Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

3 stars
201 W. Bay St., Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
506 reviews
A nice surprise in a great location

Looking at the cost as compared to other hotels in the area, I thought the place would probably be... See full review

  • Doc P
  • Mar 10, 2014
Great location

Staff was super nice and helpful. Can't beat location and price was good. Love Savannah and the... See full review

  • wamjlk
  • Feb 24, 2014
Historic hotel with modern amenities near Savannah’s riverfront

This non-smoking Day's Inn hotel overlooks the Savannah River from Bay Street and sits in front of Ellis Square, one of six historic parks designed by Savannah founder, James Oglethorpe. Recipient of a 2006 historic preservation award, the Inn at Ellis Square occupies the 150-year-old Guckenheimer building. Guests can experience the rich furnishings of this well-preserved building without sacrificing modern conveniences. The property offers high-speed Internet access and flexible meeting and banquet facilities.

Highlights
  • Easy walk to downtown dining and attractions
  • Close to trolley and carriage tours
  • Wireless Internet
  • Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award winner
Rooms

The Inn at Ellis Square offers standard, one-room accommodations and suites. Standard rooms offer a king bed or two double beds and suites feature a living area with couch and wet bar, plus large baths with dressing rooms. Amenities for all rooms include complimentary Internet access, cable TV, desk, mini refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker.

Features

As the recipient of the Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award, this 150-year-old property retains many original features. The hotel's décor is heavy on dark wood and warm, earthy furnishings. The hotel serves a complimentary continental breakfast in a room with towering ceilings and arched windows. Dominique's Lounge is a perfect place for guests to gather in the evening for a cocktail. The hotel has a fitness center. The business center offers Internet, copy and fax services. Five conference rooms and banquet facilities totaling 6,000 square feet accommodate up to 200 people. Technical equipment is available for rent.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • Savannah Visitors Center
  • Lady and Sons restaurant
  • City Market
  • River Street
  • Mercer House
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities and meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Internet, copy and fax services
Policies and fees
  • Starting 18 July, parking fee will be $16 a day.
  • This is a non-smoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel Rooms

1 bedroom suite
Our executive suites, located in our lovingly restored Guckenheimer building offer the richness and grace of a bygone era. Private bedrooms with King beds, living rooms with queen sleeper sofas and wet bars. Also featured are over sized bath and dressing area, Coffee makers, fridge & microwave, wireless Internet.
Standard Room
Standard rooms offer two double beds, bath separate from vanity, coffee maker, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, high speed Internet, workspace, cable TV, clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

32.0814 -81.0939
Area served
Savannah, GA.
Nearby airports
Savannah International. I-95 to Exit 99A, I-16 E Montgomery Sreet to Bay Street.
Area description
Local attractions include River Street, City Market, Telfair Museum, Owens-Thomas House, Ships of the Sea, Lady & Sons Restaurant, Dinner Cruising, Trolley & horse drawn carriage tours.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Three meeting rooms available. Largest meeting room seats 80 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (506)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 506
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WeekendTravlerBonaireGeor
Bonaire GA
Jul 7, 2014

False Advertisement

Overall this is a nice hotel. Staff is very friendly..they carry your bags to your room etc. The continental breakfast should be called a deluxe breakfast cause it had everything you could think of. My problem was with the fact it had a pool in there pictures and once we booked and checked in we asked about the location of the pool we were told that the pool was no longer available; that it was filled in over a year ago. I would recommend this hotel as long as you don't care about the use of a pool. For us we won't stay here again cause we like the pool personally.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aknecht17
Endwell, NY
Jun 12, 2014

Quick stop in Savannah

Great location, right next to a fantastic "square" with live music, ice cream, & shopping, & right across the street from the river!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Moon River Brewery!

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happ Traveler
GA
Jun 2, 2014

Great Place to Stay

I have stayed here many times. It is right next to City Market and across the street from River St. Any of these hotels are great, but this is one of my favorites. The staff is friendly. It is clean and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WI retirees
Madison, WI, USA
May 26, 2014

location, location, location

The Inn at Ellis Square is close to the riverfront in Savannah in the heart of the historic district. There are two stops for the Old Town Trolley, one at the second stop on the route and one at the 2nd to the last stop. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the complimentary breakfast is very good. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is close to shopping and places to eat. While it had a pool at one time, it no longer does. Parking in an adjacent ramp is convenient and not overly expensive. Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get your trolley pass in the hotel and get on at stop #2 to take the tour. Ride around once and then decide where you want to stop for further exploration. Get off at the waterfront to cruise the shops/restaurants and walk back to the hotel.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gatordoc21
Clearwater, fl
May 25, 2014

Impromptu Visit

My wife and I decided to go to Savannah at the last minute. Not only did the Inn have a room available but also has the most reasonable rate amongst hotels in the historic district. The accommodations were clean and modern with a healthy respect for the history of the building as well. The breakfast offerings were ok but certainly an added bonus as, again, the highlight here is the location just off of Ellis square. I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to friends and family alike.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Retiree
Albemarle Beach,NC
Apr 20, 2014

Great location

I had a problem at check-in...my reservation which was made 3 weeks ahead was not in the system.They had to contact the booking service online and that took awhile...I'll never know whose fault this was;the booking service or motel.I had a gift certificate that my brother bought for me during his stay there a couple of months ago and they refused to honor it because I did not book directly with the motel.The location is very good,which makes up somewhat for the callousness of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarahed
San Diego
Apr 14, 2014

Great location, nice room

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night before heading to Hilton Head. The location is perfect - right in the middle of the Historic District and a quick walk to bars, restaurants, shopping. It was also easy to find when driving into the city from the airport, and there was plenty of parking available (for a fee). The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and we had a lovely view of the river. The front desk staff was not particularly friendly or helpful, but all in all it is a nice reliable hotel for a fair price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stpattys
Atlanta Ga
Mar 19, 2014

St. Patrick's Day Stay

We stayed for two days at the hotel for St. Patrick's Day weekend. Considering that we needed a place to sleep and a hotel that was close to the activities on River St. This hotel was perfect. Besides the location there is nothing to rave about. Upon entry to our room we noticed it had yet to be cleaned from the previous guest. Dirty sheets were tossed across a chair, pillows on the floor, dirty towels in the bathroom, and even a tip left by the previous guest. We were given a new room immediately. The shower took a few minutes for the water pressure to reach full potential, the towels were dingy, and the toiletries were less than impressive. The bed was very comfortable but the room did not appear very clean. The location was prime. We parked our car in the garage for the weekend and did not move it until check out. Apparently parking is normally $13 but since it was St. Patrick's Day weekend the hotel charged $20 a day even for their guests. Also be prepared to pay additional deposits for room keys and the room (only about $30)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doc P
Portsmouth, Virginia
Mar 10, 2014

A nice surprise in a great location

Looking at the cost as compared to other hotels in the area, I thought the place would probably be a little spartan. However, the staff was top notch and the rooms were very clean. The location was great to see Savannah or get on the highway. The parking garage is just next door. The only complaint I have is that the TV reception was rather poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pofLoveBirds
Gray, ga
Jan 28, 2014

Great stay!

We stayed here for a short weekend trip. We had a great time! Perfect location to walk downtown or to River street. Parking was the biggest hiccup, $13 per night in a garage. Staff was super nice and helpful. Clean rooms, great service! We will be coming back! :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tubby's...great food, fun atmosphere, perfect view of the River. Highly recommend!

Back to menu Return to top