Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 12, 2014

River Street Inn

3 stars
124 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
204 reviews
Loved It!!

My husband and I booked this inn to celebrate a few days for our 10 Year Wedding Anniversary. The... See full review

  • Happy Traveler2
  • Aug 14, 2014
Great stay.

Perfectly located hotel with a room overlooking the Savannah River with its huge container ships... See full review

  • Dizzywhirl
  • Jul 20, 2014
Riverfront hotel in Savannah’s historic district

Originally a storehouse for cotton during the 1800s--when Savannah's waterfront boasted a bustling cotton exchange--River Street Inn sits on a bluff overlooking the Savannah River. The inn comprises five floors wrapped around a central atrium. Throughout the property, antique furniture and period décor create an old-world ambiance with modern conveniences. The inn's central location at the north end of Savannah's historic district puts guests within easy walking distance to the bars and restaurants of River and Broughton Streets.

Highlights
  • Great location overlooking River Street and the Savannah River
  • Trolley tours of Savannah's historic district stop outside the hotel
  • Walking distance to many downtown bars, restaurants and attractions
Rooms

Southern ambiance permeates the inn's décor with antique and antebellum-style furnishings. Each room has its own personality, from hardwood floors and four-poster beds to plush carpeting and wrought-iron headboards. All 86 rooms overlook the Savannah River or downtown Savannah. Watch large ocean freighters ply the busy port river from French-style balconies found in some rooms.

Features

Built in 1817 out of ballast stones left by visiting ships, the first two floors of the inn make up a section of Factor's Walk--a network of narrow streets, alleys and bridges that supported one of the South's busiest cotton ports. Numerous restaurants, bars, shops and tour options surround the hotel. Visit Huey's Southern Café for low country favorites like shrimp, oysters and fried green tomatoes. Guests can buy tickets for trolley tours of the city or river cruises from the front desk. A complimentary evening guest reception with wine and hors d'oeuvres is held Monday to Saturday. A fitness center with professional-grade cardio equipment is located onsite.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • River Street
  • Owens-Thomas House
  • Forsyth Park
  • City Market
  • Factor's Walk

River Street Inn Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Rooms overlook Savannah's popular Historic District, with spacious, tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings, including a seating area with wing-back chairs and ottom, flat-screen tv and all the modern conveniences.
STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Rooms overlook the Savannah River, with spacious, tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings, including a seating area with wing-back chairs and ottoman, flat-screen tv and all the modern conveniences.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Street Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.0804 -81.0895
Area served
Savannah
Nearby airports
The Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport is located 18 minutes away.
Area description
River Street Inn is located at the origin of Savannah's National Historic Landmark District and set proudly in the center of Savannah's Historic River Walk. Interstate 95, Interstate 16, and Hwy 80 link the city.

Dining

Huey's New Orleans Style Cafe
Offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner and is located on the first floor.
Tubby's Seafood, Salads & Sandwiches
A unique, casual atmosphere with hardwood floors and a covered, open-air balcony overlooking Savannah's famous River Street.
Bernie's BBQ & Seafood
Offers lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (204)

Ratings and reviews for River Street Inn

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 204
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beema
Laingsburg, MI
Oct 23, 2012

Amazing balcony with river view

We loved the wine on the porch everyday at 5:00, the coffee in the lobby, the shower, the king size bed, the ice machine and most of all...the location!!! We will stay there on our next visit to Savannah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bayou Cafe, affordable food & drinks, live music every night.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Keeto
Pittsburgh, PA
Dec 10, 2012

Great hotel

Very nice rooms, the beds were comfy. The view on either side was great and the hotel's location was perfect to get to River Street or the historic district. Very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soon to be Mrs. E
Wantagh, New York
Feb 26, 2013

Lovely relocating trip

I did not feel that the bed was 100% comfortable. My overall experience was amazing. View, location and amenities were amazing and the staff was wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Moon River Brewery

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
drsnobiz
Houston, TX
Jul 4, 2013

Downtown Savannah

We could not have been more pleased with this place. The location was incredible and within walking distance just about any of the downtown sights in Savannah. There's a decent restaurant in the bottom that we tried as well. Interior decor was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dizzywhirl
Clermont, Florida
Nov 19, 2013

great stay

Love River Street Inn. A wonderful hotel. Only negative: I never got a 5 a.m. wakeup call, almost making me miss my train from Savannah back to Florida.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huey's restaurant in the bottom floor of the hotel has great breakfasts. Try the seafood omelet with some hot sauce on the side.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dizzywhirl
Clermont, Florida
Nov 19, 2013

Great stay at River Street Inn.

A wonderful hotel with great service and accommodations and a wonderful view out of the river view rooms. Great breakfasts on the first level restaurant Huey's in New Orleans style. Only problem: I didn't get my 5 a.m. wakeup call and almost missed my train back from Savannah to Florida.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huey's in the same building. Wonderful breakfast menu. Try the seafood omelet. Also, Shrimp Factory, down River Street, has great seafood.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC/MA
Mar 20, 2010

beautiful hotel; rooms lovely;

The hotel is charming and we loved the room and river views. The sign in front of the inn is almost impossible to see from the street especially when you're arriving in the dark. We drove up and down Bay Street even after we called the inn and were given directions that they were across from the Holiday Inn. We still missed the turn as you think you are driving underneath the road.I was told by the porter from the River St Inn, who came out of the inn and met us on the street, that everyone calls and has a problem locating them so. How silly. Do something about it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I wasn't crazy about the choice of restaurants around the hotel. The sports bar kind of places were loud and the lyrics of the music payed by the band at Tubbies was crass and vulgar. It seemed like every young person in the River District around the hotel was drunk. Not terrible appealing for an older sophisticated couple from Manhattan.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David at Pitt
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 17, 2010

What a gem of a place!!

Wow, what a GREAT place this is! We had low expectations, as we just needed a place to check into after a late flight and to spend just the morning hours in Savannah before heading to Hilton Head the next afternoon. Wow, were we pleasantly surprised by this gem of a place. It is the old Cotton Exchange that was converted into a boutique-like hotel. Very historic, and very beautifully appointed rooms. The hotel is very safe and secure, perfectly situated to access either the Squares of Savannah or the River Street shops and restaurants/pubs. We loved it. Absolutely perfect, and we can't wait to go back. We won't stay anywhere else in Savannah again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lunch at Mrs. Wilkes' House is everything they say it is! It is a MUST, but get there early. We arrived on a Wednesday at 11:20am and still had a ~45 min wait, but it was worth that and more!

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sandersville Georgia
Jul 30, 2010

Beautiful inn with pefect location

We take girl trips to Savannah every two - three months. We have always stayed on Bay Street or at a bed and breakfast. However, when we saw the great rate at River Street Inn, we decided to try it. We have all decided that it is our new favorite place to stay. Everything was perfect. We shopped, ate, listened to live music and had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rossgus
Washington D.C.
Jun 2, 2010

The best deal Ever!!

I've stayed at hundreds of hotels and this one is likely to be the best deal I have ever encountered when booking a hotel room. The room was gorgeous, spotless, and most accomodating. My wife's first question was, "How much did you pay for this?" as it appeared to be a five star hotel, with rooms in the $100's. The most comfortable night's sleep I have had in hotel, with a room truly representative of Savannah. It also offered a great view and the best possible location in all the city. We only stopped in Savannah because we were on our way down to Florida and have now decided that this is our go-to hotel for anytime we are in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top