Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2014 Check-out: Apr 30, 2014

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
304 reviews
very good location & big size room, beds

aqua waikiki wave hotel has very good location & big size room, beds. See full review

  • brett sk
  • Jan 27, 2013
great stay

Very satisfied, only downfall, was construction noise outside window in ams.. See full review

  • ekgnancy
  • Apr 7, 2014
Hip escape in the center of Waikiki

The vibrant Aqua Waikiki Wave is a surprising find tucked into the middle of Waikiki. Offering  hip room decor and complimentary amenities like free Wi-Fi access, Aqua Waikiki is the perfect stop for any vacation. Step outdoors and find endless opportunity for exploration and fun, including International Market Place, Royal Hawaiian Center and Waikiki Beach, just a block away. The Wave is also one of Honolulu's few dog-friendly hotels, welcoming two critters up to 40 pounds each (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Vibrant location in the middle of Waikiki
  • Free Wi-Fi, daily paper, fitness center and business center

Location

Aqua Wave Waikiki sits in a nook along one of Waikiki's main streets next to the International Market Place and a block from Waikiki Beach. Enjoy walking access to the entire area before retreating to the vibrant atmosphere at Aqua Wave.

Rooms

The hotel's 247 renovated rooms are comfortably sized and feature Asian-inspired and artistically vogue decor. Balconies offer modest city views, wide or peek-a-boo ocean views. All rooms have LCD TV and DVD player, free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning, Aqua BLISS bed, signature Aqua bath amenities, refrigerator and microwave.


Dining

Being in the heart of Waikiki has its advantages. Find restaurants and cafes in every direction. On the property, choose from The Big Kahuna, a tropical-themed sports and entertainment eatery, or China Garden Restaurant, serving Cantonese cuisine.


Recreation
  • Fitness center
  • Special access to AquaSPA, located at sister properties
Attractions
  • International Market Place (.1 mi/.1 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

Aqua Waikiki Wave Rooms

Deluxe
Ample room located on the upper floors of the hotel with 2 Queen beds. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Superior
Spacious rooms located on the lower floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (479 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Deluxe
Greater space on the upper floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Features private lanai with partial city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum. (479 sq. ft.)
Partial Ocean View
Generously sized room located on upper floors with 2 Queen beds offering partial ocean view. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
King
Generously sized room offers 1 King bed. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 2 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
Superior
Generously sized room located on lower floors offers 2 Queen beds and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
1 Bedroom Suite Superior
A refreshingly spacious suite boasting partial city views, offers 3 Queen, or 1 King bed and 1 sofa bed. Suite features private lanai, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and flat-screen television. 4 guests maximum. (511 sq. ft.)
Junior Partial Ocean View
Spacious room located on upper floors offering partial ocean view. Choose between 2 Queens or 1 King and 1 Queen. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. (479 Square Feet)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Waikiki Wave also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2794 -157.8262
Area served
Honolulu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport (HNL) (9 miles from airport)
Area description
With just a few steps to the center of Waikiki Beach, at the world famous Royal Hawaiian Hotel, the Aqua Waikiki Wave is perfectly located. New rainbow shower trees line the Kuhio Avenue entrance, and the hotel is surrounded by the Waikiki International Marketplace, with towering banyan trees. Fun, chic shopping is extensive, from Waikiki tourist meccas to palatial international boutiques. Golf, tennis, surfing, canoeing and hiking are nearby.

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi

Dining

Da Big Kahuna
Offers lunch, appetizers, dinner, cocktails and nightly entertainment.
China Garden
Offers Chinese cuisine for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (304)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
304 out of 304
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Oct 21, 2008

great location

Great stay overall. Nice location too. The hotel staff were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coffee bean and tea leaf Starbucks Foodland Chili's Denny's

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
ERICA JUSINO
CHICAGO,IL
Sep 21, 2010

BEST WEEKEND EVER!!!

