Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

3 stars
201 W. Bay St., Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
330 reviews
Excellent Savannah stay

The Inn is centrally located to Riverstreet as well as the Savannah Market. Excellent value, clean,... See full review

  • Flamingotina
  • Aug 31, 2014
Right Down Town Savannah

The Inn at Ellis Square has a great location for experiencing the downtown experience of Savannah.... See full review

  • Gordon from NC
  • Jul 28, 2014
Historic hotel with modern amenities near Savannah’s riverfront

This non-smoking Day's Inn hotel overlooks the Savannah River from Bay Street and sits in front of Ellis Square, one of six historic parks designed by Savannah founder, James Oglethorpe. Recipient of a 2006 historic preservation award, the Inn at Ellis Square occupies the 150-year-old Guckenheimer building. Guests can experience the rich furnishings of this well-preserved building without sacrificing modern conveniences. The property offers high-speed Internet access and flexible meeting and banquet facilities.

Highlights
  • Easy walk to downtown dining and attractions
  • Close to trolley and carriage tours
  • Wireless Internet
  • Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award winner
Rooms

The Inn at Ellis Square offers standard, one-room accommodations and suites. Standard rooms offer a king bed or two double beds and suites feature a living area with couch and wet bar, plus large baths with dressing rooms. Amenities for all rooms include complimentary Internet access, cable TV, desk, mini refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker.

Features

As the recipient of the Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award, this 150-year-old property retains many original features. The hotel's decor is heavy on dark wood and warm, earthy furnishings. The hotel serves a complimentary continental breakfast in a room with towering ceilings and arched windows. Dominique's Lounge is a perfect place for guests to gather in the evening for a cocktail. The hotel has a fitness center. The business center offers Internet, copy and fax services. Five conference rooms and banquet facilities totaling 6,000 square feet accommodate up to 200 people. Technical equipment is available for rent.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • Savannah Visitors Center
  • Lady and Sons restaurant
  • City Market
  • River Street
  • Mercer House
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities and meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Internet, copy and fax services
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will be undergoing renovations from June 28, 2015 until further notice.
  • Starting 18 July, parking fee will be $16 a day.
  • This is a non-smoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel Rooms

1 bedroom suite
Our executive suites, located in our lovingly restored Guckenheimer building offer the richness and grace of a bygone era. Private bedrooms with King beds, living rooms with queen sleeper sofas and wet bars. Also featured are over sized bath and dressing area, Coffee makers, fridge & microwave, wireless Internet.
Standard Room
Standard rooms offer two double beds, bath separate from vanity, coffee maker, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, high speed Internet, workspace, cable TV, clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.0814 -81.0939
Area served
Savannah, GA.
Nearby airports
Savannah International. I-95 to Exit 99A, I-16 E Montgomery Sreet to Bay Street.
Area description
Local attractions include River Street, City Market, Telfair Museum, Owens-Thomas House, Ships of the Sea, Lady & Sons Restaurant, Dinner Cruising, Trolley & horse drawn carriage tours.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Three meeting rooms available. Largest meeting room seats 80 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (330)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
330 out of 330
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbia
Jun 7, 2008

Construction!

The Inn at Ellis Square will be ideal in a year or two when the construction of Ellis Square area is finshed. Right now there is a lot of construction outside around the hotel. Room was simple and clean. No refrigerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

River Walk, Public Market, Historic Distric, restaurants, bars. Ideal location!

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lindamark
Kansas City MO
Feb 19, 2010

February Visit

We enjoyed our stay. Rooms were clean and nice. Bar and lobby area were great. Continental breakfast was very good. Great location. A block from the city market and tour buses. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

River Street is nearby.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Dec 1, 2009

Savannah

Great location. However, the toliet did not work well, and even after calling twice to report and request service the problem was never resolved. Also, please remember that parking in the hotel deck is not included $$ as we found out when checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pbotty
Oconomowoc, WI
Oct 26, 2010

Great location, historic district!

Great hotel, great location. Close to most everything - well within walking distance to all squares. Great service, updated linens, friendly staff, concierge service. Would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Only a block from the hotel, Market Square offers shopping, dining, and outdoor music in the evenings - at least on weekend evenings. Very enjoyable!!

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
triple x
Gateshead
Nov 1, 2010

Don't forget your voucher

We booked a king suite for 3 people but when we arrived we were only given an ordinary room. The hotel receptionist didn't have a record of the type of room we booked and if we didb't have our voucher with us we would have had no proof. Luckily there was still a suite avaible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Carolina
Dec 2, 2010

Location was great!

The hotel is in a great location for easy access to restaurants, historic tours by trolley and by walking. The riverfront stores and walk are close and Savannah is a wonderful place to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Danups
Ft. LAUDERDALE
Oct 31, 2013

Good location but.....

Hotel was in a good location but the rooms were just OK, not as clean as we would like and one of our rooms smelled of strong bleach odor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Olde Pink House is close by for lunch or dinner

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Jun 6, 2011

Weekend visit

I had a good room with minor deficiencies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Edith the Explorer
Lancaster, PA
Nov 18, 2010

Nice but not great.

We chose this hotel because of the central location, it offered a suite and breakfast. We were three generations vacationing together and wanted a bigger room since we were staying there four nights. Our first room was spacious but the lighting was dim. The layout seemed to be backwards and a bit awkward. The tv's were fuzzy so we asked for maintenance. We waited 1 1/2 hr. No one came. We made another call. Someone came, fiddled around with the cables and then left. We thought he'd come back with a part to correct the problem but never did. Asked the next morning for the problem to be addressed during the day. As of 3:30 in the afternoon, nothing. After the 4th contact, someone finally came and said there was a problem but he'd see we were moved to another room. He had us switched within 10 minutes! Our first night was very noisy due to a wedding reception that lasted until 2 am. We stayed on the 4th floor but could hear the music. The wedding guests were very noisy in the hallway at 2 am. You could hear everything. We heard there were a lot of complaints about the noise the next morning. Also, loud street noise carried up to our room because we were close to parking and a club. Our room was in the older section of the hotel which must not be very well insulated. The sheets on the king size bed were rather old and didn't fit well. They worked themselves off on both sides during the night. After we were moved to another room, things seemed to improve. The layout in this suite was opposite of the other which was better suited for us and it had better lighting. Things were quieter outside and in the hotel Sunday-Tuesday. The sheets fit better also! We would have liked more variety in the breakfasts. Got a bit old seeing the same thing so we ate at a restaurant the last day. Not a luxury hotel. Not much in the way of bathroom amenities. We basically paid for the location. Other than that, I wouldn't recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If it is your first time in Savannah, you really should begin with a trolley tour. We used Old Town Trolley so you could get off & on at your own pace. We used them two days, so we paid the second day discounted rate. Had several drivers. One was great. The others were hit or miss. Plenty of restaurants and shopping.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JP is moving back to GA
Business
Orlando, FL
Oct 17, 2013

Historic Building is cool... pillows are not.

I only have a couple of complaints about my stay. I would highly suggest bringing your own pillow. The pillows they provide are basically oversized marshmallows. I had a horrible crick in my neck from them. Because the hotel is right on Bay St. there is a lot of road noise. I really like the historic building. Breakfast was good... coffee could be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Moon River Brewery for some good food and some microbrews.

Back to menu Return to top