Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

3 stars
201 W. Bay St., Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
333 reviews
One night stay

I was blown away by the staircase in the room, it was very easy to park and within walking distance... See full review

  • Tucsontales
  • Oct 21, 2014
Excellent Savannah stay

The Inn is centrally located to Riverstreet as well as the Savannah Market. Excellent value, clean,... See full review

  • Flamingotina
  • Aug 31, 2014
Historic hotel with modern amenities near Savannah’s riverfront

This non-smoking Day's Inn hotel overlooks the Savannah River from Bay Street and sits in front of Ellis Square, one of six historic parks designed by Savannah founder, James Oglethorpe. Recipient of a 2006 historic preservation award, the Inn at Ellis Square occupies the 150-year-old Guckenheimer building. Guests can experience the rich furnishings of this well-preserved building without sacrificing modern conveniences. The property offers high-speed Internet access and flexible meeting and banquet facilities.

Highlights
  • Easy walk to downtown dining and attractions
  • Close to trolley and carriage tours
  • Wireless Internet
  • Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award winner
Rooms

The Inn at Ellis Square offers standard, one-room accommodations and suites. Standard rooms offer a king bed or two double beds and suites feature a living area with couch and wet bar, plus large baths with dressing rooms. Amenities for all rooms include complimentary Internet access, cable TV, desk, mini refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker.

Features

As the recipient of the Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award, this 150-year-old property retains many original features. The hotel's decor is heavy on dark wood and warm, earthy furnishings. The hotel serves a complimentary continental breakfast in a room with towering ceilings and arched windows. Dominique's Lounge is a perfect place for guests to gather in the evening for a cocktail. The hotel has a fitness center. The business center offers Internet, copy and fax services. Five conference rooms and banquet facilities totaling 6,000 square feet accommodate up to 200 people. Technical equipment is available for rent.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • Savannah Visitors Center
  • Lady and Sons restaurant
  • City Market
  • River Street
  • Mercer House
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities and meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Internet, copy and fax services
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will be undergoing renovations from June 28, 2015 until further notice.
  • Parking fee is $16 a day.
  • This is a non-smoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel Rooms

1 bedroom suite
Our executive suites, located in our lovingly restored Guckenheimer building offer the richness and grace of a bygone era. Private bedrooms with King beds, living rooms with queen sleeper sofas and wet bars. Also featured are over sized bath and dressing area, Coffee makers, fridge & microwave, wireless Internet.
Standard Room
Standard rooms offer two double beds, bath separate from vanity, coffee maker, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, high speed Internet, workspace, cable TV, clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.0814 -81.0939
Area served
Savannah, GA.
Nearby airports
Savannah International. I-95 to Exit 99A, I-16 E Montgomery Sreet to Bay Street.
Area description
Local attractions include River Street, City Market, Telfair Museum, Owens-Thomas House, Ships of the Sea, Lady & Sons Restaurant, Dinner Cruising, Trolley & horse drawn carriage tours.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Three meeting rooms available. Largest meeting room seats 80 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (333)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 333
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gordon from NC
Business
North Carolina
Jul 28, 2014

Right Down Town Savannah

The Inn at Ellis Square has a great location for experiencing the downtown experience of Savannah. It is within walking distance of restaurants and the famous river walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks behind the Inn at Ellis is a great area for shopping and eating.... don't miss it.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ritersbloc1979
Business
Alexandria, VA, USA
Feb 28, 2014

There are nicer places to stay in Savannah

I was in town for a conference and got in pretty late. I'd arranged for two double beds, but they were gone by the time I arrived, which was not a huge deal. I was upgraded to a suite, but for it to be an upgrade, it wasn't all that special. The room was clean enough, but everything just seemed terribly old. I probably wouldn't stay there again. The location was great -- just one street away from River Street. The price was OK, but I'd rather spend more and get more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JP is moving back to GA
Business
Orlando, FL
Oct 17, 2013

Historic Building is cool... pillows are not.

I only have a couple of complaints about my stay. I would highly suggest bringing your own pillow. The pillows they provide are basically oversized marshmallows. I had a horrible crick in my neck from them. Because the hotel is right on Bay St. there is a lot of road noise. I really like the historic building. Breakfast was good... coffee could be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Moon River Brewery for some good food and some microbrews.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lakedaly
Business
Savannah
Oct 13, 2013

business

Everything was fine. Liked the location. It was very close to the restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DSicilia
Business
Florida
Jul 27, 2013

Pleasantly Surprised!

Pleasantly surprised. After reading the mixed reviews, I was concerned but it was a great stay. Perfect location, pleasant staff, convenient parking, and clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tubby's Tankhouse. Great drinks and live music.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Godey
Business
Massachusetts
Jul 25, 2013

pillows

Pillows were very uncomfortable. I came for the NEH conference and my room mate complained about the pillows as well. Please also have decaf coffee available before breakfast in the lobby. I had to walk to mcdonalds because decaf was not offered until 7 am. I am an early riser.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling hippy
Business
Little Rock
Apr 22, 2013

Nice place to stay

Pros: This hotel was located in the heart of the historic area and right in the middle of everything. Staff at checking and cleaning service were very friendly and acclimating. When I had trouble with the smoke detector beeping, they wee quick to have the batteries replaced. Cons: While I would stay here again, there were a few things to mention. I don't think that they had a The air on in the hotel as the elevators and upstairs hallways were stifling. Room air conditioner struggled to cool the room as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Huey's on the River. Excellent

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
T T S I
Business
Hartwell, GA
Sep 13, 2012

Overly impressed

Everything about this hotel was surprisingly impressive. From the check in, oversized quiet clean room, lobby bar and very good AC and bath details are great. The location cannot be beat. Jennifer in the lobby bar can give you some great ifo about where to eat and enjoy yourself...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
College Professor
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Inn at Ellis Square

I have stayed here several times and been satisfied. The location is very good. It is in walking distance of River Street and a number of Savannah's good restaurants. Staff is very friendly. The morning continental breakfast is adequate. Coffee is available all day. Hotel has a parking deck behind it but you pay extra to park. Check in and out has never been a problem for me. A good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
memphis tn
Apr 26, 2011

Stay someplace else

The room smelled like old mildewed carpet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top