Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

River Street Inn

3 stars
124 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
332 reviews
Great stay.

Perfectly located hotel with a room overlooking the Savannah River with its huge container ships... See full review

  • Dizzywhirl
  • Jul 20, 2014
birthday vacation

loved this place!! location is perfect right on the river and in the middle of everything you could... See full review

  • super fiance
  • Jun 23, 2014
Riverfront hotel in Savannah’s historic district

Originally a storehouse for cotton during the 1800s--when Savannah's waterfront boasted a bustling cotton exchange--River Street Inn sits on a bluff overlooking the Savannah River. The inn comprises five floors wrapped around a central atrium. Throughout the property, antique furniture and period décor create an old-world ambiance with modern conveniences. The inn's central location at the north end of Savannah's historic district puts guests within easy walking distance to the bars and restaurants of River and Broughton Streets.

Highlights
  • Great location overlooking River Street and the Savannah River
  • Trolley tours of Savannah's historic district stop outside the hotel
  • Walking distance to many downtown bars, restaurants and attractions
Rooms

Southern ambiance permeates the inn's décor with antique and antebellum-style furnishings. Each room has its own personality, from hardwood floors and four-poster beds to plush carpeting and wrought-iron headboards. All 86 rooms overlook the Savannah River or downtown Savannah. Watch large ocean freighters ply the busy port river from French-style balconies found in some rooms.

Features

Built in 1817 out of ballast stones left by visiting ships, the first two floors of the inn make up a section of Factor's Walk--a network of narrow streets, alleys and bridges that supported one of the South's busiest cotton ports. Numerous restaurants, bars, shops and tour options surround the hotel. Visit Huey's Southern Café for low country favorites like shrimp, oysters and fried green tomatoes. Guests can buy tickets for trolley tours of the city or river cruises from the front desk. A complimentary evening guest reception with wine and hors d'oeuvres is held Monday to Saturday. A fitness center with professional-grade cardio equipment is located onsite.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • River Street
  • Owens-Thomas House
  • Forsyth Park
  • City Market
  • Factor's Walk

River Street Inn Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Rooms overlook Savannah's popular Historic District, with spacious, tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings, including a seating area with wing-back chairs and ottom, flat-screen tv and all the modern conveniences.
STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Rooms overlook the Savannah River, with spacious, tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings, including a seating area with wing-back chairs and ottoman, flat-screen tv and all the modern conveniences.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Street Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.0804 -81.0895
Area served
Savannah
Nearby airports
The Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport is located 18 minutes away.
Area description
River Street Inn is located at the origin of Savannah's National Historic Landmark District and set proudly in the center of Savannah's Historic River Walk. Interstate 95, Interstate 16, and Hwy 80 link the city.

Dining

Huey's New Orleans Style Cafe
Offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner and is located on the first floor.
Tubby's Seafood, Salads & Sandwiches
A unique, casual atmosphere with hardwood floors and a covered, open-air balcony overlooking Savannah's famous River Street.
Bernie's BBQ & Seafood
Offers lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (332)

Ratings and reviews for River Street Inn

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
332 out of 332
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BJ Traveler
wisconsin
Apr 4, 2012

Great 5 days

Perfect location on river St.Staff was very nice and friendly.Turndown gal was great!So was the chocolate!The wine/appetizer gathering was nice. A little something with the coffe in the morning would have been nice. That is the only complaint I have. Our room facing the river was wonderful--always something to watch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
smurrf
Cleveland, OH
Jun 2, 2011

River Street Inn

This was our second visit to Savannah and to the River Street Inn as well. The second visit was our best...room over looking the Savannah River and River Street. Accommodations were very nice and the wine tasting at 5pm was great...what's not to like about sipping wine on the porch in a rocking chair and watching the crowd go by or stay inside and mingle with the other guests. In either case we met several couples who will be friends going forward!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In either direction on River Street are great resturants; the Shrimp Factory to the east and the River House to the west! Both were great and food over the top!

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlottesville, VA
Apr 11, 2011

Great Location and Comfortable Stay

We booked a river view room months in advance, but upon checking in we were put in a city view room because of some water leak problems with some rooms. However, the next morning we were able to move to a river view room for the last two nights of our stay. The inn staff moved our stuff for us. From what I have experienced, both city and river view rooms were comfortable, but the river view with balcony was nice to be able to see the river, ships, and river street. Some reviews that I looked at prior to going mentioned noise, but we enjoyed hearing a little music and singing on river street that stopped at an early hour. We also stayed on the top floor away from pedestrian traffic on river street. The wine each afternoon was a nice touch, but we really missed having a complimentary breakfast. That was an added expense and inconvenience. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Parking is a little confusing and awkward, but that's a problem for Savannah in general. All in all it was a very nice stay once you get settled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlottesville, VA
Apr 11, 2011

Great Location and Comfortable Stay

We booked a river view room months in advance, but upon checking in we were put in a city view room because of some water leak problems with some rooms. However, the next morning we were able to move to a river view room for the last two nights of our stay. The inn staff moved our stuff for us. From what I have experienced, both city and river view rooms were comfortable, but the river view with balcony was nice to be able to see the river, ships, and river street. Some reviews that I looked at prior to going mentioned noise, but we enjoyed hearing a little music and singing on river street that stopped at an early hour. We also stayed on the top floor away from pedestrian traffic on river street. The wine each afternoon was a nice touch, but we really missed having a complimentary breakfast. That was an added expense and inconvenience. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Parking is a little confusing and awkward, but that's a problem for Savannah in general. All in all it was a very nice stay once you get settled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hoppper
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Apr 6, 2011

Wonderful!!!!

