Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

3 stars
444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
520 reviews
Awesome place to stay!!

This hotel is close to almost everything, rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff treats you... See full review

  • 808Princess
  • Apr 3, 2014
Location Location etc

Great value , excelent location, nice vibe will return See full review

  • Peche86
  • Sep 30, 2013
Hip boutique hotel two blocks from Waikiki Beach

Find your nook in paradise at the hip, boutique Aqua Aloha Surf. A short two-block walk to the beach and styled to suit the casual sophisticate, this petite hotel incorporates small things that make a stay special. That means in-room high-speed Internet, complimentary newspaper, mini fridge and more. In the chic pool area you will find a café, barbecue grill and tiki-torch ambience.

Highlights
  • Free Internet access
  • Complimentary signature cocktail at manager's reception every Tuesday
Location

Take a break from the revelry of Kalakaua Avenue at the central-Waikiki Aqua Aloha Surf, located on a mellow stretch two blocks from the beach, shopping, dining and nightlife. Join Waikiki residents for a jog along the meandering Ala Wai Canal by the hotel with gorgeous mountain views.

Rooms

The hotel's 202 rooms feature tailored, ocean-inspired decor in cool aquamarine and soft beige hues. All feature 20-inch LCD TV, in-room high-speed Internet, microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, daily paper, in-room safe, free local calls, air conditioning, exclusive Aqua robes and signature Aqua Hotels & Resorts bath amenities. Select rooms have private balcony with city or mountain views and sleeper sofa. The one-bedroom suite includes a partial ocean view and a wet bar.

Dining

Stay connected at the hotel's Internet hangout, Edward's Cafe. Walk a block from the hotel to find a variety of dining options and full-service supermarket. A great mid-priced choice is Hula Grill Waikiki, located on the beach.

Recreation
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Waikiki Beach Walk (.5 mi/.7 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.5 mi/.9 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.8 mi/2.8 km)

 

 

Policies and fees
NOTE: Parking costs $22 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Rooms

Deluxe
Among our larger rooms, the Deluxe rooms offer numerous amenities and partial views of Waikiki and the Koolau Mountains, plus private lanais. Features the comforts of home with a queen-sized sleeper sofa, coffee table, and separate vanity area. Choose from 1 Double and 1 Single OR 1 King/Queen. Maximum of 4 guests per room. $25 charge for 3rd & 4th person apply. (360 sq.ft)
Superior
Take in the amazing views of Waikiki from the private lanais in these comfortable, relaxing Oahu boutique hotel rooms. A comfortable room with 1 King/Queen sized bed. Maximum of 3 guests. $25 charge for 3rd & 4th person apply. (340 sq. ft.)
Moderate
The essentials for a carefree vacation. 1 Queen or 2 Twin sized beds, and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. 2 guests maximum. (220 sq. ft.)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2791 -157.8236
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Within walking distance to shopping, dining, golf, snorkeling and more. Conveniently secluded just two blocks from world famous Waikiki Beach.

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (520)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
520 out of 520
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Jun 12, 2009

Great Budget Hotel

My boyfriend and I went the budget route so we could do more activities during our stay. When we first got there we changed rooms because of a broken toilet,the next room didn't have a dresser, then when we got into the 3rd room we realized we were in a standard room the whole time when we booked a Superior City View room. We called the front and they immediately changed our room. Be sure to double check because they said it had something to do with the way Orbitz sent their confirmation over (true or not, I'd still double check). The Standard rooms are unbearably small,DO NOT stay in one!! It's definately worth the extra $$ to upgrade. FINALLY,a nice sized room with a lanai, kitchen sink, dishes, microwave, mini-fridge, sitting room with couch & coffee table, ROOM TO WALK. After all that, everything was great. Breakfast was awesome, it saved us a lot of money. The cleaning staff was SO nice! The Front desk was pretty helpful, too. If you rent a car, parking is free from 7am-6pm but space is limited when it's crowded, then it's $20 overnight. Park in the lot right next door in the PM, it's only $10 from 6pm-7am (Pain to get up in the morning and move the car but it saved us $100). There's also a Grocery store right next to this lot which was very convenient. I had a hard time trying to figure out how close the Hotel was to the beach based on maps and descriptions, beause everywhere I searched seemed to be slightly differen. It seems a lot worse on paper than it actually is. Not bad at all. It takes about 5 minutes to walk there...tops. Overall this was a great place to stay on a budget as long as you upgrade to the Superior Room (which is only $8 more/night through Orbitz). The noise comment is based on the trash trucks and busses that drive by early in the morning, other than that, it's not bad. I would definitely reccomend this place to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
May 3, 2007

