Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

River Street Inn

3 stars
124 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
332 reviews
Great stay.

Perfectly located hotel with a room overlooking the Savannah River with its huge container ships... See full review

  • Dizzywhirl
  • Jul 20, 2014
birthday vacation

loved this place!! location is perfect right on the river and in the middle of everything you could... See full review

  • super fiance
  • Jun 23, 2014
Riverfront hotel in Savannah’s historic district

Originally a storehouse for cotton during the 1800s--when Savannah's waterfront boasted a bustling cotton exchange--River Street Inn sits on a bluff overlooking the Savannah River. The inn comprises five floors wrapped around a central atrium. Throughout the property, antique furniture and period décor create an old-world ambiance with modern conveniences. The inn's central location at the north end of Savannah's historic district puts guests within easy walking distance to the bars and restaurants of River and Broughton Streets.

Highlights
  • Great location overlooking River Street and the Savannah River
  • Trolley tours of Savannah's historic district stop outside the hotel
  • Walking distance to many downtown bars, restaurants and attractions
Rooms

Southern ambiance permeates the inn's décor with antique and antebellum-style furnishings. Each room has its own personality, from hardwood floors and four-poster beds to plush carpeting and wrought-iron headboards. All 86 rooms overlook the Savannah River or downtown Savannah. Watch large ocean freighters ply the busy port river from French-style balconies found in some rooms.

Features

Built in 1817 out of ballast stones left by visiting ships, the first two floors of the inn make up a section of Factor's Walk--a network of narrow streets, alleys and bridges that supported one of the South's busiest cotton ports. Numerous restaurants, bars, shops and tour options surround the hotel. Visit Huey's Southern Café for low country favorites like shrimp, oysters and fried green tomatoes. Guests can buy tickets for trolley tours of the city or river cruises from the front desk. A complimentary evening guest reception with wine and hors d'oeuvres is held Monday to Saturday. A fitness center with professional-grade cardio equipment is located onsite.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • River Street
  • Owens-Thomas House
  • Forsyth Park
  • City Market
  • Factor's Walk

River Street Inn Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Rooms overlook Savannah's popular Historic District, with spacious, tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings, including a seating area with wing-back chairs and ottom, flat-screen tv and all the modern conveniences.
STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Rooms overlook the Savannah River, with spacious, tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings, including a seating area with wing-back chairs and ottoman, flat-screen tv and all the modern conveniences.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Street Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.0804 -81.0895
Area served
Savannah
Nearby airports
The Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport is located 18 minutes away.
Area description
River Street Inn is located at the origin of Savannah's National Historic Landmark District and set proudly in the center of Savannah's Historic River Walk. Interstate 95, Interstate 16, and Hwy 80 link the city.

Dining

Huey's New Orleans Style Cafe
Offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner and is located on the first floor.
Tubby's Seafood, Salads & Sandwiches
A unique, casual atmosphere with hardwood floors and a covered, open-air balcony overlooking Savannah's famous River Street.
Bernie's BBQ & Seafood
Offers lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (332)

Ratings and reviews for River Street Inn

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
332 out of 332
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
road tripsters
Cambridge Springs, PA 16403, USA
Apr 8, 2012

charming

This is a wonderfully historic hotel, warm and inviting. The location is perfect-right on the river. The wine and cheese reception nightly provided a nice way to meet and talk to other guests and made you feel welcome. The decor reflected the city's history and charm. Because of its history, it seemed like more than just a place to stay. We would stay there again, without question.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Huey's is a great place for breakfast

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Red1234
West Monroe, LA, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Great Savannah Stay

The River Street Inn is a wonderful place to stay! Very convenient to Savannah sites and what a view of the river! It was fun to watch the freighters and other boats glide right by our balcony. We particularly enjoyed being able to walk to all the sites/historical areas from this inn. The River Street Inn is very comfortable, clean, and charming!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Red1234
West Monroe, LA, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Great Savannah Stay

The River Street Inn is a wonderful place to stay! Very convenient to Savannah sites and what a view of the river! It was fun to watch the freighters and other boats glide right by our balcony. We particularly enjoyed being able to walk to all the sites/historical areas from this inn. The River Street Inn is very comfortable, clean, and charming!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brian S
Charlotte, NC, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Excellent place to enjoy Savannah...

