Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 12, 2014

River Street Inn

3 stars
124 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
204 reviews
Loved It!!

My husband and I booked this inn to celebrate a few days for our 10 Year Wedding Anniversary. The... See full review

  • Happy Traveler2
  • Aug 14, 2014
Great stay.

Perfectly located hotel with a room overlooking the Savannah River with its huge container ships... See full review

  • Dizzywhirl
  • Jul 20, 2014
Riverfront hotel in Savannah’s historic district

Originally a storehouse for cotton during the 1800s--when Savannah's waterfront boasted a bustling cotton exchange--River Street Inn sits on a bluff overlooking the Savannah River. The inn comprises five floors wrapped around a central atrium. Throughout the property, antique furniture and period décor create an old-world ambiance with modern conveniences. The inn's central location at the north end of Savannah's historic district puts guests within easy walking distance to the bars and restaurants of River and Broughton Streets.

Highlights
  • Great location overlooking River Street and the Savannah River
  • Trolley tours of Savannah's historic district stop outside the hotel
  • Walking distance to many downtown bars, restaurants and attractions
Rooms

Southern ambiance permeates the inn's décor with antique and antebellum-style furnishings. Each room has its own personality, from hardwood floors and four-poster beds to plush carpeting and wrought-iron headboards. All 86 rooms overlook the Savannah River or downtown Savannah. Watch large ocean freighters ply the busy port river from French-style balconies found in some rooms.

Features

Built in 1817 out of ballast stones left by visiting ships, the first two floors of the inn make up a section of Factor's Walk--a network of narrow streets, alleys and bridges that supported one of the South's busiest cotton ports. Numerous restaurants, bars, shops and tour options surround the hotel. Visit Huey's Southern Café for low country favorites like shrimp, oysters and fried green tomatoes. Guests can buy tickets for trolley tours of the city or river cruises from the front desk. A complimentary evening guest reception with wine and hors d'oeuvres is held Monday to Saturday. A fitness center with professional-grade cardio equipment is located onsite.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • River Street
  • Owens-Thomas House
  • Forsyth Park
  • City Market
  • Factor's Walk

River Street Inn Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Rooms overlook Savannah's popular Historic District, with spacious, tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings, including a seating area with wing-back chairs and ottom, flat-screen tv and all the modern conveniences.
STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Rooms overlook the Savannah River, with spacious, tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings, including a seating area with wing-back chairs and ottoman, flat-screen tv and all the modern conveniences.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Street Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.0804 -81.0895
Area served
Savannah
Nearby airports
The Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport is located 18 minutes away.
Area description
River Street Inn is located at the origin of Savannah's National Historic Landmark District and set proudly in the center of Savannah's Historic River Walk. Interstate 95, Interstate 16, and Hwy 80 link the city.

Dining

Huey's New Orleans Style Cafe
Offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner and is located on the first floor.
Tubby's Seafood, Salads & Sandwiches
A unique, casual atmosphere with hardwood floors and a covered, open-air balcony overlooking Savannah's famous River Street.
Bernie's BBQ & Seafood
Offers lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (204)

Ratings and reviews for River Street Inn

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 204
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BJ Traveler
wisconsin
Apr 4, 2012

Great 5 days

Perfect location on river St.Staff was very nice and friendly.Turndown gal was great!So was the chocolate!The wine/appetizer gathering was nice. A little something with the coffe in the morning would have been nice. That is the only complaint I have. Our room facing the river was wonderful--always something to watch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
beenthere2
Business
North Carolina
Feb 24, 2014

Very Slow WIFI Unhelpful Staff

After checking in our upgraded fee room, we discovered the wifi connection speed to be very slow. We asked to change to a room with a better signal. They moved us to a smaller room that had an even slower speed Wifi. The bed was lumpy and the staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. The carpet was dirty in the room. I would not recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Louisville, Kentucky
Aug 22, 2009

beutiful hotel but....

Our stay started off with the reservations being screwed up, so they upgraded our room to a riverview room. It was very pretty, but when we woke up the next morning, there were ants swarming all over a pair of pants that I had left on one of the chairs. So they moved us again. Oh I forgot to mention the complimentary chocolates they left beside the bed while we went down stairs for our complimentary wine and food, plus the girl even stole 20 dollars out of my girlfriends purse. So after the ants they moved us again, into an even nicer room with a bigger balcony. This time there were no ants, only cockroaches, all over the bed and behind the bed. we were disgusted and got our money back and left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

savannah smiles dueling piano bar. we had so much fun!

