Rate based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 18, 2014

La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

2 stars
8484 Abercorn St, 8484 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31406
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
42 reviews
Great getaway

The room was clean & the staff was great. Upon arrival was given a room farther from smoking rooms... See full review

  • P's aunt
  • Jun 2, 2014
Great attention, comfortable and good breakfast.

Definitely I will recommend this location because the staff attention is great and the room are... See full review

  • itmandrake
  • Oct 8, 2013
Affordable rooms on the south side of Savannah

La Quinta Inn Savannah Southside, located next to Hunter Golf Course at the corner of Abercorn Street and Montgomery Cross Road, offers affordable accommodations and convenient access to the southern part of the city. Surrounding features include Hunter Army Airfield, Armstrong University and two shopping malls. Drive 10 to 15 minutes to reach the downtown historic district. The hotel welcomes pets and guests enjoy free high-speed Internet in rooms and the business center. Free parking includes large spaces for buses and RVs.

Highlights
  • Free parking with bus and RV spaces
  • Free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel
  • Pets welcome
Rooms

La Quinta offers 100 guest rooms and suites in a three-story, motel-style property. Standard rooms have one king or two full beds, while executive rooms and suites have a king bed, microwave and refrigerator. All rooms include free wireless-Internet access, coffee maker, 27-inch cable TV and work desk.

Features

Guests with cars can easily drive to nearby attractions like Wormsloe Plantation, Tybee Island and Savannah's historic district. The hotel sits close to both Armstrong University and Hunter Army Airfield. Guests enjoy La Quinta's free Bright Side breakfast which includes waffles, hot and cold cereals, toast, muffins, fruit, coffee and juice. La Quinta's on-site amenities include free parking, fitness center, outdoor swimming pool with lounge chairs and a business center with fax and copy services. The hotel welcomes pets.  

 

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport (20.8 mi/33.3 km)
Attractions
  • Oglethorpe Shopping Mall (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Hunter Army Airfield (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Savannah Historic District (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Tybee Island (22.9 mi/36.6 km)
  • Hilton Head Island (42.3 mi/67.7 km)
Business
  • Business center with high-speed Internet (free)

La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full or Queen Beds Relaxing and comfortable room with two full or queen beds, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls
Standard
Two Full Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full beds, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Boating
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.0 -81.1265
Nearby airports
Savannah Intl Airport, (SAV), 18.00, MI, N;
Area description
Suburban

Dining

Golden Corral
American
Macaroni Grill
American
Outback Steakhouse
American
Red Lobster
American
Bennigan s
American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 42
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Armstrong Univ parent
Business
Athens,Ga
Mar 2, 2014

Decent room/Great location

We had a good stay. The room was average clean. the bathroom shower curtain was sour smelling. Bed was fair but not overly comfortable. Both nights, neighbors came in 315am, woke the dogs who started barking and then after they got stirred up, they wanted to go out to bathroom (not hotel fault!). Staff was very friendly and helpful, especially desk clerks. Location was convenient to lots of things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Sweet Potatoes on Waters Ave....outstanding food.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
itmandrake
Business
Conyers, GA
Oct 8, 2013

Great attention, comfortable and good breakfast.

Definitely I will recommend this location because the staff attention is great and the room are good cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NGD2
Business
Acworth, GA, USA
Apr 1, 2012

Great time!

The staff was fantastic! They were the friendliest bunch ever! Very helpful. My new "go to" hotel in Savannah

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
IATraverler
Business
Florida, USA
Mar 26, 2012

OK for what we needed

Room was VERY noisy - could hear all the traffic noise on Abercorn plus guests overhead and in halls, etc. I would ask for a room facing the back of the property - might be better. However, we were exhausted after a long travel day and could have slept through an explosion. Everything looked somewhat worn - but clean enough. Savannah was basically sold out and we've been there before so weren't going for the vacation experience. Just a stopover. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Didn't try the breakfast. Internet was fine and free. Price was appropriate for what we received. Not recommending because most people come to Savannah for a different experience. Nothing really in walking distance from this hotel and there are better options in midtown and the noise was really bad. Nothing the hotel can do about the sirens on Abercorn and as mentioned, staff was very nice - we were too tired to bother with moving but I feel they would have tried to accommodate us and it might have been worth the effort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Logan's Road House a few blocks south was great for an easy, good and inexpensive dinner.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Haringpinoy
Business
Acworth, GA
Jul 22, 2011

Just right for the price

Nice base for visiting Savannah and Tybee Island. The hotel had a microwave in the room which was excellent. The room refrigerator was excellently working. The hotel carpet needs a real cleaning and no room safe. Also the AC was working well and not that noisy (It was in the heat of July ... high 90's)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Get to the top of a River Front restaurant and view the riverside thru the balcony (food was excellent and inexpensive ... we are four in the family)

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glennville, Georgia
Jul 6, 2011

Very Nice

WOW....the stay was awesome, the staff were wonderful and very knowledgable about the Savannah area, very helpful. The rooms were decorated contemporary yet modest, the beds were super comfortable, the fitness facility and the pool were just what the doctor ordered. I would stay here again. Not too far from the mall, Starbucks, and the Old Savannah tour sends out shuttle buses to pick you up, so you dont have to drive. Wonderful hotel and we had a wonderful stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stephanie Saver mom
Business
Douglasville, Georgia
Apr 19, 2011

Sweet Sweet Savannah

The check in was great! The staff was knowledgable. Our AC was not working properly but the staff came right away and assisted us. My children loved the room and the comfy bed and pillows. The breakfast was great. The morning staff was just wonderful. The lady kept the breakfast area very tidy and she was very nice. The staff all smiled and said hello when they passed you. It was GREAT! My daughter will be attending Savannah State; I know where I will stay when my family and I come to visit her. Way to Go LaQuinta!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Denny's in a short walk. Gotta Love IT!

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
djldps
Business
duluth ga
Oct 13, 2010

Nice place, but

Very nice and people great,but we ask staff to change bed,( My husband arm bleed on sheet)Told the cleaning staff twice, but never responded. Call the desk ask for clean sheets no response.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laurel, Maryland
Apr 24, 2010

you get what you pay for

Disappointing when you walk into your room for the first time and smell cigarette smoke and see and ash tray. We asked for non-smoking. The key card did not work the second day. No computer in lobby area for guests to use. The stained bed sheet we asked to have replaced- never was. Then the staff got rude when I told them about it. Poor shower handle and very dangerous sharp bed stand (inches from your pillow/head). No comforter for bed. No tissues ever put in the holder. All of the eggs were burned for breakfast. No microwave or refrigerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The crab shack was okay.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, KY
Sep 28, 2009

Quite nice

Just a meeting place, but obviously it was an old smoking room and it smelled stale. We are non smokers and it was sprayed with so much stuff it was too strong of a smell. Using it for people with dogs/puppies now. Which is why we were put there. People left their puppies alone in the room next to ours so they continually barked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top