything. Just a few blocks away from the beach. Can't wait... See full review

  • Heartyboie
  • Jun 15, 2014
The vibrant Aqua Waikiki Wave is a surprising find tucked into the middle of Waikiki. Offering hip room dcor and complimentary amenities like free WiFi, Aqua Waikiki is the perfect stop for any vacation. Step outdoors and find endless opportunity for exploration and fun, including International Market Place, Royal Hawaiian Center and Waikiki Beach, just a block away. The Wave is also one of Honolulu's few dog-friendly hotels, welcoming two critters up to 40 pounds each (fees apply). Renowned for exceptionally friendly service, this warm and welcoming hotel offers the following FREE amenities: WiFi internet access in-room & throughout hotel, daily local newspaper, local & toll-free calls, AquaBLISS pillow top beds, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and safe. Additional amenities include a business center, concierge & tour desk, retail shops and two restaurants.

The Aqua Waikiki Wave is a non-smoking property.

Aqua Waikiki Wave Rooms

Deluxe
Ample room located on the upper floors of the hotel with 2 Queen beds. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Superior
Spacious rooms located on the lower floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (479 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Deluxe
Greater space on the upper floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Features private lanai with partial city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum. (479 sq. ft.)
Partial Ocean View
Generously sized room located on upper floors with 2 Queen beds offering partial ocean view. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
King
Generously sized room offers 1 King bed. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 2 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
Superior
Generously sized room located on lower floors offers 2 Queen beds and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
1 Bedroom Suite Superior
A refreshingly spacious suite boasting partial city views, offers 3 Queen, or 1 King bed and 1 sofa bed. Suite features private lanai, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and flat-screen television. 4 guests maximum. (511 sq. ft.)
Junior Partial Ocean View
Spacious room located on upper floors offering partial ocean view. Choose between 2 Queens or 1 King and 1 Queen. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. (479 Square Feet)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Waikiki Wave also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2794 -157.8262
Area served
Honolulu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport (HNL) (9 miles from airport)
Area description
With just a few steps to the center of Waikiki Beach, at the world famous Royal Hawaiian Hotel, the Aqua Waikiki Wave is perfectly located. New rainbow shower trees line the Kuhio Avenue entrance, and the hotel is surrounded by the Waikiki International Marketplace, with towering banyan trees. Fun, chic shopping is extensive, from Waikiki tourist meccas to palatial international boutiques. Golf, tennis, surfing, canoeing and hiking are nearby.

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi

Dining

Da Big Kahuna
Offers lunch, appetizers, dinner, cocktails and nightly entertainment.
China Garden
Offers Chinese cuisine for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (529)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
529 out of 529
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver BC, Canada
Dec 16, 2009

PERFECT

Location was great for us, staff was very friendly and helpful, rooms were spacious. We were located on the 2nd floor, and the noise outside didnt bother me at all. You may not like it if youre a light sleeper or just dont like noise period. They said the pool is fairly small, although I did not check it out. But Waikiki Beach is about a 5-10min walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If youre a younger crowd or like a younger crowd and like hip hop and R&B there are quite a few clubs around the hotel. Most nights I found were 18+ but specific clubs/nights are 21+.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ERICA JUSINO
CHICAGO,IL
Sep 21, 2010

BEST WEEKEND EVER!!!

THE ROOM WAS HUGE IT LOOKS EXACTLY LIKE THE PIX ITS CLEAN IT SMELLS GOOD, THE REFRIGERATOR, THE MICROWAVE, COFFEE MAKER ALL WORKED GREAT, AND WERE CLEAN. THE SHOWER HAS GREAT WATER PRESSURE, THE STAFF WAS AMAZINGLY ACCOMMODATING, FRIENDLY, AND VERY HELPFUL, THE POOL WAS AWESOME, PRIVATE AND VERY RELAXING, I WAS THERE FOR 3NIGHTS AND IT WAS THE BEST WEEKEND EVER I WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN IN A HEARTBEAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ALL THE RESTAURANTS ARE UN WALKING DISTANCE AND REASONABLY PRICED

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flamingo Jane
Atlanta, GA
Jan 25, 2011

We couldn't believe our eyes.

