Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 3, 2014

River Street Inn

3 stars
124 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
204 reviews
Loved It!!

My husband and I booked this inn to celebrate a few days for our 10 Year Wedding Anniversary. The... See full review

  • Happy Traveler2
  • Aug 14, 2014
Great stay.

Perfectly located hotel with a room overlooking the Savannah River with its huge container ships... See full review

  • Dizzywhirl
  • Jul 20, 2014
Riverfront hotel in Savannah’s historic district

Originally a storehouse for cotton during the 1800s--when Savannah's waterfront boasted a bustling cotton exchange--River Street Inn sits on a bluff overlooking the Savannah River. The inn comprises five floors wrapped around a central atrium. Throughout the property, antique furniture and period décor create an old-world ambiance with modern conveniences. The inn's central location at the north end of Savannah's historic district puts guests within easy walking distance to the bars and restaurants of River and Broughton Streets.

Highlights
  • Great location overlooking River Street and the Savannah River
  • Trolley tours of Savannah's historic district stop outside the hotel
  • Walking distance to many downtown bars, restaurants and attractions
Rooms

Southern ambiance permeates the inn's décor with antique and antebellum-style furnishings. Each room has its own personality, from hardwood floors and four-poster beds to plush carpeting and wrought-iron headboards. All 86 rooms overlook the Savannah River or downtown Savannah. Watch large ocean freighters ply the busy port river from French-style balconies found in some rooms.

Features

Built in 1817 out of ballast stones left by visiting ships, the first two floors of the inn make up a section of Factor's Walk--a network of narrow streets, alleys and bridges that supported one of the South's busiest cotton ports. Numerous restaurants, bars, shops and tour options surround the hotel. Visit Huey's Southern Café for low country favorites like shrimp, oysters and fried green tomatoes. Guests can buy tickets for trolley tours of the city or river cruises from the front desk. A complimentary evening guest reception with wine and hors d'oeuvres is held Monday to Saturday. A fitness center with professional-grade cardio equipment is located onsite.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • River Street
  • Owens-Thomas House
  • Forsyth Park
  • City Market
  • Factor's Walk

River Street Inn Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Rooms overlook Savannah's popular Historic District, with spacious, tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings, including a seating area with wing-back chairs and ottom, flat-screen tv and all the modern conveniences.
STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Rooms overlook the Savannah River, with spacious, tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings, including a seating area with wing-back chairs and ottoman, flat-screen tv and all the modern conveniences.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Street Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.0804 -81.0895
Area served
Savannah
Nearby airports
The Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport is located 18 minutes away.
Area description
River Street Inn is located at the origin of Savannah's National Historic Landmark District and set proudly in the center of Savannah's Historic River Walk. Interstate 95, Interstate 16, and Hwy 80 link the city.

Dining

Huey's New Orleans Style Cafe
Offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner and is located on the first floor.
Tubby's Seafood, Salads & Sandwiches
A unique, casual atmosphere with hardwood floors and a covered, open-air balcony overlooking Savannah's famous River Street.
Bernie's BBQ & Seafood
Offers lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (204)

Ratings and reviews for River Street Inn

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 204
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
couple on break
Minnesota
Feb 23, 2013

President Day weekend getaway

Our room on the top floor with city view was clean, comfortable and quiet but lacked the more charming river view. Others on the lower floors complained that their rooms were noisy. Great location. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judy Bee
Beaufort, South Carolina
Feb 16, 2013

wonderful mini vacation

excellent location,walking along the river, hand in hand, very romantic. Bed and pillows could have been more comfortable but were acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Millie51
Alabama
Feb 10, 2013

Special Event

G R E A T location--staff very helpful--parking is a challenge--some noise problems--good food places close--

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Justin's dad
Business
Waycross
Jan 14, 2013

Good over night stay

Very clean old but well kept built pre civil war get a real feel for history

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Keeto
Pittsburgh, PA
Dec 10, 2012

Great hotel

Very nice rooms, the beds were comfy. The view on either side was great and the hotel's location was perfect to get to River Street or the historic district. Very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Redfish Mama
NC
Dec 7, 2012

Southern Delight

Very nice, great location! Was within walking distance to everything we wanted to see and do while in Savannah. The elevator that went up from River Street a definite plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beema
Laingsburg, MI
Oct 23, 2012

Amazing balcony with river view

We loved the wine on the porch everyday at 5:00, the coffee in the lobby, the shower, the king size bed, the ice machine and most of all...the location!!! We will stay there on our next visit to Savannah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bayou Cafe, affordable food & drinks, live music every night.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy cerebral palsy
Knoxville, TN
Sep 12, 2012

Best place that we have stayed in when we go to Savannah

The staff was very friendly, the house keepers were great. We go to Savannah twice a year and will be staying here again. Like the security of the building. The only thing that I did not like but will deal with is the parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

did not have to leave the hotel to go out and get dinner

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AllisonD
Georgia
Sep 10, 2012

perfect location... not so great check in experience.

For the negative: Our check in experience was a Hotel 6 experience. We checked in our luggage before we checked in at four. When we checked in they told us it would be approximately 1 hour before we could get our luggage. I had to stand there and refuse to move until we could get our luggage which only involved going into the next room and getting it. We finally got to our room around 4:30 and house keeping was still making the beds and cleaning so we had to wait about 15 more minutes to get in the room. . the toilets kept stopping up and they gave us a plunger to use. For the good: The young man who was at the desk that night was great.. He gave us some great suggestions for places to go and called a pedicab for us . The wonderful... The inn was the perfect location and the 12:00 CHECK OUT was wonderful. We have stayed here several times and this was the first less that perfect stay so I am going to give them them benefit of the doubt and assume that the check inn experience was not typical.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vic's on the river is the perfect dining experience.

Review of River Street Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary Ann
Georgia
Aug 7, 2012

Good location, nice historic hotel

The room was small; bed was uncomfortable, tub/shower did not drain well-not good water pressure; refrigerator in room and flat screen tv a plus; view of riverfront was spectacular

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

local seafood was good; we took a cab to Leoci's Italian for an anniversary dinner - do not recommend this restaurant to anyone. The food and service was terrible.

Back to menu Return to top