Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 12, 2014

River Street Inn

3 stars
124 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
204 reviews
Loved It!!

My husband and I booked this inn to celebrate a few days for our 10 Year Wedding Anniversary. The... See full review

  • Happy Traveler2
  • Aug 14, 2014
Great stay.

Perfectly located hotel with a room overlooking the Savannah River with its huge container ships... See full review

  • Dizzywhirl
  • Jul 20, 2014
Riverfront hotel in Savannah’s historic district

Originally a storehouse for cotton during the 1800s--when Savannah's waterfront boasted a bustling cotton exchange--River Street Inn sits on a bluff overlooking the Savannah River. The inn comprises five floors wrapped around a central atrium. Throughout the property, antique furniture and period décor create an old-world ambiance with modern conveniences. The inn's central location at the north end of Savannah's historic district puts guests within easy walking distance to the bars and restaurants of River and Broughton Streets.

Highlights
  • Great location overlooking River Street and the Savannah River
  • Trolley tours of Savannah's historic district stop outside the hotel
  • Walking distance to many downtown bars, restaurants and attractions
Rooms

Southern ambiance permeates the inn's décor with antique and antebellum-style furnishings. Each room has its own personality, from hardwood floors and four-poster beds to plush carpeting and wrought-iron headboards. All 86 rooms overlook the Savannah River or downtown Savannah. Watch large ocean freighters ply the busy port river from French-style balconies found in some rooms.

Features

Built in 1817 out of ballast stones left by visiting ships, the first two floors of the inn make up a section of Factor's Walk--a network of narrow streets, alleys and bridges that supported one of the South's busiest cotton ports. Numerous restaurants, bars, shops and tour options surround the hotel. Visit Huey's Southern Café for low country favorites like shrimp, oysters and fried green tomatoes. Guests can buy tickets for trolley tours of the city or river cruises from the front desk. A complimentary evening guest reception with wine and hors d'oeuvres is held Monday to Saturday. A fitness center with professional-grade cardio equipment is located onsite.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • River Street
  • Owens-Thomas House
  • Forsyth Park
  • City Market
  • Factor's Walk

River Street Inn Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Rooms overlook Savannah's popular Historic District, with spacious, tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings, including a seating area with wing-back chairs and ottom, flat-screen tv and all the modern conveniences.
STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Rooms overlook the Savannah River, with spacious, tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings, including a seating area with wing-back chairs and ottoman, flat-screen tv and all the modern conveniences.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Street Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.0804 -81.0895
Area served
Savannah
Nearby airports
The Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport is located 18 minutes away.
Area description
River Street Inn is located at the origin of Savannah's National Historic Landmark District and set proudly in the center of Savannah's Historic River Walk. Interstate 95, Interstate 16, and Hwy 80 link the city.

Dining

Huey's New Orleans Style Cafe
Offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner and is located on the first floor.
Tubby's Seafood, Salads & Sandwiches
A unique, casual atmosphere with hardwood floors and a covered, open-air balcony overlooking Savannah's famous River Street.
Bernie's BBQ & Seafood
Offers lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (204)

Ratings and reviews for River Street Inn

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 204
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dizzywhirl
Clermont, Florida
Nov 19, 2013

great stay

Love River Street Inn. A wonderful hotel. Only negative: I never got a 5 a.m. wakeup call, almost making me miss my train from Savannah back to Florida.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huey's restaurant in the bottom floor of the hotel has great breakfasts. Try the seafood omelet with some hot sauce on the side.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dizzywhirl
Clermont, Florida
Nov 19, 2013

Great stay at River Street Inn.

A wonderful hotel with great service and accommodations and a wonderful view out of the river view rooms. Great breakfasts on the first level restaurant Huey's in New Orleans style. Only problem: I didn't get my 5 a.m. wakeup call and almost missed my train back from Savannah to Florida.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huey's in the same building. Wonderful breakfast menu. Try the seafood omelet. Also, Shrimp Factory, down River Street, has great seafood.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. louis, MO
Jun 25, 2009

rehabbed cotton warehouse

i love history; thus my trip to savannah. hotel was in historic district. i parked my car and could walk or take the tourist trolley everywhere. heat was oppressive so it was nice to have such a pleasant hotel conveniently located soas to take a break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Mrs. willke's boarding house. took the oh, savanna trolley there. no reservations. lunch. stood in line outside w/ everyone else. inside we sat at long tables, wonderful southern cooking passed. after dessert each person had to take his dishes back to the kitchen just as people had to when it was a boarding house. fantastic food and experience. cost: $16

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FutureSCADStudent
Detroit, MI
Apr 20, 2010

Beautiful Hotel in a Beautiful City!!

