River Street Inn

3 stars
124 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
204 reviews
Loved It!!

My husband and I booked this inn to celebrate a few days for our 10 Year Wedding Anniversary. The... See full review

  • Happy Traveler2
  • Aug 14, 2014
Great stay.

Perfectly located hotel with a room overlooking the Savannah River with its huge container ships... See full review

  • Dizzywhirl
  • Jul 20, 2014
Riverfront hotel in Savannah’s historic district

Originally a storehouse for cotton during the 1800s--when Savannah's waterfront boasted a bustling cotton exchange--River Street Inn sits on a bluff overlooking the Savannah River. The inn comprises five floors wrapped around a central atrium. Throughout the property, antique furniture and period décor create an old-world ambiance with modern conveniences. The inn's central location at the north end of Savannah's historic district puts guests within easy walking distance to the bars and restaurants of River and Broughton Streets.

Highlights
  • Great location overlooking River Street and the Savannah River
  • Trolley tours of Savannah's historic district stop outside the hotel
  • Walking distance to many downtown bars, restaurants and attractions
Rooms

Southern ambiance permeates the inn's décor with antique and antebellum-style furnishings. Each room has its own personality, from hardwood floors and four-poster beds to plush carpeting and wrought-iron headboards. All 86 rooms overlook the Savannah River or downtown Savannah. Watch large ocean freighters ply the busy port river from French-style balconies found in some rooms.

Features

Built in 1817 out of ballast stones left by visiting ships, the first two floors of the inn make up a section of Factor's Walk--a network of narrow streets, alleys and bridges that supported one of the South's busiest cotton ports. Numerous restaurants, bars, shops and tour options surround the hotel. Visit Huey's Southern Café for low country favorites like shrimp, oysters and fried green tomatoes. Guests can buy tickets for trolley tours of the city or river cruises from the front desk. A complimentary evening guest reception with wine and hors d'oeuvres is held Monday to Saturday. A fitness center with professional-grade cardio equipment is located onsite.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • River Street
  • Owens-Thomas House
  • Forsyth Park
  • City Market
  • Factor's Walk

River Street Inn Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Rooms overlook Savannah's popular Historic District, with spacious, tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings, including a seating area with wing-back chairs and ottom, flat-screen tv and all the modern conveniences.
STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Rooms overlook the Savannah River, with spacious, tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings, including a seating area with wing-back chairs and ottoman, flat-screen tv and all the modern conveniences.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Street Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.0804 -81.0895
Area served
Savannah
Nearby airports
The Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport is located 18 minutes away.
Area description
River Street Inn is located at the origin of Savannah's National Historic Landmark District and set proudly in the center of Savannah's Historic River Walk. Interstate 95, Interstate 16, and Hwy 80 link the city.

Dining

Huey's New Orleans Style Cafe
Offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner and is located on the first floor.
Tubby's Seafood, Salads & Sandwiches
A unique, casual atmosphere with hardwood floors and a covered, open-air balcony overlooking Savannah's famous River Street.
Bernie's BBQ & Seafood
Offers lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (204)

Ratings and reviews for River Street Inn

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 204
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BJ Traveler
wisconsin
Apr 4, 2012

Great 5 days

Perfect location on river St.Staff was very nice and friendly.Turndown gal was great!So was the chocolate!The wine/appetizer gathering was nice. A little something with the coffe in the morning would have been nice. That is the only complaint I have. Our room facing the river was wonderful--always something to watch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Melbourne, FL
Feb 17, 2011

Location, Location, Location

The Inn itself was gorgeous; original hardwoods and exposed brick throughout the Inn and the rooms. I had a river view room that looked right over River Street which was a nice touch. Also leaving the Inn drops you off right into downtown, I didn't need my car the whole time I was there. The only thing that I didn't like so much was you could hear the hardwoods squeaking in the surrounding rooms. I would also imagine during the busier season River Street would have been quite a bit louder than what I experienced so I would definately recommend earplugs if you're a light sleeper. Also the lights on River Street are right outside the windows which could be a bit annoying as well. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, and a knock on the door in the evening with chocolates for turndown service was a nice as well. I arrived about 2 hours before check-in and was promptly checked-in and shown my room. I would definately stay there again as the location and charm heavily outweighed any annoying the floorboards caused.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The in room magazines that were left gave the best recommendations for food. I ate at a couple different places featured in them and they were excellent...Goosefeathers Express Cafe is within walking distance and was a quick and delicious all day breakfast spot.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Glen Allen, VA
Feb 1, 2011

Location and charm.

