River Street Inn

3 stars
124 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
204 reviews
Loved It!!

My husband and I booked this inn to celebrate a few days for our 10 Year Wedding Anniversary. The... See full review

  • Happy Traveler2
  • Aug 14, 2014
Great stay.

Perfectly located hotel with a room overlooking the Savannah River with its huge container ships... See full review

  • Dizzywhirl
  • Jul 20, 2014
Riverfront hotel in Savannah’s historic district

Originally a storehouse for cotton during the 1800s--when Savannah's waterfront boasted a bustling cotton exchange--River Street Inn sits on a bluff overlooking the Savannah River. The inn comprises five floors wrapped around a central atrium. Throughout the property, antique furniture and period décor create an old-world ambiance with modern conveniences. The inn's central location at the north end of Savannah's historic district puts guests within easy walking distance to the bars and restaurants of River and Broughton Streets.

Highlights
  • Great location overlooking River Street and the Savannah River
  • Trolley tours of Savannah's historic district stop outside the hotel
  • Walking distance to many downtown bars, restaurants and attractions
Rooms

Southern ambiance permeates the inn's décor with antique and antebellum-style furnishings. Each room has its own personality, from hardwood floors and four-poster beds to plush carpeting and wrought-iron headboards. All 86 rooms overlook the Savannah River or downtown Savannah. Watch large ocean freighters ply the busy port river from French-style balconies found in some rooms.

Features

Built in 1817 out of ballast stones left by visiting ships, the first two floors of the inn make up a section of Factor's Walk--a network of narrow streets, alleys and bridges that supported one of the South's busiest cotton ports. Numerous restaurants, bars, shops and tour options surround the hotel. Visit Huey's Southern Café for low country favorites like shrimp, oysters and fried green tomatoes. Guests can buy tickets for trolley tours of the city or river cruises from the front desk. A complimentary evening guest reception with wine and hors d'oeuvres is held Monday to Saturday. A fitness center with professional-grade cardio equipment is located onsite.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • River Street
  • Owens-Thomas House
  • Forsyth Park
  • City Market
  • Factor's Walk

River Street Inn Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Rooms overlook Savannah's popular Historic District, with spacious, tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings, including a seating area with wing-back chairs and ottom, flat-screen tv and all the modern conveniences.
STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Rooms overlook the Savannah River, with spacious, tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings, including a seating area with wing-back chairs and ottoman, flat-screen tv and all the modern conveniences.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Street Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.0804 -81.0895
Area served
Savannah
Nearby airports
The Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport is located 18 minutes away.
Area description
River Street Inn is located at the origin of Savannah's National Historic Landmark District and set proudly in the center of Savannah's Historic River Walk. Interstate 95, Interstate 16, and Hwy 80 link the city.

Dining

Huey's New Orleans Style Cafe
Offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner and is located on the first floor.
Tubby's Seafood, Salads & Sandwiches
A unique, casual atmosphere with hardwood floors and a covered, open-air balcony overlooking Savannah's famous River Street.
Bernie's BBQ & Seafood
Offers lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (204)

Ratings and reviews for River Street Inn

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 204
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CarmanRS
Business
Macon Ga.
Mar 24, 2010

What a GREAT DEAL.Thanks [...] R Smith

What a great deal.Almost 50% off.Great location and a really cool hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Melbourne, FL
Feb 17, 2011

Location, Location, Location

The Inn itself was gorgeous; original hardwoods and exposed brick throughout the Inn and the rooms. I had a river view room that looked right over River Street which was a nice touch. Also leaving the Inn drops you off right into downtown, I didn't need my car the whole time I was there. The only thing that I didn't like so much was you could hear the hardwoods squeaking in the surrounding rooms. I would also imagine during the busier season River Street would have been quite a bit louder than what I experienced so I would definately recommend earplugs if you're a light sleeper. Also the lights on River Street are right outside the windows which could be a bit annoying as well. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, and a knock on the door in the evening with chocolates for turndown service was a nice as well. I arrived about 2 hours before check-in and was promptly checked-in and shown my room. I would definately stay there again as the location and charm heavily outweighed any annoying the floorboards caused.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The in room magazines that were left gave the best recommendations for food. I ate at a couple different places featured in them and they were excellent...Goosefeathers Express Cafe is within walking distance and was a quick and delicious all day breakfast spot.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Morganton, NC
Apr 10, 2010

