Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

River Street Inn

3 stars
124 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
195 reviews
River Street Inn

Wonderful Hotel with the Perfect Location in Savannah. One Caveat, it is difficult to find in the... See full review

  • Rhapsody38
  • Apr 1, 2014
Long weekend

Location of the hotel was fantastic. Staff was extremely courteous and helpful. The complimentary... See full review

  • Cinimod's Dad
  • Feb 24, 2014
Riverfront hotel in Savannah’s historic district

Originally a storehouse for cotton during the 1800s--when Savannah's waterfront boasted a bustling cotton exchange--River Street Inn sits on a bluff overlooking the Savannah River. The inn comprises five floors wrapped around a central atrium. Throughout the property, antique furniture and period décor create an old-world ambiance with modern conveniences. The inn's central location at the north end of Savannah's historic district puts guests within easy walking distance to the bars and restaurants of River and Broughton Streets.

Highlights
  • Great location overlooking River Street and the Savannah River
  • Trolley tours of Savannah's historic district stop outside the hotel
  • Walking distance to many downtown bars, restaurants and attractions
Rooms

Southern ambiance permeates the inn's décor with antique and antebellum-style furnishings. Each room has its own personality, from hardwood floors and four-poster beds to plush carpeting and wrought-iron headboards. All 86 rooms overlook the Savannah River or downtown Savannah. Watch large ocean freighters ply the busy port river from French-style balconies found in some rooms.

Features

Built in 1817 out of ballast stones left by visiting ships, the first two floors of the inn make up a section of Factor's Walk--a network of narrow streets, alleys and bridges that supported one of the South's busiest cotton ports. Numerous restaurants, bars, shops and tour options surround the hotel. Visit Huey's Southern Café for low country favorites like shrimp, oysters and fried green tomatoes. Guests can buy tickets for trolley tours of the city or river cruises from the front desk. A complimentary evening guest reception with wine and hors d'oeuvres is held Monday to Saturday. A fitness center with professional-grade cardio equipment is located onsite.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • River Street
  • Owens-Thomas House
  • Forsyth Park
  • City Market
  • Factor's Walk

River Street Inn Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Rooms overlook Savannah's popular Historic District, with spacious, tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings, including a seating area with wing-back chairs and ottom, flat-screen tv and all the modern conveniences.
STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Rooms overlook the Savannah River, with spacious, tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings, including a seating area with wing-back chairs and ottoman, flat-screen tv and all the modern conveniences.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Street Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.0804 -81.0895
Area served
Savannah
Nearby airports
The Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport is located 18 minutes away.
Area description
River Street Inn is located at the origin of Savannah's National Historic Landmark District and set proudly in the center of Savannah's Historic River Walk. Interstate 95, Interstate 16, and Hwy 80 link the city.

Dining

Huey's New Orleans Style Cafe
Offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner and is located on the first floor.
Tubby's Seafood, Salads & Sandwiches
A unique, casual atmosphere with hardwood floors and a covered, open-air balcony overlooking Savannah's famous River Street.
Bernie's BBQ & Seafood
Offers lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (195)

Ratings and reviews for River Street Inn

Overall score

4.2 / 5
195 out of 195
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Atlanta, Ga
Dec 15, 2009

Great spot on the river

When we arrived they were having computer problems, however that did not slow anything down. They simpily put us in the best room available (an upgrade for us) and did not charge extra. The location was great, with easy access to plenty of resaraunts and the charm of the most friendly city we have been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Take a all day "on-off" trolley tour of Savannah. This will take you to all of the interesting spots and you can take your time, ride more than once, get off as often as you desire...