I was going to Savannah to visit SCAD and was looking for a cheap hotel to stay for a few days. The Riverside Inn blew my expectations out of the water! My room was very luxurious and clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful and the location was stellar! At the very tip of the Historic District, I was able to walk everywhere I needed to while staying in Savannah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Oct 29, 2009

Spot On

My reason for traveling to Savannah was a friend's wedding. I could only stay one night and I wanted to have both a good location (near the actual wedding site, which was in one of the city's beautiful squares) and a hotel with a unique atmosphere. The River Street Inn was perfect in both regards. I would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend it for those wishing something with historical atmosphere (was a cotton warehouse), great location (on the river) and within walking distance to restaurants, shopping and beautiful historical Savannah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Reelphisher
Naples
Jul 12, 2009

Great stay at a historic inn

Awesome location - lots to do, very comfortable - highly recommended - hotel has alot of charm and is very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dizzywhirl
Clermont, Florida
Jul 20, 2014

Great stay.

Perfectly located hotel with a room overlooking the Savannah River with its huge container ships passing by. Great hotel in an historic building and with a great restaurant, Huey's, on the bottom floor. Wonderful service. Set on the Savannah riverfront, just another treat for the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Huey's.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Melbourne, FL
Feb 17, 2011

Location, Location, Location

The Inn itself was gorgeous; original hardwoods and exposed brick throughout the Inn and the rooms. I had a river view room that looked right over River Street which was a nice touch. Also leaving the Inn drops you off right into downtown, I didn't need my car the whole time I was there. The only thing that I didn't like so much was you could hear the hardwoods squeaking in the surrounding rooms. I would also imagine during the busier season River Street would have been quite a bit louder than what I experienced so I would definately recommend earplugs if you're a light sleeper. Also the lights on River Street are right outside the windows which could be a bit annoying as well. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, and a knock on the door in the evening with chocolates for turndown service was a nice as well. I arrived about 2 hours before check-in and was promptly checked-in and shown my room. I would definately stay there again as the location and charm heavily outweighed any annoying the floorboards caused.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The in room magazines that were left gave the best recommendations for food. I ate at a couple different places featured in them and they were excellent...Goosefeathers Express Cafe is within walking distance and was a quick and delicious all day breakfast spot.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beginner traveler
Macon, GA
Aug 4, 2009

Excellent hotel for your money.

Finding the hotel can be a challenge if you're not from the Savannah area. The hotel's mailing address is on River Street, but you check in on Bay Street. There's not a big sign so it's easy to miss. Even if you have a GPS, I would recommend calling the hotel to get directions on where you need to go to check in. Now for the hotel review. The check-in process went very smoothly. The bellboys took my luggage to my room. The attendant gave me my room keys and my parking garage pass. I was told their parking was across the street in a garage that isn't owned by them. It's an extra $8 per day for parking. When I walked back to the hotel, the bellboy led me to my room. The room is very nice. It has the quality of many of the more expensive hotels. They have the basic hotel accommodations, and they give you a bottle of water each night. The bed was very comfortable. The service was excellent, and there is someone who comes later to verify the quality of service. Also, each evening, someone comes by your room to give you free sweets. The hotel is located in historic downtown Savannah, so most of the major accommodations are within walking distance. Also, the various trolleys stop by River Street Inn regularly, so you can tour downtown. If you want to go to the beach, you'll have to drive about 15 minutes to Tybee Island, which is very nice and expensive. Check out went very smoothly as well. I would definitely consider staying here again if I come back to Savannah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Jul 6, 2009

Enjoyable 4th of July weekend

Friendly staff. Had a room loking over the river (no balcony) but great view. Great location right in the thick of river street activties.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the elevator down to River Street and everything you need from restaurants, bars, and shops are right there

Back to menu Return to top