Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

3 stars
201 W. Bay St., Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
313 reviews
A nice surprise in a great location

Looking at the cost as compared to other hotels in the area, I thought the place would probably be... See full review

  • Doc P
  • Mar 10, 2014
Great location

Staff was super nice and helpful. Can't beat location and price was good. Love Savannah and the... See full review

  • wamjlk
  • Feb 24, 2014
Historic hotel with modern amenities near Savannah’s riverfront

This non-smoking Day's Inn hotel overlooks the Savannah River from Bay Street and sits in front of Ellis Square, one of six historic parks designed by Savannah founder, James Oglethorpe. Recipient of a 2006 historic preservation award, the Inn at Ellis Square occupies the 150-year-old Guckenheimer building. Guests can experience the rich furnishings of this well-preserved building without sacrificing modern conveniences. The property offers high-speed Internet access and flexible meeting and banquet facilities.

Highlights
  • Easy walk to downtown dining and attractions
  • Close to trolley and carriage tours
  • Wireless Internet
  • Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award winner
Rooms

The Inn at Ellis Square offers standard, one-room accommodations and suites. Standard rooms offer a king bed or two double beds and suites feature a living area with couch and wet bar, plus large baths with dressing rooms. Amenities for all rooms include complimentary Internet access, cable TV, desk, mini refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker.

Features

As the recipient of the Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award, this 150-year-old property retains many original features. The hotel's décor is heavy on dark wood and warm, earthy furnishings. The hotel serves a complimentary continental breakfast in a room with towering ceilings and arched windows. Dominique's Lounge is a perfect place for guests to gather in the evening for a cocktail. The hotel has a fitness center. The business center offers Internet, copy and fax services. Five conference rooms and banquet facilities totaling 6,000 square feet accommodate up to 200 people. Technical equipment is available for rent.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • Savannah Visitors Center
  • Lady and Sons restaurant
  • City Market
  • River Street
  • Mercer House
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities and meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Internet, copy and fax services
Policies and fees
  • From Mar 14 to 17, 2014,  parking fee will be $20 USD due to a special event.
  • Starting Dec 1st 2012, parking fee will be $13 a day.
  • This is a non-smoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel Rooms

1 bedroom suite
Our executive suites, located in our lovingly restored Guckenheimer building offer the richness and grace of a bygone era. Private bedrooms with King beds, living rooms with queen sleeper sofas and wet bars. Also featured are over sized bath and dressing area, Coffee makers, fridge & microwave, wireless Internet.
Standard Room
Standard rooms offer two double beds, bath separate from vanity, coffee maker, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, high speed Internet, workspace, cable TV, clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.0814 -81.0939
Area served
Savannah, GA.
Nearby airports
Savannah International. I-95 to Exit 99A, I-16 E Montgomery Sreet to Bay Street.
Area description
Local attractions include River Street, City Market, Telfair Museum, Owens-Thomas House, Ships of the Sea, Lady & Sons Restaurant, Dinner Cruising, Trolley & horse drawn carriage tours.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Three meeting rooms available. Largest meeting room seats 80 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (313)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
130 out of 313
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Sarahed
San Diego
Apr 14, 2014

Great location, nice room

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night before heading to Hilton Head. The location is perfect - right in the middle of the Historic District and a quick walk to bars, restaurants, shopping. It was also easy to find when driving into the city from the airport, and there was plenty of parking available (for a fee). The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and we had a lovely view of the river. The front desk staff was not particularly friendly or helpful, but all in all it is a nice reliable hotel for a fair price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

2
stpattys
Atlanta Ga
Mar 19, 2014

St. Patrick's Day Stay

We stayed for two days at the hotel for St. Patrick's Day weekend. Considering that we needed a place to sleep and a hotel that was close to the activities on River St. This hotel was perfect. Besides the location there is nothing to rave about. Upon entry to our room we noticed it had yet to be cleaned from the previous guest. Dirty sheets were tossed across a chair, pillows on the floor, dirty towels in the bathroom, and even a tip left by the previous guest. We were given a new room immediately. The shower took a few minutes for the water pressure to reach full potential, the towels were dingy, and the toiletries were less than impressive. The bed was very comfortable but the room did not appear very clean. The location was prime. We parked our car in the garage for the weekend and did not move it until check out. Apparently parking is normally $13 but since it was St. Patrick's Day weekend the hotel charged $20 a day even for their guests. Also be prepared to pay additional deposits for room keys and the room (only about $30)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Doc P
Portsmouth, Virginia
Mar 10, 2014

A nice surprise in a great location

Looking at the cost as compared to other hotels in the area, I thought the place would probably be a little spartan. However, the staff was top notch and the rooms were very clean. The location was great to see Savannah or get on the highway. The parking garage is just next door. The only complaint I have is that the TV reception was rather poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
pofLoveBirds
Gray, ga
Jan 28, 2014

Great stay!

We stayed here for a short weekend trip. We had a great time! Perfect location to walk downtown or to River street. Parking was the biggest hiccup, $13 per night in a garage. Staff was super nice and helpful. Clean rooms, great service! We will be coming back! :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tubby's...great food, fun atmosphere, perfect view of the River. Highly recommend!

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Singram10
Orlando, florida
Jan 2, 2014

Great Hotel

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for NYE, and it was perfect! The location is great, only a block away from River street and to Central Market. It was very easy for us to get around. The hotel was very clean and the staff was kind and professional. Beautiful place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
One night in Savannah
Charleston,SC
Dec 19, 2013

Not the best, great location

Terrible water temp. Could not keep the water temp steady. Bathroom extremely small and outdated. Great location if you don't plan to spend much time in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
kilkenny2
Tampa, fl
Oct 16, 2013

Nice Weekend

Very pleasant stay. The "Continental" breakfast was a good deal more and enjoyable. A great location in walking distance to a lot of attractions. The bar was not well stocked. Staff was friendly and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Lanc80
Savannah, GA
Sep 27, 2013

Honeymoon

My wife and I absolutely loved the hotel and how close it was located to everything. We will definitely be going back to stay at the Inn at Ellis Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Mrs. DAS
Illinois
Sep 3, 2013

Just OK

This was our first visit to Savannah. We enjoyed it except for a few glitches with the hotel. We had a first floor room right on Bay St. We discovered there was no privacy curtain on the window. The staff resolved that issue by the time we returned for the night. By the next day, we found the carpet soaked all around the air conditioner, about 3 feet in each direction, resulting in a musty odor in the room. We reported this to the front desk also, but got no results. Although our sheets and bath linens seemed very clean, the room itself wasn't clean. On a positive note, when my husband complained to the front desk at check-out, we were credited for all our parking fees! The lobby is lovely, the patio very nice, the parking is very convenient. All in all, I thought it was on the high side for what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Wiley's BBQ. About a 15-20 min drive. Delicious!

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Moonrakers
Ormond Beach, FL
Aug 28, 2013

Large room. Great location.

Nice stay. Pillows need help. Buffet breakfast was okay and the service was terrific.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring your own pillows. Feather pillows not provided.

Back to menu Return to top