A great place to stay

The hotel is perfectly situated to enjoy the historic district of Savannah. The staff was courteous and went out of their way to be helpful. We loved how they tastefully decorated the old cotton warehouse into a unique, beautiful hotel. For our first trip to Savannah, this was the perfect spot to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For an outstanding flounder dish, try Girabaldi's on West Congress Street. And the bartender is a joy too.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
toccoa
Jul 26, 2011

Unbelievable location for the price

It was a great remodeled old hotel the experience was wonderful the staff was magnificent we really enjoyed the stay and would certainly stay there again would even recommend to friends hotel was clean rooms was very clean parking was great and the rate was good FM means

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Use restaurants that are in walking distance

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beginner traveler
Business
Macon, GA
Aug 4, 2009

Excellent hotel for your money.

Finding the hotel can be a challenge if you're not from the Savannah area. The hotel's mailing address is on River Street, but you check in on Bay Street. There's not a big sign so it's easy to miss. Even if you have a GPS, I would recommend calling the hotel to get directions on where you need to go to check in. Now for the hotel review. The check-in process went very smoothly. The bellboys took my luggage to my room. The attendant gave me my room keys and my parking garage pass. I was told their parking was across the street in a garage that isn't owned by them. It's an extra $8 per day for parking. When I walked back to the hotel, the bellboy led me to my room. The room is very nice. It has the quality of many of the more expensive hotels. They have the basic hotel accommodations, and they give you a bottle of water each night. The bed was very comfortable. The service was excellent, and there is someone who comes later to verify the quality of service. Also, each evening, someone comes by your room to give you free sweets. The hotel is located in historic downtown Savannah, so most of the major accommodations are within walking distance. Also, the various trolleys stop by River Street Inn regularly, so you can tour downtown. If you want to go to the beach, you'll have to drive about 15 minutes to Tybee Island, which is very nice and expensive. Check out went very smoothly as well. I would definitely consider staying here again if I come back to Savannah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Jun 28, 2011

River Front

Old Hotel in great condition. Fireplace in room gives an old Savannah feel. Very spacious room and bathroom. Clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auburn, Al
Apr 16, 2010

fantastic locale and atmosphere

My wife and I rate this as our best vacation ever! We were only there for 3 nights which was adequate because we parked in the parking deck and never used our car until departure. We walked all over and also rented bikes one day from a shop on Brougthon St. We visited the Juliet Gordon Low house and the Isiah Davenport house, the St. John catedural Forsyth Park and all the squares went on a Ghost tour, shopped along River St. drank a beer at the 1790 Inn enjoyed a concert at the civic center and hit the Oyster Bar below River Street Inn for happy hour!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is PLENTY to see in the Historic District keep your car parked and walk or rent bikes

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TootsAndBob
Business
Montgomery, AL
Aug 25, 2010

Perfect Location

If staying in Savannah and you want to be in the middle of it all, this is the location. This is one of the few hotels that have an elevator that will take you from the "city" floor down to River street. The room we stayed in had a great view of the river and like I said before, easy access to where ever you wanted to go. The Savannah Trolley is a short walk down the road, restruants, shops, and much more just all right there. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful also. The only reason I did not give it five stars is if you like to go to bed early, you might have trouble if you don't leave the TV on or something because the outside noise is heard. But since we enjoyed staying out a little late (11:00 pmish) this was not a problem for us at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are visiting Savannah for the first time I HIGHLY recommend taking one of the Trolley tours. You will have all day on/off access to the city at designated trolley stops. And it gives you a lot of interesting information about the city.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GaCouple
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 13, 2009

Good value

The colonial charm of Savannah was evident at this hotel. The location was perfect for shopping, walking, and enjoying the harbor area. Art galleries, historic sites, and wonderful food were a leisurely stroll away, heading towards the historic district. We spent a day at Tybee Island (15 minutes away) kayaking, walking on the beach, shopping in the quaint boutiques. Wonderful place for couples to relax and rejuvenate, while having a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Soho Cafe is a wonderful lunch followed by the Old Pink House for a romantic dinner.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flemington, NJ
Jul 13, 2010

Savannah Charm

Charming and very quiet, not the commercialized hotel look. Added bonus was complimentary wine when we arrived. Breakfast in the hotel was amazing! Parking is off-site for $10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring home candy from Savannah Candy Store in cute little containers that you fill to the brim. My kids loved them!

Back to menu Return to top