Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
335 reviews
Perfect Place for the Perfect Price.

Loved the Large Roomy area and especially the walk around lanai to view the magnificent view of the... See full review

  • Holoholo Nelson
  • Aug 19, 2014
Very functional

This hotel is very functional and a great place to stay. See full review

  • MMCass
  • Jul 1, 2014
Welcome to Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel, where our ideal Waikiki location meets exceptional value for Oahu Hotels. You'll enjoy contemporary comfort at our Waikiki Hotel, the perfect choice for your Hawaii Vacations, Romantic Hawaii Getaways or last-minute tropical escapes. The Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel is located in the heart of Waikiki, on the south shore of Honolulu. The soft sandy beaches of Waikiki Beach were once a playground for Hawaiian royalty. The name, 'Waikiki' is Hawaiian for "spouting waters". Oahu is an incredibly diverse Hawaiian Island offering something for everyone looking for the perfect Hawaiian Vacation; Oahu Activities, some of the world's most beautiful beaches, world's best Surfing, Hawaii Golf, Shopping in Waikiki, Waikiki Restaurants and much more. The Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel is a comfortable home away from home, where our friendly staff and warm service perfectly capture the 'Spirit of Aloha'. Discover all the features that make the Ambassador Hotel the perfect choice for savvy travelers seeking an affordable Oahu Hotel. Our Waikiki Hotel features include: - Enjoy our spacious Waikiki Hotel accommodations with all of the amenities of home with Residence-style comforts including Free Cable Internet, Full-Kitchenettes, Cable Televisions, Flat Screen TV's, Free Movies & more. - Delight in our private, yet convenient Waikiki Beach location - just steps from Waikikis most popular Honolulu Activities, Hawaii Attractions, Waikiki Shopping and Waikiki Restaurants & more. - Lounge by our sparkling Swimming Pool or take a short stroll over to gorgeous Waikiki Beach. - Conveniently located on the Waikiki Trolley and bus routes, just 9 miles from Honolulu International Airport and close to Ala Moana Shopping Mall, Waikiki Beach & other Oahu Activities. Daily parking $25, and on a first come first serve basis.

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki Rooms

City View Suite- 1 Double, 3 Twins
City View Suite can accommodate a family of 4, these suites are located on floors 2 -11. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View - Three Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have Three Twin Beds. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amentities.
City View - Two Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have Two Double Beds. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View with Kitchenette - Two Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 3 - 6 and have Two Double. Rooms include a balcony, kitchenette and other standard in-room amenities.
City View with Kitchenette- Three beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 3 - 6 and have Three Beds. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
Premier Partial Ocean View- One King Bed
Partial views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki, these rooms are located on floors 7 - 18 and have a King Bed. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
Premier Partial Ocean View- Two Beds
Partial views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki, these rooms are located on floors 7 - 18 and have Two Double Beds. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View - One King Bed
City view of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have a King Bed. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2841 -157.8314
Area served
Waikiki and the greater Honolulu area.
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Located at the corner of Kuhio and Kalakaua Avenue. We are the enterance into Waikiki.

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.7 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.7 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.6 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.6 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.7 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.9 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.1 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.7 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.1 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
none

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (335)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
335 out of 335
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Manley
Honalulu
Apr 2, 2012

When I Booked the price was about 488/Night. I booked 2 nights and paid $ 228. + $15 to park

When I Booked the price was quoted to be about $ 88/Night. I booked 2 nights and paid $ 228. + $15 to park. The room was ok, no resturant but not a problem at that location. Had to book from 3 PM the day before arrival as arrival time was 7:30 AM after an 18 hour trip. I could not use the 15 hours of reserved time before my arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Palaina
Business
New York
Oct 17, 2014

Great Location For Price

Looking at this hotel's location on a map makes it seem further away from Waikiki Beach than it is. It's a 20 minute walk from there and you are walking down one of the 2 main strips in Honolulu. So for the price is fantastic. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. They give you a free portable water bottle when checking in and have a station on the ground floor for refilling it with unlimited purified water. A game room with 2 X-Boxes, 2 dart boards, and some other stuff, a decent sized fitness center, an outdoor pool and parking. Not that you'll feel the need to use any of this except the water. Room I stayed in was decent sized, had 2 double beds, balcony, a big bathroom with closet and a safe. Stand-up shower (no bathtub) and full kitchenette with stove, microwave, sink etc.. No coffee maker or the like. Medium sized flat panel TV (not that you'll be using it). As clean as a Holiday Inn. Not a Hilton but for the price and location I think it's a great deal. Beds are comfy too! Elevators are beat though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To Waikiki Beach in a scenic 15 minute walk.

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Haleiwaside
Business
Haleiwa
Oct 13, 2014

Great stay

Great price rooms pretty clean the only thing is I paid a extra $20 something for hotel fees

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

IHOP

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
afnav
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Sep 28, 2014

Cheap for Waikiki

It is what it is...a decent hotel surrounded by expensive alternatives. It's probably half the price of anything on the beach, and not a far walk to get there. Parking is scarce. Arrive early, and not at night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
edce
Business
na
Sep 25, 2014

basic comfort

We stayed at the ambassador waikiki for one night and found it is a comfortable yet basic accommodation. Good value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dukes beach bar can't be beat

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
figment888
Business
tampa
Sep 22, 2014

not a great hotel

This hotel was ok- it was the last one available in Waikiki. I paid like $230, but I think it was worth maybe $50. The staff were ok. I'd stay somewhere else if I could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
apk8084
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 15, 2014

Fine Location

Clean, kitchenette, no frills, 3 blocks from Waikiki, no problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Surfer from Cali
Business
Kaui
Sep 9, 2014

Nice for the money

Friendly staff rooms are clean great location Rates are very reasonable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Variety of restaurants in the area

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cole305
Business
Miami, Florida
Sep 8, 2014

Good stay

Good place to lay your head. Hotel located in a great location. Hotel does not provide coffee or tea in the room or coffee pot. There are additional costs such as parking so recommend reading the find print before staying at hotel. Water in shower and sink was slow to drain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Singing Around the World
Business
San Mateo, California
Sep 4, 2014

The Most Average

Everything about my experience was average. The hotel is trying to "go green" and so they provide water sacs to put filtered water into. Saved us money on buying water bottles. The first night we arrived we were told there was no parking available on the property and the lot we were instructed to go to was CLOSED. The staff did nothing to help us except say "keep looking around" and that bothered me. Also, the elevators were EXTREMELY slow. We stayed very high up and would wait at least 5 minutes for the elevator. Nothing great but you get what you pay for at this very cheap hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hilton Hawaiian Village Lagoon.

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
samajame
Business
San Mateo, California
Sep 2, 2014

My first trp to Hawaii

what you want I said, this is a best hotel in Honolulu

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

tours to different place

Back to menu Return to top