Rate based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

2 stars
8484 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31406
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
40 reviews
Great attention, comfortable and good breakfast.

Definitely I will recommend this location because the staff attention is great and the room are... See full review

  • itmandrake
  • Oct 8, 2013
Comfortable and not far from the old town.

The beds put us to sleep like babies and the location is right on the local FREE shuttle line... See full review

  • Bob T.
  • Dec 9, 2012
Affordable rooms on the south side of Savannah

La Quinta Inn Savannah Southside, located next to Hunter Golf Course at the corner of Abercorn Street and Montgomery Cross Road, offers affordable accommodations and convenient access to the southern part of the city. Surrounding features include Hunter Army Airfield, Armstrong University and two shopping malls. Drive 10 to 15 minutes to reach the downtown historic district. The hotel welcomes pets and guests enjoy free high-speed Internet in rooms and the business center. Free parking includes large spaces for buses and RVs.

Highlights
  • Free parking with bus and RV spaces
  • Free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel
  • Pets welcome
Rooms

La Quinta offers 100 guest rooms and suites in a three-story, motel-style property. Standard rooms have one king or two full beds, while executive rooms and suites have a king bed, microwave and refrigerator. All rooms include free wireless-Internet access, coffee maker, 27-inch cable TV and work desk.

Features

Guests with cars can easily drive to nearby attractions like Wormsloe Plantation, Tybee Island and Savannah's historic district. The hotel sits close to both Armstrong University and Hunter Army Airfield. Guests enjoy La Quinta's free Bright Side breakfast which includes waffles, hot and cold cereals, toast, muffins, fruit, coffee and juice. La Quinta's on-site amenities include free parking, fitness center, outdoor swimming pool with lounge chairs and a business center with fax and copy services. The hotel welcomes pets.  

 

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport (20.8 mi/33.3 km)
Attractions
  • Oglethorpe Shopping Mall (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Hunter Army Airfield (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Savannah Historic District (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Tybee Island (22.9 mi/36.6 km)
  • Hilton Head Island (42.3 mi/67.7 km)
Business
  • Business center with high-speed Internet (free)

La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full or Queen Beds Relaxing and comfortable room with two full or queen beds, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls
Standard
Two Full Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full beds, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Boating
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.0 -81.1265
Nearby airports
Savannah Intl Airport, (SAV), 18.00, MI, N;
Area description
Suburban

Dining

Golden Corral
American
Macaroni Grill
American
Outback Steakhouse
American
Red Lobster
American
Bennigan s
American

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Overall score

3.3 / 5
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Reviewer score

4
Deb C.
Business
Rainier, WA 98576, USA
Sep 27, 2011

A friendly place to stay

I was blown away by the wonderful staff at La Quinta Inn & Suites Southside. Stephen & staff went out of their way to provide a great experience for my stay. They helped me find directions, kept my rooms clean, and gave me ideas on where to go and eat while there. I cant say how wonderful they made my stay during a very difficult time. I thank them for their great Service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Longhorn Steak House was a great place to dine and the staff was friendly.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Georgia
Jul 29, 2009

Quick stay, keep away

This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Where to begin. The halls ways to the room was filthy and never vacuumed. The person setting out the breakfast was also the reservation attendant. The rooms had little bugs all on the counter and they didn't replenish the tissue, soap AND they ran out of towels. What hotel runs out of towels???!! We immediately checked out after that..that was the last straw. Only had double beds in the rooms which are very small. Toilet handle would not flush, told desk, but no one ever came to fix it. Nothing in the kitchen was labeled, people were asking which one is the milk & which juice, is which?....it was awful!!! Staff was friendly but the property is a dump.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
North Carolina
Jun 29, 2009

NIce Stay, But No Internet Access

The location was great for where I wanted to go. There was no problem finding a restaurant or the mall. The only thing I wasn't pleased with was the Internet Service. I checked in and was given a number to call for the Internet Service, after I turned my computer on and it wouldn't connect, I used the phone in the room to call the service. But the person on the other end said, "This room was not checked in", if I wasn't checked in why would I have my room key. Accessing the Internet wasn't friendly at all. The Internet was the main reason we chose La Quinta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Reviewer score

3
lisa traveler
Austin, MN
Jun 20, 2009

good hotel for the price

it was a nice hotel, very clean. the beds were awesome. I love lots of pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

riverfront was a great place to eat and have a few cocktails. there was everything from dancing to moonlight strolls.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Reviewer score

5
Genefan40202
Elizabethtown, KY
May 26, 2009

Great location; comfy beds; gr8 staff!

