Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2014 Check-out: Apr 24, 2014

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
309 reviews
great stay

After a long flight to HNL, I had a great stay at this hotel. Got an upgrade to a large room with... See full review

  • polar traveler
  • Jan 30, 2014
Happy Customers!

All of the staff workers, from the front desk to the room cleaners were happy, supportive and bent... See full review

  • Stridiron
  • Dec 9, 2013
Welcome to Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel, where our ideal Waikiki location meets exceptional value for Oahu Hotels. You'll enjoy contemporary comfort at our Waikiki Hotel, the perfect choice for your Hawaii Vacations, Romantic Hawaii Getaways or last-minute tropical escapes. The Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel is located in the heart of Waikiki, on the south shore of Honolulu. The soft sandy beaches of Waikiki Beach were once a playground for Hawaiian royalty. The name, 'Waikiki' is Hawaiian for "spouting waters". Oahu is an incredibly diverse Hawaiian Island offering something for everyone looking for the perfect Hawaiian Vacation; Oahu Activities, some of the world's most beautiful beaches, world's best Surfing, Hawaii Golf, Shopping in Waikiki, Waikiki Restaurants and much more. The Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel is a comfortable home away from home, where our friendly staff and warm service perfectly capture the 'Spirit of Aloha'. Discover all the features that make the Ambassador Hotel the perfect choice for savvy travelers seeking an affordable Oahu Hotel. Our Waikiki Hotel features include: - Enjoy our spacious Waikiki Hotel accommodations with all of the amenities of home with Residence-style comforts including Free Cable Internet, Full-Kitchenettes, Cable Televisions, Flat Screen TV's, Free Movies & more. - Delight in our private, yet convenient Waikiki Beach location - just steps from Waikikis most popular Honolulu Activities, Hawaii Attractions, Waikiki Shopping and Waikiki Restaurants & more. - Lounge by our sparkling Swimming Pool or take a short stroll over to gorgeous Waikiki Beach. - Conveniently located on the Waikiki Trolley and bus routes, just 9 miles from Honolulu International Airport and close to Ala Moana Shopping Mall, Waikiki Beach & other Oahu Activities.

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki Rooms

City View Suite- 1 Double, 3 Twins
City View Suite can accommodate a family of 4, these suites are located on floors 2 -11. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View - Three Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have Three Twin Beds. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amentities.
City View - Two Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have Two Double Beds. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View with Kitchenette - Two Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 3 - 6 and have Two Double. Rooms include a balcony, kitchenette and other standard in-room amenities.
City View with Kitchenette- Three beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 3 - 6 and have Three Beds. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
Premier Partial Ocean View- One King Bed
Partial views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki, these rooms are located on floors 7 - 18 and have a King Bed. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
Premier Partial Ocean View- Two Beds
Partial views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki, these rooms are located on floors 7 - 18 and have Two Double Beds. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View - One King Bed
City view of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have a King Bed. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2841 -157.8314
Area served
Waikiki and the greater Honolulu area.
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Located at the corner of Kuhio and Kalakaua Avenue. We are the enterance into Waikiki.

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.7 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.7 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.6 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.6 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.7 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.9 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.1 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.7 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.1 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
none

Dining

Aqua Cafe
Only minutes away from Ambassador hotel, Aqua Cafe has won numerous awards for all of its "Loco Moco" dishes. A warm and inviting atmosphere coupled with excellent local cuisine make Aqua Cafe a must visit
Top of Waikiki
Only minutes away from Ambassador hotel, the Top of Waikiki is Hawaii's only revolving restaurant. Enjoy fabulous sunset views and exquisite Pacific-fusion cuisine as you dine 21 floors above world-famous Waikiki Beach.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (309)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

3.4 / 5
309 out of 309
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
Manley
Honalulu
Apr 2, 2012

When I Booked the price was about 488/Night. I booked 2 nights and paid $ 228. + $15 to park

When I Booked the price was quoted to be about $ 88/Night. I booked 2 nights and paid $ 228. + $15 to park. The room was ok, no resturant but not a problem at that location. Had to book from 3 PM the day before arrival as arrival time was 7:30 AM after an 18 hour trip. I could not use the 15 hours of reserved time before my arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
charperus
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Mar 25, 2014

Just like a Motel.

