Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
334 out of 334
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anchorage, AK
Mar 5, 2008

Wonderful Staff

The Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel was very nice. We had a nice sized room with a very good view. We had a mini-fridge, microwave, sink and dishes. It was very convenient as we traveled with a 3 year old and needed a place for his snacks and milk, etc. The staff was amazingly nice and helpful. They offer a continental breakfast with bread, bagels, etc. Very basic stuff and it gets kinda old if you are staying awhile...but hey, free is good! The pool is very small and does not have a kiddie area but appeared to be well maintained. I have only two complaints. The first being that the bathroom was very small and that the bathtub was a little scary looking. The other is that parking costs $18/day! We could have saved a little by parking 4 or more blocks away but it was not worth it to us to drag our tired, whiney kiddo back to the hotel after long days out. Seems that is pretty much the standard for Waikiki but it still stinks that the parking cost more then the actual car rental cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is very near just about everything. It is only a couple blocks from the beach, Denny's, ABC stores, nightclubs, and just about everything else. Lots of places to eat. We got a coupon book when we checked in that had some BOGO for places nearby.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 17, 2007

Great Location

Great Location and reasonably priced. I'd definitely recommend it for the budget conscious traveler who also is looking for quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of restaurants, nightlife, and shopping close to this hotel.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anchorage, AK
Nov 4, 2008

Close to food and shopping

The Aqua Aloha Surf had a grocery behind the parking lot. The room had a refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot and sink and dishes in its'kitchenette. The continental breakfast lasts from 7am-8:30am, and consists of coffee, watered down juice or Tang, muffins, thick oatmeal, toast, and sliced fruit. Sometimes they had chocolate covered mini-doughnuts. Apples were always available on the check-in counter. The room had a hair-dryer, iron, and ironing board. The shower was small but adequate. The room safe is nice, at no additional charge. The television was clear. Local phone calls are free. There is no view from any side of this hotel, although the room had a balcony. Our balcony had a view of other buildings. Our seventh floor room, on the back side of the building was nice and quiet. We heard that the street side could be noisy. It was a short walk to the beach (about 3/10 of a mile) The hotel pool was quite small, with only 6 lounge chairs poolside. Many restaurants are nearby-like a Porgy's buffet, Chilis, KFC, Burger King, Round Table Pizza, etc.. King's Villa shopping center is one block away. Changing of the guard is at 6pm. A 24 hour doctor is less than 2 blocks away, on the ground floor of the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani. There is an additional charge to park a car. We didn't need one. We took the city bus for $2. Check thebus.org The bus stop was a block from the hotel, in front of Porgy's. We were able to walk a mile and a half to the Ala Moana mall with no problems. The major bus connections also meet there. You can check out free beach towels at the front desk. There is a massage room, of which we never took advantage. The nearest post office is on the third floor of the Waikiki Shopping Plaza. But the front desk will take your mail. They just don't have stamps. We saw a fitness room that had a treadmill, and one or two other aerobic machines. We didn't ever take advantage of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinese/American in the hotel. One block away is Porgy's buffet. Within 2 blocks -Chili's, KFC, Burger King, Round Table Pizza. Don't forget to try Teddy's Burgers across the street from the Zoo. They have great shakes, too. Red Lobster and Outback Steakhouse,one mile away.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edmonton, AB
Oct 31, 2008

Good value for money

The Aqua Aloha Surf is a good hotel for the money. Only a 5-10 minute walk to the beach, and close to most of the budget restaurants in the area including the only grocery store. I would stay there again for a good budget hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

walk straight down the street 3 blocks to the beach; turn left, right beside the police station.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Sep 10, 2007

clean/ not expensive, rooms are for sleeping

The surf hotel was a very good deal for the price, staff was great, room was clean. Location was great, diden't even need the rental car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

ABC stores are on every corner and have about everything you need for snacks, drinks, even stuff for the beach. great buys in the international center for gifts of all kinds. the beach is a 5 min walk away, surf board rentals are well priced. If you ride a motor cycle check out Big Kahoona rentals.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stockton, Ca
Aug 27, 2010

Fantastic family getaway

Everything was the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 8, 2007

very inivting atmosphere

Was just what we wanted. Nice room very clean, nice people. Bed took a day or two to get used to, Sofa bed, No table or chair,but we didnt need one Shower was a little to low,but detachable. overall I was very pleased. 5 minute walk to Waikiki Beach. Shops all around, and good eats. Recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of souvenier shops, and a nice cheap breakfast place around the corner. Bacon, eggs, pancakes. $2.99.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jul 5, 2007

A Pleasant Surprise

For the money, we were not expecting the hotel to be as modern, bright, clean, and well located as it turned out to be. Our original room was, in most ways, even better than we had anticipated. There was one window-style a/c in a corner of the room, but it was adequate in time to provide enough cooling to sleep well all night. The parking arrangements were a little odd: we had to park in the structure for another sister hotel down the street, but it wasn't all that inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a smorgasbord a short block from the hotel on a main drag; get a tourist booklet and use the coupon to save another dollar or two.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 22, 2007

Nice location good raate

Its the best value for money. Their customer sservice, breakfast, cleaniliness is better tha most 3 star hotels i stayed in. Its located conveniently 15 mins walk from Waikki beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ridgewood
May 23, 2008

great location for this money

two block away from a beach. nice view from a front side hotel. stuff are very helpfull. breakfast was good more than i was expected. parking price is not acceptable but you can park few block away for 50$/week. in the room we have queen size bed and extra sofa seat with coffe table, balcony , fridge, microwave, coffe maker. shower room was realy bed: small,with dark-dirty curtain...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1. dinner bar just block away around 11$/pp

Back to menu Return to top