I was in town for a convention. The hotel was clean and very well run, the staff was very friendly and helpful. When I wasn't working I was sight seeing. The location of the hotel was great! I enjoyed watching the boats on the river from my balcony. The only thing I kinda missed was room service but I really didn't mind going to Tubby's next door, they had excellent food and was also very friendly. Plus you can enter Tubby's from inside the hotel which was convenient for me. Also what was nice was that this hotel had an entrance in the front and an entrance in the back from River Street. Please try this hotel, you will not regret it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

I enjoyed the ghost tours at night, they are all good. The guides are very informative and sometimes funny. The one tour that stands out for me was in the Sorrel-Weed House, this one is a must! I had personal experiences when I was in there, very creepy!

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hoppper
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Apr 6, 2011

Wonderful!!!!

I was in town for a convention. The hotel was clean and very well run, the staff was very friendly and helpful. When I wasn't working I was sight seeing. The location of the hotel was great! I enjoyed watching the boats on the river from my balcony. The only thing I kinda missed was room service but I really didn't mind going to Tubby's next door, they had excellent food and was also very friendly. Plus you can enter Tubby's from inside the hotel which was convenient for me. Also what was nice was that this hotel had an entrance in the front and an entrance in the back from River Street. Please try this hotel, you will not regret it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

I enjoyed the ghost tours at night, they are all good. The guides are very informative and sometimes funny. The one tour that stands out for me was in the Sorrel-Weed House, this one is a must! I had personal experiences when I was in there, very creepy!

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gin
PA
Apr 2, 2011

Trip to Savannah

This is difficult to rate. The hotel itself is a wonderful structure with perfect views of the river. If you like historic, this is it! The "only" problem was cleanliness and maintenance. After refusing the first room offered (due to lack of cleanliness) we were offered a second room, which was better. The room was clean upon first glance but the bathroom tub had quite a bit of hair in it. I rinsed it out and for the most part, the room was fine except that the sheet had a tear (which was replaced upon my request) and the pillow (which had onlly one small pillowcase covering it) was blood-stained. Fortunately, this wasn't noticed until the last day. The sheets were never changed and the bed had to be remade each night (nothing pulled tight). Lint and debirs were not vacuumed satisfactorily. The bathroom wall had a hole in it (where apparently there had once been a mirror) and the tub wall was also cracked. These are not "biggies" (except for the blood-stain), but they seem easily correctable and one wonders why not? We were in room 511.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huey's at street level is fantastic...especially for breakfast.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
loganville, ga
Feb 18, 2011

HAD A GREAT TIME

it is a beautiful old place, lots of charm. great location, beautiful view from our room, (river side) plenty of wonderful restaurants, and sports bars. you need to enjoying walking, (which we do) because once you park your vehicle, down and across the street in parking garage, you really have to walk evey where you go, of course there is a trolley, but we enjoyed walking, nice and flat, ghost tours are fun, river cruise, nice.. the only down side is the parking, $8.00 a day with card from hotel, $11.00 a day with out it. Some parts of the hotel were a bit dark and depressing, but for the most part a great place to stay. Wish there was a dinning area in the hotel itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huey's had great food the spinach and artichoke omlet with parm. & garlic grits was to die for. a little expensive, the cobblestone cafe had great breakfast. Bernies a nice little pup.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jax, FL
Feb 18, 2011

Amazing!!

We went for Velentines day and it was great. Only thing missing was a balcony and it would have been perfect. The room was beautiful and scored me major brownie points. It was private and we were not even bothered in the morning by the maid service. We went to dinner and came back to find the bed turned down and local candies on the pillows. If you are going to savannha for the first time this is the place to go! Right on the river and a good central location for everything in the area. Park your car and walk the town, we had the best time. Thank you, my last online hotel reservation was very poor to say the least, This was the polar opposite. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jax, FL
Feb 18, 2011

Amazing!!

We went for Velentines day and it was great. Only thing missing was a balcony and it would have been perfect. The room was beautiful and scored me major brownie points. It was private and we were not even bothered in the morning by the maid service. We went to dinner and came back to find the bed turned down and local candies on the pillows. If you are going to savannha for the first time this is the place to go! Right on the river and a good central location for everything in the area. Park your car and walk the town, we had the best time. Thank you, my last online hotel reservation was very poor to say the least, This was the polar opposite. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
loganville, ga
Feb 18, 2011

HAD A GREAT TIME

it is a beautiful old place, lots of charm. great location, beautiful view from our room, (river side) plenty of wonderful restaurants, and sports bars. you need to enjoying walking, (which we do) because once you park your vehicle, down and across the street in parking garage, you really have to walk evey where you go, of course there is a trolley, but we enjoyed walking, nice and flat, ghost tours are fun, river cruise, nice.. the only down side is the parking, $8.00 a day with card from hotel, $11.00 a day with out it. Some parts of the hotel were a bit dark and depressing, but for the most part a great place to stay. Wish there was a dinning area in the hotel itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huey's had great food the spinach and artichoke omlet with parm. & garlic grits was to die for. a little expensive, the cobblestone cafe had great breakfast. Bernies a nice little pup.

Back to menu Return to top