THE ROOM WAS HUGE IT LOOKS EXACTLY LIKE THE PIX ITS CLEAN IT SMELLS GOOD, THE REFRIGERATOR, THE MICROWAVE, COFFEE MAKER ALL WORKED GREAT, AND WERE CLEAN. THE SHOWER HAS GREAT WATER PRESSURE, THE STAFF WAS AMAZINGLY ACCOMMODATING, FRIENDLY, AND VERY HELPFUL, THE POOL WAS AWESOME, PRIVATE AND VERY RELAXING, I WAS THERE FOR 3NIGHTS AND IT WAS THE BEST WEEKEND EVER I WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN IN A HEARTBEAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ALL THE RESTAURANTS ARE UN WALKING DISTANCE AND REASONABLY PRICED

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Austin, Tx
Jan 25, 2010

Hawaii 2010 trip

We enjoyed our stay at the Aqua Waikiki Wave. Great location, good amenities and very friendly staff. Our rooms were wonderful. We received a room upgrade upon early arrival and had two wonderful suites. Had a chance to experience a fabulous leg and foot massage located right off the lobby. Just a short walk to Starbucks, various reasonably priced dining establishments and just steps away from the Internation Market Place and the fabulous ABC stores. Just a block from the beach and great shopping area. Can't beat the price for this hotel. Only had one night that was a bit noisy. Would definitely book this hotel again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Located on Kuhio street and just one block behind the main street of Kalakaua Avenue we were able to find numerous inexpensive eating establishments and great shopping just a few steps away including Starbucks and ABC stores close by.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
May 12, 2007

Very friendly

Aqua Waikiki Wave was very nice, clean, friendly hotel, room was large with 2 queen bed, nicely furnished. The location is just super, just in the centre of everything. We just enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Unique Market Place, lots of sortiments for reasonable price. You can find a perfect gift for everybody you love.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Jul 24, 2007

awesome

the AQUA WAVE WAIKIKI.....was excellent....traveled with twelve year old son and everytime we entered the hotel it was like coming home....very attentive staff ...housekeeping was excellent and the location was central to everything I plan on making this an annual trip.....I felt as though I made and informed decision and won the lottery......would highly recommend....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

very short walk to beach, shops, zoo....easy freeway access...excellent centralized local....

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Hayward,ca
Apr 28, 2011

Birthday trip

My Hawaii trip was my first [...]. I truly recommend staying at Aqua wakiki wave. You are in the heart of downtown. International market is just steps away. The hotel was clean and comfortable beds. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Thanks [...]! for making my 30th birthday the best ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat at helenas. Best hawaiian authentic food ever. You can eat everything in a luau without the luau.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
treetop
chicago/il
Mar 3, 2009

one good nite

front desk person was excellent, very helpful, accommodating. we will book your hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

drink specials

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Bay area
Aug 27, 2010

birthday get away

my experience here was great. at my arrival the front desk was nice and quick with getting us a room. the room seemed newly remodled with a contemporary design. very cozy. sheets were changed everyday without a problem.everything was clean and working. we had a room that was right next to the stairs so usually we took the stairs, it was faster than walking all the way to the elevators. what really stood out to me were the two night workers that stood in front of the hotel. one was a big filipino guy and not sure what the other was. they were always friendly after coming home late at night after a club. always joking with us and having funny conversations. whats great about the hotel is that after i believe it was 6pm or 7pm, the front doors lock so you need ur key to get in. the hotel is also situated right behind the international market, its literally right next to the stairs of the hotel, five steps away. the beach was a few blocks but no more than a ten minute walk to waikiki beach. i loved it here and i would most definitely come back next year to this same hotel. it was nice, cheap, good location, friendly staff, and your only sleeping there at night cause your out for the day, so what more can you ask for. LOVE IT!!! oh and also theres a really good restuarant right next door that served delicious loco moco. yummm. and 2 blocks away was like a parking lot with soo many different food trucks. we had rice and steak for about 6 dollars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

theres the zanza bar and another club right across the street. i think it was called play but the cover was only like 5$ and they played fairly good music. im from the bay and they even played our music there.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Kapaa, HI
May 15, 2011

Best Customer Service

The receptionist were friendly, we got along like friends. I arrived at the hotel three hours early, thinking I would be able to get the room as early as possible, but there was a little mishaps, the previous guest who were leaving that day decided they wanted to check out at the latest time. So it was no biggy to me, I asked the receptionist if they would kindly hold on to my lauggage for me, they offered to bring up to the room when it was ready. I decide to go to the store and come back by the time the original check in was, so I arrive, back to the hotel with a different receptionist, He has informed me that the previous guest have decided to check out the next day, in the room I was first assigned, so instead I was offered an upgrade a 3Bed Suite. That was so nice kind of them. The rooms was spectacular and the view was beautiful, mountains and the beautiful city. I never wanted to leave bit I had no choice. Service and descriptions as explained online.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
"E"
Hawaii
Oct 3, 2010

Awesome room for a great price

The room was excellent, and the guy who checked us in was really friendly and accomodating,the only downside was the parking fee was $20. When I checked in, he said it was going to be $18, but when I checked out, they charged me $20. I did mention it but the clerk who checked us out wasn't too friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top