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Duluth Ga
Jun 14, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

we had a great time their was a river boat cruise with dinner that the kids enjoyed and the nice thing was it was right outside the hotel we plan to go back and bring our son next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Washington, MI
Apr 7, 2010

Great Location In Savannah

Everything was just great, especially the location. The address is a bit misleading as the Inn is very difficult to find on River St. The entrance is on Bay St. so a Bay St. address would seem more appropriate and make the Inn easier to locate for a first time visitor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
Toby's Mom
Virginia
Feb 12, 2010

Amazing hotel with river views

This was a special trip for our joint 30th birthdays and we wanted some place warm and romantic. This hotel provided the perfect backdrop for a wonderful long weekend getaway. We had a great view of the river; the room was gorgeous and extremely comfortable. The real joy of this room was the special touches-a complimentary bottle of water, a large umbrella to use while we were staying (which came in handy the first day we were there), nightly local pralines on our pillows, and the most gorgeous and very high quality bathrobes to use. I've never felt the need to contemplate actually buying the robe at the hotel though I did think about these bathrobes. All of the amenities combined with the historic nature of this hotel make this a must-stay place while planning your trip to historic Savannah. Plus the location means you can walk to nearly all of the historic sites on your trip. We certainly plan on staying here again next time we're in Savannah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
Captain K.
Nokomis, Fl.
Aug 19, 2011

Staying in the Heart of the Riverside

We felt part of the history while staying in the historic River Street Inn...what a unique place to stay...the real BONUS was looking out our window at truly amazing and HUGE ships, entering and leaving the port of Savannah...very exciting! Loved the daily wine and cheesea t5PM...learned from other guests about places to eat. Very cordial staff, with a good sense of humor. We thoroughly enjoyed this Hotel!!! We could walk to everything, except our trip to the amazing Bonaventure Cemetary on the outskirts of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

B. Mathews Restaurant for breakfast...less fancy entrees than Huey's which is on the ground floor of the River front, next to the Hotel. Just a few blocks away, B. Mathews had a more typical breakfast menu for us, and was excellent quality.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
Retired Cop
North Carolina, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Savannah Trip

The hotel is in the perfect location to experience all that historic Savannah has to offer. Sitting on the river front and adjacent to many shops, Restaurantsand Pubs eliminated the need to drive. The Old Savannah 3 hour tour was very informative and a great way to see the areas you would like to further enjoy by walking. The most impressive thing to me is the the locals are genuinely friendly, you can feel there interest in making you feel comfortable. THAT IS THEIR CULTURE, YOU CANNOT FAKE THAT...... i WILL RETURN SOON AS I CAN....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruth Crisp's Steakhouse is a fine dining establishment that is truely just that. Food and service is excellent..

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
Dizzywhirl
Clermont, Florida
Nov 19, 2013

great stay

Love River Street Inn. A wonderful hotel. Only negative: I never got a 5 a.m. wakeup call, almost making me miss my train from Savannah back to Florida.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huey's restaurant in the bottom floor of the hotel has great breakfasts. Try the seafood omelet with some hot sauce on the side.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Glen Allen, VA
Feb 1, 2011

Location and charm.

As frequent guests, we found our most recent stay highly enjoyable. The location, with the private elevator to River Street, is just perfect. We can enjoy the Riverfront shops and restaurants as well as the historic district. The happy hours at the Inn are fabulous and the period appointed rooms are so typically Savannah. This is a must stay place for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't be afraid to go off of the "beaten path" in Savannah. Some of the best and unique treasures are not "touristy." Go to Johnny Harris on Victory Drive or have lunch at Desposito's in Thunderbolt. Savannah is a treasure - don't miss walking the historic squares!

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 27, 2010

Fantastic!

The hotel is stunningly beautiful and in a great location for touring. I was in town for a conference, but did get to do some sight-seeing. Everyone was so kind and helpful. There is also a free afternoon cocktail with wine and appetizers. In the morning there is a free newspaper and in the evening someone comes in to turn a light on for you and turn down the bed. Really charming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend taking a walking tour with Savannah Dan.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
Matsufield
Seattle, wa
Jan 2, 2014

Great stay in a great location

We were steps away from the waterfront and were able to walk to all the historic sights. The fitness room was clean and the hotel provided a cocktail hour wih crackers, cheese and wine. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Local 11 ten had great cocktails!

Back to menu Return to top