Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

3 stars
201 W. Bay St., Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
508 reviews
Right Down Town Savannah

The Inn at Ellis Square has a great location for experiencing the downtown experience of Savannah.... See full review

  • Gordon from NC
  • Jul 28, 2014
A nice surprise in a great location

Looking at the cost as compared to other hotels in the area, I thought the place would probably be... See full review

  • Doc P
  • Mar 10, 2014
Historic hotel with modern amenities near Savannah’s riverfront

This non-smoking Day's Inn hotel overlooks the Savannah River from Bay Street and sits in front of Ellis Square, one of six historic parks designed by Savannah founder, James Oglethorpe. Recipient of a 2006 historic preservation award, the Inn at Ellis Square occupies the 150-year-old Guckenheimer building. Guests can experience the rich furnishings of this well-preserved building without sacrificing modern conveniences. The property offers high-speed Internet access and flexible meeting and banquet facilities.

Highlights
  • Easy walk to downtown dining and attractions
  • Close to trolley and carriage tours
  • Wireless Internet
  • Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award winner
Rooms

The Inn at Ellis Square offers standard, one-room accommodations and suites. Standard rooms offer a king bed or two double beds and suites feature a living area with couch and wet bar, plus large baths with dressing rooms. Amenities for all rooms include complimentary Internet access, cable TV, desk, mini refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker.

Features

As the recipient of the Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award, this 150-year-old property retains many original features. The hotel's décor is heavy on dark wood and warm, earthy furnishings. The hotel serves a complimentary continental breakfast in a room with towering ceilings and arched windows. Dominique's Lounge is a perfect place for guests to gather in the evening for a cocktail. The hotel has a fitness center. The business center offers Internet, copy and fax services. Five conference rooms and banquet facilities totaling 6,000 square feet accommodate up to 200 people. Technical equipment is available for rent.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • Savannah Visitors Center
  • Lady and Sons restaurant
  • City Market
  • River Street
  • Mercer House
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities and meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Internet, copy and fax services
Policies and fees
  • Starting 18 July, parking fee will be $16 a day.
  • This is a non-smoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel Rooms

1 bedroom suite
Our executive suites, located in our lovingly restored Guckenheimer building offer the richness and grace of a bygone era. Private bedrooms with King beds, living rooms with queen sleeper sofas and wet bars. Also featured are over sized bath and dressing area, Coffee makers, fridge & microwave, wireless Internet.
Standard Room
Standard rooms offer two double beds, bath separate from vanity, coffee maker, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, high speed Internet, workspace, cable TV, clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.0814 -81.0939
Area served
Savannah, GA.
Nearby airports
Savannah International. I-95 to Exit 99A, I-16 E Montgomery Sreet to Bay Street.
Area description
Local attractions include River Street, City Market, Telfair Museum, Owens-Thomas House, Ships of the Sea, Lady & Sons Restaurant, Dinner Cruising, Trolley & horse drawn carriage tours.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Three meeting rooms available. Largest meeting room seats 80 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (508)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
508 out of 508
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gatordoc21
Clearwater, fl
May 25, 2014

Impromptu Visit

My wife and I decided to go to Savannah at the last minute. Not only did the Inn have a room available but also has the most reasonable rate amongst hotels in the historic district. The accommodations were clean and modern with a healthy respect for the history of the building as well. The breakfast offerings were ok but certainly an added bonus as, again, the highlight here is the location just off of Ellis square. I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to friends and family alike.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Millen, Ga.
Nov 12, 2010

survey

a 60th birthday party.....staff was excellent....rooms clean....could not watch tv..it was so blurry.....air conditioner may a noise....and fan in bathroom sounded like metal hitting metal. Did not like pillows.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
moongds
tampa,fl
Apr 25, 2009

It's okay

Good location.Fair price. Found trash and socks in room left from other guests. Concierge was useless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Edith the Explorer
Lancaster, PA
Nov 18, 2010

Nice but not great.