The room was huge, clean, and large windows on 2 sides.1 king size bed and 1 queen size bed. It was not crowded at all for 4 adults. Convenient to the International Market and not far from the beach. We saw a free Hula show on the beach and were also entertained by just people watching. Good service here and wished we could stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like nightlife, it is all around you.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, Tx
Jan 25, 2010

Hawaii 2010 trip

We enjoyed our stay at the Aqua Waikiki Wave. Great location, good amenities and very friendly staff. Our rooms were wonderful. We received a room upgrade upon early arrival and had two wonderful suites. Had a chance to experience a fabulous leg and foot massage located right off the lobby. Just a short walk to Starbucks, various reasonably priced dining establishments and just steps away from the Internation Market Place and the fabulous ABC stores. Just a block from the beach and great shopping area. Can't beat the price for this hotel. Only had one night that was a bit noisy. Would definitely book this hotel again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Located on Kuhio street and just one block behind the main street of Kalakaua Avenue we were able to find numerous inexpensive eating establishments and great shopping just a few steps away including Starbucks and ABC stores close by.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bay area
Aug 27, 2010

birthday get away

my experience here was great. at my arrival the front desk was nice and quick with getting us a room. the room seemed newly remodled with a contemporary design. very cozy. sheets were changed everyday without a problem.everything was clean and working. we had a room that was right next to the stairs so usually we took the stairs, it was faster than walking all the way to the elevators. what really stood out to me were the two night workers that stood in front of the hotel. one was a big filipino guy and not sure what the other was. they were always friendly after coming home late at night after a club. always joking with us and having funny conversations. whats great about the hotel is that after i believe it was 6pm or 7pm, the front doors lock so you need ur key to get in. the hotel is also situated right behind the international market, its literally right next to the stairs of the hotel, five steps away. the beach was a few blocks but no more than a ten minute walk to waikiki beach. i loved it here and i would most definitely come back next year to this same hotel. it was nice, cheap, good location, friendly staff, and your only sleeping there at night cause your out for the day, so what more can you ask for. LOVE IT!!! oh and also theres a really good restuarant right next door that served delicious loco moco. yummm. and 2 blocks away was like a parking lot with soo many different food trucks. we had rice and steak for about 6 dollars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

theres the zanza bar and another club right across the street. i think it was called play but the cover was only like 5$ and they played fairly good music. im from the bay and they even played our music there.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, Tx
Jan 25, 2010

Hawaii 2010 trip

We enjoyed our stay at the Aqua Waikiki Wave. Great location, good amenities and very friendly staff. Our rooms were wonderful. We received a room upgrade upon early arrival and had two wonderful suites. Had a chance to experience a fabulous leg and foot massage located right off the lobby. Just a short walk to Starbucks, various reasonably priced dining establishments and just steps away from the Internation Market Place and the fabulous ABC stores. Just a block from the beach and great shopping area. Can't beat the price for this hotel. Only had one night that was a bit noisy. Would definitely book this hotel again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Located on Kuhio street and just one block behind the main street of Kalakaua Avenue we were able to find numerous inexpensive eating establishments and great shopping just a few steps away including Starbucks and ABC stores close by.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
"E"
Hawaii
Oct 3, 2010

Awesome room for a great price

The room was excellent, and the guy who checked us in was really friendly and accomodating,the only downside was the parking fee was $20. When I checked in, he said it was going to be $18, but when I checked out, they charged me $20. I did mention it but the clerk who checked us out wasn't too friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
CT
Jul 30, 2011

Comfortable, Clean Getaway

Spent 1 nite in Waikiki but hotel room superceded our expectation. Wish we could have stayed in this clean hotel for more nites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
May 12, 2007

Very friendly

Aqua Waikiki Wave was very nice, clean, friendly hotel, room was large with 2 queen bed, nicely furnished. The location is just super, just in the centre of everything. We just enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Unique Market Place, lots of sortiments for reasonable price. You can find a perfect gift for everybody you love.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 20, 2007

Great hotel

The room was very comfortable and large. I really liked having a microwave, refridgerator and coffee maker. The safe in the room was also very easy to operate. We had a suite on an upper view with two lanais and partial views of the ocean and Diamond Head. The beach was a short walk away. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Germain's Bakery is next door and has delicious pastries. The hotel is also next to the International Marketplace. You can hear street noise even on the upper floors but the hotel provides you with complimentary ear plugs.

Back to menu Return to top