Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

3 stars
444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
305 reviews
Awesome place to stay!!

This hotel is close to almost everything, rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff treats you... See full review

  • 808Princess
  • Apr 3, 2014
Location Location etc

Great value , excelent location, nice vibe will return See full review

  • Peche86
  • Sep 30, 2013
Hip boutique hotel two blocks from Waikiki Beach

Find your nook in paradise at the hip, boutique Aqua Aloha Surf. A short two-block walk to the beach and styled to suit the casual sophisticate, this petite hotel incorporates small things that make a stay special. That means in-room high-speed Internet, complimentary newspaper, mini fridge and more. In the chic pool area you will find a café, barbecue grill and tiki-torch ambience.

Highlights
  • Free Internet access
  • Complimentary signature cocktail at manager's reception every Tuesday
Location

Take a break from the revelry of Kalakaua Avenue at the central-Waikiki Aqua Aloha Surf, located on a mellow stretch two blocks from the beach, shopping, dining and nightlife. Join Waikiki residents for a jog along the meandering Ala Wai Canal by the hotel with gorgeous mountain views.

Rooms

The hotel's 202 rooms feature tailored, ocean-inspired decor in cool aquamarine and soft beige hues. All feature 20-inch LCD TV, in-room high-speed Internet, microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, daily paper, in-room safe, free local calls, air conditioning, exclusive Aqua robes and signature Aqua Hotels & Resorts bath amenities. Select rooms have private balcony with city or mountain views and sleeper sofa. The one-bedroom suite includes a partial ocean view and a wet bar.

Dining

Stay connected at the hotel's Internet hangout, Edward's Cafe. Walk a block from the hotel to find a variety of dining options and full-service supermarket. A great mid-priced choice is Hula Grill Waikiki, located on the beach.

Recreation
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Waikiki Beach Walk (.5 mi/.7 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.5 mi/.9 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.8 mi/2.8 km)

 

 

Policies and fees
NOTE: Parking costs $22 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Rooms

Deluxe
Among our larger rooms, the Deluxe rooms offer numerous amenities and partial views of Waikiki and the Koolau Mountains, plus private lanais. Features the comforts of home with a queen-sized sleeper sofa, coffee table, and separate vanity area. Choose from 1 Double and 1 Single OR 1 King/Queen. Maximum of 4 guests per room. $25 charge for 3rd & 4th person apply. (360 sq.ft)
Superior
Take in the amazing views of Waikiki from the private lanais in these comfortable, relaxing Oahu boutique hotel rooms. A comfortable room with 1 King/Queen sized bed. Maximum of 3 guests. $25 charge for 3rd & 4th person apply. (340 sq. ft.)
Moderate
The essentials for a carefree vacation. 1 Queen or 2 Twin sized beds, and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. 2 guests maximum. (220 sq. ft.)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2791 -157.8236
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Within walking distance to shopping, dining, golf, snorkeling and more. Conveniently secluded just two blocks from world famous Waikiki Beach.

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (305)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
305 out of 305
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Valerie T
Business
Wichita, KS
Sep 13, 2011

wonderful hotel! Aqua Aloha Surf is perfect!

It was perfect, all around. For the price, it couldn't get any better. Only 2 blocks away from the beach, I could see part of the ocean, and the city from my 15th floor room. The hotel staff were very nice, especially the maintance, (they came to fix my internet) & the house keeping were great! The front dest staff were exceptionally nice. I will definitely stay here my next time in Hawaii. OH and if you book any tours, its only a block walk to the bus stop, SO worth it! Stay at this HOTEL!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

DEFINITELY book the tour to the PARADISE COVE LUAU!!!! It was soooo incredible. The bus picked us up at the hotel a block away, and we got there and it was SO amazing. AWESOME drinks, INCREDIBLE dinner, amazing shows, and several complimentary activities. It was so awesome. This is a can't miss. You haven't been to Hawaii if you haven't been to the Paradise Cove Luau!

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kelowna, BC
Jul 31, 2008

Great Hotel

This hotel was in a great location, the staff were very helpful. My son and I enjoyed our too brief stay immensely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach and shopping very close. Internet cafe is across the street

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 5, 2007

Great staff

The Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel was a good value if looking for a comfortable stay. Just a few blocks from the beach, and very close to nearby shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping was close by if looking for souviners.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kona, HI
Apr 17, 2008

Great value and location

Aloha Surf is close to all attractions in Waikiki with walking distance to beaches, shops, and bus stops to other areas in the island. Great value for the price, including continental breakfast and free in room internet access. Will stay again definitely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market - flee market Waikiki beaches great restaurants Honolulu Zoo parks and golf course

