Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 W. Bay St., Savannah, GA 31401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
346 out of 346
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Feb 18, 2008

NICE hotel

The Ellis Inn is perfectly located to everywhere we wanted to walk to. However, the rooms were small the bathrooms tiny and the A/C and fan in bathroom were extremely loud. There was not enough parking and there was construction going on outside our room (Even on Sunday)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shortwalk to the river front.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
diansie
Business
Burlington VT
Mar 9, 2011

A get away

Location was great. They did not clean the room until late in the day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Savannah Dan walking tours were great

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia
Jun 7, 2008

Construction!

The Inn at Ellis Square will be ideal in a year or two when the construction of Ellis Square area is finshed. Right now there is a lot of construction outside around the hotel. Room was simple and clean. No refrigerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

River Walk, Public Market, Historic Distric, restaurants, bars. Ideal location!

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winona, MN
Nov 24, 2009

Good location

This hotel is decent for the price. It is in a good location - easily accessible to City Market and River Street. The free breakfast is good - wish it changed from day to day though. We stayed 4 nights and breakfast got a little repetitive. The staff was friendly. Concierge was very helpful. Housekeeping wasn't great though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

It's a bit of a trek but while in Savannah you must try Mrs. Wilke's Boarding House for lunch. They are only open for lunch and you will likely have to wait in line - they don't take reservations. But, it is a great experience and worth the wait. The free DOT shuttle that travels around the historic district will get you within 2-3 blocks of the place. It is hard to miss as there is not much signage.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 28, 2010

Nice place, great location

if you want a reasonable place to stay right in the heart of downtown, this is a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
callaway, md
Feb 22, 2011

near City market and riverfront

the hotel was nice... enjoyed the mini-suite style rooms. The breakfast was good. Staff was very nice. Only downside: the living room has a pull-out bed but because the hotel is right on bay street, any noise (cars/people) can be heard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clifton
Oct 10, 2008

The Inn At Ellis Square

My stay at this hotel was okay. The room was very comfortable and clean. I did have a concern that the hair dryer was not operating. I reported it to the desk the first day, the second day and again on the 4th day of my stay. There was apparently a problem with the outlet it was connected to. On the 3rd day of my stay the outlet was repaired and the hair dryer was removed from the room and was never replaced. I requested 7:00 a m wake up calles each day (5 in total) and to my surprise I received a wake up call on 2 days. Needless to say there is a lack of attention to detail at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The show at the Savannah Theater was great. I would suggest that visitors take the time to see it. For an inexpensive hamburger ($12.00) try the barroom at the Hyatt. They serve the best burgers and fries I've ever had. The walking tour Garden of Good and Evil was excellent.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bacgrad
Business
Belmont, NC
Oct 3, 2011

False Fire Alarm

This hotel is average. The location is amazing! The breakfast was crowded and the dining area does not accomodate nearly half the guests so its a fight just trying to make your plate! During my stay the fire alarm when off at 7am, which thankfully ended up being a false alarm but NO ONE from the hotel's staff was manning the hallways or in the parking lot where guests were evauating to. I found this to be a very poor reflection on the hotel being that folks were racing out of the hotel in their pajammas with their valuables, babies and small children on the first cold morning in Savannah. The conclusion of the alarm, according to fire fighters and NOT the staff, was that the heaters burning off dust due to being the first time they had been cut on this season set off the fire/smoke alarm. This hotel needs an emergency evacuation plan like YESTERDAY!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AJ & Leslie
Business
Atlanta, GA/SLO, CA
Apr 22, 2009

1st time visit to Savannah

My friend, Leslie; who was visiting from out of state, and I were visiting Savannah for the first time just after Spring Break. We arrived a little ahead of schedule, but the desk clerk was kind enough to let us park and check-in early. We had a very helpful valet show us to our room on the 6th floor. Our room had a view facing the bridge and the still-under construction (re-claiming) Ellis Square. Our room was small-ish. It had two queen beds and was very clean. The site mentioned that the hotel had recently been updated and the rooms reflected this. The tiny bathroom was in need of some repair though, both the paint and wall paper was pealing and something mold-like appeared to be beneath it. Apart from that the room met all of our requirements. The fan/ac worked very well...a little cold at first, but once we adjusted it - it was just right! We went down to the lobby and I asked the concierge if she knew where we could be picked up for the Oglethorpe 90 minute tour that we had purchased tickets for on-line. She said that it was an off/on tour, and that we'd be off with-in seconds (she was selling tix to a different tour company). Contrary to her advice it was SO - SO WORTH IT!!! Fun and informative. We had more than enough time afterwards to tour the many great squares and sites and do a little shopping. We were only there for two days...but, we managed to make the most of our time. Highly recommend going to Griffin's Tea Room for a mid-day nosh. EXCELLENT stop for food, tea or coffee. Great, friendly service. (Portion of bill benefits SCAD) It's across from the SCAD student gallery/store (one square from the Mercer/Williams House).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had a great dinner at Huey's along the lower level of Founder's Walk...their Parmesan Grits are tasty...and, I'm not fond of grits. The over all experience is what we fondly refer to as cheap and cheerful. Dinner for two - with drinks and dessert, under $60.00 with tip!!

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte NC
Jun 28, 2010

Ellis

crowded

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top