Adequate

The Aloha Surf was comfortable, but not luxurious. The pool is a joke and we never used it. The coffee machine in the lobby made terrible coffee. Our room though was very clean and we had no complaints with it. It also had a small fridge and microwave which was nice. When in Hawaii though, you won't want to spend much time in your room when it's always so beautiful outside!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One block from hotel is a restaurant called Keoni's. They had the best Pad Thai! We wouldn't recommend the Perry's Smorgy restaurant right by the hotel. It was cheap compared to other places but not very good.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
808lika
O'ahu
Nov 6, 2009

Tempted to keep it to myself.

Great location to stroll over to Duke's Canoe Club or The Royal Hawaiian or The Moana Hotel all on Waikiki Beach. There's a huge Apple Store in The Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center and a great Food Court upstairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

$20 per night hotel parking is a Waikiki best bargain. And FREE parking can sometimes be found along the Ala Wai just around the corner. Just move the car before 8:30 next A.M. or you'll be towed.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kingbowman
New Orleans, La
Jul 8, 2009

Great Hotel , exceptional location.

The location was excellent. Three blocks off Wakiki beach. Grocery store next door for alcohol, snacks, quick food, etc. First room was somewhat small. for $20. more a night we upgraded to an excellent room on the the twelth floor. As most of the area is condo's or hotels the views are of other buildings mostly. Scooter rental is available downstairs at Eddies bar. Contiental breaksfast was plentifull. The staff was very polite and helpfull. As we booked through Orbitz we didn't know the true cost on a daily basis. But felt the overall price for air, hotel and car was a very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do your homework on google, i.e. top ten things to do in honolulu before going. Rent a convertable, it's well worth the money. Take along a tom tom or rent one at the car rental. Don't be afraid to venture out and go see. Traffic is only congested on the H1 during rush hours. Speed limits are set very low. City=25, country=35, highway=50.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
nj
Oct 15, 2010

unbeatable location for a price

good location with really friendly and helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 20, 2007

great for weekend getaway

I liked the location of the hotel it is very central. The hotel was also very clean. Unfortanatly there was no parking available, so we had to park elsewhere. The room was clean and comfortable but small. The ac did not work to well it was a window unit and didn't get the room as cold as I would have liked. It was also very noisy in the morning due to the deliveries at the near by grocery store.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed drinks at the bar accross the street in the Sand Villa hotel open until 4am.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Jul 9, 2009

"Unbeatable location for the price"

Vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 9, 2009

Excellent and would highly reccomend

The hotel was wonderful. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room came with a refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, and they didnt charge for use of the safe. The continental breakfast was good and included fresh fruits, muffins, donuts, oatmeal, varieties of toast, and they made fresh hot pancakes every morning. The beach was a straight walk and took maybe 5 minutes or less. The only problem i faced was parking. The entire city of Wakiki has a parking problem and one night it took me 45 minutes to find a spot. The hotel does have limited parking so you have to book it early, and it costs $20.00 a night. Almost every hotel in Wakiki charges for parking. So if you can park on the street it will save you some money. But be careful they have tow away signs posted at certain hours, so you have to look for those.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There where not many local restaurants to chose from. Most of the food to chose from we can find at every city here on the mainland. But there was one, a place on Kuhio Ave called Puka Dog. They are rated on the travel channel as one of the top ten best hotdogs. Out of the hotel turn right and at the first light turn right onto Kuhio. It is on the left side of the street right before payless shoes. The walk will take maybe 2 to 3 minutes and it is well worth it. I ate there at least four times or more.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shanghai of China
May 12, 2010

good location and friendly service

good location to beach or bus stop or shop; and friendly service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
808Princess
Honolulu, HI
Apr 3, 2014

Awesome place to stay!!

This hotel is close to almost everything, rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff treats you like they do at big resorts! Would definitely recommend :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top