Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

3 stars
199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
68 reviews
Great stay!

Came here at the last minute for a one night getaway. Everything was perfect- the location, the... See full review

  • Super girl 0711
  • Jul 14, 2014
Perfect Location!

This hotel is located central to everything in downtown Savannah. When we stay here, we park the... See full review

  • Agentherrmann
  • Dec 9, 2013
Waterfront views and central location in Savannah historic district

Stay at Holiday Inn Express, located in the heart of the historic district and soak up the old-world splendor of Savannah. The contemporary, southern-style property sits on Bay Street just steps from the waterfront and surrounded by Savannah's lush squares, historic houses, boutiques and fine restaurants along lively Broughton and River Streets. The hotel features a graceful lobby with a full-service fireside lounge, a rooftop pool, well-equipped guest rooms with high-speed Internet access and 2,000 square feet of meeting space.

Highlights
  • Overlooks the river
  • An easy walk to the waterfront and Broughton Street
  • Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel
  • 2,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting facilities
Rooms

Diverse room choices include guestrooms with one queen, king or two queen beds. Deluxe rooms offer one queen or king bed, plus wet bar, sitting area and pullout sofa bed. All rooms include a refrigerator, microwave, iron with ironing board, coffee maker, flat-screen TV, work desk and Wi-Fi access (free).

Features

Guests can easily walk to many of downtown Savannah's most popular attractions thanks to the hotel's central location overlooking the waterfront. Cross the street from the hotel to the trolley stop and join a trolley tour of Savannah's historic sites. Inside the hotel, guests can relax by the fireplace with a cocktail from the lobby bar, take a dip in the rooftop pool or exercise in the on-site fitness center. The hotel serves complimentary breakfast and offers free Wi-Fi access throughout the property. Guests will find computers at the business center and flexible meeting rooms totaling 2,000 square feet accommodates up to 50 people.  Meeting space includes the 1,365-square-foot Magnolia Room, the 950-square-foot Azalea Room and the Live Oak boardroom, which seats 12.

Transportation
  • Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport (17.5 mi/28  km)
Attractions
  • River Street (across the street)
  • City Hall (2 blocks)
  • Savannah Civic Center (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Tybee Island (17.4 mi/28 km)
Business
  • Business center with computers
  • High-speed wireless Internet (free)
  • 2,000 square feet of flexible meeting space includes two conference rooms and a boardroom

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.0803 -81.089
Nearby airports
Savannah/Hilton Head International, (SAV), 12.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Dining

Port Royal Tavern
Serving beer, wine, cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 68
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Savannah Lady
SSI, GA
Feb 7, 2010

Happy? Aniversary

Lots of problems at this hotel. 1. Minimal hot water pressure. A shower took 10 minutes. 2. One phone in room did not work. 3. Cleaning staff didn't make the bed. duh! 4. Called for car valet, no answer, had to go find the car parker. Nice people, but lots of problems. I won't stay there again. 5. Automatic doors at front of hotel made loud noise. Could hear it in our room until they locked it up for the night. 6. Microwave was not plugged in. 7. Batteries in TV remote were shot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dinner st Elizabeth's on 37. As good as any meal that you will ever eat.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Peterxyz
Richmond, VA, USA
Mar 2, 2014

Great but....

The hotel and staff were fine but the parking was completely unacceptable. Our car with its contents were parked 3 blocks away from the hotel. It appeared that the valet parking used the same location only they were able to run there faster than I could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use a hotel further from the center and use a taxi. It would be safer and cheaper,

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roaming from Frederick
Savannah, Georgia
Apr 8, 2013

Love the location, but . . .

So, the location is right in Savannah's historic district about a 5 minute walk from the river. Our room was comfortable, but you could hear every noise in the hallway and out in the street. If you are hoping to get a good night's sleep, maybe not the best place. We were also disappointed in the staff. When we checked in, the staff was very accommodating and friendly, but Sunday morning when we left, we didn't even get a "good morning" or "how was your room". Just seemed interested in processing us out and moving on to the next person. Next trip to Savannah we will probably look for a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To "Lady and Sons", the riverfront, and most of the squares.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vampofjade
augusta,ga
Jan 11, 2010

Great stay....not so great breakfast

Loved the room and MOST of the staff were wonderful but the breakfast crew were rude and did not care you had to wait 30 minutes for eggs. Also the 'bartender' for the happy hour was not very well trained or stocked on a friday night which is suprising considering a liquor store was two blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IanWG
UK
Jul 31, 2012

Great hotel, Fantastic location!

Just returned from a very relaxing and wonderful Savannah. Holiday Inn is situatedright in the centre of it all. Good location is all, and this hotel is in a fantastic position!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Savannah Dan Tours.... a must!

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stepb
Charlotte, NC, USA
Feb 5, 2012

Perfect Location! This hotel definitely delivers!

I'll admit, when I think of H.I.E.s I don't picture luxury or cleanliness, but this location was absolutely amazing. For the price, this was the best location possible; smack dab in the middle of Bay St and only one street away from the main attraction of River St. We had a glitch in our travel plans but the staff was super accommodating and allowed us to push back our reservation without any additional fees. The room, though small, was packed with all of the essentials and was quite modern. My only complaint was that the carpet wasn't as clean as I would have liked and the bathroom door was in a weird location so made it difficult for two people to get ready. All of the staff were extra pleasant and highly knowledgeable about hot spots and attractions. We self parked or they have valet parking. The bar hours weren't great and it would've been nice to have an in house restaurant to order room service. The rooftop pool and jacuzzi delivered and it was an amazing view. This is an excellent place to stay on a budget, especially since breakfast is included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Crab Shack on Tybee Island - best seafood!! Get to the island about an hour before sunset and drive out to the pier or put your feet in the water. Great place to watch the sun set and then go grab some beers and the most delish seafood!

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TN Visitor
Knoxville TN
Oct 1, 2012

A positive experience

We stayed here for a weekend getaway. We had visited Savannah before and promised ourselves that we would stay in a hotel in the historic district next time so that we did not have to try to find a parking space. This worked out very well. The room was clean, everything worked, and the staff was friendly. The public parking garage is directly behind the hotel and was very convenient. We had a comfortable and quiet stay. Only one guest rudely let his door slam a four AM two mornings in a row. Other than that, we slept quite well. We will certainly stay here again on future visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wanderboyd
Atlanta GA
Sep 12, 2014

A Great Experience with no surprises

We come to Savannah on often and we always know we will have a great experience staying at the Holiday Inn Express. They are in a great location convenient to all sights and destinations in the historic district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 22, 2009

Fantastic place

We had more than 1 occasion w/ a few unfriendly staff members, but hotel was more than accomodating to the problem and did whatever they could to make our stay as enjoyable as they could. Hotel is right across to River street. Great location. also, hotel was very clean and room was very comfortable and clean. Extra added bonus, pool is on roof.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want superb seafood, go to Tubby's on River Street. Casual atmoshere, dining outside on deck overlooking the river,live music and bar. We ate there 3 times in 5 days. Crab and shrimp to die for. Try the fried asparagus, crabcakes & fried green tomatoes. YUM!

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAVANNAH-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nclgw
North Carolina
Jul 9, 2012

Perfect location !!

From the rooftop pool (perfect for watching fireworks!) to the wonderful River Street view, this hotel is in a perfect location to walk to many, many parks, historical sites, River Street and so much more! The general manager, Alfonse, was most gracious and helpful, as was the entire staff. A great vacation in a GREAT location!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top