River Street Inn

3 stars
124 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
204 reviews
Loved It!!

My husband and I booked this inn to celebrate a few days for our 10 Year Wedding Anniversary. The... See full review

  • Happy Traveler2
  • Aug 14, 2014
Great stay.

Perfectly located hotel with a room overlooking the Savannah River with its huge container ships... See full review

  • Dizzywhirl
  • Jul 20, 2014
Riverfront hotel in Savannah’s historic district

Originally a storehouse for cotton during the 1800s--when Savannah's waterfront boasted a bustling cotton exchange--River Street Inn sits on a bluff overlooking the Savannah River. The inn comprises five floors wrapped around a central atrium. Throughout the property, antique furniture and period décor create an old-world ambiance with modern conveniences. The inn's central location at the north end of Savannah's historic district puts guests within easy walking distance to the bars and restaurants of River and Broughton Streets.

Highlights
  • Great location overlooking River Street and the Savannah River
  • Trolley tours of Savannah's historic district stop outside the hotel
  • Walking distance to many downtown bars, restaurants and attractions
Rooms

Southern ambiance permeates the inn's décor with antique and antebellum-style furnishings. Each room has its own personality, from hardwood floors and four-poster beds to plush carpeting and wrought-iron headboards. All 86 rooms overlook the Savannah River or downtown Savannah. Watch large ocean freighters ply the busy port river from French-style balconies found in some rooms.

Features

Built in 1817 out of ballast stones left by visiting ships, the first two floors of the inn make up a section of Factor's Walk--a network of narrow streets, alleys and bridges that supported one of the South's busiest cotton ports. Numerous restaurants, bars, shops and tour options surround the hotel. Visit Huey's Southern Café for low country favorites like shrimp, oysters and fried green tomatoes. Guests can buy tickets for trolley tours of the city or river cruises from the front desk. A complimentary evening guest reception with wine and hors d'oeuvres is held Monday to Saturday. A fitness center with professional-grade cardio equipment is located onsite.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • River Street
  • Owens-Thomas House
  • Forsyth Park
  • City Market
  • Factor's Walk

River Street Inn Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Rooms overlook Savannah's popular Historic District, with spacious, tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings, including a seating area with wing-back chairs and ottom, flat-screen tv and all the modern conveniences.
STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Rooms overlook the Savannah River, with spacious, tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings, including a seating area with wing-back chairs and ottoman, flat-screen tv and all the modern conveniences.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Street Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.0804 -81.0895
Area served
Savannah
Nearby airports
The Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport is located 18 minutes away.
Area description
River Street Inn is located at the origin of Savannah's National Historic Landmark District and set proudly in the center of Savannah's Historic River Walk. Interstate 95, Interstate 16, and Hwy 80 link the city.

Dining

Huey's New Orleans Style Cafe
Offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner and is located on the first floor.
Tubby's Seafood, Salads & Sandwiches
A unique, casual atmosphere with hardwood floors and a covered, open-air balcony overlooking Savannah's famous River Street.
Bernie's BBQ & Seafood
Offers lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (204)

Ratings and reviews for River Street Inn

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 204
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dizzywhirl
Clermont, Florida
Nov 19, 2013

Great stay at River Street Inn.

A wonderful hotel with great service and accommodations and a wonderful view out of the river view rooms. Great breakfasts on the first level restaurant Huey's in New Orleans style. Only problem: I didn't get my 5 a.m. wakeup call and almost missed my train back from Savannah to Florida.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huey's in the same building. Wonderful breakfast menu. Try the seafood omelet. Also, Shrimp Factory, down River Street, has great seafood.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soon to be Mrs. E
Wantagh, New York
Feb 26, 2013

Lovely relocating trip

I did not feel that the bed was 100% comfortable. My overall experience was amazing. View, location and amenities were amazing and the staff was wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Moon River Brewery

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dizzywhirl
Clermont, Florida
Jul 20, 2014

Great stay.

Perfectly located hotel with a room overlooking the Savannah River with its huge container ships passing by. Great hotel in an historic building and with a great restaurant, Huey's, on the bottom floor. Wonderful service. Set on the Savannah riverfront, just another treat for the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Huey's.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jonesboro, GA
Aug 31, 2010

Great 5 days

Absolutely wonderful. Close to really great restaurants, shopping and sight-seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved each and every meal.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beema
Laingsburg, MI
Oct 23, 2012

Amazing balcony with river view

We loved the wine on the porch everyday at 5:00, the coffee in the lobby, the shower, the king size bed, the ice machine and most of all...the location!!! We will stay there on our next visit to Savannah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bayou Cafe, affordable food & drinks, live music every night.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Nov 28, 2009

Great Romantic Getaway

Great location... great room... really enjoyed the wine and cheese receptions... parking was $8 per day, the garage just across the street... helpful, friendly staff... the chocolate "gophers" on the pillow each night were a nice treat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Savannah Wildlife Refuge just across the river is a great place for birders.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Captain K.
Nokomis, Fl.
Aug 19, 2011

Staying in the Heart of the Riverside

We felt part of the history while staying in the historic River Street Inn...what a unique place to stay...the real BONUS was looking out our window at truly amazing and HUGE ships, entering and leaving the port of Savannah...very exciting! Loved the daily wine and cheesea t5PM...learned from other guests about places to eat. Very cordial staff, with a good sense of humor. We thoroughly enjoyed this Hotel!!! We could walk to everything, except our trip to the amazing Bonaventure Cemetary on the outskirts of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

B. Mathews Restaurant for breakfast...less fancy entrees than Huey's which is on the ground floor of the River front, next to the Hotel. Just a few blocks away, B. Mathews had a more typical breakfast menu for us, and was excellent quality.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Retired Cop
North Carolina, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Savannah Trip

The hotel is in the perfect location to experience all that historic Savannah has to offer. Sitting on the river front and adjacent to many shops, Restaurantsand Pubs eliminated the need to drive. The Old Savannah 3 hour tour was very informative and a great way to see the areas you would like to further enjoy by walking. The most impressive thing to me is the the locals are genuinely friendly, you can feel there interest in making you feel comfortable. THAT IS THEIR CULTURE, YOU CANNOT FAKE THAT...... i WILL RETURN SOON AS I CAN....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruth Crisp's Steakhouse is a fine dining establishment that is truely just that. Food and service is excellent..

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. louis, MO
Jun 25, 2009

rehabbed cotton warehouse

i love history; thus my trip to savannah. hotel was in historic district. i parked my car and could walk or take the tourist trolley everywhere. heat was oppressive so it was nice to have such a pleasant hotel conveniently located soas to take a break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Mrs. willke's boarding house. took the oh, savanna trolley there. no reservations. lunch. stood in line outside w/ everyone else. inside we sat at long tables, wonderful southern cooking passed. after dessert each person had to take his dishes back to the kitchen just as people had to when it was a boarding house. fantastic food and experience. cost: $16

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dizzywhirl
Clermont, Florida
Nov 19, 2013

great stay

Love River Street Inn. A wonderful hotel. Only negative: I never got a 5 a.m. wakeup call, almost making me miss my train from Savannah back to Florida.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huey's restaurant in the bottom floor of the hotel has great breakfasts. Try the seafood omelet with some hot sauce on the side.

Back to menu Return to top