Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 18, 2014

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

3 stars
201 W. Bay St., Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
332 reviews
One night stay

I was blown away by the staircase in the room, it was very easy to park and within walking distance... See full review

  • Tucsontales
  • Oct 21, 2014
Excellent Savannah stay

The Inn is centrally located to Riverstreet as well as the Savannah Market. Excellent value, clean,... See full review

  • Flamingotina
  • Aug 31, 2014
Historic hotel with modern amenities near Savannah’s riverfront

This non-smoking Day's Inn hotel overlooks the Savannah River from Bay Street and sits in front of Ellis Square, one of six historic parks designed by Savannah founder, James Oglethorpe. Recipient of a 2006 historic preservation award, the Inn at Ellis Square occupies the 150-year-old Guckenheimer building. Guests can experience the rich furnishings of this well-preserved building without sacrificing modern conveniences. The property offers high-speed Internet access and flexible meeting and banquet facilities.

Highlights
  • Easy walk to downtown dining and attractions
  • Close to trolley and carriage tours
  • Wireless Internet
  • Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award winner
Rooms

The Inn at Ellis Square offers standard, one-room accommodations and suites. Standard rooms offer a king bed or two double beds and suites feature a living area with couch and wet bar, plus large baths with dressing rooms. Amenities for all rooms include complimentary Internet access, cable TV, desk, mini refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker.

Features

As the recipient of the Historic Savannah Society 2006 historic-preservation award, this 150-year-old property retains many original features. The hotel's decor is heavy on dark wood and warm, earthy furnishings. The hotel serves a complimentary continental breakfast in a room with towering ceilings and arched windows. Dominique's Lounge is a perfect place for guests to gather in the evening for a cocktail. The hotel has a fitness center. The business center offers Internet, copy and fax services. Five conference rooms and banquet facilities totaling 6,000 square feet accommodate up to 200 people. Technical equipment is available for rent.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head Airport
Attractions
  • Savannah Visitors Center
  • Lady and Sons restaurant
  • City Market
  • River Street
  • Mercer House
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities and meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Internet, copy and fax services
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will be undergoing renovations from June 28, 2015 until further notice.
  • Parking fee is $16 a day.
  • This is a non-smoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel Rooms

1 bedroom suite
Our executive suites, located in our lovingly restored Guckenheimer building offer the richness and grace of a bygone era. Private bedrooms with King beds, living rooms with queen sleeper sofas and wet bars. Also featured are over sized bath and dressing area, Coffee makers, fridge & microwave, wireless Internet.
Standard Room
Standard rooms offer two double beds, bath separate from vanity, coffee maker, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, high speed Internet, workspace, cable TV, clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.0814 -81.0939
Area served
Savannah, GA.
Nearby airports
Savannah International. I-95 to Exit 99A, I-16 E Montgomery Sreet to Bay Street.
Area description
Local attractions include River Street, City Market, Telfair Museum, Owens-Thomas House, Ships of the Sea, Lady & Sons Restaurant, Dinner Cruising, Trolley & horse drawn carriage tours.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Three meeting rooms available. Largest meeting room seats 80 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (332)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
332 out of 332
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MsAnn
Business
Atkabta
Mar 25, 2013

Great family getaway.

Traveling with Grandpa and Grandma and early 20's was great place. Near the hop on hop off trolly and close to market and pubs and resturants. Would stay here again. Staff was extremly helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Churchills Emglish pub was really great as well as the Irish pub down on the riverfront with live music.

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Just bad...
Business
NY
Mar 20, 2013

Not great.....

Our hotel room was right next to the bar.....about 20 feet. Great for the day time but not so great when people are partying in the lobby until 5 am and I am trying to sleep. After a couple of calls to the front desk, it was shut down 45 minutes after. But, only because I heard they ran out of alcohol. Our room hasn't been cleaned in the 4 days we were there. We had to ask to have our garbage emptied. The "shower" was more of a bath because the water didn't go down and you'd be standing in a bath by the time your shower was completed. Staff was nice. Good location. Thats about the only positive remarks I could say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wdstk girl
Business
Woodstock, CT
Mar 15, 2013

Lovely Savannah

The Inn at Ellis Square was a perfect location and the staff was very friendly. No reflection on the Inn but they did not have our reservation when we arrived but made everything OK with the documentation I had as proof. Would definitely would stay here again. Only complaint was that the breakfast area was over capacity on Monday morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Friends Forever
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 14, 2013

Perfect for what we needed

The room was spacious and relatively clean upon arrival. I wish there had been an in room fridge as well as a more thorough cleaning job (to be fair it was really busy during our stay). The beds were comfortable and the location was perfect (inbetween river street and city market). We didnt spend a ton of time in the room, so it suited out needs quite well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Perfect location for downtown Savannah easy to walk almost anywhere!

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ang46
Business
rochelle, ga
Jan 23, 2013

nice and clean

everything nice, clean and comfortable. dining and shopping with in walking distance, great location for a nice weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

everything you need within walking distance..did not need to move the car!

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
runner13
Business
leesburg,ga
Jan 21, 2013

Great Location!

The location is great! You can park you car in the parking deck and then walk pretty much anywhere you want! The staff was very nice and the cont breakfast was good and the staff kept everything full. Great experience for a girls get away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dene
Business
New York
Dec 31, 2012

Very nice hotel in a beautiful city

This hotel is located in a great area very close to the main sides within the historical district. You can walk to many good restaurants, to the riverfront and multiple historical sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anairda
Business
Washington DC
Dec 26, 2012

Everything perfect

I stayed only two night but everything was perfect. I arrived really early and they allowed me to check-in. The room was really comfortable and clean. The hotel is near a very pleasant area. It is close to River Stree and Lady and Sons' restaurant. Wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lady and Sons' Restaurant

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sarah williams
Business
pembroke, ga
Dec 10, 2012

great location

great location. friendly staff. bathrooms are smallish, but room was lovely. note that you have to pay additional for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at Ellis Square - A Days Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gammyjean
Business
Savannah, Georgia
Dec 9, 2012

Girls Get-away

This hotel was perfectly located. We could walk to everything. The parking garage was located close to the hotel and easy to access. The first hitch happened when the room key would not work and I had to go back to the desk. The faucet on the shower was installed backwards and the hot faucet was cold and cold was hot. This was a known fact to the office staff. How would a patron know this? Cold showers are not fun. We had a broken chair that was finally replaced. None of this Kept up from havin fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We took the trolley and got off wherever we wanted. It was great for the money.

Back to menu Return to top