We had the chance to stay at two different hotels in Honololu : - 3 days at the Alo Monoa Hotel and it is a real hotel with proper services & amenities. And the facilities are great. - 2 days at the Ambassador Hotel Waikiki and it feels like a cheap Motel : 2-1: The front desk is like a a gas station and whatever one may call the stale & empty space as Lobby is an exageration. And there is NO washroom in the Lobbt eiher. 2-2: The room is clean but it is just like a Motel ... nothing more. Next time , I will book the Alo Monoa Hotel and forget the Ambasador Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
Tomorrow's traveler time
New Jersey
Mar 24, 2014

Excellent for the price

For what I paid I do believe it was worth it . The room was clean. The service that I received was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are at the beginning of Waikiki.

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
rosa007
Business
hawaii
Mar 16, 2014

average

average room okay to spend a night convenient location quite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
SammH
Connecticut
Mar 15, 2014

Clean Room, Great Staff, Needs Renovation

The room was clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room decor was a bit run down and tired looking. Walls and wood were scraped up, the kitchen and furniture looked pretty old and worn. I didn't quite feel like I was getting what I paid for at this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
jackyan
china
Feb 6, 2014

good stay in this hotel for 7 days

8 days stay in this hotel, although we met some trouble by somone during check in by one unfriendly staff. after one good communication with Manager ---Sean who is very nice manager&Man. I and my family like him. we have good say for 7 days in hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
polar traveler
Alaska
Jan 30, 2014

great stay

After a long flight to HNL, I had a great stay at this hotel. Got an upgrade to a large room with fridge and microwave. Bathroom was spacious and clean. Staff was helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
Jungpro
San Francisco
Jan 29, 2014

Stayable overnight

Good location near Wikiki with a convenience store in the next door. Youngsters' hotel withcooking facility and WIFI accessible only at the hotel lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
Nsteph Seattle
Seattle, WA
Jan 23, 2014

Great experience with Ambassador

The staffs were friendly and helpful. Since we stayed for 6 nights we got an upgrade offered from the hotel staff that was awesome. Even though we didn't cook but the fridge and kitchen with toaster would help us to save some bucks. The hotel is just 2 blocks from the Waikiki beach. Convenient shopping stores and restaurants are around and you can find the ABC stores just several steps. The travel tours and bus stop right at front of the hotel which are more convenient for anyone who wants to catch buses to save money or to have a pick up. We will definitely come back to Waikiki and stay at Ambassador Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be careful each ABC store sells stuffs with different prices, you can get good deals with just several steps more. Also when you book the tour, the pick up location, Gateway is just several steps away from the hotel. I was not familier with the area and because the drop off time after the Polynesian show was late at night so I paid extra $7.00/each to be picked up & dropped at the hotel but finally I figured out the pick up location is just at the corner. I wish if I knew I would not pay extra $14.00 for two this could pay for our breakfast :-)

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
dreaming1024
Lubbock,Texas
Jan 21, 2014

Good Try

If the location goes the first and you are on a budget, try this. It's clean, neat and only 10 minutes walking to the Waikiki beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
Iris bob
Salt Lake, Utah
Jan 17, 2014

Great place to stay!!

The staff are all so friendly, they treat you like family :) the room was very clean, we had a room with kitchenette and I'm a stickler for a clean kitchen, the staff impressed me they kept the sink cleaner than I could get it, and believe me I tried!! I would highly recommend the Ambassador to anyone for an awesome stay in a beautiful city. Rates, hospitality and service all we'll worth it!! The only negative to me was having to pay an extra $20 a night to park our rental car, but parking there is very limited so I guess it's better than parking on the streets a mile or more away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Leave the car parked the beach is 10 minutes away and many others easily within walking distance. Also plan to start early each day to get the most out of your stay

Back to menu Return to top