Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
325 reviews
Perfect Place for the Perfect Price.

Loved the Large Roomy area and especially the walk around lanai to view the magnificent view of the... See full review

  • Holoholo Nelson
  • Aug 19, 2014
Very functional

This hotel is very functional and a great place to stay. See full review

  • MMCass
  • Jul 1, 2014
Welcome to Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel, where our ideal Waikiki location meets exceptional value for Oahu Hotels. You'll enjoy contemporary comfort at our Waikiki Hotel, the perfect choice for your Hawaii Vacations, Romantic Hawaii Getaways or last-minute tropical escapes. The Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel is located in the heart of Waikiki, on the south shore of Honolulu. The soft sandy beaches of Waikiki Beach were once a playground for Hawaiian royalty. The name, 'Waikiki' is Hawaiian for "spouting waters". Oahu is an incredibly diverse Hawaiian Island offering something for everyone looking for the perfect Hawaiian Vacation; Oahu Activities, some of the world's most beautiful beaches, world's best Surfing, Hawaii Golf, Shopping in Waikiki, Waikiki Restaurants and much more. The Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel is a comfortable home away from home, where our friendly staff and warm service perfectly capture the 'Spirit of Aloha'. Discover all the features that make the Ambassador Hotel the perfect choice for savvy travelers seeking an affordable Oahu Hotel. Our Waikiki Hotel features include: - Enjoy our spacious Waikiki Hotel accommodations with all of the amenities of home with Residence-style comforts including Free Cable Internet, Full-Kitchenettes, Cable Televisions, Flat Screen TV's, Free Movies & more. - Delight in our private, yet convenient Waikiki Beach location - just steps from Waikikis most popular Honolulu Activities, Hawaii Attractions, Waikiki Shopping and Waikiki Restaurants & more. - Lounge by our sparkling Swimming Pool or take a short stroll over to gorgeous Waikiki Beach. - Conveniently located on the Waikiki Trolley and bus routes, just 9 miles from Honolulu International Airport and close to Ala Moana Shopping Mall, Waikiki Beach & other Oahu Activities. Daily parking $25, and on a first come first serve basis.

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki Rooms

City View Suite- 1 Double, 3 Twins
City View Suite can accommodate a family of 4, these suites are located on floors 2 -11. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View - Three Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have Three Twin Beds. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amentities.
City View - Two Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have Two Double Beds. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View with Kitchenette - Two Beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 3 - 6 and have Two Double. Rooms include a balcony, kitchenette and other standard in-room amenities.
City View with Kitchenette- Three beds
City View of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 3 - 6 and have Three Beds. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
Premier Partial Ocean View- One King Bed
Partial views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki, these rooms are located on floors 7 - 18 and have a King Bed. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
Premier Partial Ocean View- Two Beds
Partial views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki, these rooms are located on floors 7 - 18 and have Two Double Beds. Rooms include a kitchenette, balcony and other standard in-room amenities.
City View - One King Bed
City view of Honolulu, these rooms are located on floors 2-6 and have a King Bed. Rooms include a balcony and other standard in-room amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2841 -157.8314
Area served
Waikiki and the greater Honolulu area.
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Located at the corner of Kuhio and Kalakaua Avenue. We are the enterance into Waikiki.

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.1 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.4 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.2 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.2 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.7 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.7 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.7 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.6 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.6 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.7 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.8 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.9 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.1 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.1 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.7 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.1 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
none

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (325)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Manley
Honalulu
Apr 2, 2012

When I Booked the price was about 488/Night. I booked 2 nights and paid $ 228. + $15 to park

When I Booked the price was quoted to be about $ 88/Night. I booked 2 nights and paid $ 228. + $15 to park. The room was ok, no resturant but not a problem at that location. Had to book from 3 PM the day before arrival as arrival time was 7:30 AM after an 18 hour trip. I could not use the 15 hours of reserved time before my arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guiller96740
Business
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Aug 25, 2014

Almost Good

I go to Honolulu from a neighbor island for business therefore cost is important. the cost is OK but once you add the "amenities fee" and the parking, I'm then paying 50% more. Not cool that you find out just when you arrive. As fas as the hotel itself is good nothing spectacular, a good place to sleep and go onto doing your activities. It has a decent swimming pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aaron Supertramp
Seattle, Washington
Aug 24, 2014

Fair and affordable

Despite what the photos and description may lead you to believe, the hotel is located about 15 minutes from the beach and about 5 minutes from everywhere else. That being said, you are still fairly close to everything while maintaining an affordable price. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. If you are looking for something fancy or memorable I would suggest you keep searching. However, if you are on a budget but still want a nice hotel experience this is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Modest Dental Student
Salt Lake City
Aug 20, 2014

Amazing Vacation

Spent 2 nights at Ambassador in Waikiki, it was excellent value and perfect for those who don't plan on spending too much time in your room. Honolulu/Waikiki has an excellent nightlife and Ambassador offers a great location within walking distance to many of these spots. It is .5mile walk from the prime spot at Waikiki beach, but it was preferrable for us because it was a lot quieter at night relative to beach-front hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marukame Udon. Open at 7am-9am, 11am-10pm, best value for udon anywhere. Must try.

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JBang
Majuro, Marshall Islands
Aug 19, 2014

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

I loved my time at the hotel. The only issue I had was a double charge for amenities. My online purchase included a $20 Amenities fee; however, when I got to the hotel, they charged me the same fee...... smh The stay was great though. Very comfortable. Clean room and the staff were very helpful. JB

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Holoholo Nelson
Island of Kaua'i
Aug 19, 2014

Perfect Place for the Perfect Price.

Loved the Large Roomy area and especially the walk around lanai to view the magnificent view of the City of Honolulu, the mountains and the ocean !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tony Romas located right around the corner.

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jmy1968
san marcos tx
Aug 17, 2014

Hidden charges

Besides the tax charges there are amenities charges, resort charges and parking fees charges which add up for more than what you expect. There is also a $100 deposit which you don't mind it is the $25 per day for parking and amenities which added $300 to the bill which were not expected

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping,dinning and the beach all located within walking distance

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JD from SNJ
San Jose
Aug 8, 2014

Not Again

Within the first hour after checking I was at the front desk ready to check out. Our rooms were that bad! Rooms were old, ran down and musky. Our rooms were changed but down sized to three single beds per room. If it weren't for the staff and a long day of travel, we would have checked out, walked away from our deposit for a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yemaiha
North Carolina
Aug 4, 2014

Thankfully, just one night

I stayed for 1 night because I made an error in booking with another (much better) hotel. Coming from the other hotel to this didn't help matters. The room seemed clean but there was a smell on one of the pillow cases. The TV didn't work properly and the carpet needed cleaning. Poor carpentry throughout. If you're on a tight budget and can deal with below average accommodations in HI, it's doable. But if you have the budget, choose a better rating hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car. There's city bus transportation throughout the island. You get a great tour and you're part of the local life style. You can always rent a car for 1 day to self tour.

Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Xin Fu
Mesa, AZ
Jul 22, 2014

Not very good!

We stayed there for two nights. I booked two rooms for my family but they didn't put them together. Room in this hotel is rather old. In additional, there is no enough parking area. The staff told me the parking area need to be reserved first otherwise you need to do street parking or park in the other hotel that may be three blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Rezak
Business
Washington D.C
Jul 18, 2014

Great place!

The staff was extremely accommodating and helpful. Aside from the charges for parking and amenities it was a great deal. I recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Big Kahuna off Kuhio

Back to menu Return to top