River Street Inn

3 stars
124 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
195 reviews
River Street Inn

Wonderful Hotel with the Perfect Location in Savannah. One Caveat, it is difficult to find in the... See full review

  • Rhapsody38
  • Apr 1, 2014
Long weekend

Location of the hotel was fantastic. Staff was extremely courteous and helpful. The complimentary... See full review

  • Cinimod's Dad
  • Feb 24, 2014
Riverfront hotel in Savannah’s historic district

Originally a storehouse for cotton during the 1800s--when Savannah's waterfront boasted a bustling cotton exchange--River Street Inn sits on a bluff overlooking the Savannah River. The inn comprises five floors wrapped around a central atrium. Throughout the property, antique furniture and period décor create an old-world ambiance with modern conveniences. The inn's central location at the north end of Savannah's historic district puts guests within easy walking distance to the bars and restaurants of River and Broughton Streets.

Highlights
  • Great location overlooking River Street and the Savannah River
  • Trolley tours of Savannah's historic district stop outside the hotel
  • Walking distance to many downtown bars, restaurants and attractions
Rooms

Southern ambiance permeates the inn's décor with antique and antebellum-style furnishings. Each room has its own personality, from hardwood floors and four-poster beds to plush carpeting and wrought-iron headboards. All 86 rooms overlook the Savannah River or downtown Savannah. Watch large ocean freighters ply the busy port river from French-style balconies found in some rooms.

Features

Built in 1817 out of ballast stones left by visiting ships, the first two floors of the inn make up a section of Factor's Walk--a network of narrow streets, alleys and bridges that supported one of the South's busiest cotton ports. Numerous restaurants, bars, shops and tour options surround the hotel. Visit Huey's Southern Café for low country favorites like shrimp, oysters and fried green tomatoes. Guests can buy tickets for trolley tours of the city or river cruises from the front desk. A complimentary evening guest reception with wine and hors d'oeuvres is held Monday to Saturday. A fitness center with professional-grade cardio equipment is located onsite.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • River Street
  • Owens-Thomas House
  • Forsyth Park
  • City Market
  • Factor's Walk

River Street Inn Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Rooms overlook Savannah's popular Historic District, with spacious, tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings, including a seating area with wing-back chairs and ottom, flat-screen tv and all the modern conveniences.
STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Rooms overlook the Savannah River, with spacious, tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings, including a seating area with wing-back chairs and ottoman, flat-screen tv and all the modern conveniences.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

32.0804 -81.0895
Area served
Savannah
Nearby airports
The Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport is located 18 minutes away.
Area description
River Street Inn is located at the origin of Savannah's National Historic Landmark District and set proudly in the center of Savannah's Historic River Walk. Interstate 95, Interstate 16, and Hwy 80 link the city.

Dining

Huey's New Orleans Style Cafe
Offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner and is located on the first floor.
Tubby's Seafood, Salads & Sandwiches
A unique, casual atmosphere with hardwood floors and a covered, open-air balcony overlooking Savannah's famous River Street.
Bernie's BBQ & Seafood
Offers lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (195)

Ratings and reviews for River Street Inn

Overall score

4.2 / 5
195 out of 195
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

3
Mary Ann
Georgia
Aug 7, 2012

Good location, nice historic hotel

The room was small; bed was uncomfortable, tub/shower did not drain well-not good water pressure; refrigerator in room and flat screen tv a plus; view of riverfront was spectacular

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

local seafood was good; we took a cab to Leoci's Italian for an anniversary dinner - do not recommend this restaurant to anyone. The food and service was terrible.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
Nitro Smasher
Tampa, Fl
Jul 22, 2012

Golf Week

This was the 2nd time we've stayed at River Street Inn. This experience was better than the 1st time. Room was larger and enjoyed our stay. We had one slight concern when we almost got stuck in elevator but it was resolved quickly. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

2
HR Teacher
Middle GA
Jul 17, 2012

Wife and I

The location on River Street is great. This hotel used to be one of my favorites but time has caught up with her. The ac didn't work well. At night the room would get cool then hot waking me up several times. The girls at the front desk seem more like McDonald workers and the old Savannnah charm has been replaced by someone just trying to save a dollar. When a company tries to staff a hotel with the lowest paid people they can find, it shows up in the level of serve. I would love to see this hotel go back to hiring southern people who know how to treat people with southern charm, fix their ac, and update a little. There is still a great hotel here to be saved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
Budby
Lamar,SC
Jul 2, 2012

River St

Beautiful old building,great staff and bar rec area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tubby's is great but call ahead

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
Get it to gatherer
Fishers, Indiana
Jun 18, 2012

Great overnight

After we located it, our stay was excellent and we will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
Love to Travel Retiree
Flowery Branch, GA
May 27, 2012

excellent location

Although the room was small, the view from the window was amazing. It was fun watching the huge cargo ships pass by. The exposed brick and hardwood floors were gorgeous. Most of the staff were welcoming; however, when we asked for restaurant recommendations, that particular staff member bordered on rude. We didn't mind parking across the street because parking is so limited in the city and we didn't need a car. Everything was within walking distance. We would definitely stay at the River Street Inn again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
Sandy Bainbridge
Frisco, Colorado
May 20, 2012

River Street Inn

We were pleasantly surprised with how nice this historical was. We expected a run down old building etc. We found a lovely old place with the best view in town and very friendly employees. The location was the best! Our only problem was a plumbing issue that took some time to correct early in the morning.. The maintance superintenet was efficient in knowing what to do and was in and out of our room in less than 30 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for happy hours.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

3
canandaigua
canandaigua,ny
May 17, 2012

location,location,location!

This hotel was located in a wonderfully convenient and engaging area of savannah. We did lots of great sightseeing, with the River Street Inn as our home base,and it was perfect. Walking distance to great restaurants and right on the river front... the Inn itself was clean,but room was small,but worth the price we paid. Parking was easily arranged,which could be a problem in this city. We never used our car,once we got there! We had a great stay in Savannah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Pink House was a fabulous place for dinner.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
Jim from the beach
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
May 14, 2012

Short Get Away

Was nice. Quite but close to all attractions. Nice view of river

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
Practicing for retirement
Dayton, OH
May 12, 2012

Awesome Location

Great experience at this hotel. Excellent riverfront location. Large room with river view. Don't miss the wine/cheese parties. Sit at the bar and meet Joey, a very entertaining and funny individual. Parking in a local garage is very convenient and reasonable. Great, accomodating staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lunch at Vic's on the River was outstanding

Back to menu Return to top