As frequent guests, we found our most recent stay highly enjoyable. The location, with the private elevator to River Street, is just perfect. We can enjoy the Riverfront shops and restaurants as well as the historic district. The happy hours at the Inn are fabulous and the period appointed rooms are so typically Savannah. This is a must stay place for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't be afraid to go off of the "beaten path" in Savannah. Some of the best and unique treasures are not "touristy." Go to Johnny Harris on Victory Drive or have lunch at Desposito's in Thunderbolt. Savannah is a treasure - don't miss walking the historic squares!

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
spontanious ken
salisbury, nc
Jan 30, 2011

perfect location!

perfect location with a great view. easy access to shops and dining. bed is alittle too hard for my taste but what hotel isn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

definitely sign up and get either a guided or trolley tour. its so informative and definitely worth the experience.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Torquay, Australia
Dec 18, 2010

River Street Inn

Great place to stay. Rooms large and comfortable with good views of the river. Good eating places nearby and easy walking to all the sights. Very obliging staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a city tour first then work out where you want to know.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Derby England
Oct 25, 2010

River Street

A superb historic hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Athens, GA
Sep 27, 2010

Stunning hotel

This hotel was everything the description promised, and more! Everything about it was beautiful - the traditional decor and original features were really stunning. The small details really made a difference and we were made to feel very special. The wine reception was a really nice touch, and the turndown service felt very luxurious and extravagant. I cannot find a single fault with this hotel, and know with absolute certainty that I will stay at this hotel for all future visits to Savannah. My only negative is that on this visit we only stayed one night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Title Slayer
Griffin, Ga
Sep 27, 2010

Fabulous River view

The very best was the rocking chairs on the porch overlooking the river and river street. The walk from the parking garage to the Inn is a little much, but the View was breath taking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FLOBRN
Business
Lakeland FL
Sep 12, 2010

I would not stay here again

I have been to Savannah one other time and stayed at Holiday Inn Express which is great. I thought River Street Inn would be similar and is in a historic building. Disappointments abound. You have to use your room key to access the elevator. I finally gave up and they gave me new room keys (cards) which worked fine, There is no in house wifi. Luckily I was able to connect to outside wifi off and on but do not plan on getting any serious work done with this connection. There is no provided breakfast - as I have meetings starting at 0730 this is a "deal breaker". No microwave in room. No fridge in room. If you want an iron or ironing board, you must call and request one from the front desk. If you are a tea drinker, bring your own. The coffee pot is in the top of the closet. The pillows are like little rocks. Bring your own. While the A/C gets the room COLD, the carpet always feels damp on your feet. Parking is extremely limited. Contrary to the hotel website that states _"upon checkin you will be told where to park" there is no pull up to the door available. I ended up across the street at a municipal garage behind Holiday Inn Express. You have to drag your luggage down the hill and across the street, then up and over 2 sets of steps to get to the front door of the hotel. On the plus side - it is a great location. They do provide bathrobes which you will need to keep the A/C chill off you. The room is clean, small amount of mold in the bathroom on wall and bathtub but it IS the south. I am here for 4 nights and am off to buy a pillow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Outback Steak house and Tony Roma's are across the street so you needn't always go to the tourist eateries on River Street.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jonesboro, GA
Aug 31, 2010

Great 5 days

Absolutely wonderful. Close to really great restaurants, shopping and sight-seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved each and every meal.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
woodstoock ga
Aug 30, 2010

Great place and location

Great place to stay. Very clean and close to everything. It was so cool to watch the ships float by the hotel...Loved it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top