We chose this hotel because of the central location, it offered a suite and breakfast. We were three generations vacationing together and wanted a bigger room since we were staying there four nights. Our first room was spacious but the lighting was dim. The layout seemed to be backwards and a bit awkward. The tv's were fuzzy so we asked for maintenance. We waited 1 1/2 hr. No one came. We made another call. Someone came, fiddled around with the cables and then left. We thought he'd come back with a part to correct the problem but never did. Asked the next morning for the problem to be addressed during the day. As of 3:30 in the afternoon, nothing. After the 4th contact, someone finally came and said there was a problem but he'd see we were moved to another room. He had us switched within 10 minutes! Our first night was very noisy due to a wedding reception that lasted until 2 am. We stayed on the 4th floor but could hear the music. The wedding guests were very noisy in the hallway at 2 am. You could hear everything. We heard there were a lot of complaints about the noise the next morning. Also, loud street noise carried up to our room because we were close to parking and a club. Our room was in the older section of the hotel which must not be very well insulated. The sheets on the king size bed were rather old and didn't fit well. They worked themselves off on both sides during the night. After we were moved to another room, things seemed to improve. The layout in this suite was opposite of the other which was better suited for us and it had better lighting. Things were quieter outside and in the hotel Sunday-Tuesday. The sheets fit better also! We would have liked more variety in the breakfasts. Got a bit old seeing the same thing so we ate at a restaurant the last day. Not a luxury hotel. Not much in the way of bathroom amenities. We basically paid for the location. Other than that, I wouldn't recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If it is your first time in Savannah, you really should begin with a trolley tour. We used Old Town Trolley so you could get off & on at your own pace. We used them two days, so we paid the second day discounted rate. Had several drivers. One was great. The others were hit or miss. Plenty of restaurants and shopping.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clifton
Oct 10, 2008

The Inn At Ellis Square

My stay at this hotel was okay. The room was very comfortable and clean. I did have a concern that the hair dryer was not operating. I reported it to the desk the first day, the second day and again on the 4th day of my stay. There was apparently a problem with the outlet it was connected to. On the 3rd day of my stay the outlet was repaired and the hair dryer was removed from the room and was never replaced. I requested 7:00 a m wake up calles each day (5 in total) and to my surprise I received a wake up call on 2 days. Needless to say there is a lack of attention to detail at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The show at the Savannah Theater was great. I would suggest that visitors take the time to see it. For an inexpensive hamburger ($12.00) try the barroom at the Hyatt. They serve the best burgers and fries I've ever had. The walking tour Garden of Good and Evil was excellent.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LaVick
Alexandria,La
Jul 13, 2010

Unbeatable location

Sight seeing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Five Guys across the street has the best hambuger . Across the street in front of hotel is River Street with all kinds of food. All with in a short walk.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2yr anniversary
Fay, nc
Jul 18, 2013

Not totally disappointed

Great buy for your money. There was an empty chip bag in the closet. I guess from the previous guest. I thought that was gross. Overall the location was great and the front desk staff was friendly. The concierge I think needs to be more approachable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Everything you want is just a short walk away. Tours, dinning, the river, stores.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gammyjean
Savannah, Georgia
Dec 9, 2012

Girls Get-away

This hotel was perfectly located. We could walk to everything. The parking garage was located close to the hotel and easy to access. The first hitch happened when the room key would not work and I had to go back to the desk. The faucet on the shower was installed backwards and the hot faucet was cold and cold was hot. This was a known fact to the office staff. How would a patron know this? Cold showers are not fun. We had a broken chair that was finally replaced. None of this Kept up from havin fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We took the trolley and got off wherever we wanted. It was great for the money.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrs. T.D.
Pa
May 1, 2013

Road trip

Very nice and very convenient. Everyone had good suggestions for sights to see and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Old town trolley ride was great for visiting all around the city....getting on and off at sites was so easy.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Carolina
Dec 2, 2010

Location was great!

The hotel is in a great location for easy access to restaurants, historic tours by trolley and by walking. The riverfront stores and walk are close and Savannah is a wonderful place to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top