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
George O
Kenosha, WI
Jun 22, 2009

Location and Staff is only postive

The River Street Inn has great location and friendly staff. That is it. The plumping must still be from the 1800's. The elevators break down (do not get a room on floors 2,3,5 if you can't walk stairs, you could be stuck there for a while). There was computer access but it broke. No parking, which we did know about. I've stayed at better Motel 6's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Boars Head was a short walk. Good fast service and friendly staff. Food was good, reasonably price and good wine list. There was also a good varity of beer if you want to stop in for an afternoon break.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marietta, Ga
Jul 6, 2009

Reservation problems at the hotel

The hotel was lovely....however the reservations never went through, and we were basically stranded in Savannah on a Friday evening with no place to stay. The discounted rate was great on line, but due to the hotel stating they never got the reservations, I had to spend over $140 more just to have some place to stay, comparable with the River Street Inn. I was disappointed, especially since I was unable to notify Orbitz until after I arrived home since there was no phone number on the confirmation sheet I printed, and I didn't have access to the internet. I was very disappointed that I should now have to call the hotels AFTER making on-line reservations to ensure I am actually the reservations I paid for (since it came on my credit card bill even before I made the trip!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ETTB
Fort Rucker, AL, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Location Trade Off

Location was excellent. Right on the Savannah River walk with a perfect view. Adjacent to restaurants and shopping in tourist area. Short walk to all attractions. No hair dryer or iron/ironing board. Had to check out at main desk. Ice machines did not always work. Bed was extremely uncomfortable and pillows were worn out. Maids were loud in the hallways in the early mornings. No consideration for guests. Staff complained about management in public. Took 2 days to get a lightbulb replacement after asking 3 personnel. Parking was across the street in a public parking garage. Was not given a parking garage pass the 1st day. Would not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Can't beat Elizabeth's on 37th Street. Pricey but excellent service and food. Great place for that special occasion.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HR Teacher
Middle GA
Jul 17, 2012

Wife and I

The location on River Street is great. This hotel used to be one of my favorites but time has caught up with her. The ac didn't work well. At night the room would get cool then hot waking me up several times. The girls at the front desk seem more like McDonald workers and the old Savannnah charm has been replaced by someone just trying to save a dollar. When a company tries to staff a hotel with the lowest paid people they can find, it shows up in the level of serve. I would love to see this hotel go back to hiring southern people who know how to treat people with southern charm, fix their ac, and update a little. There is still a great hotel here to be saved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
southport,nc
Sep 20, 2009

River Street old friend

Stayed there many times. Great wine hour and location. Miss the shrimp and only complaint was sleeping. Small bed and never got extra pillows for three days. Still love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Almost everything is a short walk.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Drew E
Tampa, FL, USA
Feb 7, 2012

Great Location, but lacking in some areas.

Arrived for a late check in and was promptly given my room in which the key card did not work. Needless to say, we were reassigned to another room which ended up having 2 full size instead of 1 queen. My girlfriend didn't want me making a big deal out of it, so I stayed mum and dealt with it. I had what were probably the 2 worst nights sleep of my life. The headboards on the beds in my room had a horrible gap which made sleeping even more difficult. That being said, the location of the hotel was superb and the pink house and other popular destinations are less than a block or two away. If you do not eat at Huey's (just outside) then you are missing out! Staff was friendly and everything was fairly clean. This place has a very out of your face feeling to it (which is good). Noise was not an issue for me, despite complaints from some reviewers. Would I stay here again? Hard to say... For the price I feel I should have just listened to my girlfriend and just gotten a average hotel that was out of the way of everything. At the rate I paid I feel some emphasis should have been put on what I originally requested. I feel penalized for a bad battery in a locking mechanism. While the trip was still fairly amazing, I feel the initial room issues sorta of took away from how great it could have been.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at Huey's. Its pretty much in the hotel and has some of the most amazing food. TRY THE BEIGNETS!!!

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
canandaigua
canandaigua,ny
May 17, 2012

location,location,location!

This hotel was located in a wonderfully convenient and engaging area of savannah. We did lots of great sightseeing, with the River Street Inn as our home base,and it was perfect. Walking distance to great restaurants and right on the river front... the Inn itself was clean,but room was small,but worth the price we paid. Parking was easily arranged,which could be a problem in this city. We never used our car,once we got there! We had a great stay in Savannah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Pink House was a fabulous place for dinner.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary Ann
Georgia
Aug 7, 2012

Good location, nice historic hotel

The room was small; bed was uncomfortable, tub/shower did not drain well-not good water pressure; refrigerator in room and flat screen tv a plus; view of riverfront was spectacular

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

local seafood was good; we took a cab to Leoci's Italian for an anniversary dinner - do not recommend this restaurant to anyone. The food and service was terrible.

Back to menu Return to top