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Aug 22, 2010

Great Value

We enjoyed our stay at Aqua Aloha Surf! The continental breakfast helped us cut down on costs and it was a good value overall for what we paid. There is a kitchenette in the room, (with a microwave, sink, refrigerator & four sets of silverware, dishes & cups - not plastic, mind you!) they we took advantage of to save as well. The staff was extremely hospitable! The front desk clerk that checked us in was very patient with me, as I was frustrated and exhausted from our long hours of travel. They also have a fabulous weekly happy hour of sorts, hosted by the manager, where he makes and serves drinks. There was a ukelele player and sweets too! Wish we were able to take advantage of the tour office on the first floor but we were already booked up for our stay. We were literally two blocks from the beach and were in a fabulous location in Waikiki. Would definitely refer a friend to stay there and may visit again someday!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aktungs
Business
Anchorage, AK
Jul 14, 2010

Great Value, Great Staff

Staff was very friendly and helpful, everyone from the maintenance guys, the housekeepers, and the front desk folks. The beach towels and boogie boards available for sign-out were a great convenience. Breakfast was great, fresh pancakes, pineapple/orange slices, muffins, and oatmeal. Older rooms, but very clean. A moderate walk to the beach, but not bad at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 30, 2008

Great Value!

This hotel along with 2 other sister hotels were great values and within easy walking distance to numerous attractions, shopping, busline, restaurants yet away from the noise of the city traffic. The massage therapist were outstanding and great value for the romantic couple massages. Nice view of partial ocean, city, and the mountains all in one. Enjoyed the lanai - just to read or have coffee. Other hotels charge for their coffee, not Aloha Surf plus daily they replenish. Enjoyed the continental breakfast too - a value and savings! The pool is nice, but who needs a pool when you have that blue ocean water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hike Diamond Head - take water and allow 2 hours. WOW! The ocean is always fun for all ages - play or walk the beach. Romantic at night along Waikiki with the torches for just enough light to see but not be in total darkness.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jun 23, 2009

Great Bargain!

Hotel room was small, but you dont really spend much time there so it's ok! Bed was very comfy, sheets were soft (not all scratchy and stiff). Pool was small, but Waikiki Beach is only 3 blocks away, who needs the pool? Coin laundry downstairs and room had microwave and minifridge. There is a small, out of the way grocery store in adjacent parking lot so you can buy lunch stuff there to keep food cost down. Parking overnight at hotel is $20/night, but staff showed us several other parking options to save $. Get back a little early and park on canal free overnight. Hotel is in walking distance to everything. WATCH FOR TOW AWAY ZONES! THIS ISLAND DOESN'T GIVE GRACE PERIODS! Our car was towed in 10min even though meter was paid. Was $145 to get it released, then $50 fine from HI. Even though, all in all, would def recommend this hotel/area, had a blast! Go early to Pearl Harbor Museum, we spend 7 hours there! At the time, the rest. on site was being redone, but the continental bkfst was good 7am to 830am. If you need presents for home, shop the Aloha Stadium open air market sat/sun! Dont buy on the strip till after you shop here! Got 5 good quality hanes tshirts with cute Hawaiian prints for $14 TOTAL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If your looking for vintage Aloha/Hawaiian button up shirts, then shop at the Goodwill Store on Beretainia. Seriously! They have rows of good quality shirts for 7.99 - 12.99 each. Stores on strip went up to $70/each. Also found board shorts for the beach at 3.99/each. Cheapest in the stores were 9.99 on clearance. We found original Tory Richards here, he has his own store off Waikiki beach. We got 5 Aloha style shirts and 3 girls board shorts for about $60!

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 9, 2007

VERY FRIENDLY! Very PERFECT!

Huge room with 3 beds at a very reasonable price! I lost my phone charger at the last hotel i stayed at and i asked the front desk if they knew of a cell phone shop. The front desk lady was so helpful that she found a phone charger that worked perfect for my phone, at no cost! By far the staff, the room, the atmosphere... perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Food pantry on the corner. (local grocery store) Walk a block away and you are in the heart of Waikiki, where you can find EVERYTHING

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Darrellene
Business
Flint, MI
Apr 11, 2008

First Time Stay

The Aloha Surf Hotel was a very friendly place. From the minute we were droped off by the shuttle, the staff at the hotel was very helpful. We had a very nice room. It was comfortable and what we needed. It was not real big but we didn't need anymore room for the amount of time we spend in our room. We had the breakfast one morning and thought that they could have had a little more varity. But all said we enjoyed our time there and would consider the hotel again if we every go back to Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many small shops and marketplaces to shop at with in a very short walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top