Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 6, 2015 Check-out: Feb 8, 2015

Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

2 stars
87 Banyan Drive, Hilo (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96720
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
96 reviews
Good location

Good location - In fornt of the Hilo bay Staff are quite good and very friendly See full review

  • Eric san
  • Jan 16, 2014
Reasonable Hotel

We, 3 persons, could enjoy staying this hotel with free breakfast and perfect location. However,... See full review

  • Sea Lover Mom
  • Jun 2, 2014
Ready to experience the Big Island of Hawaii and all of its beauty Hilo! Walk through lush valleys filled with fragrant flowers and fauna of an ancient time. Visit historic sites and museums that take you back in time to a plantation lifestyle. Hike an active volcano, up close and personal. Experience some of the best stargazing in the world atop Mauna Kea. All that you want on the Big Island of Hawaii on an affordable budget, with Uncle Billy's. Uncle Billy's Hilo Bay Hotel, located in the quaint little town of Hilo, offers an island style with memories of past times. Located along historic Banyan Drive amongst 80 year old giant banyan trees, Hilo Bay Hotel is in the heart of it all, minutes from downtown Hilo. Visit specialty shops and unique restaurants, Hilo's open air Farmer's Market, orchid farms, tropical gardens, waterfalls, and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.

Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) Rooms

Superior Room with Partial Ocean View
Our spacious Superior Rooms have partial ocean views of quiet Hilo Bay. Wake up to or relax at the day's end with views of the Hamakua coastline and majestic Mauna Kea. Rooms come well equipped with two full size beds, air conditioning, cable television, telephones, refrigerator, alarm clocks, hair dryer, coffee and coffee maker, and private lanais. Wake up each morning to watch a beautiful Hawaiian sunrise and come down for our complimentary continental Aloha Breakfast, served daily 6:30am - 8:30am.
Studio Kitchenette
Our large well equipped Studio room with an efficiency kitchen is your home away from home on your visit with us on the Big Island of Hawaii. Standard are 2 burner cook tops, microwave oven, toaster, coffee maker, refrigerator, and utensils and glassware for a party of 4. Two full size beds, or a queen and sofa are basic configurations for these rooms. Rooms also offer air conditioning, cable television, telephones, alarm clocks, and private lanais. Our beautiful tropical garden below and center courtyard offers relaxing views from your private lanai. Wake up each morning to watch a beautiful Hawaiian sunrise and come down for our complimentary continental Aloha Breakfast, served daily 6:30am - 8:30am.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts) also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.7283 -155.0654
Area served
Hilo, HI
Nearby airports
General Lyman Airport- Exit airport and turn right on Highway 11. Cross highway 19 to Banyan Drive and go 1/2 mile to the hotel. Enter on right. Keahole Airport- Take 94M W.
Area description
The center of Hawaiian outdoor life, Volacanoes, diving, Rainforest and Orchid Gardens to Mac Nut Farms surround this port city on a crescent Bay.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our Leilani Room can comfortably accommodate up to 30 people with room for tables and chairs for your conference needs. Catering options are also available please contact us at 1-800-367-5102 for reservation information.

Dining

Uncle Billy's General Store
Forgot your toothbrush at home Not a problem! Uncle Billy's General Store is fully stocked with any bath amenities that you may need. Have a late night craving? We've got you covered with a full assortment of snacks, sandwiches, drinks, coffee, ice cream, and local delicacies. And if you re looking for that perfect souvenir, our general store has a variety of post cards, T-shirts, clothing, and much more. Open Sun-Thur 7:30am to 9:30pm, Fri & Sat 7:30am to 10:00pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (96)

Ratings and reviews for Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 96
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ChefMira
Business
Everson, WA
Dec 5, 2014

awaiting air transport

Comfortable and nice location, a short distance to the airport. Waterfront and watched local fisherman dive for fish. Would have loved to join them! Although rocky, the water appeared clear, clean and full of life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring your snorkel gear!

Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
5789
Business
British Columbia
Nov 26, 2014

Captain Obvious!

This hotel is run down to say the least. The room was dark, dingy and smelled. You know that commercial where the guy picks the bad hotel room and Captain Obvious comments? Well this was it. I did not remove my shoes at any point during our stay. We actually rented another hotel room in a different town for several days so as not to feel we were wasting our vacation. There we saw Uncle Billy's in Kona and it too was rundown but in a great location. (No, we didn't stay there). The staff were pleasant, but would not meet your gaze. They did give new towels daily and pathetically, that was luxurious by comparison. There was construction of a pond atrium area which was funny juxtaposed against the bucket in the lobby to catch the rain. The location was good. It was close to a Japanese garden and the ocean (no swimming beach). Hilo is rainy but has a more relaxed, community feel to it). My advice, this hotel may have been lovely once, but no money has gone into upkeep. Spend yours elsewhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Conscious Culture Cafe in Hilo has excellent vegetarian, vegan meals. I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rpwII
Business
Hilo , HI
Apr 13, 2014

Was OK

A Two hundred room hotel with 25 Car parking lot! You have to find a place on the street but read all the signs before parking or you will get a ticket or towed away. Inside run down but OK Needs a lot of updating to get a higher rating. The hotel next door looks about the same but has better parking. I did not see any other hotels in Hilo?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Several small places all over town that have good food .

Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jmzsenior
Business
western Wisconsin
Feb 27, 2014

great stay for price

great place to stay and a good value. all the staff were pleasant and at your service always. great change from a standard issue Marriott, Hilton, (you fill in). Will stay here again with no hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Football Traveler
Business
Saint Paul, MN
Aug 2, 2013

Not updated since 1965

Horrible experience at this hotel - the carpet and room reek of mold! Running the wall air conditioner only drowns out the frogs! Bathroom has not been updated since hotel was built. We slept in our clothes and got up and left as soon as possible. If we had not prepaid we would have walked and it was midnight and we staggered in from the airport - don't be decieved by the location near the airport. All locals said it is the lowest of the low on the Island. Hillbilly Billy's. Never again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
steve from
Business
utah
Jul 4, 2013

could be worse - good value

given the high prices of neighboring hotels, this one seems reasonable. don't expect fancy. the room is large and clean enough, and in a nice location. some issues though. for one thing, even though there are 4 floors the elevator was out of service for my entire 5-day stay. and the AC unit is very noisy and rattles a lot, and as others have mentioned, the parking lot if tiny, so everyone has to park on the street. not a problem except for thurs, when they clean streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stevefbjfcbj
Business
tampa
Jul 2, 2013

great hotel

Cheap and clean. GrrrrrrrrrrrrrRrrrrrreat¡!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Keweivivi
Business
China
Apr 24, 2013

Good location and price

A good place for quick traveller. The room is ok and staff is nice. Very close airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
An Alaskan
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
Apr 7, 2013

Just okay.

The location was very nice, but the room was just okay. There was a loud noise, like drumming or an unbalanced washing machine, outside the room that lasted all night and made for a not at all peaceful night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilo Bay Hotel (Uncle Billy's Hawaiian Family Resorts)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mauifriend
Business
Maui
Mar 25, 2013

Ugg

This was a place convenient for the activities we wanted on the big island. Parking, amenities & services were terrible. Staff not much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pond's Restaurant

Back to menu Return to top