Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3 stars
2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
312 reviews
mother -daughter vacation

the hotel was good. i was in hawaii with my daughter to show her the sites. i used to live in... See full review

  • m.sanchez
  • Aug 20, 2014
Best time

Location is very Nice in the middle of everything. See full review

  • Coolmarc
  • Jul 22, 2014
Hip escape in the center of Waikiki

The vibrant Aqua Waikiki Wave is a surprising find tucked into the middle of Waikiki. Offering  hip room decor and complimentary amenities like free Wi-Fi access, Aqua Waikiki is the perfect stop for any vacation. Step outdoors and find endless opportunity for exploration and fun, including International Market Place, Royal Hawaiian Center and Waikiki Beach, just a block away. The Wave is also one of Honolulu's few dog-friendly hotels, welcoming two critters up to 40 pounds each (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Vibrant location in the middle of Waikiki
  • Free Wi-Fi, daily paper, fitness center and business center

Location

Aqua Wave Waikiki sits in a nook along one of Waikiki's main streets next to the International Market Place and a block from Waikiki Beach. Enjoy walking access to the entire area before retreating to the vibrant atmosphere at Aqua Wave.

Rooms

The hotel's 247 renovated rooms are comfortably sized and feature Asian-inspired and artistically vogue decor. Balconies offer modest city views, wide or peek-a-boo ocean views. All rooms have LCD TV and DVD player, free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning, Aqua BLISS bed, signature Aqua bath amenities, refrigerator and microwave.


Dining

Being in the heart of Waikiki has its advantages. Find restaurants and cafes in every direction. On the property, choose from The Big Kahuna, a tropical-themed sports and entertainment eatery, or China Garden Restaurant, serving Cantonese cuisine.


Recreation
  • Fitness center
  • Special access to AquaSPA, located at sister properties
Attractions
  • International Market Place (.1 mi/.1 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

Aqua Waikiki Wave Rooms

Deluxe
Ample room located on the upper floors of the hotel with 2 Queen beds. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Superior
Spacious rooms located on the lower floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (479 sq. ft.)
Junior Suite Deluxe
Greater space on the upper floors with 2 Queen beds, or 1 King and 1 Queen. Features private lanai with partial city views, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum. (479 sq. ft.)
Partial Ocean View
Generously sized room located on upper floors with 2 Queen beds offering partial ocean view. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
King
Generously sized room offers 1 King bed. Enjoy a private lanai with lovely views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 2 guests maximum (328 Square Feet)
Superior
Generously sized room located on lower floors offers 2 Queen beds and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. 4 guests maximum (328 sq. ft.)
1 Bedroom Suite Superior
A refreshingly spacious suite boasting partial city views, offers 3 Queen, or 1 King bed and 1 sofa bed. Suite features private lanai, desk, sitting area, vanity mirror, and flat-screen television. 4 guests maximum. (511 sq. ft.)
Junior Partial Ocean View
Spacious room located on upper floors offering partial ocean view. Choose between 2 Queens or 1 King and 1 Queen. Room is equipped with mini-fridge; microwave, coffeemaker and LCD screen TV. (479 Square Feet)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Waikiki Wave also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2794 -157.8262
Area served
Honolulu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport (HNL) (9 miles from airport)
Area description
With just a few steps to the center of Waikiki Beach, at the world famous Royal Hawaiian Hotel, the Aqua Waikiki Wave is perfectly located. New rainbow shower trees line the Kuhio Avenue entrance, and the hotel is surrounded by the Waikiki International Marketplace, with towering banyan trees. Fun, chic shopping is extensive, from Waikiki tourist meccas to palatial international boutiques. Golf, tennis, surfing, canoeing and hiking are nearby.

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi

Dining

Da Big Kahuna
Offers lunch, appetizers, dinner, cocktails and nightly entertainment.
China Garden
Offers Chinese cuisine for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (312)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Waikiki Wave

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
312 out of 312
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 10, 2007

GREAT LOCATION/GOOD PROXIMITY

We travel a lot and it was our first time in Hawaii. I checked in w/ my wife and son and we are just so glad that we chose AQUA WAIKIKI WAVE. Everything was within walking distance which made things very convenient for us. The front desk was very accomodating and friendly. The filipino housekeeping & maintenance people made us very proud bec. they made sure our room is clean everyday. The tours & travel desk was also very accomodating and patient in taking care of our tour requirements. We loved the interiors of the room. And the fact that the hotel is newly renovated made our choice almost perfect, although we wished there is room service for travelers like us who doesn't want to dress up & go out of the room for breakfast before we start our day since tourists like us are always in a hurry to catch the group tour. But the Chinese restaurant at the lobby served good chinese food and it made our day perfect! We were also expecting a view of the bay since that's what we reserved. Our overall experience in the hotel is almost perfect thou and we will definitely always consider AQUA WAVE WAIKIKI again in our next trip to Honolulu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The International flee market is just right beside the hotel.There's also a food court w/various food choices!Just behind the hotel is the street for branded shopping. The beach is just a block away! everything is within walking distance. Very convenient! Great location!