First trip to Savannah and of course did not really know where I needed to stay to be able to take it all in...so I was nervous about the location of this hotel in relation to all of the activities of the city. As soon as we arrived I knew it was all good! This hotel is located directly on River Street which is where all the activities are. Out the front door is the historic district just across the street, out the back door is River Street. It could not have been better! The value of this room was phenomenal, especially when compared to others in the area. The room was clean and gave my wife and I the feel of the historic city immediately. The only thing missing from the room was a refrigerator, which I forgot about shortly since everything else was perfect! To sum it all up, this is a great place to stay. To be able to enjoy all of the city from a very centralized location was great and I have already recommended this place to all of my friends and family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If headed to Paula Deen's restaurant be sure and head over early (8-10 a.m.) on the day you want to eat there and get yourself a dinner reservation. I waited in a line for about 10 minutes and nabbed an 8 o'clock dinner reservation for 2. Came back at 7:45, waited about 10 minutes, and was seated!

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brian S
Charlotte, NC, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Excellent place to enjoy Savannah...

First trip to Savannah and of course did not really know where I needed to stay to be able to take it all in...so I was nervous about the location of this hotel in relation to all of the activities of the city. As soon as we arrived I knew it was all good! This hotel is located directly on River Street which is where all the activities are. Out the front door is the historic district just across the street, out the back door is River Street. It could not have been better! The value of this room was phenomenal, especially when compared to others in the area. The room was clean and gave my wife and I the feel of the historic city immediately. The only thing missing from the room was a refrigerator, which I forgot about shortly since everything else was perfect! To sum it all up, this is a great place to stay. To be able to enjoy all of the city from a very centralized location was great and I have already recommended this place to all of my friends and family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If headed to Paula Deen's restaurant be sure and head over early (8-10 a.m.) on the day you want to eat there and get yourself a dinner reservation. I waited in a line for about 10 minutes and nabbed an 8 o'clock dinner reservation for 2. Came back at 7:45, waited about 10 minutes, and was seated!

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Captain K.
Nokomis, Fl.
Aug 19, 2011

Staying in the Heart of the Riverside

We felt part of the history while staying in the historic River Street Inn...what a unique place to stay...the real BONUS was looking out our window at truly amazing and HUGE ships, entering and leaving the port of Savannah...very exciting! Loved the daily wine and cheesea t5PM...learned from other guests about places to eat. Very cordial staff, with a good sense of humor. We thoroughly enjoyed this Hotel!!! We could walk to everything, except our trip to the amazing Bonaventure Cemetary on the outskirts of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

B. Mathews Restaurant for breakfast...less fancy entrees than Huey's which is on the ground floor of the River front, next to the Hotel. Just a few blocks away, B. Mathews had a more typical breakfast menu for us, and was excellent quality.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hixson, TN
Aug 10, 2011

River street Inn

beautiful historic hotel right in the heart of river street. The rooms are beautiful, very clean and comfortable. glass elevator takes you to all levels of hotel or street level. There are two restaurants conviently located at the hotel with good food. The staff was very nice. They even informed us of activities and things to do and see. Parking is conviently located across the street in a parking garage. You don't need to drive anywhere. There are free trolleys, buses, ferries, and most things are in walking distance. The hotel also had a free happy hour daily from 4:30-6:30pm with free wine, champagne, and light ordourves. Great time!!!! The lounge has a bar where you can get $2 beers anytime. There are lots of tables with a patio with rocking chairs with great view of the river and street. There are also game rooms with pool, cards, tv...etc.... I would definately stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Shops, dining, and lots of bars conviently located to river street inn. You don't have to drive anywhere.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hixson, TN
Aug 10, 2011

River street Inn

beautiful historic hotel right in the heart of river street. The rooms are beautiful, very clean and comfortable. glass elevator takes you to all levels of hotel or street level. There are two restaurants conviently located at the hotel with good food. The staff was very nice. They even informed us of activities and things to do and see. Parking is conviently located across the street in a parking garage. You don't need to drive anywhere. There are free trolleys, buses, ferries, and most things are in walking distance. The hotel also had a free happy hour daily from 4:30-6:30pm with free wine, champagne, and light ordourves. Great time!!!! The lounge has a bar where you can get $2 beers anytime. There are lots of tables with a patio with rocking chairs with great view of the river and street. There are also game rooms with pool, cards, tv...etc.... I would definately stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Shops, dining, and lots of bars conviently located to river street inn. You don't have to drive anywhere.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacation star
Alma Arkansas
Aug 3, 2011

Great time on river street

Staff was great! We watched the ships pass by from our hotel window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacation star
Alma Arkansas
Aug 3, 2011

Great time on river street

Staff was great! We watched the ships pass by from our hotel window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
marietta ga
Jul 27, 2011

Always a Pleasure

Love the hotel and have stayed there before. Our room the first time was nicer and on the 5th floor. I would like that again the next time and am sure there will be a next time. Love Hueys restaurant and River street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

hueys

Back to menu Return to top