Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

3 stars
444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu (Oahu), HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
303 reviews
Awesome place to stay!!

This hotel is close to almost everything, rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff treats you... See full review

  • 808Princess
  • Apr 3, 2014
Location Location etc

Great value , excelent location, nice vibe will return See full review

  • Peche86
  • Sep 30, 2013
Hip boutique hotel two blocks from Waikiki Beach

Find your nook in paradise at the hip, boutique Aqua Aloha Surf. A short two-block walk to the beach and styled to suit the casual sophisticate, this petite hotel incorporates small things that make a stay special. That means in-room high-speed Internet, complimentary newspaper, mini fridge and more. In the chic pool area you will find a café, barbecue grill and tiki-torch ambience.

Highlights
  • Free Internet access
  • Complimentary signature cocktail at manager's reception every Tuesday
Location

Take a break from the revelry of Kalakaua Avenue at the central-Waikiki Aqua Aloha Surf, located on a mellow stretch two blocks from the beach, shopping, dining and nightlife. Join Waikiki residents for a jog along the meandering Ala Wai Canal by the hotel with gorgeous mountain views.

Rooms

The hotel's 202 rooms feature tailored, ocean-inspired decor in cool aquamarine and soft beige hues. All feature 20-inch LCD TV, in-room high-speed Internet, microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, daily paper, in-room safe, free local calls, air conditioning, exclusive Aqua robes and signature Aqua Hotels & Resorts bath amenities. Select rooms have private balcony with city or mountain views and sleeper sofa. The one-bedroom suite includes a partial ocean view and a wet bar.

Dining

Stay connected at the hotel's Internet hangout, Edward's Cafe. Walk a block from the hotel to find a variety of dining options and full-service supermarket. A great mid-priced choice is Hula Grill Waikiki, located on the beach.

Recreation
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Waikiki Beach Walk (.5 mi/.7 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.5 mi/.9 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.8 mi/2.8 km)

 

 

Policies and fees
NOTE: Parking costs $22 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Rooms

Deluxe
Among our larger rooms, the Deluxe rooms offer numerous amenities and partial views of Waikiki and the Koolau Mountains, plus private lanais. Features the comforts of home with a queen-sized sleeper sofa, coffee table, and separate vanity area. Choose from 1 Double and 1 Single OR 1 King/Queen. Maximum of 4 guests per room. $25 charge for 3rd & 4th person apply. (360 sq.ft)
Superior
Take in the amazing views of Waikiki from the private lanais in these comfortable, relaxing Oahu boutique hotel rooms. A comfortable room with 1 King/Queen sized bed. Maximum of 3 guests. $25 charge for 3rd & 4th person apply. (340 sq. ft.)
Moderate
The essentials for a carefree vacation. 1 Queen or 2 Twin sized beds, and partial views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. 2 guests maximum. (220 sq. ft.)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2791 -157.8236
Area served
Honolulu-Oahu, Waikiki, HI
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Within walking distance to shopping, dining, golf, snorkeling and more. Conveniently secluded just two blocks from world famous Waikiki Beach.

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (303)

Ratings and reviews for Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
303 out of 303
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Jun 11, 2007

people friendly

The hotel was very neat and well managed. The night shift people were the best. Very helpful in al areas. The room was spacious and up to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anything you needed food, shopping, the beach all within walking distance.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 22, 2007

Nice location good raate

Its the best value for money. Their customer sservice, breakfast, cleaniliness is better tha most 3 star hotels i stayed in. Its located conveniently 15 mins walk from Waikki beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 21, 2008

Great Value

The Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel was a great value for the money. The room was surprisingly spacious. The bathroom was a little small but it worked for what we needed. The staff was extremely helpful whenever we needed them, answering all of our questions and giving directions. The hotel was within walking distance to all we needed. It was located just a few blocks from the beach and many restaurants and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach was only about three blocks away. The Waikiki Shell was a bit further of a walk but still doable.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jeffandchristie
danbury, CT
Sep 27, 2009

what a great stay!!

upon check-in we were welcomed and treated how you would want to be on vacation. All staff members were very helpful at all hours of the day and night. The toursit help desk was able to set up all our excursions/ activities for discounted prices! free happy hour once a week, unlimited drinks! Wonderful breakfast offered each morning, the pancakes were yum! Overall we were very happy with aqua aloha surf hotel and hope to go again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

make reservations!

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jul 5, 2007

A Pleasant Surprise

For the money, we were not expecting the hotel to be as modern, bright, clean, and well located as it turned out to be. Our original room was, in most ways, even better than we had anticipated. There was one window-style a/c in a corner of the room, but it was adequate in time to provide enough cooling to sleep well all night. The parking arrangements were a little odd: we had to park in the structure for another sister hotel down the street, but it wasn't all that inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a smorgasbord a short block from the hotel on a main drag; get a tourist booklet and use the coupon to save another dollar or two.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Anchorage, AK
Mar 5, 2008

Wonderful Staff

The Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel was very nice. We had a nice sized room with a very good view. We had a mini-fridge, microwave, sink and dishes. It was very convenient as we traveled with a 3 year old and needed a place for his snacks and milk, etc. The staff was amazingly nice and helpful. They offer a continental breakfast with bread, bagels, etc. Very basic stuff and it gets kinda old if you are staying awhile...but hey, free is good! The pool is very small and does not have a kiddie area but appeared to be well maintained. I have only two complaints. The first being that the bathroom was very small and that the bathtub was a little scary looking. The other is that parking costs $18/day! We could have saved a little by parking 4 or more blocks away but it was not worth it to us to drag our tired, whiney kiddo back to the hotel after long days out. Seems that is pretty much the standard for Waikiki but it still stinks that the parking cost more then the actual car rental cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is very near just about everything. It is only a couple blocks from the beach, Denny's, ABC stores, nightclubs, and just about everything else. Lots of places to eat. We got a coupon book when we checked in that had some BOGO for places nearby.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winnipeg, MB
Mar 5, 2008

Very Adult Friendly

Hi As for children I would be concerned about space. For the room I had was just enough room for 2 people. I found the location excellent for the price. The only concern I had was walking that short block before the hotel (opposite the Canal). It was quite dark with very little lighting. The first couple of days I was uncomfortable walking that distance after dark. The food was good and fresh. But I missed the Bran Muffins. Overall I had a very enjoyable time and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

For the price it took about 5 minutes to arrive at the beach. I liked this very much.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DUST MAN
KENAI ALASKA
Jan 28, 2010

super

It WAS GREAT !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
May 17, 2007

Very family friendly

very good for the money. Excellent service, very friendly staff. Excelent lcation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

very short walk to the beach, about 5 min.

Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aktungs
Anchorage, AK
Jul 14, 2010

Great Value, Great Staff

Staff was very friendly and helpful, everyone from the maintenance guys, the housekeepers, and the front desk folks. The beach towels and boogie boards available for sign-out were a great convenience. Breakfast was great, fresh pancakes, pineapple/orange slices, muffins, and oatmeal. Older rooms, but very clean. A moderate walk to the beach, but not bad at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top