Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

3 stars
201 W. Bay St., Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
313 reviews
A nice surprise in a great location

Looking at the cost as compared to other hotels in the area, I thought the place would probably be... See full review

  • Doc P
  • Mar 10, 2014
Great location

Staff was super nice and helpful. Can't beat location and price was good. Love Savannah and the... See full review

  • wamjlk
  • Feb 24, 2014
Historic hotel with modern amenities near Savannah’s riverfront

This non-smoking Day's Inn hotel overlooks the Savannah River from Bay Street and sits in front of Ellis Square, one of six historic parks designed by Savannah founder, James Oglethorpe. Recipient of a 2006 historic preservation award, the Inn at Ellis Square occupies the 150-year-old Guckenheimer building. Guests can experience the rich furnishings of this well-preserved building without sacrificing modern conveniences. The property offers high-speed Internet access and flexible meeting and banquet facilities.

Highlights
  • Easy walk to downtown dining and attractions
  • Close to trolley and carriage tours
  • Wireless Internet
  • Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award winner
Rooms

The Inn at Ellis Square offers standard, one-room accommodations and suites. Standard rooms offer a king bed or two double beds and suites feature a living area with couch and wet bar, plus large baths with dressing rooms. Amenities for all rooms include complimentary Internet access, cable TV, desk, mini refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker.

Features

As the recipient of the Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award, this 150-year-old property retains many original features. The hotel's décor is heavy on dark wood and warm, earthy furnishings. The hotel serves a complimentary continental breakfast in a room with towering ceilings and arched windows. Dominique's Lounge is a perfect place for guests to gather in the evening for a cocktail. The hotel has a fitness center. The business center offers Internet, copy and fax services. Five conference rooms and banquet facilities totaling 6,000 square feet accommodate up to 200 people. Technical equipment is available for rent.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • Savannah Visitors Center
  • Lady and Sons restaurant
  • City Market
  • River Street
  • Mercer House
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities and meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Internet, copy and fax services
Policies and fees
  • From Mar 14 to 17, 2014,  parking fee will be $20 USD due to a special event.
  • Starting Dec 1st 2012, parking fee will be $13 a day.
  • This is a non-smoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel Rooms

1 bedroom suite
Our executive suites, located in our lovingly restored Guckenheimer building offer the richness and grace of a bygone era. Private bedrooms with King beds, living rooms with queen sleeper sofas and wet bars. Also featured are over sized bath and dressing area, Coffee makers, fridge & microwave, wireless Internet.
Standard Room
Standard rooms offer two double beds, bath separate from vanity, coffee maker, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, high speed Internet, workspace, cable TV, clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.0814 -81.0939
Area served
Savannah, GA.
Nearby airports
Savannah International. I-95 to Exit 99A, I-16 E Montgomery Sreet to Bay Street.
Area description
Local attractions include River Street, City Market, Telfair Museum, Owens-Thomas House, Ships of the Sea, Lady & Sons Restaurant, Dinner Cruising, Trolley & horse drawn carriage tours.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Three meeting rooms available. Largest meeting room seats 80 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (313)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
313 out of 313
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Likes A Bargain
Atlanta, GA
Apr 9, 2011

Average Hotel for the Price

Hotel is in a great location in downtown Savannah - within walking distance of many attractions including the City Market and Riverfront. The rooms are small and bathroom situation not great, especially for a family of four. The air conditioning did not work well - a must in steamy Savannah. Continental breakfast was adequate. Parking was convenient, but costs extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
JP is moving back to GA
Business
Orlando, FL
Oct 17, 2013

Historic Building is cool... pillows are not.

I only have a couple of complaints about my stay. I would highly suggest bringing your own pillow. The pillows they provide are basically oversized marshmallows. I had a horrible crick in my neck from them. Because the hotel is right on Bay St. there is a lot of road noise. I really like the historic building. Breakfast was good... coffee could be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Moon River Brewery for some good food and some microbrews.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Ann C
New Hampshire
Apr 26, 2013

Great location and getting a much needed renovation!

We love Savannah and have visited the city many times. This was our first stay at this property. The hotel suited our needs, but the room was very musty smelling and will benefit from the current renovation plan! We would stay here again once the work is complete. The staff was very helpful, but we did come back to our room at 4:30pm and found that house keeping hadn't been there yet. That was a bit of a surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Framingham, MA
Apr 28, 2010

average

Staff was friendly, but not very efficient in addressing our concerns. The location of the hotel was very good. Had the problems that I listed at the beginning of this survey been properly addressed, this review would have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
memphis tn
Apr 26, 2011

Stay someplace else

The room smelled like old mildewed carpet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Savannah visitor from FL
St. Lucie, Florida
Mar 27, 2013

Location is great, everything else just ok

Fantastic location. But it was a small room for 4, the bathroom door wouldn't close, there were only 3 bath towels in the room for 4 of us and we had to ask 3 times for another towel before they brought one, a very dirty pool was our view from the window. The continental breakfast actually included hot food as well, but it was so crowded we had to wait in long lines at each station, and there was only one person working the breakfast room so people waited 10-15 minutes for food trays and coffee to be re-filled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
San Antonio, Tx
May 21, 2011

Surprise surprise

[...] We arrived and there was a surprise $10/night parking fee. Also we booked 3 nights and everyday we'd have housekeeping ask us why were still there because they had us on check-out List and on the last night they tried to throw us out because they said their records showed that we only booked 2 nights. [...] Very disorganized hotel. The concierge was very nice and knowledgeable about the city though ;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
One night in Savannah
Charleston,SC
Dec 19, 2013

Not the best, great location

Terrible water temp. Could not keep the water temp steady. Bathroom extremely small and outdated. Great location if you don't plan to spend much time in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Columbia
Jun 7, 2008

Construction!

The Inn at Ellis Square will be ideal in a year or two when the construction of Ellis Square area is finshed. Right now there is a lot of construction outside around the hotel. Room was simple and clean. No refrigerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

River Walk, Public Market, Historic Distric, restaurants, bars. Ideal location!

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Country has come to town
Statesboro, Georgia
May 20, 2013

Concert Trip

The location of the hotel is perfect. All you could want or need is within walking distance. I've always had a pleasant experience at this hotel. The only thing I have to complain about this trip is housekeeping walking into the room an hour before check out without knocking! Other than that it's a GREAT hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top