River Street Inn

3 stars
124 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
203 reviews
Loved It!!

My husband and I booked this inn to celebrate a few days for our 10 Year Wedding Anniversary. The... See full review

  • Happy Traveler2
  • Aug 14, 2014
Great stay.

Perfectly located hotel with a room overlooking the Savannah River with its huge container ships... See full review

  • Dizzywhirl
  • Jul 20, 2014
Riverfront hotel in Savannah’s historic district

Originally a storehouse for cotton during the 1800s--when Savannah's waterfront boasted a bustling cotton exchange--River Street Inn sits on a bluff overlooking the Savannah River. The inn comprises five floors wrapped around a central atrium. Throughout the property, antique furniture and period décor create an old-world ambiance with modern conveniences. The inn's central location at the north end of Savannah's historic district puts guests within easy walking distance to the bars and restaurants of River and Broughton Streets.

Highlights
  • Great location overlooking River Street and the Savannah River
  • Trolley tours of Savannah's historic district stop outside the hotel
  • Walking distance to many downtown bars, restaurants and attractions
Rooms

Southern ambiance permeates the inn's décor with antique and antebellum-style furnishings. Each room has its own personality, from hardwood floors and four-poster beds to plush carpeting and wrought-iron headboards. All 86 rooms overlook the Savannah River or downtown Savannah. Watch large ocean freighters ply the busy port river from French-style balconies found in some rooms.

Features

Built in 1817 out of ballast stones left by visiting ships, the first two floors of the inn make up a section of Factor's Walk--a network of narrow streets, alleys and bridges that supported one of the South's busiest cotton ports. Numerous restaurants, bars, shops and tour options surround the hotel. Visit Huey's Southern Café for low country favorites like shrimp, oysters and fried green tomatoes. Guests can buy tickets for trolley tours of the city or river cruises from the front desk. A complimentary evening guest reception with wine and hors d'oeuvres is held Monday to Saturday. A fitness center with professional-grade cardio equipment is located onsite.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • River Street
  • Owens-Thomas House
  • Forsyth Park
  • City Market
  • Factor's Walk

River Street Inn Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Rooms overlook Savannah's popular Historic District, with spacious, tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings, including a seating area with wing-back chairs and ottom, flat-screen tv and all the modern conveniences.
STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Rooms overlook the Savannah River, with spacious, tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings, including a seating area with wing-back chairs and ottoman, flat-screen tv and all the modern conveniences.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Street Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.0804 -81.0895
Area served
Savannah
Nearby airports
The Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport is located 18 minutes away.
Area description
River Street Inn is located at the origin of Savannah's National Historic Landmark District and set proudly in the center of Savannah's Historic River Walk. Interstate 95, Interstate 16, and Hwy 80 link the city.

Dining

Huey's New Orleans Style Cafe
Offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner and is located on the first floor.
Tubby's Seafood, Salads & Sandwiches
A unique, casual atmosphere with hardwood floors and a covered, open-air balcony overlooking Savannah's famous River Street.
Bernie's BBQ & Seafood
Offers lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (203)

Ratings and reviews for River Street Inn

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winston-Salem, NC
Jun 28, 2011

River Front

Old Hotel in great condition. Fireplace in room gives an old Savannah feel. Very spacious room and bathroom. Clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Sep 22, 2009

Great Hotel

Very nice hotel in a great location. Evening reception was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Millie51
Alabama
Feb 10, 2013

Special Event

G R E A T location--staff very helpful--parking is a challenge--some noise problems--good food places close--

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom that much needed a getaway
Nash. Tn
Jul 14, 2009

good price - great locatiaon

The location is great. Close to almost everything. The turn down service with chocolates was great. They have lots of comp. things in your room while you stay. However, the comp. bottle of water that was left in the room had the seal broken on it. I don't know if it had been drank out of and they just filled it up with tap water or what. A little unnerving. Over all, the front desk was very helpful and very nice. I would stay there again, I just won't drink the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
charleston sc
Sep 14, 2009

Great Hotel

This hotel was great! From the moment you walk in you realize its a unique place, and not just another hotel. The staff was very accomidating, they let us check in 3 hours early, and answered all questions we had. The rooms are good sized and comfortable. The hotel had a complamentary wine and hors d'oeuvres gathering from 4:30 untill 6. We chatted with some other folks and had a nice time. This location on river street is wonderful. It is right in the middle of all the fun that is river street! The only negatives, and they are small ones, are kind of small pillows on the otherwise comfortable bed, and low pressure from the shower head. We are already planning a return trip to this hotel, and I will not bother looking for another hotel in Savannah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There are 2 or 3 restraunts, and a bar in the hotel, then your just a step out of an eleavator door onto river street!

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
toccoa
Jul 26, 2011

Unbelievable location for the price

It was a great remodeled old hotel the experience was wonderful the staff was magnificent we really enjoyed the stay and would certainly stay there again would even recommend to friends hotel was clean rooms was very clean parking was great and the rate was good FM means

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Use restaurants that are in walking distance

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vlad's Dad
Erie, PA
May 15, 2010

May Getaway

My wife and I took a 3 day/2 night vacation from our 4 year old and stayed at the River Street Inn. The location was great, we were able to park the car in the garage across the street and leave it there until we left Savannah. The room was very nice and actually larger than we expected. We did not take advantage of the 5pm hospitality hour; the only real issue we had was orienting ourselves when arriving, but we parked on River Street and were able to check in without problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We took the ghost pub crawl that started from the Moon River Brewery and enjoyed it greatly

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Morganton, NC
Apr 10, 2010

A great place to stay

The hotel is perfectly situated to enjoy the historic district of Savannah. The staff was courteous and went out of their way to be helpful. We loved how they tastefully decorated the old cotton warehouse into a unique, beautiful hotel. For our first trip to Savannah, this was the perfect spot to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For an outstanding flounder dish, try Girabaldi's on West Congress Street. And the bartender is a joy too.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Get it to gatherer
Fishers, Indiana
Jun 18, 2012

Great overnight

After we located it, our stay was excellent and we will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
SC
Apr 16, 2010

great location

Convient location, parked the car, walked to carriage tours, river boat cruise, shops, restaurants. This is a very old building, but we weren't looking for cookie cutter. Complimentary wine,cheese early evening

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top