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Yardley, PA
Dec 13, 2008

Very friendly place to stay

The staff is the nicest I think we have ever encountered. The room was very clean, beds were comfortable and when we needed an occasional extra towel one was provided immediately. The only drawback is the streets surrounding the hotel at night are very noisy as was the car parking garage next door. But aside from that, any time we needed directions somewhere or help on where to find something, not only did they give directions, but also printed out a map for us each time. I would, and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping, dining and the beach are very close by the hotel.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BJoe
Business
Chicago, IL
May 24, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Awesome hotel at a even more awesome price. The first impression of the staff was great, especially the front desk, and it lasted through out our stay. This was our first visit to Hawaii and we have lasting memories. The location of the hotel is great! We walked daily to the International Market and excellent restaurants. We only used the rental car for longer excursions. The swimming pool is small but it was great for our granddaughter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be prepared to be overwhelmed in your choices.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
old lady -- young at heart
Business
Twin Falls, Idaho
Nov 18, 2009

wonderful, wonderful

our first room was larger and could see out on 2 sides of hotel..second was nice not as large. The international market was next to hotel so was a little noisy but fun for us and the noise didn't bother us; in fact is was interesting. If I ever get to go back I will stay there again. There was a inexpensive place to eat a half block away..good food and nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

international market and shops close. all types of eating places close.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shoeshopper
Business
mountain view, ca
May 1, 2010

best location

the hotel is located right next to the international market and 5 minute walk to the beach or the shopping district. The hotel is very clean and chic. Great for family trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ERICA JUSINO
Business
CHICAGO,IL
Sep 21, 2010

BEST WEEKEND EVER!!!

THE ROOM WAS HUGE IT LOOKS EXACTLY LIKE THE PIX ITS CLEAN IT SMELLS GOOD, THE REFRIGERATOR, THE MICROWAVE, COFFEE MAKER ALL WORKED GREAT, AND WERE CLEAN. THE SHOWER HAS GREAT WATER PRESSURE, THE STAFF WAS AMAZINGLY ACCOMMODATING, FRIENDLY, AND VERY HELPFUL, THE POOL WAS AWESOME, PRIVATE AND VERY RELAXING, I WAS THERE FOR 3NIGHTS AND IT WAS THE BEST WEEKEND EVER I WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN IN A HEARTBEAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ALL THE RESTAURANTS ARE UN WALKING DISTANCE AND REASONABLY PRICED

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brett sk
Business
s.korea
Jan 27, 2013

very good location & big size room, beds

aqua waikiki wave hotel has very good location & big size room, beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay area
Aug 27, 2010

birthday get away

my experience here was great. at my arrival the front desk was nice and quick with getting us a room. the room seemed newly remodled with a contemporary design. very cozy. sheets were changed everyday without a problem.everything was clean and working. we had a room that was right next to the stairs so usually we took the stairs, it was faster than walking all the way to the elevators. what really stood out to me were the two night workers that stood in front of the hotel. one was a big filipino guy and not sure what the other was. they were always friendly after coming home late at night after a club. always joking with us and having funny conversations. whats great about the hotel is that after i believe it was 6pm or 7pm, the front doors lock so you need ur key to get in. the hotel is also situated right behind the international market, its literally right next to the stairs of the hotel, five steps away. the beach was a few blocks but no more than a ten minute walk to waikiki beach. i loved it here and i would most definitely come back next year to this same hotel. it was nice, cheap, good location, friendly staff, and your only sleeping there at night cause your out for the day, so what more can you ask for. LOVE IT!!! oh and also theres a really good restuarant right next door that served delicious loco moco. yummm. and 2 blocks away was like a parking lot with soo many different food trucks. we had rice and steak for about 6 dollars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

theres the zanza bar and another club right across the street. i think it was called play but the cover was only like 5$ and they played fairly good music. im from the bay and they even played our music there.

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gero for the Waikiki
Business
Pacifica, CA
Jul 14, 2009

Great Location!!

This was our third year in a row that we stayed in Waikiki and the room we got was superior to the rooms we got at another hotel. You can't complain about the price and the location. The distance to the beach was not even far. I felt we were in a centralized location where everything was in a walkable distance. Their pool was nothing great so don't even bother with it. If your on a budget, give this place a try :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 7, 2008

Excellent Location/Easy Assess

Convenient location, close to shopping, food, hotels, beach, and airport. would stay there again,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food court next door, with excellent entertainment and shopping

Back to menu Return to top