I have stayed at this hotel four previous times and each time it exceeds my expectations. It always provides me with a clean, comfortable room, and the staff never fails to greet me with a friendly word every morning before I leave asking me where I'm going, if I need directions and wishing me a good day. The beds are super comfortable and I slept well each night. The only problem was a power outage due to a storm which was beyond the hotel's control one night. It is close to everything and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Oglethorpe Mall is just about a half mile down the road from the hotel. They have a Barnes & Noble, a Macaroni Grill, Macy's, Charlotte Russe, Torrid, Nine West, Hot Topic, Express, Starbucks, and some other high end stores in this mall. It is a very nice mall.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 16, 2007

Noisy and needs cleaning!

This was my first time staying at a LaQuinta. Originally I stopped at the wrong location...there are three LaQuinta's on this street. I was awakened multiple times by other guests laughing and talking loudly in the hall. Not the hotel's fault, but maybe an indicator of the type of guest that stays there. My room looked clean, but there was a sickly sweet smell and the room didn't feel clean. I guess you get what you pay for. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Sep 3, 2007

very nice staff

the room were very comfortable and clean,plus they have internet access so you can check all the places you want to go. the staff was really nice and let us check in an hour before.Very nice hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

close to everything,historical Savannah,Tebee Island,places to eat and shopping.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Sep 2, 2007

Good Value

The La Quinta Inn Southside, Savannah was a very good value.Never having been there, I didn't realize how far South it was. It was much more reasonable than the properties closer to downtown, for those who want to save money. It was a very good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There were a few key stores nearby, very handy.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 8, 2007

Dog Friendly

Overall, this was perfect for accomidating our needs. We appreciate a place that welcomes pets. It is located near many nice restaurants and is in a very safe area of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loco's bar and grill is a great place to eat and have a few drinks during football season. It is located at the corner of White Bluff and Abercorn which is about a 2 minute driving distance from the hotel.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Providence, RI
May 3, 2007

Good for one night STAY

La Quinta, Southside, Savannah Georgia did not rate up to my expections. The sheets were not clean according to my expections. We had to call for clean sheets and blankets. We also had to call for towels. It was explained to us that they were in the process of updating all the roooms. On the third night we were moved to the third floor which we were told was all remodeled. This room had new carpeting and new flooring in the vanity and bathroom area. That was it. There were no towel bars to hold the towels and facecloths. In addittion to that the vanity was at least a foot smaller. Our towels and personal items were all on the vanity. We were told that no towels bars were going to be installed. This was very inconvient. This new updated room had a phone that didn't work and we needed wastebaskets, plus coffee for coffee pot. We did complain, We were given 2 free movies and free nite at La Quinta Inns anywhere. The pool was dirty, it not heated and it was located on the main road. Even with the free night, I don't think we will be staying at a La Quinta anytime soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Make sure you have a vehicle or plan to take the shuttel as everything is quite a distance. The shuttle is $15.00 a day per person and it only runs between 9:00m and 4:30 pm. It can get quite expensive. If you want to take the public transportation, this is the way to go as it is a $1.00 each way to anywhere and runs until 11:00Pm.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Apr 23, 2007

Would not go again

The room was very small. They were remodeling and when looking out your window you would see old carpet and tile come flying out the window. We asked for one more pillow and they said they had none. We asked for another plastic laundry bag for the room and they told us they had none. We are a family of four and only recieved 3 sets of towels even when we asked for more. The pool bottom had green mold or algae growing on it. The breakfast was ok but when it was time for it to close the girl would take the food away while you were reaching for something. She never said a word to you just pulled it away. It closed at 9 and at 8:50 the food was being gathered and put away. This property was 15 minutes from downtown Savannah and we found a room one block from the water in the historic district for 20 dollars more a night and that was a saturday night!! Needless to say we chose that hotel to close out our vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Savannah mall is 2 miles

Back to menu Return to top